Continental Eco Contact 5

The Continental Eco Contact 5 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental Eco Contact 3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental EcoContact 6.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 68%
Wear 74%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 54%

Tyre review data from 83 tyre reviews averaging 68% over 1,094,053 miles driven.

The Eco Contact 5 is ranked 105th of 136 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 Gute Fahrt Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Best rolling resistance on test, good wet braking.
  • Negative - Average dry braking, poor aquaplaning resistance.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>

2016 GF All Season Tyre Test - 7th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - In this test, the summer Continental was the standard in the dry and wet
  • Negative - Extremely weak on snow
View Full Test >>

2015 European Tyre Test 205/55 R16 - 14th of 19 tyres

  • Positive - Good on dry roads, relatively low fuel consumption and wear, top marks in noise
  • Negative - Weak in the wet
View Full Test >>

2018 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2018 Gute Fahrt Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2016 GF All Season Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 14th: 2015 European Tyre Test 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 2014 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2014 ADAC 175/65 R14 Summer Tyre Test (175/65 R14)
  • 2012 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2012 European Summer Tyre Test - 165/70 R14 (165/70 R14)
  • 6th: 2012 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    0/0 R0 0         9.89kgs
    185/60 R14 82H   B B 70 6.05kgs
    165/65 R14 83T XL   B B 71 6.34kgs
    165/65 R14 79T   C B 70 6.33kgs
    175/65 R14 86T XL   B B 71 6.95kgs
    175/65 R14 82T   B B 70 6.21kgs
    185/65 R14 86H   B B 70 8.68kgs
    165/70 R14 81T   B B 70 6.23kgs
    165/70 R14 85T XL   B B 68 6.55kgs
    175/70 R14 88T XL   B B 71 6.71kgs
    175/70 R14 84T   B B 70 6.41kgs
    185/70 R14 88T   C B 70 7.72kgs
    195/50 R15 82V   B B 71 6.68kgs
    185/55 R15 86H XL   B B 71 6.82kgs
    185/55 R15 82H   B B 70 6.85kgs
    195/55 R15 85V   B B 71 7.07kgs
    165/60 R15 81H XL   B B 71 6.44kgs
    165/60 R15 77H   C B 70 6.46kgs
    185/60 R15 88H XL   B B 71 6.93kgs
    185/60 R15 84T   B B 70 11.88kgs
    185/60 R15 84H AO B B 70 7.04kgs
    195/60 R15 88V   B B 71 7.77kgs
    205/60 R15 95V XL   B B 72 8.66kgs
    175/65 R15 84T   B B 70 6.68kgs
    185/65 R15 88T   B B 70 7.14kgs
    185/65 R15 88H   B B 70 7.14kgs
    185/65 R15 92T XL   C B 71 7.61kgs
    195/65 R15 95H XL   B B 72 7.90kgs
    195/65 R15 91H   B B 71 7.67kgs
    195/65 R15 95H XL   B B 71 9.71kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   B B 71 7.85kgs
    205/65 R15 94V   B B 71 7.89kgs
    195/45 R16 84H XL   C B 72 7.50kgs
    195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 72 7.36kgs
    205/45 R16 83H   C B 71 7.59kgs
    185/50 R16 81H   B B 70 6.69kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   A B 71 7.14kgs
    195/55 R16 91H XL   C B 72 8.10kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   B B 72 8.00kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   B B 71 8.03kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   C C 71 7.55kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   B B 72 8.43kgs
    205/55 R16 91H XL   B B 71 8.89kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL   B B 72 9.91kgs
    205/55 R16 91V AO A B 71 8.17kgs
    205/55 R16 91V MO B B 71 8.74kgs
    205/55 R16 91H MO B B 71 8.72kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   B B 71 8.69kgs
    205/55 R16 94W XL   B B 72 8.28kgs
    205/55 R16 91W AO C B 71 8.81kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL   B B 72 8.27kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL   B B 72 8.98kgs
    215/55 R16 93W   B B 71 8.63kgs
    225/55 R16 99Y XL         9.48kgs
    225/55 R16 95Y   B B 71 9.48kgs
    225/55 R16 95W AR B B 71 9.61kgs
    225/55 R16 95V MOE C B 71 13.07kgs
    195/60 R16 93V XL   B B 72 8.12kgs
    205/60 R16 92V AR B B 71 8.20kgs
    205/60 R16 92W AO       9.37kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   B B 72 8.59kgs
    205/60 R16 92V XL AO C B 71 9.25kgs
    205/60 R16 96W XL   B B 72 8.77kgs
    205/60 R16 92V VOV B B 71 8.68kgs
    205/60 R16 92H   C B 71 9.48kgs
    205/60 R16 92V XL   B A 71 8.61kgs
    205/60 R16 92W AO B B 71 9.18kgs
    205/60 R16 92V MO A A 70 8.08kgs
    205/60 R16 92H AO B B 71 8.16kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   B B 72 9.22kgs
    215/60 R16 95H   B B 71 9.44kgs
    215/60 R16 95V   B B 71 9.13kgs
    215/65 R16 98V XL AO B B 71 10.17kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   B B 71 9.41kgs
    215/65 R16 98H XL AO B B 71 9.41kgs
    215/45 R17 87V   C B 71 9.37kgs
    225/45 R17 91V AO C B 71 9.31kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL   B B 72 9.34kgs
    205/50 R17 89V SUZ B B 71 9.23kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL   B B 72 8.63kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL   B B 72 10.00kgs
    225/50 R17 94H AO B B 71 9.12kgs
    225/50 R17 94V   B B 71 9.21kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL J B B 72 8.90kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   A B 71 9.05kgs
    205/55 R17 91W MO B A 71 8.90kgs
    205/55 R17 91V   B B 71 10.02kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   B B 72 8.93kgs
    205/55 R17 91V   B B 71 9.10kgs
    215/55 R17 94V VW B B 71 10.04kgs
    215/55 R17 94V XL   B B 71 9.27kgs
    215/55 R17 94V   B B 71 11.00kgs
    215/55 R17 94V   B B 71 11.69kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   B B 72 10.38kgs
    225/55 R17 97W   B B 71 10.15kgs
    225/55 R17 97W * C B 71 10.71kgs
    225/55 R17 101V XL J B B 72 10.44kgs
    225/55 R17 97W XL   B B 71 11.08kgs
    235/55 R17 103H XL   A B 72 10.40kgs
    235/55 R17 103V XL   B B 72 10.32kgs
    215/60 R17 96V MO B B 71 10.29kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   B B 71 9.62kgs
    215/65 R17 99V   B B 70 9.88kgs
    215/65 R17 99V MO B A 71 10.37kgs
    245/45 R18 96W XL   B B 71 10.42kgs
    245/45 R18 96W XL   B B 71 13.39kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL   B B 71 10.15kgs
    225/55 R18 98Y AO       12.07kgs
    235/55 R18 104V XL VOL B A 72 11.61kgs
    235/60 R18 103V VOV B B 71 12.20kgs
    235/60 R18 107V XL VOL A B 72 12.33kgs
    235/60 R18 103V AO B B 71 13.04kgs
    195/55 R20 95H XL   A B 71 9.76kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Continental Eco Contact 5

    2016-09-29 - Is this tyre suitable for Indian Roads?!

    While they are suitable, we'd suggest the soft sidewall of the tyre might be a problem on the rougher parts of Indian roads.


    2022-01-13 - I have purchased continental eco 5 tyres in Islamabad Pakistan last week which are brand new but their make is 2017. Is these tyres shelf life expired? And how much performance efficiency left in January 2021.

    5 years is the maximum recommended life, which can be extended by a year if they've been stored properly. I would return them if possible.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    175/65 R14 £60.39 - £77.62 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/55 R16 £86.99 - £218.90 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £68.99 - £103.99 (58 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/55 R17 £90.00 - £147.46 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £79.69 - £108.05 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 37 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews

    Given 96% while driving a Ford Connect LWB Van (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
    great tires! had it on my work/camper ford transit connect (lwb). took it to russia & back twice. all over europe. as long as on the road it felt great in any condition, though off road or little in the mud it looses grip quickly. wear is amazing - bough these with 53k miles on the clock - now almost 100k and are almost gone (did swap front/rear half way). since i go travelling more often camping in forests i might get something more grippy next, but otherwise if in the city then i highly recommend!
    Helpful 93 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2016
    Given 67% while driving a Vauxhall Viva (2015 19) (185/55 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 38,000 spirited miles
    Good in mild dry and mild wet, good mpg.
    Based on the scoring options they appear 'on paper' to be decent tyres.
    But - and there's a big but -

    They're lethal on muddy, icy, snowy or cold roads - the most dangerous and unpredictable tyre I've ever experienced in autumn/winter weather which is why I'd never buy them again, nor any other eco-labelled tyre.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2019
    Given 83% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (215/60 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    These tyres came with my new 2016 Qashqai Diesel which would have a heavy front end. The tyres performed perfectly in wet and dry and never once felt them slipping. Braking performance was very good in all conditions. They were driven hard at times on country roads and always felt secure. They are now down to the min treadwear at about 30k km (20k miles) and need replacing. The grip and efficiency is still great at the min thread. I rotated the tyres at about 15k so all 4 tyres have worn evenly so-as i cas replace 4 at a time. As they are a softer compound for better grip they didn't last as long as I'd like. At €140 a corner to replace I wouldn't buy again only because of the high price, as I have had plenty of other tyres as good as these but a lot cheaper..
    You won't go wrong with tyres if you want to pay the money...
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2017
    Have you driven on the Continental Eco Contact 5 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental Eco Contact 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental Eco Contact 5 >

    Latest Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews

    Given 94% while driving a Hyundai Getz (165/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    AMAZING tyres with superior traction AA even on this small size i was so impressed that this tyre has that kind of traction rating! I was pushing hard on them with spirited driving and the handling and braking performance was top notch and of course very pleased with the HUGE fuel economy improvement! One of the best tyres i have ever driven...Definitely recommend them and buy again!
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2022
    Given 81% while driving a Suzuki SX4 Scross 1.4T Boosterjet (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    OE tyres for 2021 Suzuki S-cross Can't talk a lot about wear, but they should last a long time from what I've seen as a mechanic. The dry grip is excellent, most Eco 5's have a AA rating for traction. Wet grip is very nice, nothing to complain. Feedback is just ok for a eco tyre, although the sidewall is very soft. I've seen PremiumContact 5's dry rot really quickly, but these EcoContact 5's I've almost never seen dry rotting. Excellent tyre Continental!
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2022
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 59% while driving a Lancia Delta 1.6 Mjet 120hp (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 40,000 average miles
    since it is a Conti, I thought that the car has a much worse handling before I took the second model of winter.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2022
    Given 56% while driving a Honda S2000 (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    Not great tyres for levels of grip, dont try and drive fast with them as the grip level is really low. Very progressive towards the limit however. Comfort and road noise is good and rolling resistance is quite low too.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Vauxhall Astra Sports Tourer (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,000 easy going miles
    These are superb tyres for most people I would imagine.; These came oem on my Astra J tourer 1.6 cdti and the fronts lasted nearly 40k and the rears lasted nearly 70k, this is estimated going by mileage on MOT and new tyre purchase dates which were close by. Dry grip was what you'd expect from Continentals but what you gain in longevity and fuel consumption you definitely lose out in the wet, you simply can't push them in anything other than dry as you will just slide, just as well as I drive quite slow anyway. I do seem to be getting worse mpg now I have replace them with budget tyres
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2022
    Given 83% while driving a Suzuki SX4 Scross 1.4T Boosterjet (215/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 33,000 spirited miles
    Had these tires on my Suzuki crossover for 4 years. Drove 79,000 kilometers on them. Overall, very satisfied. Since I live in Israel in desert conditions, dry grip is the important feature, and I feel these tires are good and safe when it comes to dry grip. Wet grip is all right too but less good. Wear was also good as they lasted for so long on burning hot surfaces at speeds of 140 km/h. Bought these same tires again now, replacing all four. Cons: they are a bit noisy, imho. Pros: safe, good ware P.S. I used to be a driver in the army. So, have some experience with performance tires.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2021
    Given 44% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa 1.4T (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 6,700 spirited miles
    Decent dry grip but simply terrible on wet/damp/cold roads. Trying to pull away at junctions/roundabouts in the wet when applying power results in just wheelspins and the ESC light coming on.... Only way to pull away in the wet and not have this happen is to set off at snail's pace. These tyres came with my car which I purchased 2nd hand with 3700 miles on, I've replaced them just 3000 miles on as I simply can't stand them. I have replaced them with run flat tyres ultra high performance tyres which seem to have a reputation for being noisy and uncomfortable, and yet the run flat tyres I'm now running (RainSport 3 SSR) are actually far more comfortable and less noisy than the Conti EcoContct 5's, so shows how bad these are!! Also sidewalls are very soft, this I think is responsible for the poor steering feedback.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2021
    Given 67% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/55 R19) on mostly motorways for 17,000 easy going miles
    Car was fitted with Continental's from new achieved 30000 miles before I changed to the above, which I was more than happy with. Hence I purchased tyres from the same manufacturer when I was due a replacement. Performance wise everything same as the original factory fitment except for one major issue tyre wear. Have covered 17000 miles on this set will be lucky to achieve 20000 miles. Hence I'm look at other manufacturers.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2021
    Given 64% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 9,000 average miles
    Good Stable & Predictable handling, Good dry braking & dry handling, Good wet braking & handling, Great fuel economy, Neutral feedback, high road noise. Good tyre for fuel efficiency and sensible, non-spirited driving
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2021
    Given 77% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (225/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
    Have had many sets of tyres, I have to get the XL load rating or they wear out fast. good handling and no issues, just poor wear value Disappointed with these new Eco5 as the back tyres have done 13000 miles and are shot.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2020
    Given 90% while driving a Dacia Lodgy (195/55 R16 H) on track for 0 spirited miles
    I drove on Continental ContiEcoContact 5 tyres on a very twisty racing circuit in my stock car (a stock Dacia with 115hp), ya there weren't much horsepower but I can tell you, on dry tarmac these tyres had very good grip ! Not to mention they were 8 years old when I did it !
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2020
    Given 43% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 300 average miles
    The continental tyres came with my new 2019 Golf 7.5 110TSI Wagon and appeared to be OK until I drove on typical course bitumen that we often find on Australian roads, even on freeways. On some surfaces there was so much loud, intense, low frequency sound that it was almost unbearable and my passenger blocked her ears! On different, smoother sections of the freeway, there was negligible road noise and otherwise the Golf is very quiet. On the same, familiar road our 2003 Mercedes ML350 with Michelin tyres is consistently quiet, and even my 16 year old Magna with 300,000km on the clock with Michelin tyres, was much quieter on the course bitumen.
    These tyres are completely unsuitable be the Australian market. I'll be approaching my VW dealer and VW Australia to find some resolution as I can not live with the severity of the noise on roads that I am typically driving on.
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2019