Continental EcoContact 6

With the new EcoContact 6, Continental has launched a high technology summer tyre that delivers substantial improvements in terms of rolling resistance, mileage, steering precision and braking distances. Compared to its predecessor, the newcomer offers 20 percent higher mileage, 15 percent lower rolling resistance, even more precise handling and shorter braking distances on both wet and dry roads.

This tyre replaced the Continental Eco Contact 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 64%
Road Feedback 58%
Handling 63%
Wear 52%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 42%

Tyre review data from 54 tyre reviews averaging 61% over 329,740 miles driven.

The EcoContact 6 is ranked 125th of 139 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 19th of 22 tyres

  • Positive - Short dry braking, very low rolling resistance, low wear.
  • Negative - Limited aquaplaning resistance, long wet and dry braking, slow steering with high levels of understeer.
View Full Test >>

2022 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 15 Inch - 8th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Lowest rolling resistance, low wear.
  • Negative - Relatively low aquaplaning resistance.
  • Overall - The Continental EcoContact 6 performs exceptionally well in terms of fuel consumption and also gets a very good rating in terms of wear. While it can still secure a good rating on dry roads, it does not get more than a satisfactory rating in the wet due to its weaknesses in aquaplaning behavior. In the sum of its properties, the tire is recommended.
View Full Test >>

2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test - 7th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - With a top value for rolling resistance, the Continental Eco Contact 6 confirmed its label efficiency rating in seventh place. Grippy in the wet, but significant aquaplaning weaknesses.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 8th: 2022 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 15 Inch (185/65 R15)
  • 8th: 2022 ViBilagare Eco vs Normal Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 19th: 2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 21st: 2022 Summer Tyre Market Overview (215/55 R17)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 8th: 2020 ADAC SUV Summer Tyre Test (235/55 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    155/70 R13 75T   C B 70 5.37kgs
    175/70 R13 82T   B B 70 6.27kgs
    155/80 R13 79T   C B 70 5.91kgs
    185/55 R14 80H   A B 70 5.97kgs
    165/60 R14 75H   B A 70 5.76kgs
    185/60 R14 82H   A A 70 6.33kgs
    155/65 R14 75T   B B 70 5.33kgs
    175/65 R14 82H   B B 70 6.26kgs
    175/65 R14 86T XL   B B 70 6.55kgs
    175/65 R14 82T   B B 70 6.28kgs
    185/65 R14 86T   A B 70 6.65kgs
    185/65 R14 86H   A B 70 6.65kgs
    155/70 R14 77T   B B 70 5.53kgs
    165/70 R14 81T   B A 70 6.15kgs
    175/70 R14 84T   B B 70 6.46kgs
    175/80 R14 88T   B B 70 7.55kgs
    195/50 R15 82H   B B 71 6.88kgs
    195/50 R15 82V   B B 71 6.88kgs
    175/55 R15 77T   B B 70 6.09kgs
    185/55 R15 82H   A A 70 6.49kgs
    185/55 R15 86H XL   A B 70 6.60kgs
    185/55 R15 82H   A B 70 6.38kgs
    185/55 R15 86V XL   A A 71 6.52kgs
    195/55 R15 85V   B A 71 7.05kgs
    195/55 R15 85H   B A 71 7.05kgs
    205/55 R15 88V   A A 71 7.41kgs
    175/60 R15 81H   B B 70 6.28kgs
    185/60 R15 88H XL   A A 71 6.68kgs
    185/60 R15 84T   B A 70 6.63kgs
    185/60 R15 84H   B A 70 6.68kgs
    195/60 R15 88V   A B 71 7.02kgs
    195/60 R15 88H   A B 71 7.03kgs
    205/60 R15 91H   A A 71 8.69kgs
    205/60 R15 91V   A A 71 7.82kgs
    225/60 R15 96W   B A 71 9.23kgs
    145/65 R15 72T   B B 70 5.17kgs
    165/65 R15 81T   B B 70 6.25kgs
    175/65 R15 84T   B A 70 6.69kgs
    175/65 R15 84H   A B 70 6.27kgs
    185/65 R15 88T   A B 70 7.17kgs
    185/65 R15 88H   A A 70 7.06kgs
    195/65 R15 95H XL   A A 72 7.20kgs
    195/65 R15 91H   A A 71 7.75kgs
    195/65 R15 91T   A A 71 7.52kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   B A 71 8.16kgs
    205/65 R15 94H   B A 71 8.45kgs
    205/65 R15 94V   B A 71 8.45kgs
    195/45 R16 84H XL   A A 72 6.39kgs
    215/45 R16 86H   B A 71 8.85kgs
    185/50 R16 81H   A B 70 6.54kgs
    195/50 R16 88V XL   A A 72 7.11kgs
    185/55 R16 83V   A B 70 7.01kgs
    185/55 R16 87H XL   A A 71 7.08kgs
    185/55 R16 83H   A B 70 6.99kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   A B 71 7.17kgs
    195/55 R16 87V   B A 71 7.05kgs
    195/55 R16 87V   A B 71 7.77kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   A B 72 7.36kgs
    195/55 R16 87H REN       7.64kgs
    195/55 R16 87T   A A 71 7.23kgs
    205/55 R16 91H XL   A A 71 8.40kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   A A 72 8.40kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL   A A 72 8.01kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   A A 72 8.39kgs
    205/55 R16 91W XL * B B 71 10.30kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   A A 71 7.87kgs
    205/55 R16 91W XL * A B 71 7.75kgs
    205/55 R16 91W   A A 71 7.87kgs
    205/55 R16 94W XL   A A 72 7.98kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL   A A 72 8.45kgs
    215/55 R16 97H XL   A A 72 8.27kgs
    215/55 R16 97Y XL   A A 72 8.76kgs
    215/55 R16 93V   A A 71 8.46kgs
    225/55 R16 95W   A A 71 8.89kgs
    225/55 R16 95V   A A 71 8.89kgs
    205/60 R16 96W XL * A B 72 8.66kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   A A 72 8.22kgs
    205/60 R16 96W XL   A A 72 8.09kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL VOL A A 72 8.23kgs
    205/60 R16 92V   A A 71 7.81kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL VOL A A 72 8.86kgs
    215/60 R16 95V   A A 71 9.16kgs
    215/60 R16 95V   A B 71 10.43kgs
    225/60 R16 98W   A A 71 9.44kgs
    205/65 R16 95H XL   A B 71 8.02kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   A A 71 9.49kgs
    215/40 R17 87V XL   A A 72 9.38kgs
    205/45 R17 88H XL   A A 72 7.45kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL   A B 72 8.79kgs
    225/45 R17 91V XL   A B 71 8.45kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL   A A 71 8.19kgs
    215/50 R17 95V XL   A A 72 7.99kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL * A B 72 9.07kgs
    225/50 R17 94V   A A 71 8.57kgs
    205/55 R17 91W MO A B 71 8.29kgs
    205/55 R17 91V   A A 71 8.22kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL   A A 72 9.07kgs
    215/55 R17 94V XL   A A 71 8.90kgs
    215/55 R17 94V   A A 71 10.30kgs
    215/55 R17 94V XL AO A A 71 10.41kgs
    225/55 R17 101Y XL * A B 72 10.39kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 72 9.56kgs
    225/55 R17 97W * A B 71 10.04kgs
    225/55 R17 101Y XL   A A 72 9.95kgs
    235/55 R17 103Y XL   A A 72 10.33kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   A A 71 9.52kgs
    225/60 R17 99H   A A 71 9.66kgs
    215/65 R17 99V XL AO B A 71 10.87kgs
    215/65 R17 99H AO A A 71 10.26kgs
    215/65 R17 99V   A B 71 9.90kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL   A A 72 13.45kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL AR A B 72 8.67kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL * A B 72 8.66kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL MO A B 72 10.42kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL MO A B 72 10.42kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL MO A B 72 9.25kgs
    225/45 R18 91W MO A B 71 9.02kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL MO A B 72 9.08kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL J A A 72 9.02kgs
    235/45 R18 94W   B A 71 10.70kgs
    235/45 R18 94W   B A 71 9.17kgs
    245/45 R18 96W OPE       13.39kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL MOE       14.70kgs
    245/45 R18 96W         11.08kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL * A B 72 9.86kgs
    245/45 R18 96W   A A 71 14.83kgs
    215/50 R18 92V         9.95kgs
    225/50 R18 99W XL * B B 72 12.36kgs
    215/55 R18 95T XL (+) A A 71 8.61kgs
    225/55 R18 102Y XL AO A A 72 10.33kgs
    235/55 R18 100V VOL A A 71 10.75kgs
    235/55 R18 100W MO A B 71 10.86kgs
    235/55 R18 100V   A A 71 12.24kgs
    235/55 R18 104T XL MO A B 71 11.66kgs
    275/35 R19 100Y XL MO A B 73 11.06kgs
    245/40 R19 98Y XL MO A B 72 10.12kgs
    225/45 R19 96W XL * B B 72 10.98kgs
    235/45 R19 99V XL VOL A A 72 13.01kgs
    255/45 R19 104Y XL MOE       18.95kgs
    255/45 R19 104V XL VOL A A 73 11.60kgs
    215/50 R19 93T XL (+) A A 71 10.79kgs
    235/50 R19 103V XL         12.29kgs
    235/50 R19 103V XL VOL A A 71 10.77kgs
    235/50 R19 99W MO A B 71 11.08kgs
    235/50 R19 103T XL MOE       14.77kgs
    235/50 R19 103T XL MO A B 71 11.58kgs
    245/50 R19 105W XL * A B 72 12.36kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL VOL A A 72 12.02kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL VOL A A 72 12.09kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL VOL A A 72 11.74kgs
    255/55 R19 111H XL AO A A 73 14.05kgs
    155/70 R19 84Q   A B 70 6.30kgs
    245/35 R20 95W XL   A B 72 10.31kgs
    245/35 R20 95W XL         12.02kgs
    255/40 R20 101V XL VOL A A 73 13.74kgs
    215/45 R20 95T XL (+) A A 72 10.72kgs
    235/45 R20 100V XL VOL A A 72 9.47kgs
    235/45 R20 100V XL   A B 72 14.18kgs
    235/45 R20 100T XL MO A B 72 10.49kgs
    275/45 R20 110V XL VOL       18.84kgs
    155/60 R20 80Q   B A 70 6.28kgs
    245/35 R21 96W XL VOL B A 72 11.65kgs
    255/40 R21 102V XL VOL       14.71kgs
    315/30 R22 107Y XL * A A 75 15.62kgs
    265/35 R22 102V XL VOL       14.32kgs
    275/35 R22 104Y XL * A B 73 13.27kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Continental EcoContact 6

    2019-04-04 - What is your opinion on Continental EcoContact 6 in compare to Continental Premium Contact 6? I need advice for 205/55/16 Kia Ceed '07.

    This video should help you


    2020-03-24 - Is this a run-flat

    The Continental EcoContact 6 comes in various runflat sizes.


    2020-05-21 - Is Continental ecocontact 6 made in Slovakia?

    It is likely the Eco Contact 6 is made in multiple factories depending on size.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    175/65 R15 £64.79 - £105.08 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/65 R15 £57.89 - £124.10 (42 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £67.89 - £132.00 (63 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/60 R17 £101.59 - £136.54 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/40 R18 £88.19 - £148.00 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £79.69 - £107.70 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 106 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Continental EcoContact 6 Reviews

    Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v (175/65 R14) on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
    Nice , very nice and comford for my polo 9n.
    Very stable when i drive for 120-150 kmh at motorways , warm early at town but note is very soft for long distance every day use .
    Fine for daily use at town and a cool trip every weekend , thats all .
    Helpful 458 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2018
    Given 10% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
    I bought a pair of these for the front of my car and drove them approximately 14 miles home today. I have measured the tread depths and found them to be approximately 6.5 mm. The Continental Premium Contact 5 which were removed had done about 28000 miles and had worn down to approximately 3 to 4 mm. These tyres were original equipment on the car and I am pretty sure the tread depths were of the order of 8 mm when they were new. When I have bought quality tyres in the past, they have generally had around 8 mm of tread. If the tyres wear at the same rate, it appears I will have to replace them at a much lower mileage. It is possible that the new tyres will wear at a considerably reduced rate. However, I am sceptical and suspect that I will have to replace then at rather less than 28000 miles.
    Are manufacturer's quietly reducing the life of their tyres for commercial reasons?
    This practice is surely environmentally unsound. More used tyre casings will be produced for a given vehicle mileage. Greater stress should be placed on tread depth (and longevity) of tyres when they are advertised new. Perhaps a statement of the tread depth in the description should be legally required. This would help to sort out the tendency of tyre manufacturers toward selling tyres of reduced tread depth.
    I will try and add a further review when I have had the tyres for a bit longer.
    Helpful 80 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2019
    Given 71% while driving a Opel Astra K 1.6 CDTI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
    I have this on my car since march this year and after aprox. 9000km they have 1mm wear (from 6.5 when they come in new to 5.5 this week). I drove around 1300km straight (prague-bucharest) in 15h and they felt stable at 200km/h on highway. I would not buy again because of the low profile (6.5mm new).
    Helpful 67 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2019
    Have you driven on the Continental EcoContact 6 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental EcoContact 6? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental EcoContact 6 >

    Latest Continental EcoContact 6 Reviews

    Given 18% while driving a Toyota Corolla (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
    Came as OEM on Corolla Hybrid. Awful tyres. Skippery, poor wear and not quiet. Brand new just over 6mm tread. This no doubt is to get lower rolling resistence on tests. Avoid this rubbish at all costs.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2022
    Given 79% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 W177 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
    Got these tyres as a replacement on the standard bridgestone turanza T005 on the Mercedes A180. The test results seem a bit low, but in real life they are actually pretty great tyres. They really brought up the luxury and comfy ride of the mercedes. The bridgestones actually didn't complement the ride, they were quite hard and very noisy, the Continentals are very quiet and absorbs bumbs very well on the road. Dry and wet grip are slightly above average, nothing special. Good and assuring for day to day commuting, but nothing for sportive driving, these tyres are comfort all the way in my opinion. The low rolling resistance also helped to bring down the fuelconsumption quite a bit.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 61% while driving a MINI (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
    Supplied from new on an F54 Clubman Cooper S. At first impressed with handling, comfort and grip. Quickly became dissatisfied with wet grip. Deeply dissatisfied with wet grip in mucky conditions... Spin up exceptionally quickly and require a fast and deft touch to balance a four wheel slide, which are alarmingly frequent. Will be trying Michelin pilot sport 4 next, in the hope this cures the failings of the Continental Ecocontact 6. I would only go for these if you drive everywhere gently, rarely venture onto mucky roads and have quick reaction times. This review is from an ADI of three decades, Advanced driver and Motorcyclist.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2022
    Given 10% while driving a Volvo XC60 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
    The tyres have been fine in all ways, as fitted new on to a Volvo XC60, except for the wear that has been appalling. We do not drive fast, but we have had to change the two rear tyres (in a front wheel drive car) after 10,000 miles.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2022
    Given 60% while driving a Renault Captur (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 932 easy going miles
    These tyres were original fitment on my Captur II and I have driven aprox 1500 km with them. + They are stable and grippy on dry pavement. Feels secure. + Low rolling resistance - good for the fuel economy. + Quite comfortable, not so nosy. But the big disadvantage is their performance in the wet. They felt very good when new, but now on my 2nd year (I have winter tyres so I don’t use the Conti’s in the winter) they have lost grip in the wet. They are not so resistance to aquaplaning, they starts to float and loose their grip far to easily when it’s raining. This is of major concern for me and because of this I give a low rating for wet and wear. They don’t feel secure in the wet. They have lost too much of the wet performance even if the thread still looks good. I drive in town, on countryroads and motorways. My longer journeys are mostly on 80 - 110 km/h roads. Mostly 100 km/h. I’m an easy going driver and I respect speed limits. When it’s time to replace them, I will look at other tires.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2022
    Given 50% while driving a Volvo XC40 T5 Plug In Hybrid (230/50 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
    I hate these. Steering is imprecise, grip and handling in the dry is tolerable, but not brilliant. With some water on the road the grip disappears. Aquaplaning is horrible. I hit a puddle on the motorway at 70mph (yes, really, 70mph, not a fast interpretation of that) and nearly lost control of the car. Fast acceleration has these tyres slipping; even moderate braking can trip the ABS. I'm throwing these away after just 2000 miles because they're so bad. I don't know what Continental have done here, they used to be able to make tyres that actually worked. And I really don't understand why Volvo fit these as OEM equipment.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2022
    Given 50% while driving a Renault Megane 3 1.5 dCi (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    Very poor value for money. On dry: No worries about road holding in dry conditions with a fairly dynamic and comfortable ride. Largely suitable for tires in this range. On the other hand there is a very strong and unpleasant squealing in the turns even when driving quietly. On wet road: I have never had such bad tires on wet ground. Very complicated not to spin at the start, aquaplaning from the slightest puddle of water even at moderate speed, very poor cornering. There's nothing going! Lifespan: I punctured at 15,000 km, not repairable so I couldn't go to the end, but they seemed to me to be quite damaged. Rather average at this level I would say. Conclusion: I'm not so unhappy to have punctured finally, I changed them for Michelin Primacy 4, day and night. In any case, off can be good promotion, they are to be avoided and are a very bad deal! If you live in a rainy area, run away!
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2022
    Given 84% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (215/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    Confortable ride in all circumstances at reasonable speeds. Low noise , good mileage, low wear : after 30.000 KMS still 4.7 tread (6.5 new)
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2022
    Given 47% while driving a Renault 12 (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
    Tires came with the car when I bought it. After two years and almost 9000 miles I have to say that they have very high wear and average grip on both dry and wet roads and the only positive thing on these tyres are the low noise. Specs that you can find on an cheaper tyre. I will not buy them again for sure.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2022
    Given 46% while driving a Peugeot 2008 (2021) (215/60 R17) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
    I would not pay the price for continental tyres, when new they look like part worn tyres soft sidewalls full of dents, Michelin and Good Year are far better tyres, and last a lot longer, more for your money, I bought a peugeot2008 new, hoping for Michelin primacy tyres, but it was fitted with eco contact crap with hardly any tread on them, won't be putting those back on when it's time for some new ones, and looking at them that won't be long
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2022
    Given 61% while driving a Kia Motors Sportage (225/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,609 average miles
    These tyres performed reasonably well in all categories but are very poor value indeed due to short tyre lifetime. All tyres I have ever purchased have had a tread depth of 7mm or more when new - to my surprise the Continental EcoContact 6 tyres, fitted to a brand new car I recently hired, only had a tread depth of 6.3mm. The GoodYear Efficiency tyres on my previous newly hired car had a tread depth of 7.5mm. I checked with the supplier that the Continental tyres were new, which they confirmed. So I phoned Continental UK and spoke to one of their technical staff who, to my surprise, confirmed that the manufactured tread depth was indeed 6.3mm, within some 1/10th mm tolerance. The continental advertising blurb claimed that their superior technology made the tyres more wear resistant, so I decided to wait, measure, and check that is true. It isn't. The front Continental EcoContact 6 tyres on my fwd drive car have done only 4609 miles in their first year (Covid limited mileage) and their measured tread depth is now 5.3mm, a loss in tread depth of 1.0mm which projects to 2.2mm tread depth reduction per 10k miles. The equivalent figure for my previous car tyres (Toyota Avensis estate with GoodYear Efficiency 215/55/R17) was a bit better than that, at 1.9mm/10kmiles, challenging Continental's claim of extra wear resistance. And because Continental EcoContact 6 tyres are manufactured with only 6.3mm tread, 1.2mm less than GoodYear, I get about 5.5k miles less 'life' from them than from the GoodYear tyres; the missing 1.2mm would have extended the tyre's 'lifetime' by 4609 miles x 1.2mm/1.0mm = 5.5k miles.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2022
    Given 63% while driving a Ford Kuga (225/60 R18) on mostly town for 6,000 average miles
    OEM tires on a new Ford Kuga mk3. I think the worst tire a had in my 35 years driving experience. Thinking of replacing them in autumn(10000km). Feeling unsafe in wet
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2022