Michelin Pilot Exalto

The Michelin Pilot Exalto is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 56 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 1,856,713 miles driven, and 1 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 80%
Wear 83%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 83%

First On MarketJanuary 2020
Wheel Size13 - 15"
Width165 - 195mm
Profile50 - 65
Rolling ResistanceD - D
Wet GripA - A
Noise (dB)69 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Pilot Exalto is ranked 32nd of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2.

Tests Included

1

Best Result

5th

Worst Result

5th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2010 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
13 inch
185/60R13 80 HDA69
175/65R13 80 TDA69
195/55R13 80 VDA71
175/60R13 77 HDA69
14 inch
165/60R14 75 HDA69
175/60R14 79 HDA69
15 inch
195/50R15 82 VDA71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Michelin Pilot Exalto >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Pilot Exalto. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £89.94 - £107.53 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 4 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Exalto Reviews

Given 92% while driving a Toyota Celica GTi (205/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 100,000 spirited miles
Fantastic tyre. I wouldn't use anything else. I started with the "Pilot II" before the "Exalto", and I tried a couple of other (premium) brands, but they felt completely wrong, and I had to go back to the Michelin Pilots.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2014
Given 86% while driving a Renault Clio 1.6 16v (195/55 R15) on mostly motorways for 25,000 spirited miles
Pilot exalto on clio sport was superb. would definitely buy again..
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2017
Given 80% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
Just replaced a set of these tyres that had been fitted to my MX5 when new, 8 years ago. 52k having been covered on these tyres and still with 2-3mm of tread remaining, can't complain
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2015
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Exalto tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Exalto? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Exalto >

Latest Michelin Pilot Exalto Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16V Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
One of my favorite car tyres ever.

No faults and very good in everything, even better than the previous GoodYear Eagle F1 on the same car in noise, confort and wheel protection.

Written for the original Michelin Exalto.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2015
Honda DC5 INTEGRA TYPE R (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
Brilliant tyre hands down.excellent all rounder.Amazing grip.long lasting value for money!
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2015
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 89% while driving a Renault Clio 182 Trophy (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100,000 spirited miles
Depending on what you're looking for these are the best all round tyre money can buy.

Have driven 100k miles on them (clio 182)and they outlast the discs! Approx 25k+ out of the fronts and 50k+ out of the rears. In the dry on a warm/hot day they'll match anything the competition can throw at them and will not overheat. In the wet on the road they perform well enough but it's not a soft compound so they will let go (kept up with Evo's and Wrx through the twisty's around Nurburg - they were running wet race tyres).

On a cold very wet track in winter they just won't heat up so if that's what you want them for then they're not for you.
If you do most of your driving on the road and don't want to open your wallet every 5k to 10k miles then you really won't find better.

Sadly they're getting hard to get hold of.

ps - they screech like buggery pushing it hard in the dry, so be warned, any undesirables will hear you coming.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2013
Given 91% while driving a SEAT Ibiza (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I tried these tyres on my Ibiza after P6000 pirelli: the gap was very big.
After 30000 miles I sold the car with the Michelin still in good shape: I think that for other 10000/15000 miles they could be ok.
They are very very good tyres: very good grip in every situation, low noise even on porous italian motorway asphalt.
The average fuel economy was good too.
The only problem is that the tyre size available are limited: you can have this tyres if yours are /60 or less (/55, /50...). If you have a classic 195/65 R15 you must buy other tyres!
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2013
Given 37% while driving a Fiat 500 Abarth (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
Very bad tire, Not enought grip in the dry in the wet pointless if you have a sporty driving style.

In the corners this tire loose very qickly his grip.

Comfor yeah this one is good this tyre is not very noisy.

So this tyre is NOT for a performance car this one is for a SLOW car like a Renault twingo or Kia.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2013
Given 90% while driving a Mazda MX5 (190/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Put these on our MX5 and can't believe how good they are. We bought the car with a mix of cheap tyres on 14's, and I put the correct wheels on (15") and fitted these tyres at the same time. Can't believe how chuckable and sure footed it is now, having difficulty in getting the rears unstuck even on cold and damp roads. Will be putting these on my daily driver as soon as the current tyres are down to 3mm.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2012
Given 86% while driving a Opel Astra H CDTI (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 50,000 spirited miles
I'm reviewing here the Pilot Exalto PE2 (since there's no such tyre in this site).

The tyres lasted 50000 kms and they behaved very well. They were great in dry and wet roads with lots of grip.

The only downside is the soft walls that provide confort but on the other side reduces de road feedback.

Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2012
Given 89% while driving a Opel Corsa C (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 38,000 spirited miles
Driven 38000 spirited miles on current set with a Opel(Vauxhall) Corsa 1.8 GSI, would easily do another 38000.

The Sidewall is not as stiff as the Brigestone Adrenalin RE001, road feedback is less and more comfortable ride quality, wet and dry grip is slightly less and significantly less respectively.

Wear is significantly better, RE001's only lasted for 13000 miles.

Tires have enough grip to explore the limits of the vehicle's suspension and enjoy the ride in comfort when not driving spiritedly.

Would definitely purchase these tires again, will leave the RE001's for track days.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2012
Given 90% while driving a Toyota Yaris (185/60 R14 V) on a combination of roads for 45,000 spirited miles
Definately the best tire I've ever used... Dry grip is very good, even after 73000 km (45360 miles)! Stiff sidewalls and rim protection. Yes, it is a V rated tire, but it is suitable even if you' re gonna use it for urban driving only ... Unfortunately Michelin has terminated this model on size 185/60-14 and I find it very difficult to choose another brand with similar characteristics (Michelin energy savers and energy plus are crap tires!)...
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2012
Given 51% while driving a Mazda Mx5 2008 (205/50 R16) on mostly motorways for 40,000 spirited miles
Those tyres have very good grip in dry roads when they are new but they wear very fast.

Performance in wet roads are below average.

For this price i would buy something else.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2012
Given 77% while driving a Subaru Legacy (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I have used many sets of different tyres in this size on two Subaru Legacys covering 180,000miles in total. These tyres were the definitely the best alround performers. The side walls are quite stiff and so help resist understeer but there is a trade-off in ride quality. Very good in wet and slimy conditions, although feedback is not particularly good they are progressive when they do slide.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2012
Given 94% while driving a Lotus Elan M100 (205/50 R15 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Fitted to the rears with Pilot Sports on the front, excellent combination, superb handling, very little wear. A bit twitchy in the wet when originally fitted to the fronts.

If the PE2's are as good then replacement will be no problem.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2012