Continental EcoContact 6

With the new EcoContact 6, Continental has launched a high technology summer tyre that delivers substantial improvements in terms of rolling resistance, mileage, steering precision and braking distances. Compared to its predecessor, the newcomer offers 20 percent higher mileage, 15 percent lower rolling resistance, even more precise handling and shorter braking distances on both wet and dry roads.

This tyre replaced the Continental Eco Contact 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 71%
Road Feedback 57%
Handling 61%
Wear 49%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 45%

Tyre review data from 32 tyre reviews averaging 62% over 150,987 miles driven.

The EcoContact 6 is ranked 116th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 ADAC SUV Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Lowest wear and best fuel consumption, good in the dry
  • Negative - Relatively weak in the wet
  • Overall - Recommended
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/70 R13 75T   C B 70 5.37kgs
175/70 R13 82T   B B 70 6.27kgs
155/80 R13 79T   C B 70 5.91kgs
185/55 R14 80H   A B 70 5.97kgs
165/60 R14 75H   B A 70 5.76kgs
185/60 R14 82H   A A 70 6.33kgs
155/65 R14 75T   B B 70 5.33kgs
175/65 R14 82H   B B 70 6.26kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL   B B 70 6.55kgs
175/65 R14 82T   B B 70 6.28kgs
185/65 R14 86T   A B 70 6.65kgs
185/65 R14 86H   A B 70 6.65kgs
155/70 R14 77T   B B 70 5.53kgs
165/70 R14 81T   B A 70 6.15kgs
175/70 R14 84T   B B 70 6.46kgs
175/80 R14 88T   B B 70 7.55kgs
195/50 R15 82H   B B 71 6.88kgs
195/50 R15 82V   B B 71 6.88kgs
175/55 R15 77T   B B 70 6.09kgs
185/55 R15 82H   A A 70 6.49kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   A B 70 6.60kgs
185/55 R15 82H   A B 70 6.38kgs
185/55 R15 86V XL   A A 71 6.52kgs
195/55 R15 85V   B A 71 7.05kgs
195/55 R15 85H   B A 71 7.05kgs
205/55 R15 88V   A A 71 7.41kgs
175/60 R15 81H   B B 70 6.28kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   A A 71 6.68kgs
185/60 R15 84T   B A 70 6.63kgs
185/60 R15 84H   B A 70 6.68kgs
195/60 R15 88V   A B 71 7.02kgs
195/60 R15 88H   A B 71 7.03kgs
205/60 R15 91H   A A 71 8.69kgs
205/60 R15 91V   A A 71 7.82kgs
225/60 R15 96W   B A 71 9.23kgs
145/65 R15 72T   B B 70 5.17kgs
165/65 R15 81T   B B 70 6.25kgs
175/65 R15 84T   B A 70 6.69kgs
175/65 R15 84H   A B 70 6.27kgs
185/65 R15 88T   A B 70 7.17kgs
185/65 R15 88H   A A 70 7.06kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   A A 72 7.20kgs
195/65 R15 91H   A A 71 7.75kgs
195/65 R15 91T   A A 71 7.52kgs
195/65 R15 91V   B A 71 8.16kgs
205/65 R15 94H   B A 71 8.45kgs
205/65 R15 94V   B A 71 8.45kgs
195/45 R16 84H XL   A A 72 6.39kgs
215/45 R16 86H   B A 71 8.85kgs
185/50 R16 81H   A B 70 6.54kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   A A 72 7.11kgs
185/55 R16 83V   A B 70 7.01kgs
185/55 R16 87H XL   A A 71 7.08kgs
185/55 R16 83H   A B 70 6.99kgs
195/55 R16 87H   A B 71 7.17kgs
195/55 R16 87V   B A 71 7.05kgs
195/55 R16 87V   A B 71 7.77kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   A B 72 7.36kgs
195/55 R16 87H REN       7.64kgs
195/55 R16 87T   A A 71 7.23kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL   A A 71 8.40kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   A A 72 8.40kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   A A 72 8.01kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   A A 72 8.39kgs
205/55 R16 91W XL * B B 71 10.30kgs
205/55 R16 91V   A A 71 7.87kgs
205/55 R16 91W XL * A B 71 7.75kgs
205/55 R16 91W   A A 71 7.87kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   A A 72 7.98kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   A A 72 8.45kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   A A 72 8.27kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   A A 72 8.76kgs
215/55 R16 93V   A A 71 8.46kgs
225/55 R16 95W   A A 71 8.89kgs
225/55 R16 95V   A A 71 8.89kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL * A B 72 8.66kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   A A 72 8.22kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL   A A 72 8.09kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL VOL A A 72 8.23kgs
205/60 R16 92V   A A 71 7.81kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL VOL A A 72 8.86kgs
215/60 R16 95V   A A 71 9.16kgs
215/60 R16 95V   A B 71 10.43kgs
225/60 R16 98W   A A 71 9.44kgs
205/65 R16 95H XL   A B 71 8.02kgs
215/65 R16 98H   A A 71 9.49kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   A A 72 9.38kgs
205/45 R17 88H XL   A A 72 7.45kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   A B 72 8.79kgs
225/45 R17 91V XL   A B 71 8.45kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   A A 71 8.19kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   A A 72 7.99kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL * A B 72 9.07kgs
225/50 R17 94V   A A 71 8.57kgs
205/55 R17 91W MO A B 71 8.29kgs
205/55 R17 91V   A A 71 8.22kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   A A 72 9.07kgs
215/55 R17 94V XL   A A 71 8.90kgs
215/55 R17 94V   A A 71 10.30kgs
215/55 R17 94V XL AO A A 71 10.41kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL * A B 72 10.39kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 72 9.56kgs
225/55 R17 97W * A B 71 10.04kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   A A 72 9.95kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   A A 72 10.33kgs
215/60 R17 96H   A A 71 9.52kgs
225/60 R17 99H   A A 71 9.66kgs
215/65 R17 99V XL AO B A 71 10.87kgs
215/65 R17 99H AO A A 71 10.26kgs
215/65 R17 99V   A B 71 9.90kgs
235/65 R17 108V XL   A A 72 13.45kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AR A B 72 8.67kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL * A B 72 8.66kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO A B 72 10.42kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO A B 72 10.42kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL MO A B 72 9.25kgs
225/45 R18 91W MO A B 71 9.02kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL MO A B 72 9.08kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL J A A 72 9.02kgs
235/45 R18 94W   B A 71 10.70kgs
235/45 R18 94W   B A 71 9.17kgs
245/45 R18 96W OPE       13.39kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL MOE       14.70kgs
245/45 R18 96W         11.08kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL * A B 72 9.86kgs
245/45 R18 96W   A A 71 14.83kgs
215/50 R18 92V         9.95kgs
225/50 R18 99W XL * B B 72 12.36kgs
215/55 R18 95T XL (+) A A 71 8.61kgs
225/55 R18 102Y XL AO A A 72 10.33kgs
235/55 R18 100V VOL A A 71 10.75kgs
235/55 R18 100W MO A B 71 10.86kgs
235/55 R18 100V   A A 71 12.24kgs
235/55 R18 104T XL MO A B 71 11.66kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL MO A B 73 11.06kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL MO A B 72 10.12kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL * B B 72 10.98kgs
235/45 R19 99V XL VOL A A 72 13.01kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL MOE       18.95kgs
255/45 R19 104V XL VOL A A 73 11.60kgs
215/50 R19 93T XL (+) A A 71 10.79kgs
235/50 R19 103V XL         12.29kgs
235/50 R19 103V XL VOL A A 71 10.77kgs
235/50 R19 99W MO A B 71 11.08kgs
235/50 R19 103T XL MOE       14.77kgs
235/50 R19 103T XL MO A B 71 11.58kgs
245/50 R19 105W XL * A B 72 12.36kgs
235/55 R19 105V XL VOL A A 72 12.02kgs
235/55 R19 105V XL VOL A A 72 12.09kgs
235/55 R19 105V XL VOL A A 72 11.74kgs
255/55 R19 111H XL AO A A 73 14.05kgs
155/70 R19 84Q   A B 70 6.30kgs
245/35 R20 95W XL   A B 72 10.31kgs
245/35 R20 95W XL         12.02kgs
255/40 R20 101V XL VOL A A 73 13.74kgs
215/45 R20 95T XL (+) A A 72 10.72kgs
235/45 R20 100V XL VOL A A 72 9.47kgs
235/45 R20 100V XL   A B 72 14.18kgs
235/45 R20 100T XL MO A B 72 10.49kgs
275/45 R20 110V XL VOL       18.84kgs
155/60 R20 80Q   B A 70 6.28kgs
245/35 R21 96W XL VOL B A 72 11.65kgs
255/40 R21 102V XL VOL       14.71kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL * A A 75 15.62kgs
265/35 R22 102V XL VOL       14.32kgs
275/35 R22 104Y XL * A B 73 13.27kgs

Questions and Answers for the Continental EcoContact 6

2019-04-04 - What is your opinion on Continental EcoContact 6 in compare to Continental Premium Contact 6? I need advice for 205/55/16 Kia Ceed '07.

This video should help you


2020-03-24 - Is this a run-flat

The Continental EcoContact 6 comes in various runflat sizes.


2020-05-21 - Is Continental ecocontact 6 made in Slovakia?

It is likely the Eco Contact 6 is made in multiple factories depending on size.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


EcoContact 6 Prices

Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £51.99 - £87.10 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £57.59 - £111.00 (62 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £65.09 - £111.97 (76 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £86.89 - £116.53 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £82.00 - £102.90 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R18 £103.49 - £168.58 (73 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 92 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental EcoContact 6 Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v (175/65 R14) on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
Nice , very nice and comford for my polo 9n.
Very stable when i drive for 120-150 kmh at motorways , warm early at town but note is very soft for long distance every day use .
Fine for daily use at town and a cool trip every weekend , thats all .
438 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2018   
Given 10% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
I bought a pair of these for the front of my car and drove them approximately 14 miles home today. I have measured the tread depths and found them to be approximately 6.5 mm. The Continental Premium Contact 5 which were removed had done about 28000 miles and had worn down to approximately 3 to 4 mm. These tyres were original equipment on the car and I am pretty sure the tread depths were of the order of 8 mm when they were new. When I have bought quality tyres in the past, they have generally had around 8 mm of tread. If the tyres wear at the same rate, it appears I will have to replace them at a much lower mileage. It is possible that the new tyres will wear at a considerably reduced rate. However, I am sceptical and suspect that I will have to replace then at rather less than 28000 miles.
Are manufacturer's quietly reducing the life of their tyres for commercial reasons?
This practice is surely environmentally unsound. More used tyre casings will be produced for a given vehicle mileage. Greater stress should be placed on tread depth (and longevity) of tyres when they are advertised new. Perhaps a statement of the tread depth in the description should be legally required. This would help to sort out the tendency of tyre manufacturers toward selling tyres of reduced tread depth.
I will try and add a further review when I have had the tyres for a bit longer.
54 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2019   
Given 71% while driving a Opel Astra K 1.6 CDTI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
I have this on my car since march this year and after aprox. 9000km they have 1mm wear (from 6.5 when they come in new to 5.5 this week). I drove around 1300km straight (prague-bucharest) in 15h and they felt stable at 200km/h on highway. I would not buy again because of the low profile (6.5mm new).
53 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2019   
Have you driven on the Continental EcoContact 6 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental EcoContact 6? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental EcoContact 6 >

Latest Continental EcoContact 6 Reviews

Given 76% while driving a Dacia Logan (225/45 R17) on track for 5,000 average miles
Noisy tyres, but good in the rest.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2021   
Given 41% while driving a Volvo V60 T3 (205/60 R16) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
In the beginning the Tyre behaved very well but immediately after 3 or 4 months I started feeling vibrations on the steering wheel even though I was checking the pressure every week. I visited the tyre fitting garage and checked/weighted the wheels but the vibrations did not stop. Finally the tyres had an uneven wear so now I have to use 2.5 -2.6 bars of pressure in order to avoid vibrations. The overall wear is significant and after exactly 1 year of use I will need to replace them. Not a very good tyre for heavier cars even with moderate use.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 49% while driving a Volvo XC40 (235/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Used for around 10.000 km on a Volvo XC40 (OEM equipped). Not satisfied. Low grip on wet. Very prone to aquaplaning. Low tread as new (+/- 6,5mm). Wet tread wear indicator at 4mm... not much usable in a wet weather like Belgium...
3 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2021   
Given 41% while driving a BMW 118d M Sport (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
On a brand new car they’ve just not performed to expectation
7 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2021   
Given 22% while driving a Toyota Yaris SR 2012 (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 40 average miles
Very very very soft!!!! Bought because they are supposed to be XL!! Was concerned as soon as i felt them but was told that with air in they would be fine! Wrong!!! They looked like balloons ready to pop! And drove like it! Bulging and rounded at the bottom and more air pumped in did little to help! Oversteer bad so fun ruined! Road noise ok’ish but back end bouncing around on the Mway because of the extra air. Front end felt like having two flat tyres, car felt like it had lost its power steering on corners it was that heavy! Would say they are better suited to gentle town driving as they do handle bad roads quite well and speed humps. Buyer beware..... after 40 miles I’ve requested they be removed from my car immediately!! Cost £473 for the 4, £312 down the drain as dealer can only offer me £40 each as they are used. I did contact Continental and they confirmed they are soft tyres and said they had not received any complaints!! Expensive waste of money! Never again.
3 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2021   
Given 18% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 13 average miles
Do not buy these model of tyres , i have looked at them before fiting and they were so soft that you could not stand them , when you grab and maneuver one it feels like you can turn it inside out with little to no effort. Still ,thinking they are the best option for A fuel rated , i went ahead and purchased them . Less than 2 miles down the road and after 10 min of fitment /pasing mot , i nearly crashed on first bend , 20miles per hour in first left corner and car understeered so badly. Checked tyre presure and all fine , it feels extremely wobbling/lurching and will go back to find a diferent option as this is unsafe to use . I dont understand how such products are out on the market . I am professional driver but never in my life felt a car/van/truck so lagging when turn steering wheel . Dont know ab the promised fuel economy as i am returning the the Green Chili technology back to were it came from in less than 24h 10miles of driving
3 - tyre reviewed on April 8, 2021   
Given 64% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (195/65 R15 V) on mostly motorways for 10 easy going miles
15.000 km in front (traction) wheels and they are close to the 3 mm wear indicator. The tyres tread depth was smaller than usual when new, and they have lasted for a short time. I won´t buy again. Normal drive, highway, 110hp vw golf.
13 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2020   
Given 51% while driving a BMW 1 series (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
came OEM fit on a M135i F40 (just for bmw to save some CO2 grams when they homologation them) as the other reviewer said and i cannot agree more with him. it is clearly not the right type of tyre for this type of car. it’s just not designed for powerful cars. it’s just a confortable tyre for standard model with not too much power to handle. it simply ruins the joy of the car. it’s a disaster. thanks good the car is super good and has xdrive plus limited slip differential that are somehow countering how poor these tyres are. if you drive normally it’s ok but as soon as you want to play a little bit the tyres are just immediately giving up asking you to speed down. horrible grip during acceleration because of its ver low rolling resistance. you just can’t use the full potential of the car on the first meters. i’m sure i can’t reproduce the same 0-100 with such tyre. fast cornering is a no go. wet grip on fast curves is ridiculous. they should have at least put some continental sport contact. but i guess that was not possible because bmw need to lower the co2 stats. still on such a car it is horrible. now i’m wearing winter LM001 bridgestone and i can feel the grip difference on acceleration. such a joy. so more response during acceleration. as soon as winter is over i will have to switch to michelin pilot sport 4s if i find any * otherwise i’ll go for pilot sport 4* that are for sure better than those horrible exocontact
0 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2020   
Given 37% while driving a BMW 135i (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Came on M135i F40. Clearly the wrong tyre for such a car. Replaced after 1000 miles as it loses control in the dry at 25-40mph making quick turns.
11 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2020   
Given 59% while driving a Honda CIVIC CDTI (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 3,800 spirited miles
Got them on my 2008 Honda Civic, the rear tyres are like brand new still, but the frinta are needing replaced already. I've done less than 4000 miles in them. Really poor wear if on the drive wheels
20 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a Renault Scenic (205/55 R16 V) on for 2,500 miles
Great on fuel efficiency, dry grip and brake distance is excellent for an Eco tyre. On wet conditions eco 6 is also perfect for an eco tyre. Better than the previous eco 5 especially on dry braking.
14 - tyre reviewed on August 14, 2020   
Given 69% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v (185/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 11,000 average miles
Good tyre but a bit pricey. Wear quick during motorway driving, lasted around 10000-12000 miles.
21 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2020