Michelin Pilot Exalto Reviews - Page 2

Given 51% while driving a Mazda Mx5 2008 (205/50 R16) on mostly motorways for 40,000 spirited miles
Those tyres have very good grip in dry roads when they are new but they wear very fast.

Performance in wet roads are below average.

For this price i would buy something else.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2012
Given 77% while driving a Subaru Legacy (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I have used many sets of different tyres in this size on two Subaru Legacys covering 180,000miles in total. These tyres were the definitely the best alround performers. The side walls are quite stiff and so help resist understeer but there is a trade-off in ride quality. Very good in wet and slimy conditions, although feedback is not particularly good they are progressive when they do slide.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2012
Given 94% while driving a Lotus Elan M100 (205/50 R15 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Fitted to the rears with Pilot Sports on the front, excellent combination, superb handling, very little wear. A bit twitchy in the wet when originally fitted to the fronts.

If the PE2's are as good then replacement will be no problem.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2012
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 91% while driving a Peugeot 306 GTI6 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
very good all round tire for fast road use/light track use in dry or wet
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2012
Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 407 Coupe (215/55 R17 R) on a combination of roads for 23,000 spirited miles
Fitted from new(407 coupe 2.2petrol)fantastic grip both on dry and wet conditions never found a limit to the grip and went around bends at speeds I would have never imagined were possible, thought it was the car handling qualities of the car originally which is mainly is but when fitted with some budget brand tyres to the front, after 24k miles, I then lost all confidence in the grip of the car in anything other than dry conditions. I quickly changed back to a top brand tyre which are Dunlop Sports and this has improved the handling back to what it was, but road noise has slightly increased, given the choice its back to the Michelin in 20k time.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2012
Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 306 (195/55 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Had these tyres fitted to my 306 Rallye for approx 8k miles now And I love them. They are just awesome in the wet - quite easy to corner harder than some cars in the dry could. They are also very progressive near the limit with good grip recovery. With good feel, this gives you huge confidence to push on in inclement conditions. They also seem particularly good in slimy winter conditions- the type where the road never drys out thanks to its salt soup on top. Dry grip also very impressive. Fairly pricey, but I will definitely get another set
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2011
Given 80% while driving a SEAT Ibiza Cupra TDi (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Very good in the wet compared to previous tyres and make the whole feel of the car a lot safer. The tyres are also progressive in the dry and wet which is helpful. Biggest downside for my has been the increased road noise but you can't have everything!
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2011
Given 77% while driving a Ford Fiesta Zetec S (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Michelin pilot exalto is a very good tyre for dry and wet roads. Basically fly round a corner and they just grip grip grip. I dont exactly drive slow and ive still managed 16000 miles which is very reasonable but will need replacing soon. Only draw back is the price, £100 a pop just for a fiesta. I had pirelli neros and there is no comparison to the exaclto. I would definately buy again but Im going to try uniroyal rainsport 2.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2011
Given 87% while driving a Ford fiesta st (205/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 11,000 spirited miles
These tyres are amazing... I was lucky enough to lease the car, so they were paid for!! I would highly recommend these if you wanted a tyre with great wear, and great grip both wet and dry. Unfortunately they are not puncture proof... No longer in lease and hard times hitting home, I am no longer using the Michelin Tyres. I have noticed a real decrease in performance, and also a lack of grip in the wet! If you have the money, these in my opinion are the best tyres to use!
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2010
Given 67% while driving a Nissan 200sx (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
Good dry grip and great traction out of turns. I find the tyre likes to sit up on it's sidewall mid corner and exit. Excellent wet grip you can go nearly as fast as in the dry. They are a bit noisy at high speed. On prolonged high speed runs the tyre can overheat and subsequently lose grip. These tyres work best when cold and during cold conditions. Wear is reasonable but not great if you like to drive hard everyday. Overall an excellent tyre.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2010
Given 89% while driving a Ford Puma (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
These tyres suit the Puma very well and give almost as much grip in the wet as in the dry! The only negative point is road noise and personally that doesn't bother me. I would always stick with these for my Puma.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2010
Given 91% while driving a Citroën C4 (250/50 R17) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
I Love The Tires
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2010