Avon Ice Touring ST

The Avon Ice Touring ST is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 72%
Wear 82%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 88%

Tyre review data from 40 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 292,536 miles driven.

The Ice Touring ST is ranked 29th of 39 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2015 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 19th of 19 tyres

View Full Test >>

2013 Winter Tyre Overview - Braking - 40th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2012 Auto Bild 42 Winter Tyre Braking Test - 20th of 43 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/55 R15 85H         8.36kgs
195/65 R15 91H         9.06kgs
205/65 R15 94H         9.43kgs
205/55 R16 91H         8.96kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL         8.96kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL         8.96kgs
215/55 R16 93H         9.63kgs
225/55 R16 95H         10.46kgs
225/55 R16 99H XL         10.46kgs
225/55 R16 99V XL         10.46kgs
205/60 R16 92H         9.60kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL         10.33kgs
235/60 R16 100H         12.10kgs
215/65 R16 98H         10.27kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL         9.78kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL         9.88kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL         9.88kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL         11.21kgs

Questions and Answers for the Avon Ice Touring ST

2016-12-29 - What is the best pressure to run at on 205 50 R17?

Always go by the vehicle manufacturers pressure recommendation depending on loading. Sometimes winter tyres can feel better with a little extra pressure in them, but it's important to monitor wear if you over inflate by more than 2psi.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Have you driven on the Avon Ice Touring ST tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon Ice Touring ST? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Avon Ice Touring ST >

Latest Avon Ice Touring ST Reviews

Given 37% while driving a BMW 535d M Sport (225/55 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
Had these for a second time, and were hugely disappointing. They are poor in snow (compared to Michelin Alpins), very poor in the wet, noisy (constant whine) and only OK in the dry. Worst of all, they vibrated, due to being not round. Had them checked over with a full road force balance - sure enough not round, but just within accepted tolerance. So 20,000 miles of vibration.

Replaced with Michelins, which are 1000 times better.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2017   
Given 50% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 (225/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 20,000 easy going miles
I drive a 2003 (w211) E-class 3.2 Estate. First set of winter tyres driven for 3 winters, but never seen snow! Compared with Michelin and Continental tyres I felt very unsafe driving on the Avons. The car would skid in the dry and the wet, and I drive carefully so never really put them under stress. Just taken them off the car in March 17, having done 20k miles on them, and happily they are worn down. So won't re-purchase and can't recommend them. Fingers crossed will try Michelin Cross Climates next.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2017   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 77% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra cdti (150) (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I had these tyres for 4 winters and then left them on the car last summer to 'use them up'. I found them absolutely fine in the dry but by the time they were below the winter tyre depth limit they were poor in the wet. lasted at least 30,000 miles but only good for winter use for 4 winters and ~15,000 miles. I have replaced the with the new Avon winter tyre WV7
1 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2016   
Given 83% while driving a Jaguar X Type 2.2D Estate (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Put them on once max temp drops to around 8 (Oct/Nov) and take them off in spring when it gets to about the same (Mar/Apr). Only had to use them twice in snow, first time did a 3 point turn on top of Snake Pass - no drama, unlike Range Rover in front of me. Second time was on steep hill and got up backwards (fwd) after doing 3 point turn. Very impressive. Brilliant on roads with deep puddles - no steering twitch at all.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2015   
Given 82% while driving a Rover 75 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
These tyres really start to work when the temperature drops below about 8c the wet weather grip improves over normal tyres.
On ice and snow the traction is much superior to normal tyres but the wheels need to spinning a little for the tyres to really work.

In dry warm conditions they feel a little "wobbly" compared to normal tyres of the same size, so best kept for winter use only.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2015   
Given 86% while driving a Renault Megane R26 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Fantastic winter tyres that are easily on par with much more expensive brands. Not as soft as most winter tyres had the. On the rollers and didn't overheat so surprising.

Cope extremely well in all conditions from heavy snow/rain/damp cold and dry. Tend to get a bit hairy above 12c though so not to be used year round on a performance car.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2015   
Given 80% while driving a Mazda (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
I've had these tyres on for 12 months and have found them to be a very good all year round tyre. In summer I have found that they grip surprisingly well when thrown into corners, I often forget that they aren't summer tyres they are that good.
I found a lane near Buxton in the Peak district yesterday (Dale Head) with 3-4 inches of snow on it and the tyres performed admirably despite going up and over a big hill. I expected some loss of grip going down the other side but it was as sure footed as a mountain goat.
I would Highly recommend them for all year round winter tyres, I would score them higher but for the fact that I've never had any other brand of winter tyre to compare them with.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2014   
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (195/65 R15 T) on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
Fitted these tyres to our VW Passat 1.9TDi auto saloon two years ago, have covered 10,000 miles in all weather without problem mostly on country lanes. They are my second experience of winter tyres and they are a vast improvement over the Pirelli Cinturatos previously fitted. The wet grip is superb and inspires confidence. Performance in the snow or on ice is excellent and there is plenty of traction, there is very little of the sliding around you get with summer tyres. I would say that there is not much "feel" from them however the car can be cornered fast on summer roads and you can only induce squeal at silly speeds but they cling on and do not break away. An excellent all round choice and so suited to our wet and cool roads.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2014   
Given 67% while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 4,000 average miles
NORTH WEST England. miles done 4000, from October 2013 to April 2014

cheap to buy 205/55/16
crap around corners above 12 degrees to be expected
crap on very wet grass no traction at all
Good dry and wet braking
No experience in snow or ice(mild winter), going in to storage for the summer.

So far I would still recommend them because there cheap but not terrible.
will report back next year if we do experience a proper winter, better safe than sorry to fit winter tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 8, 2014   
Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK5 1.6 FSI (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
the best tire I've ever purchased! superb value for money. excellent and reliable grip on wet surfaces. safe in the snow and low temperatures. very quiet and comfortable.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2014   
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (215/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 16,000 average miles
I've had these on for three winters now and though I should review my findings. These tyres never seem to score well in group tests against the premium brands, probably because they're made in England.
I have found these to be excellent winter tyres for the UK, they never aquaplane in deep water due to the wide block spacing and deep tread pattern. This year I went skiing in the Alps and tested these tyres in proper Alpine conditions, even on steep roads covered in snow, ice and slush they gripped and braked well. With a gentle foot there was no traction control or ABS required. Hill starts in the same were no problem.
They can slip on normal roads under hard acceleration, but they are a winter tyre so that is to be expected. They have also worn very slowly, at this rate they should last 30,000 miles before reaching 3 or 4mm at which point there is little point in using them despite still being legal.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2014   
Given 89% while driving a Rover 75 2.0 cdti Tourer (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
I bought a set of 4 alloy wheels for my diesel Rover 75 Tourer on the web 5 years ago and shod them with Avon Ice Touring winter tyres. I put them on from December until the end of March, thus saving wear on my "Summer" Tyres.

They really came into their own last January when I was returning from Spain into France over the Pyrenees mountains via the 6000' Puymorens Pass near Andorra. I hit a heavy snow storm. The Rover's traction control and ABS worked overtime on the hairpin bends. Many car owners were struggling to fit chains and I passed a 4x4 Audi A7 which had spun off the road (low profile summer tyres?). But I kept going.

Lesson? If you want to keep on the road in winter, invest in a set of Avon Ice Touring winter tyres. Apart from the security and peace of mind they bring, they pay for themselves in the long term.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2013