Yokohama S Drive

The Yokohama S Drive is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 68%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 76%
Wear 71%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 68%

Tyre review data from 64 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 672,072 miles driven.

The S Drive is ranked 77th of 131 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Yokohama S Drive
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Yokohama S Drive
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Yokohama S Drive. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


S Drive Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 5 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Yokohama S Drive Reviews

Given 76% while driving a Subaru MY01 Impreza WRX Wagon (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
25000 miles at my Impreza WRX Wagon.

Replace by hardcore Advan AD08s due to budget as a better alternative as S-Drives are not so harsh to my ride. 25000 miles or two and half years of usage with about half tread depth of around 5mm.

Sidewall not as hard as AD08 for sure, so it is the ultimate dry grip, It is a little bit overpriced in Hong Kong, despite the fact that S-Drive made in Japan.

To moderator, may I hereby advise to re-classify S-Drive to High Performance / Ultra High Performance Summer Tyres. As official Yokohama category.
122 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2016   
Given 23% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 Cdi Avantgarde Estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Worse tires i've ever bought in my life. Got them suggested by the local tire dealer and couldn't regret more. Got the Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetric 2 after them and the difference is brutal. If you want to get your heart pumping in wet weather buy them...
35 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2016   
Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Polo Sedan 1.6 (225/45 R15) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
The tyres are amazing they feel just too good to drive one the provide very
Good safety at high speeds and good driving comfort too just that they
Don't Las as long but yet best bug have been using them on all my vehicles
Since years
14 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2016   
Have you driven on the Yokohama S Drive tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama S Drive? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Yokohama S Drive >

Latest Yokohama S Drive Reviews

Given 76% while driving a Toyota Starlet 1996 (185/55 R14) on a combination of roads for 31,069 average miles
make: Toyota Starlet 1.3 primo 16V 1998. Driving style: Rather medium to fast. Driving Roads: Highways but also bad country roads. First tire 1998-2003: michelin 175/60/13 did not last though soft. second tire: Michelin energy saver plus: liitle better but sides also soft. change to 185/55R14 with s.drive.I found my health. Reasons: a) My starlet is all mechanichal (No hydraylic steering, no ABS,no TCS). This tire helped me cause has the tension to oversteer if the turn angle begins to close a liitle bit further. b) Feeling the steering wheel and the tires enough simultaneously (at dry and wet also) is something i like. I want to feel the car not the automatic controls at any speed.The comfort is something i had to forget cause of Cayaba's front and rear, but i had confidence in open angle turns with high speed. This tire though is really great at summer not the winter times. After 2 years it start slippping and spinning at glassy roads though it is hard stuff but i have a heavy foot too.going to the country with open windows i liked the tire sound couse i heard the little stones going through the tire lines and sometimes i stopped and cleared them before the highway. i rebought 2011-2016 and 2016-2021. 4.5 to 5 years 15000km a year approximatly. One mysterious phenomenon. Although the valves were good and Rims were good, the tire Sides after 4.5 years (Greece-too hot country) the tire loosing air from the Rim sticking (is tubeless remember), so i oblidged to change them. The great disadvantage is the snow. Although you can drive them at snow if you are an artist of driving theese does not stop at all if braking at snow. but they had the tollerance at ice not to crack also at hard roads and hard parking......i liked them but i feel they are too expensive now.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2021   
Given 78% while driving a Ford (215/35 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
It is 2021 and there are more grippy tires out there. In the dry, they seem to be very sensitive to temperature and pressure. When set to the point, they grip well in the dry with good feedback. Little overpressure/overtemperature and feedback is only mediocre, the grip also of course weeker. Sidewalls are quite stiff, but little under pressure yields floatiness. In the wet, they are reasonable but rather do not try to accelerate in the corner using an FWD car, as a skid is quite inevitable. Noise is a bit higher than for other tires. Road roughness they filter out reasonably. For Moderator - please consult that this tyre may be so much sense to optimal pressure and temperature point (I also tested 195/40R16 size with similar observations).
0 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 61% while driving a Mazda MX5 MK3 2011 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Had them fitted for 3 years and even though they are from a reputable brand I can say that i find them average and noisy. Especially for my car that it is a soft top therw was quite some noise from them especially in motorway driving. Also they where quite stiff. I also had them on another vehicle, front drive in R16, and I had found them much better than my experience on the MX5.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2020   
Given 79% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (195/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
When I purchased my 2014 Swift Sport it had mismatched tyres front and rear (Falken on the front and Continentals on the rear) and in the summer months it felt OK, but quickly began to feel a bit too unsure in the wetter months. In early 2018 I changed to the S.Drives all round and quickly noticed an improvement in the handling, particularly in front end bite. With an electric steering set-up the car isn't exactly buzzing with feedback, but you felt the confidence to lean more on the fronts during turn-in. Rear end stability is much improved, and now it's only really standing water or uneven surfaces that cause the back to skip slightly. Even so, when it does, the S.Drive feels a really progressive tyre. Wear appears to be pretty good, the last 2,000 miles has seen a change in commute to a couple of B roads and I do lean on the car quite a bit. So to see decent tread depth still and little sign of edge wearing is a positive. Overall, I'd definitely buy these again rather than pay more for the Continental option.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2019   
Given 80% while driving a Nissan Micra (190/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Best handling anyone can experience in a Nissan Micra k13 HR16DE. This car is completely the opposite as it was before with oem tires (175/60 R15 Maxxis).
1 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2015   
Given 86% while driving a Renault Clio 172 (195/45 R16) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Great tyres, very responsive as well as progressive which gives me the confidence around sweeping and tight corners. There are much gripper tyres are out there but this is a really good all rounder. Have replaced my 2 front tyres with the same as I was so pleased with them.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2015   
Given 90% while driving a Honda CR Z (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Good tyres, excellent grip in all conditions even in the Spirited "Sport" Mode on the Car these held very well, had one fail on me due to side wall damage but due to severe pot holes in the local area this could have happened to ANY tyre!

Good and would buy again (And Have!)
1 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2015   
Given 69% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk 5 (remapped 270 BHP) (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 8,000 spirited miles
I've on my MK5 (385 BHP and 394 tq) and are insufficient to much power. Their traction is not enough, but is strong tyre. Perfectly usable for cars with less than 250 BHP; I had it without perfomance upgrade on same car and was good. Offers great value.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 18, 2015   
Given 84% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/45 R16 V) on mostly town for 0 average miles
I switched to Yokohama S Drives from Goodyear Efficient Grips. At 1st I was not a fan of the switch as the inside tyre started to wash out fairly quickly at low speeds (in comparison to the Goodyear).
Now the tyres have done a 1000 miles or so they feel better, appear to grip better & I am used to the way they drive. Feedback is good and progressive, wet & dry grip is good enough to be confident in 'throwing' the car around.
I cannot comment on longevity yet as I have not had them long, will update as they start to go.
Very good value for money, good grip, good ride & decent tyres.
Car; Ford Fiesta 1.6 TDCI
0 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2015   
Given 44% while driving a Renault Megane (195/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
bought these about a year ago and done about 15000km.
the Car is a 2liter 150hp with stiff coilover.
at First i was more than happy by treir performans in β roads although their feedback was poor.when NEW they were good enough in the wet too.after almost 4 months things changed dramatically!the progressiveness hmmm...what progressiveness?!they need mach warming up and then after a while they are too soapy!no traction at all.the fist drops of rain made me really scared, especiallh since i have the abs disabled, so i am going to give a try in unis rainsport 3.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 13, 2014   
Given 83% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (195/45 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
these tyres came on my suzuki swift sport. think goodyear eagles were standard but decided to change to these. been using them for 3 years now and can report i am very happy with them. good in dry and wet. cannot report on snow and ice as i switch to winter tyres in the winter
0 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2013   
Given 74% while driving a Subaru 2008 WRX (225/50 R17) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Before the S Drive ,I was using the Goodyear eagle F1 which I skid and nearly got major damages to the car .i was only doing 40km/hr on a turn

The S drive on the other hand was very assured and I felt safe . Both the dry N wet grip was good .The best part was that did change tyres recently ..only after 2.5years . And I'm in a sales position , I had to drive up and down and had considerable mileage . The tires did last a long while .

The cons would be a slight noise .not too much .

I would consider getting a Sdrive again ,given its Longevity . It maybe pricier as compared to many other models ..but hey it did last me a long time while giving good grip till the end of its days .
0 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2013