Continental Eco Contact 5

The Continental Eco Contact 5 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 88 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 1,227,153 miles driven, and 8 tests with an average result of 6th.

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 68%
Wear 74%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 55%

First On MarketJanuary 2011
Wheel Size14 - 20"
Width165 - 245mm
Profile45 - 70
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)68 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Eco Contact 5 is ranked 109th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Continental Eco Contact 3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental EcoContact 6.

Tests Included

8

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

14th

Average Result

6th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 Gute Fahrt Summer Tyre Test
5th of 12 tyres
  • Best rolling resistance on test, good wet braking.
  • Average dry braking, poor aquaplaning resistance.
  • Good.
View Full Test >>
2016 GF All Season Tyre Test
7th of 11 tyres
  • In this test, the summer Continental was the standard in the dry and wet
  • Extremely weak on snow
View Full Test >>
2015 European Tyre Test 205/55 R16
14th of 19 tyres
  • Good on dry roads, relatively low fuel consumption and wear, top marks in noise
  • Weak in the wet
View Full Test >>

2018 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

Reports

  • Continental ContiEcoContact 5 Launched
  • SizeFuelWetNoise
    14 inch
    175/65 R 14 86 T XLBB71
    175/65 R 14 86 T XLBB71
    175/65 R 14 82 TBB70
    165/70 R 14 85 T XLCC71
    165/70 R 14 85 T XLBB68
    165/70 R 14 81 TBB70
    185/70 R 14 88 TCB70
    15 inch
    195/65 R 15 95 H XLBB71
    195/65 R 15 95 H XLBB72
    195/65 R 15 95 H XLBB72
    195/65 R 15 95 H XLBB71
    185/65 R 15 88 TBB70
    195/65 R 15 91 VBB71
    185/65 R 15 88 HBB70
    185/65 R 15 88 TBB70
    185/65 R 15 92 T XLCB71
    195/65 R 15 91 HBB71
    185/65 R 15 88 HBB70
    195/65 R 15 95 H XLBB72
    16 inch
    205/55 R 16 91 VAB71
    205/60 R 16 92 WCB71
    205/60 R 16 92 HCB71
    205/55 R 16 91 VBB71
    205/55 R 16 94 H XLBB72
    205/55 R 16 94 H XLBB72
    205/60 R 16 92 HBB71
    215/60 R 16 95 HBB71
    215/60 R 16 95 HBB71
    205/60 R 16 92 HBB71
    205/60 R 16 92 HBB71
    205/60 R 16 92 WBB71
    205/60 R 16 92 VCB71
    205/55 R 16 94 W XLBB72
    215/60 R 16 99 V XLBB72
    205/55 R 16 91 WCB71
    205/60 R 16 92 VBB71
    205/55 R 16 91 VBB71
    215/60 R 16 95 VBB71
    205/60 R 16 92 VBA71
    205/60 R 16 92 VAA70
    205/55 R 16 91 HBB71
    205/55 R 16 91 VBB71
    205/55 R 16 91 HBB71
    215/60 R 16 95 VBB71
    215/60 R 16 95 VBB71
    17 inch
    215/55 R 17 94 VBB71
    205/50 R 17 93 V XLBB72
    225/45 R 17 94 V XLBB72
    215/45 R 17 87 VCB71
    205/50 R 17 93 V XLBB72
    205/50 R 17 93 V XLBB72
    225/50 R 17 94 HBB71
    215/55 R 17 94 VBB71
    215/55 R 17 94 VBB71
    225/45 R 17 91 VCB71
    215/55 R 17 94 VBB71
    18 inch
    245/45 R 18 96 WBB71
    235/60 R 18 107 V XLAB72
    235/60 R 18 107 V XLAB72
    245/45 R 18 96 WBB71
    245/45 R 18 96 WBB71
    245/45 R 18 96 WBB71
    View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental Eco Contact 5 >>

    Questions and Answers for the Continental Eco Contact 5

    2016-09-29 - Is this tyre suitable for Indian Roads?!

    While they are suitable, we'd suggest the soft sidewall of the tyre might be a problem on the rougher parts of Indian roads.


    2022-01-13 - I have purchased continental eco 5 tyres in Islamabad Pakistan last week which are brand new but their make is 2017. Is these tyres shelf life expired? And how much performance efficiency left in January 2021.

    5 years is the maximum recommended life, which can be extended by a year if they've been stored properly. I would return them if possible.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    175/65 R14 £76.99 - £84.41 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/55 R16 £109.62 - £139.32 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £79.02 - £116.27 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/55 R17 £123.01 - £156.13 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £89.17 - £101.29 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/50 R17 £117.57 - £129.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 31 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews

    Given 56% while driving a Honda S2000 (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    Not great tyres for levels of grip, dont try and drive fast with them as the grip level is really low. Very progressive towards the limit however. Comfort and road noise is good and rolling resistance is quite low too.
    Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2022
    Given 51% while driving a Toyota Corolla AE101 (165/70 R14) on mostly country roads for 6,700 average miles
    Just good in dry road, weak in the wet, Good brake in dry but not very good in wet road. Very weak in aquaplaning, Comfort its ok but the wear is bad. I think Continental lose control for all tyre type. I dont buy again.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2023
    Given 96% while driving a Ford Connect LWB Van (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
    great tires! had it on my work/camper ford transit connect (lwb). took it to russia & back twice. all over europe. as long as on the road it felt great in any condition, though off road or little in the mud it looses grip quickly. wear is amazing - bough these with 53k miles on the clock - now almost 100k and are almost gone (did swap front/rear half way). since i go travelling more often camping in forests i might get something more grippy next, but otherwise if in the city then i highly recommend!
    Helpful 115 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2016
    Have you driven on the Continental Eco Contact 5 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental Eco Contact 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental Eco Contact 5 >

    Latest Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews

    Given 97% while driving a Hyundai I10 (185/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
    This tyre is very well combined with my car, Hyundai i10. Its dry and wet handling is in hi level. They are the first tyres of my car, since 2019, and after 48.000 km they are still effective. That's why next month I am going to replace with EcoContact6.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2023
    Given 80% while driving a Suzuki Vitara 2015> (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 32,000 average miles
    Not the greatest in the wet but pretty nice in the dry. Never had a problem in hard corners.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2022
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 47% while driving a Mitsubishi carisma (195/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Dry grip is impressive for an eco tire, wet grip I'd say is acceptable. Noise is good on autobahn quality road surfaces, but they're loud as heck on coarse norwegian asphalt. Their sidewalls are so thin, that the tires feel like they're about to fold when going trough corners at speed, in addition to developing bulges easily. The sidewalls do, however, do very little good in terms of high frequency vibrations. One impressive attribute at the end. The tires are precisely molded, and only one of four needed any balancing weights during mounting. Conclusion: The ecoContact will treat you well if you drive at granny-speeds and money isn't a problem. If you drive at normal speeds, and like to feel what you're doing, look elsewhere, particularly if your car uses high profile tires. Would be an allright buy if they cost half of what they actually do.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2022
    Given 94% while driving a Hyundai Getz (165/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    AMAZING tyres with superior traction AA even on this small size i was so impressed that this tyre has that kind of traction rating! I was pushing hard on them with spirited driving and the handling and braking performance was top notch and of course very pleased with the HUGE fuel economy improvement! One of the best tyres i have ever driven...Definitely recommend them and buy again!
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2022
    Given 81% while driving a Suzuki SX4 Scross 1.4T Boosterjet (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    OE tyres for 2021 Suzuki S-cross Can't talk a lot about wear, but they should last a long time from what I've seen as a mechanic. The dry grip is excellent, most Eco 5's have a AA rating for traction. Wet grip is very nice, nothing to complain. Feedback is just ok for a eco tyre, although the sidewall is very soft. I've seen PremiumContact 5's dry rot really quickly, but these EcoContact 5's I've almost never seen dry rotting. Excellent tyre Continental!
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2022
    Given 59% while driving a Lancia Delta 1.6 Mjet 120hp (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 40,000 average miles
    since it is a Conti, I thought that the car has a much worse handling before I took the second model of winter.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Vauxhall Astra Sports Tourer (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,000 easy going miles
    These are superb tyres for most people I would imagine.; These came oem on my Astra J tourer 1.6 cdti and the fronts lasted nearly 40k and the rears lasted nearly 70k, this is estimated going by mileage on MOT and new tyre purchase dates which were close by. Dry grip was what you'd expect from Continentals but what you gain in longevity and fuel consumption you definitely lose out in the wet, you simply can't push them in anything other than dry as you will just slide, just as well as I drive quite slow anyway. I do seem to be getting worse mpg now I have replace them with budget tyres
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2022
    Given 83% while driving a Suzuki SX4 Scross 1.4T Boosterjet (215/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 33,000 spirited miles
    Had these tires on my Suzuki crossover for 4 years. Drove 79,000 kilometers on them. Overall, very satisfied. Since I live in Israel in desert conditions, dry grip is the important feature, and I feel these tires are good and safe when it comes to dry grip. Wet grip is all right too but less good. Wear was also good as they lasted for so long on burning hot surfaces at speeds of 140 km/h. Bought these same tires again now, replacing all four. Cons: they are a bit noisy, imho. Pros: safe, good ware P.S. I used to be a driver in the army. So, have some experience with performance tires.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2021
    Given 44% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa 1.4T (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 6,700 spirited miles
    Decent dry grip but simply terrible on wet/damp/cold roads. Trying to pull away at junctions/roundabouts in the wet when applying power results in just wheelspins and the ESC light coming on.... Only way to pull away in the wet and not have this happen is to set off at snail's pace. These tyres came with my car which I purchased 2nd hand with 3700 miles on, I've replaced them just 3000 miles on as I simply can't stand them. I have replaced them with run flat tyres ultra high performance tyres which seem to have a reputation for being noisy and uncomfortable, and yet the run flat tyres I'm now running (RainSport 3 SSR) are actually far more comfortable and less noisy than the Conti EcoContct 5's, so shows how bad these are!! Also sidewalls are very soft, this I think is responsible for the poor steering feedback.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2021
    Given 67% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/55 R19) on mostly motorways for 17,000 easy going miles
    Car was fitted with Continental's from new achieved 30000 miles before I changed to the above, which I was more than happy with. Hence I purchased tyres from the same manufacturer when I was due a replacement. Performance wise everything same as the original factory fitment except for one major issue tyre wear. Have covered 17000 miles on this set will be lucky to achieve 20000 miles. Hence I'm look at other manufacturers.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2021
    Given 64% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 9,000 average miles
    Good Stable & Predictable handling, Good dry braking & dry handling, Good wet braking & handling, Great fuel economy, Neutral feedback, high road noise. Good tyre for fuel efficiency and sensible, non-spirited driving
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2021
    Given 77% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (225/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
    Have had many sets of tyres, I have to get the XL load rating or they wear out fast. good handling and no issues, just poor wear value Disappointed with these new Eco5 as the back tyres have done 13000 miles and are shot.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2020