Continental Premium Contact 2

The Continental Premium Contact 2 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 198 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 4,600,945 miles driven, and 9 tests with an average result of 4th.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 77%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 73%
Wear 62%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 62%

First On MarketFebruary 2005
Wheel Size14 - 18"
Width175 - 235mm
Profile40 - 70
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)70 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Premium Contact 2 is ranked 91st of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Continental PremiumContact and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental Premium Contact 5.

Tests Included

9

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

8th

Average Result

4th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2011 European Summer Tyre Test - 195/65 R15
5th of 14 tyres
  • Very balanced tyre, scores well in all safety related tests.
View Full Test >>
2011 Finnish ECO Touring Tyre Test
1st of 15 tyres
  • Grip and driveability in both the wet and dry
  • None mentioned
  • The Continental Premium Contact 2 is a convincing tyre, winning in almost every test. Best dry and wet grip and great handling
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
195/55 R 15 85 VDC71
195/65 R 15 91 HCB71
195/65 R 15 91 HDB71
195/65 R 15 91 HDB71
195/65 R 15 91 HDB71
16 inch
215/60 R 16 95 HDB71
205/55 R 16 91 VDB71
205/55 R 16 91 VCB71
215/60 R 16 95 VDB71
215/60 R 16 95 VDB71
205/60 R 16 96 H XLCB72
215/60 R 16 95 HCB71
205/60 R 16 96 H XLCB72
215/60 R 16 95 HCB71
215/60 R 16 95 VDB71
205/60 R 16 92 HDB71
205/55 R 16 91 WDB71
205/60 R 16 92 VCB71
205/55 R 16 91 HDB71
215/60 R 16 95 VDB71
215/60 R 16 95 VDB71
215/60 R 16 95 HDB71
205/55 R 16 91 VDB71
205/55 R 16 91 HCB71
17 inch
225/50 R 17 98 V XLCB72
225/50 R 17 98 H XLCB72
215/55 R 17 94 VDB71
225/50 R 17 98 V XLCB72
225/50 R 17 98 H XLCB72
205/50 R 17 89 HDB71
205/50 R 17 89 VDC71
205/50 R 17 89 VDC71
215/55 R 17 94 VDB71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental Premium Contact 2 >>

Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 2

2017-11-01 - I just bought a Ford Fiesta equipped with premium contact2's 195/50 16. I am wondering if the mileage of the car has been tampered with. Would you be able to give a rough estimate of the mileage of the tires if they have 7mm of thread depth left? Kind regards Jakob

Mileage can be hugely dependant on the car use and driving style, but somewhere between 10-20k on the front axle and anything up to 40k on the rear.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
185/55 R15 £101.99 - £124.42 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/50 R15 £78.99 - £97.33 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £96.98 - £96.98 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £81.07 - £106.92 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 26 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental Premium Contact 2 Reviews

Given 67% while driving a Suzuki (185/70 R14) on a combination of roads for 23,000 easy going miles
I Live in A Part of South Africa where I Live near a freeway, I have a back road to go on if I am lazy to go on the freeway, But the quality of both parts are quite bad, as some have lines, road dents and patches, and also some potholes.

I bought the car with them on as brand new as a full set, The car at the time was on 35K KM's. They were really good on dry days, like they gripped and balanced the car to my disbelief sometimes, though I did not Like how not so direct the steering gets when you want a direct steer. The fuel economy on the swift was beautiful on it, and they are very strong in terms of quality, as when I was going home for a weekend off, I got a nail from just after the start of the trip, the tyre kept its composure until I passed the second toll gate, and even I hit the brake after getting the puncture, the tyre didn't shred even after I stopped, and even after patching the tyre, it kept soldiering on. braking performance on the dry was wonderful.

The cons of these tyres is the poor performance and comfort when in the rain, and also the poor braking performance when they are close to finishing, and also on a rainy day.

I had to change them, because of The past garages(all from one brand, let me not mention it) where I did alignment at always didn't want to do rotation for unknown reasons, then after a change of garage brand when seeing that the alignment wasn't eating the tyres properly, they stated it could be because the garages I previously did alignment on do not charge for rotation and they get lazy because they see a decent set of tyres, whilst they were eating the tyre from the back more than how it would normally eat from the front tyres(Front WD).
I took the front tyres to the back, then put Flkens sn832"s in front, and the performance of the falkens complimented the comfort of the contis. I changed the first pair at 72K km's then the second will be changed soon.

But These Conti's are really good for higher performance cars than mine. If you can afford to buy conti's, Buy a whole set instead of being them in two's.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Toyota Auris (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
Very solid tyre in both the wet and dry and always feels very stable at speed and going round corners. Feedback is good and the comfort whilst not the best out there is great given the performance and makes it a good all round tyre. These tyres have worn very well over the mileage and years I've used them and both tyre have had a nail in them and experienced very low loss of pressure but were patched without issues and sidewalls also have next to no visible cracking even after 5 years fitted on the rear axle.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Renault Clio 182 cup (205/45 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Put these on the front of my Clio 182, cos I couldn't stand what I had on there before (Michelin Pilot Sport 3, which I moved to the back). WHAT A DIFFERENCE! If your car suffers from tramlining, these tyres will cure the prob. Premium Contact 2s also handle better, and are more fun. Although a premium touring tyre, and not a sports tyre, at road speeds these are much more progressive on the limit and offer much more feel, feedback and communication than the supposedly superior premium sports tyres I had on the front before. Had the same experience with Conti PC 2s on the front of an E36 328i I used to own - unrivalled fun. Not quite the grippiest tyre there is, but the unequalled progression and feel etc. mean this tyre might just be the best kept secret for fun at speeds you can tell a policeman about.
Helpful 98 - tyre reviewed on December 23, 2015
Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental Premium Contact 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental Premium Contact 2 >

Latest Continental Premium Contact 2 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 100,000 spirited miles
these tyres were on the car for 10 years and reached 100 000km. If I had the money I would go with Continental everytime. Ended up getting Dunlops coz they cheap here. (South Africa)
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2022
Given 74% while driving a Chevrolet TRAX 2018 Premier (215/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 54,000 average miles
I got it as stock on my 2028 TRAX. The grip in wet and dry is excellent, no complain there. Aquaplaning is ok ish, not bad and not good. Doing a turning with high speed feels a little off. I only did rotate the tyre once in the entire lifetime usage so this might affect performance. The number one complain I had is comfort and noise which I expected to be better as this tyre is not cheap. After 54000 km of the tyre is too damaged do to couple time flat at the same dot. Just changed the whole set to Primacy 4 235/55 R18 and so glad that I did.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2021
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Skoda (215/60 R16) on mostly town for 19,000 average miles
2016 i have purchased Skoda Yeti with ContiPremiumContact 2, size 215/60 R16 95H DOT AF5M D5R4, 1816. Tires have been in service only summer seasons. Last car service was 30th Aug. 2021. when I have noticed problem with tires. After approximately 30.000 km pieces of tire started to chip off. Depth of tires grooves are from 5,2 -4,4 mm (measured by digital caliper).
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2021
Suzuki (185/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Before changing to these rubbers had a set of UC6's at the front and TR1'S at the back. Both gave confidence in the dry but in the wet you had to watch your limits. Took a roundabout at 60 to 70km/h after a downpour and the car skidded to side, twice. Not a smart thing to do but hey, the road was empty. Even though the Toyo's were supposed to be UHP tyres, i just felt tyre compound was very hard. After some research, narrowed it down to the new Eagle F1's and the CPC2. I had to get a bit wider set if i wanted the Eagles so i opted to stick to the original tyre size with the CPC2. After installing, there was less harshness, the ride was more refined, going over bumps was less jarring and every time you take a corner, it would put a smile on your face. Fantastic upgrade from the previous rubbers. I don't expect them to last long with a 280 UTOQ rating but these tyres have brought back the joy of driving.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2021
Given 69% while driving a BMW E36 320i (195/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Mounted as fronts on E36 which is driven as track / daily car, no ABS or ASC, car is set with -3,5 camber up front. Contis lasted around 9000km, half of which was track style driving, drifting. Tyres tread depth from new 7mm went down to about 2,5-3mm. Tyre is rated 280AAA, fairly soft and grippy, tho its not semi slick. Gave good overall balance to car, as rears usually were not so grippy :) On dry a lot of feedback, you can really throw car around with confidence. A lot of information what is going on with front wheels grip. No understeering with proper pressure, usually lower from typical 2,2 to 2,0-1,9bar. When cold, around 4-7deg C, lack of temperature is showing, you need few laps to get heat into tyre, as understeering is obvious. Wet grip was very good for the first 4000km, turn in felt really secure. On the limit very progressive, easy to control. Car would follow easily where I intended to turn, mostly sideways. After 4000km on entry of the corner or braking: understeering, sudden slip or locking one of front wheels occured, that meant these tyres are done. I can't comment on noise, tracking tyre with no abs means flat spots. Overall good tyre, giving a lot of information to driver, just keep in mind wet grip deteriorates FAST.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2021
Given 64% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 19,374 average miles
I live in western Greece and I bought my Fiesta brand new with these tyres on. I also had them for 3 years an a VW Passat some years ago. I had the same exactly experience both times. The tyre has extremely good grip on Dry for the first almost 1,5 year of using. Then it looses way too fast its grip to a point that after 2 years of using it I had to be extremely careful either on dry or wet. On Wet its grip is average, never trusted it. Imagine at 2,5 years on wet road with my 1000cc Fiesta, spins tyres on 2nd gear just with throttle while cruising, on any wet road. And I changed them at 2,5 years with 19.374 miles (31.180km) on it. Now I'm wearing Toyo Proxes CF2 (you can read my review there), although my best tyre so far is Michelin Pilot Sport. So, additionally you get very good feedback from the tyres, they handle well at normal temperatures but not at high ones. When this tyre gets hot, it loses grip. As for the Wearing... they wear extremely fast. On this mileage they were almost slick.Countryside, city and national road driving. And they lose wear both the fronts and the backs (fronts for sure faster cause of FWD). They are comfortable they don't make noise, It's ok with that. Their real issue is that they wear fast. 2 times tested, 2 different cars, same experience. Never gonna buy them again for sure, really don't want them on my cars. Unless every 1 - 1,5 years or aprox. 11.000miles (18.000km) you change them with brand new ones!
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2021
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Volkswagen Up! White Up! 75PS/95NM (185/50 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 43,882 easy going miles
Fitted for 8 seasons / 70622km / 43882mi, still 3 mm profile left on our Volkswagen Up! White Up! 75PS/95NM MY2013. I am completely astonished from those tyres' performance! Maybe it is because of the small car and its tiny weight - during the last 8 seasons i found our citycar very reliable and confident on every wet or dry road we drove. This is the best summer tire I've driven so far. I will speak out only superlatives for Continental Premium Contact 2. Now I am really unsure which one should I pick for the next couple of years: Michelin Primacy 4 185/50R16 81H or Continental Premium Contact 2 185/50R16 81T. Higher price, higher speed index, newer model, newer technology versus the old but well known, reliable and confident Conti model...?
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2021
Given 69% while driving a BMW E36 320i (195/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Mounted as fronts on E36 which is driven as track / daily car, no ABS or ASC, car is set with -3,5 camber up front. Contis lasted around 9000km, half of which was track style driving, drifting. Tyres tread depth from new 7mm went down to about 2,5-3mm. Tyre is rated 280AAA, fairly soft and grippy, tho its not semi slick. Gave good overall balance to car, as rears usually were not so grippy :) On dry a lot of feedback, you can really throw car around with confidence. A lot of information what is going on with front wheels grip. No understeering with proper pressure, usually lower from typical 2,2 to 2,0-1,9bar. When cold, around 4-7deg C, lack of temperature is showing, you need few laps to get heat into tyre, as understeering is obvious. Wet grip was very good for the first 4000km, turn in felt really secure. On the limit very progressive, easy to control. Car would follow easily where I intended to turn, mostly sideways. After 4000km on entry of the corner or braking: understeering, sudden slip or locking one of front wheels occured, that meant these tyres are done. I can't comment on noise, tracking tyre with no abs means flat spots. Overall good tyre, giving a lot of information to driver, just keep in mind wet grip deteriorates FAST.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2021
Given 47% while driving a Ford Connect LWB Van (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 16,000 easy going miles
As with other reviews this is the worst wearing tyre I have ever had in 40 years of motoring. They were OE on my Ford Transit Connect 2018MY. After 16,000 miles they are 1mm off the wear limiters. I even rotated front and rear tyres at 8,000 miles. Tyres are ok for van use with this exception of terrible wear. The wet grip is not great but satisfactory. I drive carefully and keep the tyres at the manufacturer’s pressures. I’m going to try Michelin Cross Climate + next as I’ve fitted them to my car and they are great. Kwikfit doing discount deals on them so they work out around £91 per tyre.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2020
Given 84% while driving a Suzuki Swift (175/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
I bought this used Suzuki Swift 1.3 DDIS which fitted mid life Continental Premium Contact 2 with BMW OE markings * in the 3 grooves pattern (the 4 grooves pattern is for sizes starting from 205). The tyres always felt very secure and grippy, braking feels secure thanks to the front tyres grip. Driving in the city you can go round roundabouts at high speeds feeling always secure. Rain is never an issue even now with the remaining tread approaching the legal limit. Living near hills with nice twisty roads I took the chance to drive in a sporty way and the tyres never disappointed, quite the opposite, entering bends at high speeds the front feels very planted and the feedback from the road is always excellent, communication between steering wheel and road is always sincere, the tyres never fail to tell you what they are going to do and they let you know well in advance when they are approaching their limit. These tyres also allow for good mileage and fuel saving. The other side of the coin is a higher wear rate compared to Michelins energy savers I have on a similar car. Soon I will replace them with all seasons approaching winter and I would honestly buy them again.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2020
Given 80% while driving a Mitsubishi Galant (190/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
This is my 2nd buy of this model and this tyre proved as very good, i'm driving on 01' Mitsubishi Galant 2.0 ea2a 4g63 since 2007 until now (2020) and swap set of conti contact 2 two times and this is my experience: Very very good quality, i live in country with lot of sun and tyres hold 5 years and still have good performence. Good dry and wet road grip, with distorted road is OK but not the best as Kleber or Goodyear tyres, if you driving in smooth road this is the best tyre, highway also is great ride but quite noise, even in lower speed (50-60 kmh). Wear is great and even after 5 years still have lot slots. after 2 swapping and total 9 years with this model i like to change for more comfort tyres, still in my country not all roads is perfect and i need more softness ride. If in my country there was no 6 years limit law for tyres, i was keep using my correct Conticontact 2. Thank you Continental for making very good tyres and i real like it and definitely recommend it.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on July 19, 2020
Given 44% while driving a Ford Connect LWB Van (205/60 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 9,000 easy going miles
OE on new 2018 Ford Transit Connect SWB Van. Overall seem OK. Poor grip if mud or leaves on the road, otherwise OK. Braking satisfactory both wet and dry. Live in Lake District, England, so wet a lot of the time but little snow.
Main issue is with wear. New vehicle which has done 9,000 miles of careful driving and the front tyres have 3mm tread left, the wear is even. Rear wear is satisfactory. Van has been lightly loaded and tyre pressures as per Ford spec and checked weekly. Fastest wearing tyres I've ever had, so I won't be buying again. I'm looking to replace with Michelin CrossClimate+
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2019