Kumho V70a

The Kumho V70a is a Trackday and Competition Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Kumho Ecsta V370.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 99%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 86%
Wear 57%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 93%

Tyre review data from 19 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 340,592 miles driven.

The V70a is ranked 6th of 24 Summer Trackday and Competition tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2013 Auto Bild Track Day Semi Slick Tyre Test - 5th of 6 tyres

  • Positive - Safe and balanced handling on a dry track, strong cornering and braking
  • Negative - Slow steering and reduced feedback in both the wet and dry. Average wet performance all round
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/40 R17 83W         8.92kgs
245/35 R18 92W XL         9.83kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Kumho V70a. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Kumho V70a Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX STI (225/45 R17) on track for 10,000 spirited miles
Awsome trackday tire
57 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2014   
Given 96% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (205/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 459 average miles
Amazing slick tire. Dry anda wet very good. My Favorite slick tire. Ring , curcit and street...
16 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2018   
Given 77% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto TJet (205/40 R17 W) on for 0 miles
Hello. I would like to comment between the two as someone who used toyo earlier. Toyo is also a very good quality tire. I was very pleased. gives incredibly beautiful results on dry ground. I also used the toyo tire MiTo. I can say that for kumho. medium point tjet model. and I chose this tire to use it daily. The result is excellent. The tire is incredibly grasping the way of heat. very good on wet ground. I am very surprised by this performance. Suggest to friends who think.
12 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2018   
Have you driven on the Kumho V70a tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho V70a? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho V70a >

Latest Kumho V70a Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Toyota celica st (205/50 R15) on track for 123 spirited miles
Good track tires sticks good when tyers cold,
On sporting track days with only one lap time per car.
Much better after two lap track times and by lap 4 and 5 last lap Very good.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2019   
Given 96% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra Tdi (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,890 average miles
the first time after a long time. I was very pleased. strongly suggesting friends who are thinking. wet and dry performance is amazingly good. I took it to the street and the runway. and I use it from both sides. I will definitely take it again. road holding and reactions after tire heating are absolutely necessary.
12 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2018   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 94% while driving a SEAT Leon FR 2.0 TFSI (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 56,000 spirited miles
Best slick tire. Cash and performans. Dry grip very very very nice. Rainy? Amazing :)
6 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2018   
Given 89% while driving a Alfa Romeo MiTo (205/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 150,000 miles

I used the product in MiTo. the dry ground is incredibly good. It is also possible to use it in normal city. it feels safe in the rainy weather. I did not expect so good. I will definitely buy it again. I wish you a good day.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2018   
Given 60% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/45 R17) on track for 600 spirited miles
Good once you have heat in them, you can really nail it in the dry (K60) med compound. I bought some old tyres (5 years but still had preserver on) and I think they're probably better younger. I had no grip in the wet until they were warm (on the rear they were useless but ok on the front/FF car).
There's not as much tread as r888 or 595 federals which means driving home on illegal tyres if you don't watch the wear.
They were so stiff to get on, now my mate won't change my tyres any more!! The sidewalls are mega strong.
Easy to spin in the dry if you have them on the rear and they are cold also, beware.
6 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2014   
Given 81% while driving a MINI JCW GP2 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Great tyres, fantastic grip on my 2013 (MINI) John Cooper Works GP2
6 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2014   
Given 77% while driving a BMW M3 (235/40 R17) on track for 100 spirited miles
Great dry grip/track tyres. They do wear very quick though, I killed a brand new set in my M3 track car in a day. Great fun but very expensive day.
5 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2013   
Given 86% while driving a BMW M3 CSL (265/35 R18) on track for 7,000 spirited miles
These are the best tyres I’ve ever tried on my M3 CSL.

I used the medium compound and the level of grip is just amazing as they warm up pretty quickly unlike the Michelin cup tyres which are good a hot day otherwise no grip as they take much longer to get them warmed up and if the track temperature is below 10degree then you’ll end up spinning!

I’ve never felt safe and confident driving hard as I did with these tires. 5*

I’ve done 4 – 5 full day track days with these tires on the race track and I was all over the big boys! Plus 7000 miles on the road.

Excellent dry (cold or warm) grip and very good on wet (tyre pressure has to be correct).

I recommend these tyres for both track and road use as they are very safe.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2012   
Given 87% while driving a BMW E36 328i saloon (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I run these on my track prepared E36 328iSE saloon, previously I ran Falkens, Michelins and then I invested in TOYO proxy's...all great tires the latter being incredible. BUT, by chance i ended up with a set of KUMHO V700 V70a Hard compound tires.

First experience of driving with them was on the dampest wettest day ever, satnding water rolling across road, so i was a tad apprehensive about what to expect as KUMHO have always been a ''cheap'' tire in the back of my mind.

Once I broke the initial membrane down and they started to heat up, my loaded with me and 2 passengers. I was starting to accelerate and brake at a reasonable pace, till I realised that I was driving quicker across this particular length of country road in ridiculous conditions on the upper side of three digits. These tires are incredible, the way they push the water to allow traction is incredible. High speed stability (combination of tires and suspension set up) is second to none. At the other side of 140 is equal to that at 50. I can't rate this tire enough...! On a RWD BMW this tire feels so at home.

In the dry...NOTHING COMPARES as a road tire...I'll eat my hat if you can prove a tire equal or better!

Wear isn't too bad on the hard compound, Im sure with a dose of spiritedness and easy motorway driving one can achieve 5000miles easily. I would recommend these tires over Proxys, Yoko's (which I had on my MR2) and the brands above, just for price and performance you'd be insane not to give them a go...I will the moment I can afford 650 for a set.
5 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2011   
Given 87% while driving a SEAT Ibiza Cupra TDi (205/40 R17 W) on track for 120 spirited miles
Bought for the track but will be be used to drive to the track as well ( apart from the ring where i'll swop wheels when i get there) Have done about 60 laps of oulton park in cold and wet conditions and although conditions were far from ideal they were slightly better than street tyres.

However ever once a dry line showed up (75%of track) the difference between the Kumho and a street tyre was like night and day!

This is my first venture into track tyres so cant compare them with other track tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2010   
Given 77% while driving a Subaru Impreza (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 90,000 spirited miles
These tyres come in either a hard or medium compound (also soft or super soft for different tyre sizes)and really are excellent track day tyres with massive reserves of grip. Found them best running at 40psi front and 35psi back on track. Lasted a full day on the track and should be good for another 2 sessions, Tried them in the wet on ordinary roads and was amazed by the grip, they have a tread wear rate of 50 for the hard compound, as compared to about 240 for normal tyres. Have run R888 but the kumho are better tyres, especially when really warmed up.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2009   
Given 81% while driving a Porsche 996 GT3 (295/45 R18 W) on track for 10,000 spirited miles
After replacing some R888s with these I can't say I've noticed much of a difference. Both are extremely good tyres, the V70a works great in dry and damp conditions but has some problems with standing water as they all do. I'm using the hard compound on the GT3 and they don't seem to go off as quickly as the R888s did.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2008