Peugeot 106 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Peugeot 106.

Do you Drive a Peugeot 106? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 106 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Uniroyal MS Plus 77 (7) 88% 96% 78% 88% 78% 88%
Falken Sincera SN832 Ecorun (46) 89% 90% 84% 87% 83% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (290) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Yokohama C Drive (45) 86% 82% 83% 77% 77% 86%
Vredestein Quatrac 2 (6) 83% 82% 78% 57% 84% 87%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (117) 84% 77% 76% 78% 76% 82%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Yokohama S Drive (64) 82% 68% 75% 76% 71% 68%
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Continental Sport Contact (18) 81% 73% 72% 73% 66% 71%
Goodyear GT2 (11) 82% 71% 72% 63% 83% 68%
Pirelli PZero Nero (138) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Goodyear Vector 5 (7) 69% 74% 73% 56% 61% 74%
Nexen CP641 (33) 75% 59% 62% 67% 76% 70%
Nankang AS1 (16) 78% 58% 67% 61% 67% 67%
Avon ZV3 (28) 72% 63% 65% 66% 58% 66%
Marangoni Zetalinea (15) 72% 45% 64% 64% 68% 57%
Pirelli CINTURATO P4 (6) 80% 64% 47% 50% 68% 60%
Barum Brillantis (17) 65% 49% 61% 44% 79% 59%
Riken All Star 2 (3) 73% 57% 60% 60% 37% 67%

Peugeot 106 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken Sincera SN832 Ecorun given 86% (165-70-13-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Great grip in the dry. I can feel their limits really well. Great confidence. Excellent in the wet.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-15 19:30:49
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 94% (195-45-19-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
I can’t compare fairly to my old tyres as they were different front to rear. I replaced a pair of Firestone Firehawk TZ200 up front and a pair of Falken ZE914 in the rear with a set of these Nexens and so far I am extremely impressed.

Firstly they cost around £20 less than the Firestones and seem to offer better dry grip and certainly more road feedback. They are also a lot quieter when new compared to the Firestones when new. I was going to go for a higher end brand but I happened to check the reviews on here for the N Fera SU1 and they were more than glowing with people comparing them to Continentals and the like, and I have to say, as a first impression I agree.

As a result, my car breaks away far less easily at the rear than with any tyres I’ve had on before these, which is a well known handling characteristic of 90s French front wheel drive cars as I’m sure other owners know, and the front end grip on turn-in is astonishingly good for what is, effectively, a budget brand.

Considering the grip compared to the advantage of only paying around £160 for a full set, I would definitely buy these again for this and other cars that I enjoy performance driving in.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-12 12:23:32
Writing about the Firestone TZ200 given 71% (195-45-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
I can’t really comment fairly on how these compared to my last set of tyres as I also changed wheels at the same time, however I have to say they are pretty good for their reasonable price. My dad’s new Focus came with Contisportcontact 2 and I have to say, in terms of dry grip, there isn’t much in it, and considering the Firestones are around £20 a corner cheaper, that’s a good result. Furthermore, they seem to be wearing extremely well, so I’d imagine they’re a tyre that lasts a good amount of time. I also haven’t noticed much of an increase in noise as they wear which is a plus, considering I drive quite spiritedly. Although, my Peugeot 106 only weighs about as much as a small paper bag so that must also contribute to the good wear.

What I didn’t like was the lack of road feedback compared to other tyres and they also appear to have a fairly soft sidewall. However, they are quite predictable at the limit and give very progressive breakaway.

I don’t think I would buy these tyres again as you can get better road feedback and similar levels of grip for a similar amount of money with other brands, but I have to say these are not a bad purchase if you’re not bothered about the lack of feedback.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-03 16:20:12
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 87% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Replaced my Continental Sport Contact 2 tyres with these. The handling and grip is excellent both on wet and dry. Very good for sport driving. Hope they don't wear fast.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-03 23:31:15
Writing about the Marangoni Zetalinea given 54% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Put these on my Peugeot 106 as a cheap solution for the alloys I had on, good in the dry, but awful in the wet, no grip at all, I have turned the steering wheel and had nothing happen, will also skid if you breathe on the brake pedal in the wet.
Lasted well however as I have plenty of tread left even after 5000 miles of reasonably fast driving.
All in all I would buy again, only if they were cheap, and only for summer. Avoid if you're going to be using them in the wet.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-13 23:01:27
Writing about the Uniroyal MS Plus 77 given 81% (195-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
First time on winter tyres this year, cold and wet but no snow or ice to really test these, however, they are almost like driving on a warm dry road! The wet grip is fantastic, even when it's 2 degrees outside. Very glad to have swapped for these in the winter and I am now a winter tyre convert.
I've only done a few thousand miles so difficult to assess wear rate but I see a lot of tyres in my job and they're not wearing unusually fast or unevenly.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-26 08:38:40
Writing about the Yokohama Parada Spec 2 given 80% (195-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
These tyres aren't as bad in the wet on my car as many people are suggesting and they are amazing in the dry. They look fantastic and I am ordering some more today.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-17 11:32:51
Writing about the Riken All Star 2 given 43% (155-70-13-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
very disappointing tyre will never go for cheap tyres again
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-12 22:35:49
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 5 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-01 19:26:48
Writing about the Nankang AS1 given 45% (155-55-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
The worst tires we had today, not advise. They are good for the variety of measures and accessible only by price
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-01 15:41:29
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P4 given 10% (155-70-13-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No feedback whatsoever. The only feedback I get is the fact that I can see my car turning when I move the wheel. Sure the car turns as expected but the lack of feedback gives me low confidence. They have essentially ruined any enjoyment I got from driving this low powered reasonably lightweight car.

They seem to provide similar levels of grip and turn to my previous set of tyres except for the lack of feedback, so I cannot tell where the limit is. Pretty sure I was understeering at one point but couldn't tell with these.

Can't comment on their wet grip, but the lack of feedback in the dry makes me think that the first I'll know about it loosing taction in a corner will be when its too far gone and I'll be going in a direction of no return.

Wear - well I've only had them for 5 days and I hate them, I couldn't care how long they last.

Comfort - well they are quieter than my last set of tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-19 12:40:32
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 89% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on track for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-05 18:05:42
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre