Continental Eco Contact 5

The Continental Eco Contact 5 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental Eco Contact 3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental EcoContact 6.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 67%
Wear 73%
Comfort 67%
Buy again 54%

Tyre review data from 76 tyre reviews averaging 68% over 959,053 miles driven.

The Eco Contact 5 is ranked 99th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 Gute Fahrt Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Best rolling resistance on test, good wet braking.
  • Negative - Average dry braking, poor aquaplaning resistance.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>

2016 GF All Season Tyre Test - 7th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - In this test, the summer Continental was the standard in the dry and wet
  • Negative - Extremely weak on snow
View Full Test >>

2015 European Tyre Test 205/55 R16 - 14th of 19 tyres

  • Positive - Good on dry roads, relatively low fuel consumption and wear, top marks in noise
  • Negative - Weak in the wet
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         9.89kgs
185/60 R14 82H   B B 70 6.05kgs
165/65 R14 83T XL   B B 71 6.34kgs
165/65 R14 79T   C B 70 6.33kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL   B B 71 6.95kgs
175/65 R14 82T   B B 70 6.21kgs
185/65 R14 86H   B B 70 8.68kgs
165/70 R14 81T   B B 70 6.23kgs
165/70 R14 85T XL   B B 68 6.55kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL   B B 71 6.71kgs
175/70 R14 84T   B B 70 6.41kgs
185/70 R14 88T   C B 70 7.72kgs
195/50 R15 82V   B B 71 6.68kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   B B 71 6.82kgs
185/55 R15 82H   B B 70 6.85kgs
195/55 R15 85V   B B 71 7.07kgs
165/60 R15 81H XL   B B 71 6.44kgs
165/60 R15 77H   C B 70 6.46kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   B B 71 6.93kgs
185/60 R15 84T   B B 70 11.88kgs
185/60 R15 84H AO B B 70 7.04kgs
195/60 R15 88V   B B 71 7.77kgs
205/60 R15 95V XL   B B 72 8.66kgs
175/65 R15 84T   B B 70 6.68kgs
185/65 R15 88T   B B 70 7.14kgs
185/65 R15 88H   B B 70 7.14kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C B 71 7.61kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   B B 72 7.90kgs
195/65 R15 91H   B B 71 7.67kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   B B 71 9.71kgs
195/65 R15 91V   B B 71 7.85kgs
205/65 R15 94V   B B 71 7.89kgs
195/45 R16 84H XL   C B 72 7.50kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 72 7.36kgs
205/45 R16 83H   C B 71 7.59kgs
185/50 R16 81H   B B 70 6.69kgs
195/55 R16 87H   A B 71 7.14kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   C B 72 8.10kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   B B 72 8.00kgs
195/55 R16 87H   B B 71 8.03kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C C 71 7.55kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   B B 72 8.43kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL   B B 71 8.89kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   B B 72 9.91kgs
205/55 R16 91V AO A B 71 8.17kgs
205/55 R16 91V MO B B 71 8.74kgs
205/55 R16 91H MO B B 71 8.72kgs
205/55 R16 91V   B B 71 8.69kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   B B 72 8.28kgs
205/55 R16 91W AO C B 71 8.81kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   B B 72 8.27kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   B B 72 8.98kgs
215/55 R16 93W   B B 71 8.63kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL         9.48kgs
225/55 R16 95Y   B B 71 9.48kgs
225/55 R16 95W AR B B 71 9.61kgs
225/55 R16 95V MOE C B 71 13.07kgs
195/60 R16 93V XL   B B 72 8.12kgs
205/60 R16 92V AR B B 71 8.20kgs
205/60 R16 92W AO       9.37kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   B B 72 8.59kgs
205/60 R16 92V XL AO C B 71 9.25kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL   B B 72 8.77kgs
205/60 R16 92V VOV B B 71 8.68kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C B 71 9.48kgs
205/60 R16 92V XL   B A 71 8.61kgs
205/60 R16 92W AO B B 71 9.18kgs
205/60 R16 92V MO A A 70 8.08kgs
205/60 R16 92H AO B B 71 8.16kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   B B 72 9.22kgs
215/60 R16 95H   B B 71 9.44kgs
215/60 R16 95V   B B 71 9.13kgs
215/65 R16 98V XL AO B B 71 10.17kgs
215/65 R16 98H   B B 71 9.41kgs
215/65 R16 98H XL AO B B 71 9.41kgs
215/45 R17 87V   C B 71 9.37kgs
225/45 R17 91V AO C B 71 9.31kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   B B 72 9.34kgs
205/50 R17 89V SUZ B B 71 9.23kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   B B 72 8.63kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   B B 72 10.00kgs
225/50 R17 94H AO B B 71 9.12kgs
225/50 R17 94V   B B 71 9.21kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL J B B 72 8.90kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   A B 71 9.05kgs
205/55 R17 91W MO B A 71 8.90kgs
205/55 R17 91V   B B 71 10.02kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   B B 72 8.93kgs
205/55 R17 91V   B B 71 9.10kgs
215/55 R17 94V VW B B 71 10.04kgs
215/55 R17 94V XL   B B 71 9.27kgs
215/55 R17 94V   B B 71 11.00kgs
215/55 R17 94V   B B 71 11.69kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   B B 72 10.38kgs
225/55 R17 97W   B B 71 10.15kgs
225/55 R17 97W * C B 71 10.71kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL J B B 72 10.44kgs
225/55 R17 97W XL   B B 71 11.08kgs
235/55 R17 103H XL   A B 72 10.40kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   B B 72 10.32kgs
215/60 R17 96V MO B B 71 10.29kgs
215/60 R17 96H   B B 71 9.62kgs
215/65 R17 99V   B B 70 9.88kgs
215/65 R17 99V MO B A 71 10.37kgs
245/45 R18 96W XL   B B 71 10.42kgs
245/45 R18 96W XL   B B 71 13.39kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   B B 71 10.15kgs
225/55 R18 98Y AO       12.07kgs
235/55 R18 104V XL VOL B A 72 11.61kgs
235/60 R18 103V VOV B B 71 12.20kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL VOL A B 72 12.33kgs
235/60 R18 103V AO B B 71 13.04kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   A B 71 9.76kgs

Questions and Answers for the Continental Eco Contact 5

2016-09-29 - Is this tyre suitable for Indian Roads?!

While they are suitable, we'd suggest the soft sidewall of the tyre might be a problem on the rougher parts of Indian roads.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Eco Contact 5 Prices

Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £53.40 - £68.83 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/55 R15 £64.00 - £100.48 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R16 £87.50 - £195.60 (33 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £68.80 - £103.25 (69 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R17 £113.80 - £146.69 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £81.90 - £107.29 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 39 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews

Given 96% while driving a Ford Connect LWB Van (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
great tires! had it on my work/camper ford transit connect (lwb). took it to russia & back twice. all over europe. as long as on the road it felt great in any condition, though off road or little in the mud it looses grip quickly. wear is amazing - bough these with 53k miles on the clock - now almost 100k and are almost gone (did swap front/rear half way). since i go travelling more often camping in forests i might get something more grippy next, but otherwise if in the city then i highly recommend!
92 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2016   
Given 67% while driving a Vauxhall Viva (2015 19) (185/55 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 38,000 spirited miles
Good in mild dry and mild wet, good mpg.
Based on the scoring options they appear 'on paper' to be decent tyres.
But - and there's a big but -

They're lethal on muddy, icy, snowy or cold roads - the most dangerous and unpredictable tyre I've ever experienced in autumn/winter weather which is why I'd never buy them again, nor any other eco-labelled tyre.
18 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2019   
Given 83% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (215/60 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
These tyres came with my new 2016 Qashqai Diesel which would have a heavy front end. The tyres performed perfectly in wet and dry and never once felt them slipping. Braking performance was very good in all conditions. They were driven hard at times on country roads and always felt secure. They are now down to the min treadwear at about 30k km (20k miles) and need replacing. The grip and efficiency is still great at the min thread. I rotated the tyres at about 15k so all 4 tyres have worn evenly so-as i cas replace 4 at a time. As they are a softer compound for better grip they didn't last as long as I'd like. At €140 a corner to replace I wouldn't buy again only because of the high price, as I have had plenty of other tyres as good as these but a lot cheaper..
You won't go wrong with tyres if you want to pay the money...
11 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2017   
Have you driven on the Continental Eco Contact 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental Eco Contact 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental Eco Contact 5 >

Latest Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Suzuki SX4 Scross 1.4T Boosterjet (215/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 33,000 spirited miles
Had these tires on my Suzuki crossover for 4 years. Drove 79,000 kilometers on them. Overall, very satisfied. Since I live in Israel in desert conditions, dry grip is the important feature, and I feel these tires are good and safe when it comes to dry grip. Wet grip is all right too but less good. Wear was also good as they lasted for so long on burning hot surfaces at speeds of 140 km/h. Bought these same tires again now, replacing all four. Cons: they are a bit noisy, imho. Pros: safe, good ware P.S. I used to be a driver in the army. So, have some experience with performance tires.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2021   
Given 44% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa 1.4T (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 6,700 spirited miles
Decent dry grip but simply terrible on wet/damp/cold roads. Trying to pull away at junctions/roundabouts in the wet when applying power results in just wheelspins and the ESC light coming on.... Only way to pull away in the wet and not have this happen is to set off at snail's pace. These tyres came with my car which I purchased 2nd hand with 3700 miles on, I've replaced them just 3000 miles on as I simply can't stand them. I have replaced them with run flat tyres ultra high performance tyres which seem to have a reputation for being noisy and uncomfortable, and yet the run flat tyres I'm now running (RainSport 3 SSR) are actually far more comfortable and less noisy than the Conti EcoContct 5's, so shows how bad these are!! Also sidewalls are very soft, this I think is responsible for the poor steering feedback.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 67% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/55 R19) on mostly motorways for 17,000 easy going miles
Car was fitted with Continental's from new achieved 30000 miles before I changed to the above, which I was more than happy with. Hence I purchased tyres from the same manufacturer when I was due a replacement. Performance wise everything same as the original factory fitment except for one major issue tyre wear. Have covered 17000 miles on this set will be lucky to achieve 20000 miles. Hence I'm look at other manufacturers.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2021   
Given 64% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 9,000 average miles
Good Stable & Predictable handling, Good dry braking & dry handling, Good wet braking & handling, Great fuel economy, Neutral feedback, high road noise. Good tyre for fuel efficiency and sensible, non-spirited driving
2 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2021   
Given 77% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (225/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
Have had many sets of tyres, I have to get the XL load rating or they wear out fast. good handling and no issues, just poor wear value Disappointed with these new Eco5 as the back tyres have done 13000 miles and are shot.
5 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Dacia Lodgy (195/55 R16 H) on track for 0 spirited miles
I drove on Continental ContiEcoContact 5 tyres on a very twisty racing circuit in my stock car (a stock Dacia with 115hp), ya there weren't much horsepower but I can tell you, on dry tarmac these tyres had very good grip ! Not to mention they were 8 years old when I did it !
3 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2020   
Given 43% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 300 average miles
The continental tyres came with my new 2019 Golf 7.5 110TSI Wagon and appeared to be OK until I drove on typical course bitumen that we often find on Australian roads, even on freeways. On some surfaces there was so much loud, intense, low frequency sound that it was almost unbearable and my passenger blocked her ears! On different, smoother sections of the freeway, there was negligible road noise and otherwise the Golf is very quiet. On the same, familiar road our 2003 Mercedes ML350 with Michelin tyres is consistently quiet, and even my 16 year old Magna with 300,000km on the clock with Michelin tyres, was much quieter on the course bitumen.
These tyres are completely unsuitable be the Australian market. I'll be approaching my VW dealer and VW Australia to find some resolution as I can not live with the severity of the noise on roads that I am typically driving on.
8 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2019   
Given 69% while driving a Suzuki Vitara 2015> (215/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 25 spirited miles
Lasted quite well after 3 years and 25k miles. good fuel consumption ( as much as I can compare with similar cars, no way to say precisely until after I change the tyres). ok in dry, wheel spin on occasion, especially uphill (light car?). more wheel spin in the wet when accelerating in 2nd, not great on breaking in the wet. Just had them understeer fairly dangerously in a roundabout. the back is coming out in bends on dry and wet, not too hard to control usually but it can surprise you. terrible in snow, got stuck in a parking lot, seems to be able to reverse out but unable to drive forwards in snow! About to replace them, hope for something with better grip.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Suzuki SX4 Scross 1.4T Boosterjet (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 33,554 easy going miles
Those are the original tyres on my car. I have driven them for 54000 km, so in my opinion they are very durable . Their grip is good on dry and wet surface (my driving style is moderate). I haven't experienced any problems so far. I feel confident on any road. Maybe the only problem is that they are a little bit noisy.
I want to replace them because the tread depth is reaching its limit and I want to do so before the winter . If it wasn't for their high price I would have purchased them again. I definitely recommend these kind of tyres.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2019   
Given 47% while driving a Renault Clio IV TCe 90 (195/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Fitted from new on a Scandinavian spec Renault Clio 0.9Tce Sport Tourer (estate).
Have now covered just over 4000mi / 6000km.

To summarise; these tyres have been good for fuel economy and reasonably grippy, but the steering and handling characteristics are not confidence inspiring or enjoyable, in my opinion. Can also be noisy on some surfaces.

These tyres might be ok if you want something for low speed city / town use, or if economy is your only major concern.

For me personally, I like a car to handle in a positive and responsive way. These tyres don't strike the balance I'm looking for, so they will soon be changed out for something more responsive.

Positive:
- Grip quite well in the dry
- Grip quite well in the wet too (no unexpected ABS / sliding / wheelspin to date)
- Low rolling resistance, hence good fuel economy.
- Seem to wear reasonably well (so far)

Negative:
- Slow / soggy steering response, seemingly due to soft sidewalls.
- Lack of steering feel or feedback. Numb around the dead-ahead.
- Car slops / wobbles around laterally on these tyres following a sudden steering input (e.g. if swerving to avoiding a pothole or something in the road). Seems to take a while for these tyres to settle following such a manoeuvre.
- Unexpectedly noisy on some road surfaces, though reasonably quiet on others.
- Not the most comfortable, despite apparent soft sidewalls. Can feel harsh / jittery over road imperfections such as drain covers and bridge expansion joints.
- Went out of balance within the first 3000km (2000mi).

Other Notes
Increasing the tyre pressures (above recommended for the Clio, but well within specification for tyre) helped to improve the steering response and feel, but the basic characteristics described above are still present.

Driving another Clio 0,9tce on a different brand of tyres (a dealer courtesy car) made me realise how lively the steering and handling on my car can / should be.


2 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2019   
Given 79% while driving a Hyundai I10 (175/65 R14 T) on mostly town for 17,250 average miles
Grip is significantly decreased on wet, especially after a light rain.
3 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2019   
Nissan Juke (225/45 R17 R) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
I have bought Nisaan Juke in June 2018. Brand new car and brand new tyres. 14 000 miles later both front tyres are bold with metal bits sticking out. I am driving on A3 most of the time and locally near Guilford. Will avoid these tyres as much as possible. Will not recommend to anyone.
4 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2019