Continental Premium Contact 2

The Continental Premium Contact 2 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental PremiumContact and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental Premium Contact 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 77%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 73%
Wear 62%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 61%

Tyre review data from 193 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 4,373,945 miles driven.

The Premium Contact 2 is ranked 76th of 119 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 EVO Winter Tyre Test - 8th of 9 tyres

    View Full Test >>

    2011 European Summer Tyre Test - 195/65 R15 - 5th of 14 tyres

    • Positive - Very balanced tyre, scores well in all safety related tests.
    View Full Test >>

    2011 Finnish ECO Touring Tyre Test - 1st of 15 tyres

    • Positive - Grip and driveability in both the wet and dry
    • Negative - None mentioned
    • Overall - The Continental Premium Contact 2 is a convincing tyre, winning in almost every test. Best dry and wet grip and great handling
    View Full Test >>
    Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    185/55 R14 80H   E B 70 6.60kgs
    175/60 R14 79H   E B 70 6.34kgs
    195/60 R14 86H   C B 71 7.22kgs
    175/65 R14 82T MMC E C 70 6.40kgs
    175/65 R14 82T VW E B 70 6.61kgs
    195/65 R14 89H   E B 71 7.40kgs
    155/70 R14 77T   F C 70 5.87kgs
    165/70 R14 81T   C B 70 6.28kgs
    175/70 R14 84T   E B 70 6.93kgs
    195/50 R15 82T   E B 71 7.61kgs
    195/50 R15 82H FIA F B 71 7.12kgs
    205/50 R15 86V   E B 71 8.11kgs
    185/55 R15 86V XL FOR F B 71 7.46kgs
    185/55 R15 82H   E B 70 6.73kgs
    185/55 R15 82T   C B 70 6.68kgs
    185/55 R15 86H XL   E B 71 6.70kgs
    195/55 R15 85H SKO F B 71 7.12kgs
    195/55 R15 85V DAE F C 71 7.20kgs
    195/55 R15 85V   E C 71 7.28kgs
    205/55 R15 88V   E B 71 7.91kgs
    185/60 R15 84T AO F B 70 7.68kgs
    185/60 R15 84H   E C 70 7.21kgs
    195/60 R15 88H   E B 71 8.14kgs
    195/60 R15 88H   F C 71 7.56kgs
    205/60 R15 91W   E B 71 8.42kgs
    205/60 R15 95H XL   E B 72 8.22kgs
    215/60 R15 98H XL   C B 72 9.25kgs
    225/60 R15 96W   E B 71 9.37kgs
    225/60 R15 96V   E B 71 9.37kgs
    175/65 R15 84H * E B 70 7.06kgs
    175/65 R15 84H * F C 70 7.07kgs
    205/45 R16 83W   E B 71 8.37kgs
    215/45 R16 86H   E B 71 8.49kgs
    215/45 R16 90V XL AO C B 72 9.10kgs
    185/50 R16 81T   C C 70 6.82kgs
    185/50 R16 81H   C B 69 6.82kgs
    195/50 R16 84V   E B 71 8.32kgs
    195/50 R16 88V XL FOR F B 72 7.75kgs
    205/50 R16 87W   E B 71 8.15kgs
    225/50 R16 92W MO F B 71 9.29kgs
    225/50 R16 92W MO E B 71 9.31kgs
    225/50 R16 92V MO F B 71 9.29kgs
    225/50 R16 92V MO E B 71 9.31kgs
    185/55 R16 83V   E B 70 7.63kgs
    185/55 R16 83H   E C 70 7.29kgs
    185/55 R16 83V   B B 70 7.32kgs
    195/55 R16 91H XL   C B 72 8.29kgs
    195/55 R16 87H ALF C C 71 8.20kgs
    195/55 R16 87V * F B 71 9.69kgs
    195/55 R16 87H * F C 71 7.97kgs
    195/55 R16 87V * E B 71 9.69kgs
    195/55 R16 87V * F C 71 7.85kgs
    205/55 R16 91H * E B 71 8.27kgs
    205/55 R16 91H MO F B 71 8.62kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   E C 71 8.59kgs
    205/55 R16 91V MO F B 71 8.62kgs
    205/55 R16 91H   C B 71 8.16kgs
    205/55 R16 91W MO E B 71 8.67kgs
    205/55 R16 91V TOY E B 71 8.90kgs
    205/55 R16 91V * E B 71 8.27kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL AUD E B 72 8.76kgs
    215/55 R16 93V ALF E B 71 8.53kgs
    215/55 R16 93H         8.63kgs
    225/55 R16 95W * E B 71 13.13kgs
    225/55 R16 99W XL MO B B 72 9.70kgs
    225/55 R16 99Y XL MO B B 72 9.68kgs
    225/55 R16 95W * E C 71 9.98kgs
    225/55 R16 95V * E C 71 9.98kgs
    225/55 R16 95W MO B B 71 9.13kgs
    225/55 R16 95V   E B 71 9.56kgs
    225/55 R16 95Y AO F B 71 9.84kgs
    195/60 R16 89V MO F B 71 8.36kgs
    195/60 R16 89H   E B 71 8.12kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL VW E B 72 9.85kgs
    205/60 R16 92V MO C B 71 9.09kgs
    205/60 R16 92H * E B 71 8.79kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   C B 72 9.83kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   C B 72 10.93kgs
    215/60 R16 95V   E B 71 11.07kgs
    215/60 R16 95H VW E B 71 11.07kgs
    215/60 R16 95H   E B 71 9.63kgs
    215/60 R16 95V   E B 71 9.87kgs
    215/60 R16 95H   C B 71 11.10kgs
    225/60 R16 98V   E B 71 9.41kgs
    225/60 R16 98W   E B 71 10.00kgs
    225/60 R16 102V XL   C B 72 10.10kgs
    235/60 R16 100W   E B 71 10.55kgs
    235/60 R16 100V   E B 71 10.55kgs
    205/70 R16 97H   C B 71 11.04kgs
    215/40 R17 87W XL AO C B 72 8.75kgs
    215/40 R17 87V XL   E B 72 8.40kgs
    215/40 R17 87Y XL AO E B 72 8.45kgs
    215/40 R17 87Y XL VW E B 72 8.39kgs
    205/50 R17 89W * E B 71 10.10kgs
    205/50 R17 89Y * E B 71 10.10kgs
    205/50 R17 89V   E C 71 9.03kgs
    205/50 R17 89H   E B 71 8.44kgs
    225/50 R17 98H XL   C B 72 12.02kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL VW E B 72 11.08kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL VW E B 72 12.42kgs
    225/50 R17 98H XL VW E B 72 10.55kgs
    225/50 R17 98H XL   C B 72 10.68kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   C B 72 12.41kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   C B 72 11.05kgs
    205/55 R17 91V * E B 71 9.38kgs
    205/55 R17 91V * E B 71 11.05kgs
    205/55 R17 95H XL   E B 72 8.97kgs
    205/55 R17 91V * F B 71 11.02kgs
    225/55 R17 97W * F B 71 11.19kgs
    225/55 R17 97Y * F B 71 11.19kgs
    225/55 R17 97Y * E B 71 11.33kgs
    225/55 R17 97Y   F B 71 14.17kgs
    235/55 R17 99W   E B 71 10.75kgs
    245/55 R17 102W * E C 71 17.17kgs
    235/60 R17 102Y AO F B 71 12.47kgs
    235/60 R17 102Y AO E A 71 12.63kgs
    235/50 R18 97W J F B 71 11.49kgs
    215/55 R18 95H   E B 71 9.96kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL   C C 72 10.39kgs
    235/55 R18 100Y AO E B 71 12.31kgs
    235/55 R18 100V XL CHR E B 71 11.95kgs
    235/55 R18 104Y XL AO E B 72 12.94kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 2

    2017-11-01 - I just bought a Ford Fiesta equipped with premium contact2's 195/50 16. I am wondering if the mileage of the car has been tampered with. Would you be able to give a rough estimate of the mileage of the tires if they have 7mm of thread depth left? Kind regards Jakob

    Mileage can be hugely dependant on the car use and driving style, but somewhere between 10-20k on the front axle and anything up to 40k on the rear.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Premium Contact 2 Prices

    Size Price Range  
    185/55 R15 £76.60 - £89.50 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/50 R16 £79.60 - £111.50 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/65 R15 £56.20 - £59.30 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £68.00 - £81.05 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 41 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Continental Premium Contact 2 Reviews

    Given 90% while driving a Renault Clio 182 cup (205/45 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Put these on the front of my Clio 182, cos I couldn't stand what I had on there before (Michelin Pilot Sport 3, which I moved to the back). WHAT A DIFFERENCE! If your car suffers from tramlining, these tyres will cure the prob. Premium Contact 2s also handle better, and are more fun. Although a premium touring tyre, and not a sports tyre, at road speeds these are much more progressive on the limit and offer much more feel, feedback and communication than the supposedly superior premium sports tyres I had on the front before. Had the same experience with Conti PC 2s on the front of an E36 328i I used to own - unrivalled fun. Not quite the grippiest tyre there is, but the unequalled progression and feel etc. mean this tyre might just be the best kept secret for fun at speeds you can tell a policeman about.
    68 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2015   
    Given 57% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
    + Good grip / feed back / strong side wall

    - Ware / Noise / Fuel usage / price

    Long term review Continental Premium Contact 2 (CPC2).

    These were equipped as the stock tyre, from the factory. The first set, had 4 grooves (84v) and I didn't rotate them. The replacements sets (front only), are the XL (88v) version, these only had 3 grooves, in the stock size.

    The first, 4 grooves sets lasted longer (wear wise):

    15,000 miles (July 2013 - Aug 2015) on the front.

    35000 miles (July 2013 - March 2018)

    The replacement fronts sets, 3 grooves (CPC2 - 88V), didn't fare as well (ware wise).

    Replaced at 15,000 miles (Aug 2015- Aug 2016) and 25,000 miles (Aug 2016 - March 2018)

    Cornering at speed and feedback on limits of traction, is good adding confidence, to driving. Grip in the dry and wet is good, until they drop below 2.5 mm. They sometimes lose traction (not often) and don't hold the road as well. The 3 grooves, version are more prone to traction loss vs the 4 grooves. Once the temp drops (4c or below) and the tyres have worn to 3mm or lower, they feel very stiff/rigid. Until they get some heat in them.

    The side wall of the rear right tyre must have been curbed (badly) as a piece came off, but the still stayed strong.

    They are nosey and the rolling stat is F, using more fuel, which over time will add up.

    2 tyres cost:

    2015 £168 / 2016 £168 / 2018 £184


    I didn't want to replace with the same again. As this tyre has been replace by Continental Premium Contact 5 and now 6. Which isn't available in my size, (what up with that Continental). Last time I checked, the ford fiesta is the UK best selling car. I've notice several version, of the newer 2018 (fiesta) no longer use Continental, but the Primacy 3


    After reading the reviews and feedback. I short listed Michelin Primacy 3 and Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance.

    I've just replace all 4, Continental with Goodyear, which did cost more.

    So I'm hoping for better ware, grip, noise and mpg (time will tell).

    This time around I will be rotating.


    11 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2018   
    Given 69% while driving a Renault Clio 172 (195/45 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    These replaced a pair of Toyo T1-R tyres on my Clio Sport. They exceeded my expectations by quite a bit and they are far better than the Toyo's in every way other than ride comfort. I especially like the feedback they give when driving and I am also impressed by the wet weather grip and progressiveness at the limit. I drive my car very hard and this tyre delivers.
    9 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2018   
    Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 2 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental Premium Contact 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental Premium Contact 2 >

    Latest Continental Premium Contact 2 Reviews

    Skoda (215/60 R16) on mostly town for 19,000 average miles
    2016 i have purchased Skoda Yeti with ContiPremiumContact 2, size 215/60 R16 95H DOT AF5M D5R4, 1816. Tires have been in service only summer seasons. Last car service was 30th Aug. 2021. when I have noticed problem with tires. After approximately 30.000 km pieces of tire started to chip off. Depth of tires grooves are from 5,2 -4,4 mm (measured by digital caliper).
    0 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2021   
    Suzuki (185/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
    Before changing to these rubbers had a set of UC6's at the front and TR1'S at the back. Both gave confidence in the dry but in the wet you had to watch your limits. Took a roundabout at 60 to 70km/h after a downpour and the car skidded to side, twice. Not a smart thing to do but hey, the road was empty. Even though the Toyo's were supposed to be UHP tyres, i just felt tyre compound was very hard. After some research, narrowed it down to the new Eagle F1's and the CPC2. I had to get a bit wider set if i wanted the Eagles so i opted to stick to the original tyre size with the CPC2. After installing, there was less harshness, the ride was more refined, going over bumps was less jarring and every time you take a corner, it would put a smile on your face. Fantastic upgrade from the previous rubbers. I don't expect them to last long with a 280 UTOQ rating but these tyres have brought back the joy of driving.
    2 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2021   
    Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
    Given 69% while driving a BMW E36 320i (195/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    Mounted as fronts on E36 which is driven as track / daily car, no ABS or ASC, car is set with -3,5 camber up front. Contis lasted around 9000km, half of which was track style driving, drifting. Tyres tread depth from new 7mm went down to about 2,5-3mm. Tyre is rated 280AAA, fairly soft and grippy, tho its not semi slick. Gave good overall balance to car, as rears usually were not so grippy :) On dry a lot of feedback, you can really throw car around with confidence. A lot of information what is going on with front wheels grip. No understeering with proper pressure, usually lower from typical 2,2 to 2,0-1,9bar. When cold, around 4-7deg C, lack of temperature is showing, you need few laps to get heat into tyre, as understeering is obvious. Wet grip was very good for the first 4000km, turn in felt really secure. On the limit very progressive, easy to control. Car would follow easily where I intended to turn, mostly sideways. After 4000km on entry of the corner or braking: understeering, sudden slip or locking one of front wheels occured, that meant these tyres are done. I can't comment on noise, tracking tyre with no abs means flat spots. Overall good tyre, giving a lot of information to driver, just keep in mind wet grip deteriorates FAST.
    1 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2021   
    Given 64% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 19,374 average miles
    I live in western Greece and I bought my Fiesta brand new with these tyres on. I also had them for 3 years an a VW Passat some years ago. I had the same exactly experience both times. The tyre has extremely good grip on Dry for the first almost 1,5 year of using. Then it looses way too fast its grip to a point that after 2 years of using it I had to be extremely careful either on dry or wet. On Wet its grip is average, never trusted it. Imagine at 2,5 years on wet road with my 1000cc Fiesta, spins tyres on 2nd gear just with throttle while cruising, on any wet road. And I changed them at 2,5 years with 19.374 miles (31.180km) on it. Now I'm wearing Toyo Proxes CF2 (you can read my review there), although my best tyre so far is Michelin Pilot Sport. So, additionally you get very good feedback from the tyres, they handle well at normal temperatures but not at high ones. When this tyre gets hot, it loses grip. As for the Wearing... they wear extremely fast. On this mileage they were almost slick.Countryside, city and national road driving. And they lose wear both the fronts and the backs (fronts for sure faster cause of FWD). They are comfortable they don't make noise, It's ok with that. Their real issue is that they wear fast. 2 times tested, 2 different cars, same experience. Never gonna buy them again for sure, really don't want them on my cars. Unless every 1 - 1,5 years or aprox. 11.000miles (18.000km) you change them with brand new ones!
    0 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2021   
    Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Volkswagen Up! White Up! 75PS/95NM (185/50 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 43,882 easy going miles
    Fitted for 8 seasons / 70622km / 43882mi, still 3 mm profile left on our Volkswagen Up! White Up! 75PS/95NM MY2013. I am completely astonished from those tyres' performance! Maybe it is because of the small car and its tiny weight - during the last 8 seasons i found our citycar very reliable and confident on every wet or dry road we drove. This is the best summer tire I've driven so far. I will speak out only superlatives for Continental Premium Contact 2. Now I am really unsure which one should I pick for the next couple of years: Michelin Primacy 4 185/50R16 81H or Continental Premium Contact 2 185/50R16 81T. Higher price, higher speed index, newer model, newer technology versus the old but well known, reliable and confident Conti model...?
    1 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2021   
    Given 69% while driving a BMW E36 320i (195/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    Mounted as fronts on E36 which is driven as track / daily car, no ABS or ASC, car is set with -3,5 camber up front. Contis lasted around 9000km, half of which was track style driving, drifting. Tyres tread depth from new 7mm went down to about 2,5-3mm. Tyre is rated 280AAA, fairly soft and grippy, tho its not semi slick. Gave good overall balance to car, as rears usually were not so grippy :) On dry a lot of feedback, you can really throw car around with confidence. A lot of information what is going on with front wheels grip. No understeering with proper pressure, usually lower from typical 2,2 to 2,0-1,9bar. When cold, around 4-7deg C, lack of temperature is showing, you need few laps to get heat into tyre, as understeering is obvious. Wet grip was very good for the first 4000km, turn in felt really secure. On the limit very progressive, easy to control. Car would follow easily where I intended to turn, mostly sideways. After 4000km on entry of the corner or braking: understeering, sudden slip or locking one of front wheels occured, that meant these tyres are done. I can't comment on noise, tracking tyre with no abs means flat spots. Overall good tyre, giving a lot of information to driver, just keep in mind wet grip deteriorates FAST.
    1 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2021   
    Given 47% while driving a Ford Connect LWB Van (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 16,000 easy going miles
    As with other reviews this is the worst wearing tyre I have ever had in 40 years of motoring. They were OE on my Ford Transit Connect 2018MY. After 16,000 miles they are 1mm off the wear limiters. I even rotated front and rear tyres at 8,000 miles. Tyres are ok for van use with this exception of terrible wear. The wet grip is not great but satisfactory. I drive carefully and keep the tyres at the manufacturer’s pressures. I’m going to try Michelin Cross Climate + next as I’ve fitted them to my car and they are great. Kwikfit doing discount deals on them so they work out around £91 per tyre.
    1 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2020   
    Given 84% while driving a Suzuki Swift (175/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
    I bought this used Suzuki Swift 1.3 DDIS which fitted mid life Continental Premium Contact 2 with BMW OE markings * in the 3 grooves pattern (the 4 grooves pattern is for sizes starting from 205). The tyres always felt very secure and grippy, braking feels secure thanks to the front tyres grip. Driving in the city you can go round roundabouts at high speeds feeling always secure. Rain is never an issue even now with the remaining tread approaching the legal limit. Living near hills with nice twisty roads I took the chance to drive in a sporty way and the tyres never disappointed, quite the opposite, entering bends at high speeds the front feels very planted and the feedback from the road is always excellent, communication between steering wheel and road is always sincere, the tyres never fail to tell you what they are going to do and they let you know well in advance when they are approaching their limit. These tyres also allow for good mileage and fuel saving. The other side of the coin is a higher wear rate compared to Michelins energy savers I have on a similar car. Soon I will replace them with all seasons approaching winter and I would honestly buy them again.
    1 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2020   
    Given 80% while driving a Mitsubishi Galant (190/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
    This is my 2nd buy of this model and this tyre proved as very good, i'm driving on 01' Mitsubishi Galant 2.0 ea2a 4g63 since 2007 until now (2020) and swap set of conti contact 2 two times and this is my experience: Very very good quality, i live in country with lot of sun and tyres hold 5 years and still have good performence. Good dry and wet road grip, with distorted road is OK but not the best as Kleber or Goodyear tyres, if you driving in smooth road this is the best tyre, highway also is great ride but quite noise, even in lower speed (50-60 kmh). Wear is great and even after 5 years still have lot slots. after 2 swapping and total 9 years with this model i like to change for more comfort tyres, still in my country not all roads is perfect and i need more softness ride. If in my country there was no 6 years limit law for tyres, i was keep using my correct Conticontact 2. Thank you Continental for making very good tyres and i real like it and definitely recommend it.
    1 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2020   
    Given 44% while driving a Ford Connect LWB Van (205/60 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 9,000 easy going miles
    OE on new 2018 Ford Transit Connect SWB Van. Overall seem OK. Poor grip if mud or leaves on the road, otherwise OK. Braking satisfactory both wet and dry. Live in Lake District, England, so wet a lot of the time but little snow.
    Main issue is with wear. New vehicle which has done 9,000 miles of careful driving and the front tyres have 3mm tread left, the wear is even. Rear wear is satisfactory. Van has been lightly loaded and tyre pressures as per Ford spec and checked weekly. Fastest wearing tyres I've ever had, so I won't be buying again. I'm looking to replace with Michelin CrossClimate+
    1 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2019   
    Given 89% while driving a Opel Corsa C (185/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Very good tyre!
    0 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2019   
    Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 6R 1.6 (215/45 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
    Had these on my mk5 vw polo. By far one of the best tyres in the premium class.
    Grip in the dry is very good and confidence inspiring. Still excellent in the wet. Will aquaplane a little in extremely wet conditions. Does well to maintain traction when taking off from standstill. Wear is also reasonably good. I like how quiet they are as well.
    6 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2019