Continental EcoContact 6

With the new EcoContact 6, Continental has launched a high technology summer tyre that delivers substantial improvements in terms of rolling resistance, mileage, steering precision and braking distances. Compared to its predecessor, the newcomer offers 20 percent higher mileage, 15 percent lower rolling resistance, even more precise handling and shorter braking distances on both wet and dry roads.

Tyre review data from 98 tyre reviews averaging 59% over 852,633 miles driven, and 6 tests with an average result of 12th.

Dry Grip 74%
Wet Grip 58%
Road Feedback 57%
Handling 61%
Wear 54%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 40%

First On MarketNovember 2017
Wheel Size13 - 23"
Width145 - 325mm
Profile30 - 80
Rolling ResistanceA - C
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)68 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The EcoContact 6 is ranked 137th of 148 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Continental Eco Contact 5.

Tests Included

6

Best Result

7th

Worst Result

21st

Average Result

12th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test
7th of 10 tyres
  • With a top value for rolling resistance, the Continental Eco Contact 6 confirmed its label efficiency rating in seventh place. Grippy in the wet, but significant aquaplaning weaknesses.
View Full Test >>
2022 ViBilagare Eco vs Normal Tyre Test
8th of 10 tyres
  • Low consumption. Good comfort.
  • Poor wet grip. Extended braking distances. Slow steering reaction.
  • While the sibling PremiumContact 6 becomes test winner, the EcoContact 6 finishes further down the field. The wet grip leaves a lot to be desired and often it is the rear that releases the grip first with an unwelcome slide. The stopping distance on wet roads is well over four meters longer than PremiumContact 6 at 80 km/h – a difference that grows significantly at higher speeds. With relatively low tread depth – 6.7 mm new – it aquaplanes early.
    In the dry the EcoContact 6 does not perform particularly well, it is a bit slow to react to steering input and change course. However, the high-speed stability is good.
    The Continental EcoContact 6 has the lowest consumption in the test and comfort s very high. But that cannot justify a buy.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
13 inch
155/80 R 13 79 TCB70
14 inch
175/65 R 14 82 TBB70
175/65 R 14 86 T XLAB71
175/65 R 14 86 T XLAB70
175/65 R 14 86 T XLBB70
165/70 R 14 81 TBB70
185/60 R 14 82 HBB70
175/65 R 14 82 HBB70
175/65 R 14 86 T XLBB71
15 inch
195/65 R 15 91 VBB71
185/65 R 15 88 HAA70
185/65 R 15 92 T XLAB71
195/65 R 15 91 TAB71
195/65 R 15 95 H XLAA72
195/65 R 15 91 HAA71
185/65 R 15 88 TAB70
195/55 R 15 85 HBA71
195/65 R 15 91 HBB71
195/55 R 15 85 VBA71
185/65 R 15 92 T XLBA71
185/65 R 15 88 HAA70
185/65 R 15 88 HAA70
185/65 R 15 88 TAB70
195/65 R 15 91 VBB71
185/65 R 15 92 T XLAA71
195/65 R 15 91 HBA71
185/65 R 15 88 HAA70
185/65 R 15 88 HAB70
185/65 R 15 92 T XLBA71
185/65 R 15 92 T XLAA71
195/65 R 15 95 H XLAB72
195/65 R 15 95 H XLAA72
185/65 R 15 88 HAB70
195/65 R 15 91 HBA71
185/65 R 15 88 HAB70
185/65 R 15 88 HAB70
185/65 R 15 88 HAB70
195/65 R 15 91 HBB71
16 inch
215/60 R 16 95 VAB71
205/60 R 16 92 VAA71
205/60 R 16 96 H XLAA72
205/55 R 16 91 VBB71
205/60 R 16 92 HAA71
205/55 R 16 91 VAB71
205/55 R 16 94 V XLAA72
215/60 R 16 95 VAA71
205/55 R 16 91 VAA71
205/55 R 16 91 VAA71
205/55 R 16 91 VAA71
215/60 R 16 95 VAB71
205/55 R 16 94 V XLAB72
205/60 R 16 96 H XLAB72
205/60 R 16 92 VAB71
205/60 R 16 96 H XLAA71
205/60 R 16 92 HAB71
205/55 R 16 91 VAB71
205/60 R 16 96 W XLAB72
205/55 R 16 91 VAA71
205/55 R 16 94 H XLAA72
215/60 R 16 95 WAA71
205/60 R 16 96 W XLAB72
205/55 R 16 91 HAB71
205/55 R 16 94 V XLAA72
205/60 R 16 92 VAA71
205/55 R 16 91 HAA71
205/60 R 16 96 W XLAB72
205/60 R 16 96 V XLAA72
205/60 R 16 96 H XLAA72
205/55 R 16 94 W XLAA72
215/60 R 16 95 VAB71
205/60 R 16 92 HAA71
205/55 R 16 91 VAA71
215/60 R 16 99 V XLAA72
205/60 R 16 92 HAA71
215/60 R 16 95 WAA71
205/60 R 16 96 W XLAA72
205/55 R 16 91 VAA71
205/55 R 16 91 WAA71
205/55 R 16 91 WAB71
205/55 R 16 91 WAB71
215/60 R 16 95 HAA71
215/60 R 16 95 HAA71
17 inch
225/45 R 17 91 VAB71
215/55 R 17 94 VAA71
215/55 R 17 94 VAA71
225/45 R 17 94 V XLAB72
225/50 R 17 98 Y XLAB72
215/55 R 17 98 H XLAA72
225/50 R 17 98 Y XLAB72
215/55 R 17 94 VAB68
205/50 R 17 93 V XLAA71
235/65 R 17 108 V XLAB72
215/55 R 17 94 VAB71
215/55 R 17 94 VAB68
215/55 R 17 94 VAB71
215/55 R 17 98 H XLAB72
225/50 R 17 94 VAA71
215/55 R 17 94 VAB71
215/55 R 17 94 VAB71
205/50 R 17 93 V XLAB72
215/55 R 17 94 VAB71
205/50 R 17 93 V XLAA72
215/55 R 17 94 VAA71
235/65 R 17 104 VAB70
225/50 R 17 98 Y XLAB72
215/55 R 17 94 VAB71
225/60 R 17 99 HAA71
215/55 R 17 94 VAB68
215/55 R 17 94 VAB71
215/55 R 17 94 VAA71
225/60 R 17 99 YBA71
225/45 R 17 91 VAB71
235/65 R 17 108 V XLAA72
225/50 R 17 94 YAB71
215/55 R 17 98 V XLAB72
215/55 R 17 94 VAA71
215/55 R 17 98 W XLAA72
215/55 R 17 94 VAA71
215/55 R 17 94 VAA71
18 inch
245/45 R 18 96 WAA71
245/45 R 18 96 WAA71
225/40 R 18 92 Y XLAB72
235/60 R 18 103 TAA71
245/40 R 18 97 Y XLAB72
235/60 R 18 103 WAB69
225/40 R 18 92 Y XLAB72
245/45 R 18 100 Y XLAB72
225/40 R 18 92 Y XLAB72
20 inch
255/45 R 20 101 TAA72
255/45 R 20 101 TAA72
255/45 R 20 101 VAB72
245/35 R 20 95 W XLAB72
255/45 R 20 105 W XLAB73
245/35 R 20 95 W XLAB72
255/45 R 20 105 H XLAA73
255/45 R 20 105 W XLAB68
255/45 R 20 105 Y XLAB72
245/35 R 20 95 Y XLAB69
245/35 R 20 95 W XLAB72
245/35 R 20 95 W XLAB72
255/45 R 20 105 W XLAA73
255/45 R 20 101 TAB72
255/45 R 20 101 TAB72
255/45 R 20 105 W XLAB69
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental EcoContact 6 >>

Questions and Answers for the Continental EcoContact 6

2019-04-04 - What is your opinion on Continental EcoContact 6 in compare to Continental Premium Contact 6? I need advice for 205/55/16 Kia Ceed '07.

This video should help you


2020-03-24 - Is this a run-flat

The Continental EcoContact 6 comes in various runflat sizes.


2020-05-21 - Is Continental ecocontact 6 made in Slovakia?

It is likely the Eco Contact 6 is made in multiple factories depending on size.


2023-06-14 - Are these run flat, can they be repaired if punctured by a nail?

If there are runflat versions of the EC6 they will be listed as SSR (Self Supporting Runflat) by the dealer. Generally these can be repaired using the same rules as regular tyres, a small hole in the centre 75% part of the tread and the tyre has not been run on flat means it can be repaired.


2024-02-05 - I have a BMW 218i Gran Coupe which was fitted with Continental Ecocontact 6s from new. Reviews of these tyres are not very encouraging and I am nervous of their performance in potential aquaplaning conditions. When it comes time to replace them does it make sense to fit the best possible tyres such as UUHP tyres as, whilst I won’t do any track days, will a better tyre help me in potentially dangerous situations. Would you have a recommendation as to the best possible tyre for my car which I might have remapped at some stage. Regards Andrew

Something like the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 or Michelin Pilot Sport 5 might be a good choice if you plan to up the power, other wide a premium touring tyre is also worth considering. All will have better wet performance than a low rolling resistance tyre like the EcoContact 6.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £84.99 - £128.78 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/60 R17 £123.13 - £141.31 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/65 R17 £124.99 - £141.05 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £94.99 - £112.68 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £135.06 - £171.31 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/50 R19 £158.21 - £210.36 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 88 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental EcoContact 6 Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v (175/65 R14) on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
Nice , very nice and comford for my polo 9n.
Very stable when i drive for 120-150 kmh at motorways , warm early at town but note is very soft for long distance every day use .
Fine for daily use at town and a cool trip every weekend , thats all .
Helpful 500 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2018
Given 10% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
I bought a pair of these for the front of my car and drove them approximately 14 miles home today. I have measured the tread depths and found them to be approximately 6.5 mm. The Continental Premium Contact 5 which were removed had done about 28000 miles and had worn down to approximately 3 to 4 mm. These tyres were original equipment on the car and I am pretty sure the tread depths were of the order of 8 mm when they were new. When I have bought quality tyres in the past, they have generally had around 8 mm of tread. If the tyres wear at the same rate, it appears I will have to replace them at a much lower mileage. It is possible that the new tyres will wear at a considerably reduced rate. However, I am sceptical and suspect that I will have to replace then at rather less than 28000 miles.
Are manufacturer's quietly reducing the life of their tyres for commercial reasons?
This practice is surely environmentally unsound. More used tyre casings will be produced for a given vehicle mileage. Greater stress should be placed on tread depth (and longevity) of tyres when they are advertised new. Perhaps a statement of the tread depth in the description should be legally required. This would help to sort out the tendency of tyre manufacturers toward selling tyres of reduced tread depth.
I will try and add a further review when I have had the tyres for a bit longer.
Helpful 132 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2019
Given 71% while driving a Opel Astra K 1.6 CDTI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
I have this on my car since march this year and after aprox. 9000km they have 1mm wear (from 6.5 when they come in new to 5.5 this week). I drove around 1300km straight (prague-bucharest) in 15h and they felt stable at 200km/h on highway. I would not buy again because of the low profile (6.5mm new).
Helpful 101 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2019
Have you driven on the Continental EcoContact 6 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental EcoContact 6? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental EcoContact 6 >

Latest Continental EcoContact 6 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (215/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Replacing these tyres after 48.000 km and still 3.5 mm tread by Michelins. Had two punctures and found contiseal technology quite useful.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on May 23, 2024
Given 21% while driving a Peugeot 2008 (2021) (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
Terrible tyres, designed for rolling resistance and scrimped on all the other qualities, only 6.4 mm tread when new sidewalls very flimsy and full of dents, and mine only lasted 20 months of steady driving 18000 mls, definitely not worth what they cost, unfortunately they come as factory fit on a lot of cars and I was one of the unfortunate ones that ended up with them
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 33% while driving a Peugeot 2008 (2021) (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
They were factory fitted from new on my peugeot 2008, only lasted 20 months of steady driving 18000 mls all 4 of them had to fork out for 4 new ones which I,ve never had to before with Michelin and Goodyear tyres, also sidewalls are very flimsy and full of dents, when I first saw my car I could have cried, they looked like oversized balloons peugeot shouldn't be spoiling a great car like the new 2008 by putting that Continental eco 6Q crap on them, bet not many people buy them as replacements, they look like part worn tyres when they are new hardly any Tread on them and they tell you all that special compound crap and green chilli saying they last longer with better mileage well it's all lies, I went for Goodyear vector gen 3 all season, totally transformed my car in every respect, Avoid like a Rash.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on May 2, 2024
Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz w123 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
An excellent premium tyre at budget prices. Definitely wins on fuel efficiency, low rolling resistance and higher longevity. Sadly, prices aren't as low as they were a couple years ago but they are still excellent value compared to the cheap Chinese brands littering the market in the smaller tyre sizes.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2024
Given 42% while driving a BMW X1 2.0 Xdrive (245/40 R20) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
This review is for the EcoContact 6Q BMW / Merc marked variant on a new U11 X1 150kW petrol with xDrive. These are frankly the worst new OEM fit tyres I have encountered in numerous cars in well over a decade (I work in the industry). Dry grip was surprisingly poor with squeal setting in very early on mini roundabouts where no other vehicle has previously done so. A low speed (from 50km/h) emergency stop to avoid a car pulling out from a junction resulted in obvious sliding (in the dry!). Wet grip is slightly terrifying with unpredictable loss of the front end, once it goes it goes..! I have no idea how these were approved by BMW although I am sure they are have low rolling resistance.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2024
Given 34% while driving a Ford Kuga (215/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Acquired these tires for my 2009 Ford Kuga, in the hopes for a comfortable tire...
Oh, how wrong I was.
The amount of noise in the cabin, increased tremendously!
The 18 inch tires are much more comfortable, even for their dimension difference and budget, specifically as the 18's are an unknown brand!
The dry grip is not quite there and the tire feels unstable on worn roads.
When pushed on wet roads, you have to be vigilant, because the grip will suddenly disappear.
Combined with low tread-depth, they are prone to aquaplaning...
These tires will only be used on my daughters 2015 model, when she need to tow her horses around, so she doesn't ruin her own 18" tires.
I would not recommend these for anyone, unless you only value fuel consumption...
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2024
Given 57% while driving a Suzuki Vitara 2015> (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
Not so good overall. Wet grip very bad, dry grip just ok. Traveled 20000km with Vitara 1.6 120HP. You can feel the lack of contact area with the road. All those eco tyres have deep treads and smaller amount or just smaller blocks. Those tyres came with the new car when I bought it and at 10.000km I wanted to sell them and buy Sava Intensa UHP because it is much better tyre for less money, but noone would buy used ecocontact, at least noone who knows a bit or two about tyres. Since they were like new I left them and drove more and after aditional 10k they stil looked like new, so if you want a tyre for life, go ahead and buy ecocontact, if you want grip, avoid them.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2024
Given 100% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 21,000 average miles
Absolutely fantastic tyres despite the negative reviews to the contrary. I suspect that the negative reviews are on purpose to simply put people off by the competition. I have had these on my Skoda Superb for a while now and after approximately 20,000 miles they are simply the best tyres I personally have ever had.
I wouldn't consider any other tyre unless of course Continental release a better tyre however these are as close to perfection as I have ever got!!!

Thank you for reading.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2024
Given 94% while driving a Toyota Prius (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 30,000 easy going miles
Excellent tyres I've done almost 30,000 miles on a set just ordered another pair for front of my 2017 Prius. Improve fuel economy to average around 75 mpg. Simply the best on a hybrid such as mine weather they will be as good on a different car is another story
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2024
Given 87% while driving a Toyota (165/70 R14) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
Conti eco contact 6, 165/70 R14T second set of them on my 98 Corolla. This set has 73000 Km done in one and half years. Town and highway traffic mostly. For normal everyday driving they seem perfect. Being a pure summer tyre, they do feel a bit “soapy” when it gets below 5 degree Celsius so driving style needs to be adjusted. Other than that the grip is great dry and wet, fuel consumption is about half a litre per one hundred km less than the set of budget constancy tires I had a few years back. For normal driving above 5 degrees I can only recommend them.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2024
Given 40% while driving a Kia Motors (235/55 R18) on mostly country roads for 12,000 easy going miles
Factory fit on my Kia Sportage Hybrid. I have travelled 12500 miles in 10 months on these tyres and had seven punctures, all caused by stones piercing the carcass of the tyre. The design of the tread collects small stones, 50+ of them in each tyre and the carcass must be very thin. I've never had this before in 30 years of driving, same roads and type of driving and my other car which does similar mileage on the same roads hasn't had a puncture in years. Judging by complaints on Kia forums this is not uncommon. After four repairs and three replacement tyres i've abandoned them and have swapped them out for a different tyre.

They are fine in the dry and generally not a bad tyre for wet grip on a heavy SUV. The are undoubtedly good for fuel consumption as the replacement tyres are denting that slightly but whats the point in saving a few quid in fuel if you need to replace a £150 tyre every few months as you get a puncture?! If you buy thee tyres i'd recommend you get yourself a space saver spare tyre.
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2023
Given 45% while driving a Ford Fiesta Titanium X Turbo MHEV A (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Quite simply, the worst tyres I have ever had the misfortune to endure. OEM on my new Fiesta, I am happy because I am replacing these tyres tomorrow morning! They have loads of miles left in them, but they just feel unsafe in the wet and I can't continue without confidence in them.
The highlights are they have probably saved me a few quid in fuel and they are relatively comfortable and quiet. The downsides are they are appalling in the wet, particularly so in deeper water where aquaplaning becomes the norm. In the dry, they understeer at the merest hint of enthusiastic driving, so absolutely no fun to be had. They are to be replaced with Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 6's tomorrow and I can't wait.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2023