Goodyear GT2

The Goodyear GT2 is a Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear GT3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 71%
Road Feedback 72%
Handling 63%
Wear 83%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 65%

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 318,100 miles driven.

The GT2 is ranked 32nd of 61 All Season Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Goodyear GT2

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear GT2

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodyear GT2. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Goodyear GT2 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R14 T) on mostly town for 40,000 average miles
Reasonable tyre with higher than normal road noise but good durability. Lasted 45k on Toyota Yaris.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2010
Given 74% while driving a Opel Corsa C (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 40,000 average miles
Very good tyre when it came to lasting. I bought a new opel corsa in year 2000 with these tyres, and have bought 3 sets since then. They are noisy however, but the fact they last forever made me buy them again.
Overall handling and performance was fairly good as well.

Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2014
Given 76% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 55,000 spirited miles
These tyres were fitted to a Land Rover Freelander 2 when the OEM tyres needed replacement. The front tyres suffered from poor wheel alignment and needed replacing after 32000 km. The rears lasted much longer and with wheel rotation, they are now getting close to needing to be replaced after 55000 km.
The mix of driving is 20% city and 80% country driving with about 5% of the overall distance on well maintained gravel roads.
The small sipes catch stones which stay in the tread for quite some distance, although in comparison to the OEM Continental Crosscontact UHP, they are very similar.
The tyres were comfortable and handle well, with the only exception that on wet, slippery gravel roads the performance was below that of the original tyres.
A good, quiet tyre well suited for highway, city or good unsealed roads.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2017
Have you driven on the Goodyear GT2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear GT2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear GT2 >

Latest Goodyear GT2 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Chrysler voyager (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
I have had 3 sets of Goodyear GT2 tyres under my Chrysler Voyager and I can say they are excellent. Each set lasted 40,000 miles they are very reliable have driven around Europe in the summer when temperatures on the tarmac were 65 degrees and air temp. 40 degrees with a full load in the car. These tyres have never let me down these journeys have been made numerous times driving for 24 hours with a small breaks covering 5,000 miles in 2 weeks. Good grip in the wet what else can I say apart from GREAT TYRES! Only negative is that after 30,000 miles they become a little hard and slippery on the wet.

Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 16, 2013
Given 44% while driving a Toyota Corolla (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Positive: Very little if any visible wear in the year I kept these tyres on my corrola. Not too bad in snow surprisingly...

Negative: Very loud tyre which OK in the dry was lethal in the wet hence me binning them way before their time.

Overall very disappointing tyre from Goodyear - the year they were on my car was not a Goodyear!

Stuck some conti premium contact 2 on and the car now feels planted in any condition and is much quieter.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2011
Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 66% while driving a Ford Fiesta (155/70 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
These tyres were on our Fiesta when we bought it over 2 years ago. I suspect they've been on the car for a long time, as they are quite hard and have minute cracks in the rubber all over the surface of the tyre and in between the tread blocks. Consequently, these have been shocking when the roads are anything other than bone-dry! In wet conditions, even the mildest corner or roundabout results in severe understeer, following immediately by oversteer! This isn't being driven at speed either. In the dry I have no complaints, and I will say these tyres have lasted seemingly forever. However, I've managed to wear out the fronts so at last I can justify changing at least two of them! I would not buy them again - there are plenty of significantly better tyres out there for the same or less money.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on July 21, 2011
Given 64% while driving a Citro├źn berlingo (175/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I've nearly always had Goodyear tyres on my cars as they wear well. And sit nice and square on the road, with hardly any feathering at the front. They were rubbish in the snow last year when nearly new. And this year, after another 8000 miles, I've been house bound as I couldn't get my car out of the drive and back again in the snow. I've now bought new Avon ZT5's, which have been brilliant in the bad weather.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2010
Given 80% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 70,000 spirited miles
These came on my Toyota Yaris and I have done 79k (have since shifted use to the Duragrip)

Great grip in dry and wet - snow, obviously a little more iffy but was only stuck once and that was at about 6 inches depth.

Road feedback is not so good but possibly due to the lack of feedback in the Yaris. Overall, Great tyres but I would get the Duragrips if you are buying a Goodyear.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2010
Given 60% while driving a Renault Clio 1.8 16v (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
I've had these tyres for almost 5 years and I have driven 18000miles with them. At first the tyres were good on dry (in air temperature up to 40C) and wet roads.
Visible wear started to appear after 15000miles, cracks are visible on the entire surface and the rear tyres started to make noises.
I do not recommend driving in winter with these tyres. Control of the vehicle is very hard on slush and stopping distace doubles or even triples. On 2-3cm of snow the car is unable to stop.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2010
Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 106 (175/65 R14 W) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Lovely tyres that were comfortable and instantly offfered good grip compared to previous budget tyres. they grip really well in the dry and wet and have lasted quite well and still going strong. Highly Recommended for a smaller car.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2009