Vauxhall Omega Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Vauxhall Omega .

Do you Drive a Vauxhall Omega ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Omega better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (151) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Matador MP 44 Elite 3 (16) 90% 84% 85% 71% 81% 78%
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Michelin Primacy HP (196) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Michelin Pilot Primacy (51) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (30) 71% 81% 63% 67% 71% 73%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (49) 84% 73% 73% 75% 63% 63%
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Pirelli P6000 (172) 66% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61%
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (45) 66% 53% 52% 54% 62% 41%
Falken ZE512 (27) 67% 47% 52% 50% 45% 55%
Sunny SN3980 (3) 47% 30% 27% 37% 53% 47%

Vauxhall Omega Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 19% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 400 average miles
After replacing front shocks, springs, disks and callipers I fitted the uniroyal rain tyre to my 2002 Omega. Whereas the car prior to the Umiroyals behaved as a car should the uni royals skip, tramline consistently at low speeds i.e.30 to 40 mph. High speeds they seem ok but are frightening at low speeds, do not trust them at all!!
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-30 11:16:43
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 24% (225-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
Truly appalling, dangerous tyres! Bought my Omega with these on, in the dry it felt as though every suspension component was badly warn, in the wet on very gentle bends the car has zero grip. I've almost spun the car at 10-15mph on wet roundabouts.
If these tyres are on a car you're thinking of buying factor in the cost of replacements, totally unpredictable and a real threat to your, and other motorists' safety in the wet....steer well clear!
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-02 20:04:10
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT given 86% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 spirited miles
One of the best tyres I've driven on a Vauxhall Omega, if not the best. Directional stability, raw grip, braking performance are all superb for a road tyre. The downside is a life of about 11-12k from the rears (RWD) and double from fronts. Grip and stability maintained to long below the UK legal limit. The level of feedback allows you to get the maximum out of them, and with a predictability that inspires confidence. All this with a comfortable ride, although a bit of tyre noise.
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-18 16:14:07
Writing about the Matador MP 44 Elite 3 given 74% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Incredible grip most of the time wet or dry, amazingly seem to need to warm up. In cold weather for the first mile there's no grip.

Give good feedback, but when you keep pushing they let go quite quickly. I got XL ones as its all they had in stock. Supposed to take 95 load rated was a disaster on the 93's I had when I got a set of Michelin's. The XL ones are taking there toll on jelly mould chassis of the Omega but at long last its fun to drive with these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-02 14:53:44
Writing about the Runway ENDURO 916 Plus given 20% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-23 10:53:04
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 70000 spirited miles
I'm currently on my third set of these tyres, and I'm really happy with them. They last for ever (20,000m plus), and just work. I used to have Pirelli P7s on the car until my local garage told me that these would be better (due to it not getting warm enough here for the P7s to get up to temperature fast enough etc), and as these were cheaper, I couldn't resist.

I've been really surprised by all the negative reviews on here - I wonder how much of it is due to driver behaviour? I've only slightly lost the back end of my car once, and it was really raining at the time - I should have known better...
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-01 23:52:32
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 70% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
good allround tyre lasted very well
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-17 15:56:26
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 77% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Along with the (no longer available) Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3, these are probably one of the best sets of tyres I've ever had fitted to my car. Whilst they do have a few very minor points against them, in terms of pure grip and safety (even when pushed hard) these Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta tyres do a great job of holding the road.

Grip in the dry is awesome for both acceleration/braking and cornering, better than the old Goodyear Eagle F1s they replaced.
Despite their somewhat unique tread pattern, wet grip is equally impressive although I feel/suspect that the newer Eagle F1s would be fractionally better. In terms of handling, it would be hard to fault these tyres.

Progressiveness and feedback are good and you do get a sense of when the tyres are reaching their limit of adhesion, again better than the old F1 GSD3 tyres they replaced (which although very grippy would just snap away when the limit was reached), but I still think they could be just a little better in this area (if that's how you wish to drive around).

Comfort is good for this type of higher performance tyre and it doesn't give a 'solid' ride, but leads me on to the minor irritations. Road feedback, whilst still good is not as good as some other great tyres, and the Ultrac Sessanta just doesn't give you as good a sense of being connected. I suspect that is more down to the tyre being a bit softer than others. Depending on what you want you may see this as a good or bad thing.

The real areas I can fault them on are:
Wear is not a great aspect of these tyres, but there's no reason you wouldn't see maybe 10000 miles out of a set even with slightly spirited driving.

Also road noise. Inside the car there is no issue, but if you have your windows open you can definitely hear them at speed. Also, and this may be down to my particular tyre size, at certain speeds they can make a particularly irritating noise (again, on the outside, not inside the car). On the plus side though, as they have worn down, they haven't really gotten worse.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-06 21:50:07
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 91% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
First, in south uk we rarely get snow so not worth winter tyres, but when we did in 2010/11, abandon all hope all those who drive on sc3. Stay at home. They fail to stop, ever.
Very pleased in all other areas though, as they seem to suit large rear wheel drive cars, would ask for less noise, although quieter than Dunlop sportmax/tt. Wear approaching 20k if my notes are correct, with exceptional wet/dry grip, straight line high speed stability, feedback, with plenty of warning before they let go. Excellent tyre IMO.
Massive improvement over appallingly unstable Falken 452/912(how are these tyres allowed on sale?) although they get good reviews on smaller front wheel drive cars somehow. Very quiet though.
Merc owner a few pages back said beware inner shoulder wear. That is a camber set up issue fault of the car. Do not blame the tyre for this.
...And the two Audi owners rightly state this is a summer tyre only but there's no way I'm paying out £4-500 on winter tyres in southern England for 1 week of bad weather. Beware the snow.

Am I the only one not suprised front wheel drive cars wear more on the front, yet the owners don't mention rotating them to the back axle...?
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-22 07:06:38
Writing about the Runway ENDURO 916 Plus given 34% (225-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Have recently purchased these tyres and i intend to keep my comment short worst set i have ever had the misfortune to own, the noise is horrendous sounds like the wheel bearings are gone. Would i recommend would i buy again no no way.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-18 20:02:20
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 84% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 24000 spirited miles
Fitted a set of 4 to my rear wheel driver V6 Omega. Previously to these I had a set of 4 Michelin PS2's which last for around 21000 miles. I replaced with the Primacy HP's as it was all they had in stock. Whilst the ride was very slightly more comfortable I did lose some grip. That said, I drive my cars very hard and to the average driver you probably wouldn't notice. The grip, however, was still very good and these lasted a bit longer - around 24000 miles all round.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-13 19:09:58
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 93% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 21000 spirited miles
Fitted a set of 4 of these to my rear wheel drive V6 Omega. Lasted for around 21000 miles all round which i thought was pretty good going. Amazing grip in the wet and even better in the dry. Through the car into alot of corners and the tyres never gave up even down to the last 2mm. Highly recommend them.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-13 19:06:30
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
https://bs.serving-sys.com/Serving/adServer.bs?cn=display&c=19&pli=1076922911&gdpr=${GDPR}&gdpr_consent=${GDPR_CONSENT_68}&adid=1084363492&ord=1627919336