Michelin Pilot Exalto

The Michelin Pilot Exalto is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 80%
Wear 83%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 83%

Tyre review data from 56 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 1,856,713 miles driven.

The Pilot Exalto is ranked 34th of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2010 EVO Tyre Test - 5th of 9 tyres

View Full Test >>

2010 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2010 EVO Tyre Test (205/45 r17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Exalto

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Pilot Exalto. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    195/50 R15 £85.57 - £104.00 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £79.90 - £89.94 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 13 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Michelin Pilot Exalto Reviews

    Given 89% while driving a Renault Clio 182 Trophy (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100,000 spirited miles
    Depending on what you're looking for these are the best all round tyre money can buy.

    Have driven 100k miles on them (clio 182)and they outlast the discs! Approx 25k+ out of the fronts and 50k+ out of the rears. In the dry on a warm/hot day they'll match anything the competition can throw at them and will not overheat. In the wet on the road they perform well enough but it's not a soft compound so they will let go (kept up with Evo's and Wrx through the twisty's around Nurburg - they were running wet race tyres).

    On a cold very wet track in winter they just won't heat up so if that's what you want them for then they're not for you.
    If you do most of your driving on the road and don't want to open your wallet every 5k to 10k miles then you really won't find better.

    Sadly they're getting hard to get hold of.

    ps - they screech like buggery pushing it hard in the dry, so be warned, any undesirables will hear you coming.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2013
    Given 70% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa (195/50 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    I have a modified Opel Corsa 2006. Suspension : Bilstein B8 Sprint , HR springs and antiroll bars. As for the exalto 2 (195-50-15) I have to say that overall it is an excellent tire. Dry traction is very good and it has very good cornering stability too. Wet traction is very good also. (after all it is considered to be a rain tire) There is a problem unfortunately. Its responsiveness. Michelin tried to make a comfortable sports tire and the side walls are very very very soft. To us that have modified suspensions soft sidewalls ruin the cars responsiveness. In bends taken without pressing the car , the tire has an uncertainty which is annoying but as soon as you press more the exterior tread patch of the tire comes in contact with the road (1.6 degrees wheel camber) and the tire transforms offering grip and excellent stability. Now I moved to Yokohama Parada Spec-2 and the previous problem is fixed… stiff sidewalls at last. Not comfortable of course but who cares.

    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2010
    Given 86% while driving a Opel Astra H CDTI (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 50,000 spirited miles
    I'm reviewing here the Pilot Exalto PE2 (since there's no such tyre in this site).

    The tyres lasted 50000 kms and they behaved very well. They were great in dry and wet roads with lots of grip.

    The only downside is the soft walls that provide confort but on the other side reduces de road feedback.

    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2012
    Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Exalto tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Exalto? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Michelin Pilot Exalto >

    Latest Michelin Pilot Exalto Reviews

    Given 86% while driving a Renault Clio 1.6 16v (195/55 R15) on mostly motorways for 25,000 spirited miles
    Pilot exalto on clio sport was superb. would definitely buy again..
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2017
    Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16V Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
    One of my favorite car tyres ever.

    No faults and very good in everything, even better than the previous GoodYear Eagle F1 on the same car in noise, confort and wheel protection.

    Written for the original Michelin Exalto.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2015
    Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
    Honda DC5 INTEGRA TYPE R (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
    Brilliant tyre hands down.excellent all rounder.Amazing grip.long lasting value for money!
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2015
    Given 80% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
    Just replaced a set of these tyres that had been fitted to my MX5 when new, 8 years ago. 52k having been covered on these tyres and still with 2-3mm of tread remaining, can't complain
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2015
    Given 92% while driving a Toyota Celica GTi (205/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 100,000 spirited miles
    Fantastic tyre. I wouldn't use anything else. I started with the "Pilot II" before the "Exalto", and I tried a couple of other (premium) brands, but they felt completely wrong, and I had to go back to the Michelin Pilots.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2014
    Given 91% while driving a SEAT Ibiza (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
    I tried these tyres on my Ibiza after P6000 pirelli: the gap was very big.
    After 30000 miles I sold the car with the Michelin still in good shape: I think that for other 10000/15000 miles they could be ok.
    They are very very good tyres: very good grip in every situation, low noise even on porous italian motorway asphalt.
    The average fuel economy was good too.
    The only problem is that the tyre size available are limited: you can have this tyres if yours are /60 or less (/55, /50...). If you have a classic 195/65 R15 you must buy other tyres!
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2013
    Given 37% while driving a Fiat 500 Abarth (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
    Very bad tire, Not enought grip in the dry in the wet pointless if you have a sporty driving style.

    In the corners this tire loose very qickly his grip.

    Comfor yeah this one is good this tyre is not very noisy.

    So this tyre is NOT for a performance car this one is for a SLOW car like a Renault twingo or Kia.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2013
    Given 90% while driving a Mazda MX5 (190/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 1,500 spirited miles
    Put these on our MX5 and can't believe how good they are. We bought the car with a mix of cheap tyres on 14's, and I put the correct wheels on (15") and fitted these tyres at the same time. Can't believe how chuckable and sure footed it is now, having difficulty in getting the rears unstuck even on cold and damp roads. Will be putting these on my daily driver as soon as the current tyres are down to 3mm.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2012
    Given 89% while driving a Opel Corsa C (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 38,000 spirited miles
    Driven 38000 spirited miles on current set with a Opel(Vauxhall) Corsa 1.8 GSI, would easily do another 38000.

    The Sidewall is not as stiff as the Brigestone Adrenalin RE001, road feedback is less and more comfortable ride quality, wet and dry grip is slightly less and significantly less respectively.

    Wear is significantly better, RE001's only lasted for 13000 miles.

    Tires have enough grip to explore the limits of the vehicle's suspension and enjoy the ride in comfort when not driving spiritedly.

    Would definitely purchase these tires again, will leave the RE001's for track days.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2012
    Given 90% while driving a Toyota Yaris (185/60 R14 V) on a combination of roads for 45,000 spirited miles
    Definately the best tire I've ever used... Dry grip is very good, even after 73000 km (45360 miles)! Stiff sidewalls and rim protection. Yes, it is a V rated tire, but it is suitable even if you' re gonna use it for urban driving only ... Unfortunately Michelin has terminated this model on size 185/60-14 and I find it very difficult to choose another brand with similar characteristics (Michelin energy savers and energy plus are crap tires!)...
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2012
    Given 51% while driving a Mazda Mx5 2008 (205/50 R16) on mostly motorways for 40,000 spirited miles
    Those tyres have very good grip in dry roads when they are new but they wear very fast.

    Performance in wet roads are below average.

    For this price i would buy something else.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2012
    Given 77% while driving a Subaru Legacy (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    I have used many sets of different tyres in this size on two Subaru Legacys covering 180,000miles in total. These tyres were the definitely the best alround performers. The side walls are quite stiff and so help resist understeer but there is a trade-off in ride quality. Very good in wet and slimy conditions, although feedback is not particularly good they are progressive when they do slide.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2012