Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Passat 1.9Tdi better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental WinterContact TS830 (30) 90% 95% 90% 84% 85% 91%
Nokian WR D3 (42) 91% 88% 88% 87% 85% 87%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (58) 88% 92% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Nexen N Fera SU4 (60) 92% 88% 84% 80% 81% 89%
Semperit Speed Grip 2 (17) 89% 89% 89% 76% 87% 89%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (94) 89% 86% 84% 83% 86% 84%
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (34) 84% 91% 82% 76% 83% 86%
BFGoodrich gGrip (45) 90% 79% 80% 81% 86% 85%
Hankook Optimo 4S (32) 86% 86% 79% 78% 78% 88%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Neuton NT5000 (65) 88% 77% 81% 76% 84% 84%
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79%
Pirelli P6 Fourseasons (5) 84% 80% 82% 82% 86% 78%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
Yokohama AVS dB v550 (6) 88% 77% 83% 82% 67% 92%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Nankang N607 (6) 80% 75% 73% 85% 82% 82%
Hankook OPTIMO K415 (53) 82% 75% 76% 73% 85% 75%
Nexen N Blue ECO (33) 84% 79% 77% 77% 71% 75%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (176) 88% 85% 79% 76% 61% 83%
Michelin Energy Saver (133) 83% 72% 74% 71% 85% 80%
Nexen N2000 (13) 81% 75% 75% 65% 82% 76%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Michelin Primacy HP (197) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco (49) 83% 77% 77% 74% 72% 77%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (189) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Toyo Snowprox S954 (5) 78% 63% 73% 78% 73% 83%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Goodyear Hydragrip (13) 74% 88% 68% 75% 70% 68%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (196) 84% 77% 75% 73% 62% 73%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Kumho Solus Vier KH21 (5) 83% 85% 80% 78% 53% 60%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Goodyear OptiGrip (16) 74% 83% 66% 71% 71% 66%
Continental WinterContact TS 810 (5) 76% 70% 76% 56% 58% 76%
Jinyu YW51 (17) 70% 67% 63% 58% 71% 70%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (91) 75% 61% 68% 61% 78% 69%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (134) 77% 68% 62% 60% 70% 70%
Kleber HYDRAXER (7) 73% 74% 63% 56% 64% 53%
Semperit Speed Life (10) 69% 61% 67% 59% 52% 66%
Pirelli Eufori (10) 79% 59% 68% 66% 54% 39%
Pirelli SNOWCONTROL (3) 60% 53% 57% 60% 63% 67%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (62) 65% 45% 55% 54% 71% 56%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Riken Maystorm 2 B 2 (22) 68% 35% 50% 54% 52% 57%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Runway ENDURO 656 (12) 55% 31% 47% 35% 32% 34%
Fullrun HP199 (78) 48% 28% 32% 33% 54% 27%
Winda WP16 (2) 40% 20% 30% 10% 10% 10%

Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Jinyu YW51 given 39% (205-60-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 average miles
These tyres are ok in snow but any other kind of weather, not so much. On greasy roads they’re particularly frightening. I don’t even drive a powerful car. I switch on to winters in November from a summer tyre and the difference is incredible (not in a good way) even on the colder roads. The wear is ok but I think I’m just going to sling them and put something better on.
I would definitely NOT recommend these winter tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-25 01:58:55
Writing about the Pirelli SNOWCONTROL given 31% (195-65-16-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
The worst winter tire I have ever had. Very poor on wet and snow. Even as a new one it could not cope with winter conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-09 11:17:43
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19000 average miles
Great tires for max. 3 winter seasons. When the tread depth reaches about 5 mm, it is very dangerous in winter conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-09 11:14:07
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 given 99% (205-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
One of the best summer tyres I ever had.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-09 11:07:56
Writing about the Toyo Snowprox S954 given 41% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 average miles
As new very good on snow and very poor on wet. Never again.
I sold this tyres after one winter season and bought Continental WinterContact TS850.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-09 11:01:21
Writing about the Riken Maystorm 2 B 2 given 39% (215-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8000 easy going miles
Put these on the front of my passat and they are worn out after approx 8,000 cruising motorway miles. I drive about 35000 miles a year commuting to work and go through tyres alot. These were ridiculous. Usually use cheap Chinese ilinks and get approx 22-25000 miles from them. Won't be buying or recommending again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-29 17:51:01
Writing about the Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco given 93% (185-65-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 27000 miles
This is a second set of Hankooks for me. First one was Optimo K715, which are good tires, too, but for me, K425 Kinergy Eco are awesome! If you are normal, enjoy-driving rider, this is tire for you! Comparing the price, performances and lasting, Ecos are out of competition, an absolute champions in their category!
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-16 04:54:17
Writing about the BFGoodrich gGrip given 69% (205-60-15-)
Driving on for 0 miles
I am already using these tires for about 2 years.

I have already done about 60,000 km and so far it has shown a good behavior especially in dry weather. In the rainy season I notice that the tire needs to warm up for a few km to start to have more grip, initially they do not transmit a lot of confidence, but then if they are a bit warmer they improve. I only had a fright for aqua-planning, but after a few milliseconds of lack of traction, they held it again and ran well.

So far they have had a fairly uniform wear and have spent quite a few miles. For the price / quality ratio, I think it's a good tire only, in rainy weather, you have to let the tire warm up a bit.
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-11 13:18:21
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU4 given 64% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
Dry wet grip is good until temperature drops below 3C thats is when tyre becomes hard and losses grip don't get caught by this. Lasted 10K on heavy diesel estate on the front so unless you get it < 50 a corner it is not worth it.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-17 17:20:05
Writing about the Nokian WR D3 given 80% (205-55-16-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-03 15:47:18
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 89% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
Not cheap but worth every penny!
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-15 00:40:13
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 78% (215-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 average miles
Extremely comfortable and stable at high speed on dry and moist roads, quiet and soaks up bumps well. On a rain soaked motorway, standing water with a mirror finish at 125kph, the other day I got a fright, for a brief moment the steering wheel had no say in what direction the wheels pointed. The engine didn't rev out so I don't think they were aquaplaning, but they were definitely in the transitioning phase. I think the rumble line on the motorway edge saved me as the water could disperse quicker when the left tyre reached it. I have a 200 kilometre round trip to work daily, and I'm facing into winter with these tyres, after spending 145 euro each on them, I'm stuck with them. Having said that the rubber compound grips wet road really well. Dreaming of uniroyal rainsport 3 now.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-20 14:22:16
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre