Goodyear UltraGrip 8

The Goodyear UltraGrip 8 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus and this tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear UltraGrip 9.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 82%
Wear 86%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 94%
Snow Grip 85%
Ice Grip 75%

Tyre review data from 58 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 324,443 miles driven.

The UltraGrip 8 is ranked 16th of 50 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2013 Winter Tyre Overview - Braking - 13th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2013 Auto Zeitung Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 8 tyres

  • Overall - The veteran Goodyear UG8 earned our recommendation this year
View Full Test >>

2013 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 185/60 R15 - 6th of 17 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced, Good on wet and snow-covered roads
  • Overall - Good
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/70 R13 75T XL   F C 67 5.76kgs
165/70 R13 79T XL   E C 67 5.82kgs
175/70 R13 82T   C E 67 6.28kgs
165/65 R14 79T XL   E C 69 6.07kgs
185/65 R14 86T   C E 68 7.06kgs
185/70 R14 88T   E E 69 7.35kgs
195/60 R15 88V XL   E B 70 8.42kgs
195/60 R15 88H XL   E E 69 7.59kgs
185/65 R15 88T XL   E E 68 7.50kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C C 70 7.80kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   E E 68 8.11kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL * E E 69 8.47kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL *RSC E E 70 10.32kgs
205/55 R16 91T XL   E E 71 9.00kgs
195/60 R16 99T   E C 70 8.89kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   E C 69 9.30kgs

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodyear UltraGrip 8. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


UltraGrip 8 Prices

Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £51.99 - £98.50 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R14 £55.99 - £106.10 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £58.49 - £660.40 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £65.99 - £90.80 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 17 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Toyota Corolla (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
Surprisingly very noisy on wet. In dry noise level is as a summer tyre. I had no problems on wet/dry snow. Tyres behave as expected, nothing more or less. Braking distances are acceptable. Fuel economy is perfect.
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2015
Given 80% while driving a Citro├źn C4 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Have only had these tyres on for a couple of days so far but in the snow they perform Great sure grip thru slush snow water wet roads no problems so far impressed
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2017
Given 94% while driving a Opel Corsa (175/65 R14 T) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
Top tyre for snow!
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2019
Have you driven on the Goodyear UltraGrip 8 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear UltraGrip 8? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear UltraGrip 8 >

Latest Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Reviews

(225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Please don't buy these tyres! I'm a mechanic and I lost count of how many cupped Ultragrip8's and Ultragrip8 Performance I've seen! I know the UG8 and UG8P are old tyres, but if you find them new or used, stay away from them!
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto 1.4 8v (185/65 R15 T) on mostly country roads for 30,000 easy going miles
So I bought my first set of Winter Tyres back in November 2012 when I was taking my UK registered Fiat Grande Punto out to the French Alps to work a ski season. I wanted to buy a 'premium' set of Winter Tyres as I was going to be driving in true alpine conditions.
In my first winter 2012/13 the French Alps got soooo much snow. These Tyres performed exceptionally in heavy snow conditions. My car is a small car with a small light petrol engine so a decent car to drive in the Alps but these Tyres gave it unbelievable grip during a very harsh winter. I was living in a village up a twisty steep road at an altitude of 1250m and I did not need to fit my snow chains once during that winter, In deep snow they were epic.
I don't know the exact mileage that I have covered on them as I also have a set of summer tyres on alloy wheels and these winter tyres on a spare set of steel rims that I swop out in the Summer/Winter and have not noted the exact mileage done on each set.
I have run them now for 4 x winters out in the Alps and the levels of grip are diminishing as they age and the tread wear expires.
I've been mega happy with them, I drive quite sensibly so have preserved the tyres well and only really used them for driving in the village I lived in with the occasional trip on the Motorway to Geneva airport to collect friends.
It is now evident that the exceptional level of grip first offered when new is now not the same. (Hardly surprising as it was beyond belief how much grip they gave when new).
I could probably squeeze 1 x last winter out of them as they still do have a decent tread but they are 5 x years old so will probably invest in a new pair for next winter.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2017
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Dacia Logan (185/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 43 average miles
Great tyre with great overall experience. I was really impressed by wear and how progressive the ture was at the limit.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2016
Given 97% while driving a BMW 530d F10 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I had Dunlop winter sport 3D's on the older car 520D E60 model but decided to give these Goodyears a try on the newer car.
In a word these are "fantastic" tyres in terms of grip, wet or dry, refinement, and road noise suspression which is so low to be a non issue.
Had Bridgestone run flat summer tyres on the car, these were so noisy I changed the fronts to Dunlop Sport Max GT's, slight improvement, but not great.
Steering was heavyish, and the car seemed reluctant to turn into a bend.
For winter tyres and non run flats, the Goodyears are a revelation.
If you really want to experience how refined these new fives are, fit a set of these. In comparison the noise, vibration, and harshness, of the run flats totally destroy the refinement of these cars.
To drive it now is an absolute pleasure, quite, smooth, and relaxed.
Great handling, much better steering response, the nose now tucks into a corner, and you don't have to resist the stronger self centering action the other tyres caused.
Mine are the 225-55-17 101v extra load versions and they are sooooo good the run flats will never go back on the car again.
If you have a f10 beemer do yourself and your car a favour and buy a set of these, you will be amazed.
Not had any snow yet, so can't comment on this, but I suspect I won't be disapointed.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2015
Given 90% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra Estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Living in a place where no matter where you want to go, you have to go up a hill, winter can be a pain. Last night in my UltraGrip8s I sailed past struggling cars, including 4x4s, in my 2009 1.8 Vectra Estate, with ease. Comfortable, and the feel very safe. And they are longer wearing than I expected.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2015
Given 94% while driving a SEAT ibiza 1.4 (185/60 R15 T) on track for 10,000 average miles
Very good tire. It is the third season i am using them.

Very good in dry but i was really impressed drivint them in wet conditions. They are even better than dry. They have good grip in snowy and ticy conditions and the wear is above average. I conclude this since they seem in very good condition and two days ago i had to drive under snowy conditions and most of it was a downhill route. Very good grip.

I will surely use them for 1 season and i believe might use for a total of 5 seasons. Great buy! Worth every euro they cost!
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2015
Given 80% while driving a Fiat doblo (195/60 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
I have been using the UG8 for two winters now on my Doblo and they have completely sold me on winter tyres. They are quiet in the dry have compliant side walls and ride more comfortably than my summer tyres which are admittedly more focussed. I have driven in snow up to 6 inch's deep miles from anywhere in the North Pennines, N.Yorks, Scotland and deepest Essex and they have never let me down or got me stuck. Their hill climbing ability is amazing even on a 2wd. On snowy and icy hills I just set the throttle and hold it in position and let the traction control work out the rest. I realised just how good they were once I had overtaken the fourth stranded 4wd on summers that I saw stuck on hills. I even towed a stranded 4wd Mitsubishi up a snow covered hill last year near Alston. The driver was both grateful and embarrassed. Great tyre and will buy this or the new UG9 at the end of this winter when these will be getting low.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2014
Given 96% while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 TSI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I am very satisfied with GY UG8. Confort is excelent, you feel like you've changed suspension. Ride quality is excelent, very good feedback and handling, no noise when running on highway. Traction in snow might not be the best as V shaped profile is good for confort and wet as opposed to big blocks that are good for griping in snow. Though I drove in snow and they felt ok. Braking on snow and ice is unconclusive as all tyres would slip a little. I think best winter tyres for driving on dry and wet roads at lower temperatures. Very good tyres for drinving on highways. Also seems they last very well. Maybe not the best tyre for heavy snow and ice. Would buy them again and recommend them.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2014
Given 99% while driving a Volvo S40 (195/60 R15 T) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Tyres were mostly driven in town and I can say only positive things.
Excellent wet, dry grip and wear.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2014
Given 100% while driving a Suzuki Swift 1.3l 2007 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
What can I say, put these on all 4 corners last week and instant improvement, wet grip at 2c etc is fantastic, dry grip great, shorter braking distance than my summers, defo worth the investment for winter, not sure about snow yet not had any
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2013
Given 99% while driving a Volvo S40 1.6d (205/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 6,500 spirited miles
Very very good grip. Wasn't expecting anything different from an expensive premium tire.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2013
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I bought these when the price was right so I'd be ready for winter.
I've driven in snow with new summer tyres and later with some good quality all seasons on the front so have a little to compare to.
First thing, my cars manual advises upping the pressure by 0.2 bar when using winter tyres, I have tried it and agree.. The result, better mpg than my summer tyres and even tyre wear upto now (I've been too lazy and busy to swap back).
To summarise my thoughts on winter driving with these tyres..
Going down country roads, the motorway and uncleared city streets to help some friends get home one night.. And doing it fine :)
Or following a modern 4wd while it slides everywhere before overtaking up a hill..
They've been pretty good for setting off, but.. for cornering and particuly stopping quick enough to feel the g force.

In the summer, they're alright but aside from rain they're nothing more than decent - compared to summer tyres.. a little soft.

They aren't noisy. The wear rate is pretty decent considering my habit of aggressive starts and the temperature
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on June 25, 2013