SEAT Ibiza Cupra TDi Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the SEAT Ibiza Cupra TDi.

Do you Drive a SEAT Ibiza Cupra TDi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Ibiza Cupra TDi better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Sava eskimo hp (17) 84% 87% 85% 84% 88% 86%
Avon ZZ5 (92) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Kumho V70a (19) 99% 78% 90% 86% 57% 69%
Syron Race 1 plus (15) 86% 81% 74% 74% 84% 86%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Sunny SN3830 (17) 55% 44% 49% 44% 70% 67%

SEAT Ibiza Cupra TDi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 80% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Replaced 2 front pilot sports with zz5 s after reading reviews.
Done 7k very spirited miles including 3 open pit lane track days where I would repeatedly slam brakes on astonishingly hard from triple figures before tipping into bend and they do very very well. Dry and wet grip on roads is excellent. I always know when the gonna give.
The 2 mild downsides are 185 bhp n 350 lb tq in a 950kg car = short shift 1st or forget it! and for lower (airfield) track day tyre pressures my poor rims felt the pain of quite soft tyre walls on a particular off-camber bend but when up to temp they were fine. For the price I would buy again
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-02 23:43:55
Writing about the Syron Race 1 plus given 96% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Bought these as I have heard a few good words and by god they are right. I have Toyo proxes T1R on before these and i feel safer with them straight away! Done around 5000 miles and they have plenty of tread left. In the wet/damp they handle amazing and even better in the dry. Little bit wheel spin from a standing start but you'd expect that with a fast car. Aquaplaning is a thing of the past, no twitch or nippy bum time with these!
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-11 18:26:22
Writing about the Sunny SN3830 given 30% (205-40-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
Absolutely awful in the wet. In the dry they are spongey and provide no feedback, but aren't too noisy and made my car ride softer which isnt a bad thing, but made dry roads a chore and driving miserable as they ruined my cars handling. I expect some drop in handling with winter tyres, but the performance of these is pathetic.

Overall they are dangerous and down right scary and unless purchased when they are cheap in the summer, they are really expensive.

In deep snow and ice they are ok, but not at all amazing and the dismal performance in all other conditions makes them a real waste of money.

DO NOT BUY THEM! I only did as was expecting loads of snow and due to the size of my wheels I was limited in my choice.

Seat Ibiza Cupra TDI

tyre reviewed on 2012-07-24 22:09:39
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Exalto given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Very good in the wet compared to previous tyres and make the whole feel of the car a lot safer. The tyres are also progressive in the dry and wet which is helpful. Biggest downside for my has been the increased road noise but you can't have everything!
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-30 17:05:28
Writing about the Sava eskimo hp given 94% (195-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
I'm going to buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-10 15:23:39
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 90% (205-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15 spirited miles
Got two of these fitted to the front of my car for just over £160 fully fitted. Previously had Pirelli P Zero Nero's and WOW what an improvement over the Pirelli's the Kumho's are! Grip is excellent in the wet and I've never had any feedback from the traction control when accelerating hard. Cornering feels secure and the tyres seems to just grip and grip no matter how hard you throw the car into the bend.
Started to wear after 15,000 which is just under the 18,000 I got from the Pirelli's but the Kumho's are £30 cheaper per tyre so balance out. The rim protection is also a bonus and very welcome protection for the Cupra alloys. The Pirelli's offered no such protection and minor contact with the curb resulted in a damaged wheel.
I'm planning to replace the rears to Kumho's as soon as they begin to wear. Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-07 14:34:40
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 80% (205-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
Replaced my standard Pirelli P-Zero Nero's with these and they made a huge difference to the car's handling. Better grip in the wet, more responsive in the dry and SO much quieter. Would recommend these to anyone. At the fraction of the price of my old Pirelli's they've proven a great purchase, just got my second set fitted.
Only down side is the wear, they lasted just over 12,000 miles on the front compared to the 18,000 of the Pirelli's. But the pro's outweigh the con's...
tyre reviewed on 2010-10-06 12:47:22
Writing about the Kumho V70a given 87% (205-40-17-W)
Driving on track for 120 spirited miles
Bought for the track but will be be used to drive to the track as well ( apart from the ring where i'll swop wheels when i get there) Have done about 60 laps of oulton park in cold and wet conditions and although conditions were far from ideal they were slightly better than street tyres.

However ever once a dry line showed up (75%of track) the difference between the Kumho and a street tyre was like night and day!

This is my first venture into track tyres so cant compare them with other track tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2010-01-05 20:50:56
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 2 given 81% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
I've been using Rainsport 1's for over 20k miles and replaced them with Rainsport 2's when they came out. Overall I am very impressed with them and will continue to use them. The price has varied from ?58 to ?74 each (I've gone through about 8 RS1's and 6 RS2's) but that is still much cheaper than the 'Premium' brands. The car came with P Zeros which were pretty good but I would lose traction in the wet and dry if I floored it in 1st or 2nd gear. Same with Bridgestone Potenza RE040. The Rainsport 2's don't lose traction at all in 2nd gear unless it's very wet. They last the same number of miles as the P Zero and RE040 but give slightly more road noise. At that price I can live with the noise and turn the stereo up
tyre reviewed on 2009-10-14 22:21:02
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre