Continental Eco Contact 3

The Continental Eco Contact 3 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 54 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 1,150,800 miles driven, and 1 tests with an average result of 1st.

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 68%
Wear 74%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 66%

First On MarketFebruary 2003
Wheel Size13 - 15"
Width145 - 185mm
Profile55 - 80
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripB - D
Noise (dB)69 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Eco Contact 3 is ranked 84th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Continental Eco Contact 5.

Tests Included

1

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

1st

Average Result

1st

Latest Tyre Test Results

2011 Long Term Subjective Touring Shootout
1st of 4 tyres
  • The Continental ECO Contact 3 was the surprise winner in 4 of the 6 categories. Not only did it manage to offer the best dry and wet grip, it was also the quitest tyre, the most comfortable and offered better MPG than the others. It seems at least with tyres, you do get what you pay for.
  • The one draw back of the Continentals excellent ride quality and comfort was steering feel. The dynamic properties of the tyre were poor, leaving you guessing what the tyre was doing under you at times, with the old feeling of the tyre folding onto the sidewalls under hard cornering.
View Full Test >>

2011 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
13 inch
175/65 R 13 80 TDB70
145/80 R 13 75 TDB70
165/80 R 13 83 TCB70
145/70 R 13 71 TDB70
165/70 R 13 79 TDB70
185/70 R 13 86 TDB70
165/70 R 13 83 T XLCB71
14 inch
165/60 R 14 75 TDB70
155/65 R 14 75 TDB70
175/65 R 14 86 T XLDB71
175/80 R 14 88 HDB70
15 inch
185/65 R 15 92 T XLCB70
185/65 R 15 92 T XLBB70
165/65 R 15 81 TDB70
175/55 R 15 77 TDB70
185/65 R 15 88 TDD70
185/65 R 15 88 TDC69
155/60 R 15 74 TDB70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental Eco Contact 3 >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Continental Eco Contact 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £83.99 - £92.88 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £72.19 - £95.92 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 6 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental Eco Contact 3 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Toyota Yaris (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 18,000 average miles
So far, I've driven these tyres 18000 miles approx. and the experience has been great. I've driven them in city (mostly), on highways and even off roads on good as well as pathetic road conditions and haven't faced any problem till now. Hopefully will drive them another 18000 to 20000 miles and then replace them. Overall i would rate them with a score of 8 with 10 being the highest...
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on May 23, 2022
Given 70% while driving a Suzuki Swift (165/70 R14 T) on mostly town for 31,068 average miles
Good tire, but there are drawbacks. It adheres very well on dry roads but loses its grip on wet roads. Relatively loud, but not very disturbing. It responds well to steering movements. The big drawback is that they wear very fast. I was just able to drive him 50,000 km because I was cautious. Good tire, but I wouldn't buy it again. He had an original tire for Suzuki. I changed to Hankook K425 and I have not regretted it so far.
Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on April 10, 2019
Given 76% while driving a Opel Corsa 1.2 80Hp (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 38,000 average miles
They still have good thread after 8 years and 60.000km. They were used only as summer tyres and not during winter.
This year they've started to get unbalanced again and again, but given their age I think they've lasted very well.
Dry grip is not excellent even for a 1.2 engine and the sidewalls are very very soft which makes them comfortable, but not sporty at all.

I had to switch to Pirelli, the only premium tyre in stock and will come with feedback, comparison soon.
Helpful 65 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2016
Have you driven on the Continental Eco Contact 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental Eco Contact 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental Eco Contact 3 >

Latest Continental Eco Contact 3 Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Dacia Logan (185/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
I got these tires mounted on my (then) brand new Dacia Logan 2008 edition. After 11 years of running them for ~9 months each yer and summing up close to 80.000km (50.000 miles, only on these) I think this model is definitely a winner as a premium touring tire.

I really need to point out that they are getting put aside because of safety concerns due to their age, they still have rubber on them for another 20.000km easy.
Pro: low rolling resistance, fairly quiet ride, good wet and dry grip and nice braking, awesome wear longevity!
Con: not such a good road feedback from them (my car is not the sportiest one in the yard, by far, but i can say that these tires are awesome for long roads, but not for the sporty driver that likes to get a good feedback in bends).

Now upgraded to Continental EcoContact 6 (DOT 2019), if this set lasts as much as the 3's then Continental, you have yourself a satisfied client!
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2019
Given 61% while driving a Skoda Octavia (195/65 R16) on mostly town for 50,000 easy going miles
I have ContiEco Contact 3 on Skoda Octavia 2 since 2011 and they are very good tyres: very good on dry road, good on wet road, no aquaplaning , silent on hi speed and very resistant. The wear is excellent for these tyres, I have been owning it for 7 years and they are still good. On the other hand they have 2 problems: low driving feedback and the rubber is getting older. Now, after 7 years, they became noisy and not so confident as they were new.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2019
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
I had these tyres as original fitted on my father's VW Golf 6 1.6 Tdi the car is from january 2012 and the tyres were produced end of 2011.
the tyre qualities are comfortable and silent ride and under braking they are still excellent
the tyres weaknesses are the wear on the shoulders when used a little more sporty than usual.
All in all is a sincere tyre made for a quiet driving style.
Now is almost time to replace them and there is very little choice on the market could buy again.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2018
Given 34% while driving a Opel Mokka 1.4T 4x4 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 18,000 average miles
After going sideways across two lanes due to aquaplaning thanks to the poor grip from these tyres a first of 30 years driving on snow, ice, sand and mud. They are not much better in the dry. Have to get rid of them for safety.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2017
Given 86% while driving a Honda Civic (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
Tire not bad, but wear is higher than the equivalent Fulda.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2017
Given 91% while driving a Toyota Vios (175/65 R14 T) on mostly motorways for 40,000 spirited miles
Tops any other brand. Great performance, especially on wet roads. Great comfort.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2016
Given 83% while driving a Citro├źn Saxo 1.5D (165/65 R14 T) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
I bought these to replace the OE fit Michelin Energy's. They seem quieter that the Michelins and I've not noticed any loss in fuel economy despite them being a lower rating that the Michelins. Overall they feel good in wet and dry conditions and the rides is smooth too. I'd probably buy them again if I can get a good price on them next time.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2015
Given 73% while driving a Alfa Romeo 146 1.4 Twin Spark (185/60 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I thought I'd come back for a complete evaluation as soon as I was about to change tires.

I have been using the Eco Contact 3s for 24,421 km (15,178 miles) and 47 months, in all sorts of environments and temperatures. So, here we go, evaluating their overall performance, from day 1 to today - they will be changed until next week.

Dry Grip: 7, they started off a bit better but as soon as they became 3 years old the grip slightly worsened, just 6 days ago I had 2 locks on the fronts with moderate braking, once with about 50-60 degrees steering lock in.

Wet Grip: 7. They let me down last February when entering a slightly fast right hander on a mountain at 10 degrees temperature, first they understeered and immediately as I lifted off the throttle the tail broke loose, oversteered. I corrected this but nonetheless on a narrow mountain road it did gave me a bit of a heartbeat.

Road Feedback, Progressiveness, Wear & Comfort: 8. I always knew I was getting to the limit, the tires provided me with feedback and they were always progressive, excepting that one instance I mentioned above. They are still at 4 mm both fronts and rears. They have never been too noisy either, even on rough, rotted road surfaces.

I won't buy again though, firstly because they've been discontinued and secondly because their successor, the Eco Contact 5, seems to be a considerably better tire - it will be the next tire for my Alfa 146, I've ordered a set. Let's see what more they will offer.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2014
Given 69% while driving a Fiat (185/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
Perfect on wet road but not very well on dry roads, expecially when the tires are worn for a few years (12000 miles). Road noise is ok for the first use but after approx. 2 years comfort dramatically decreases.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on February 18, 2014
Given 66% while driving a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
Had the tyres for 12 months and with around 250 miles per week on them between Watford and Oxford they have been worn bold below the legal limit. Wet grip is good considering the price of the tyre online and it being an 'eco' tyre. Very dissapointed at the wear rate however and this has been a regular comment from fellow continental tyre users.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2014
Given 87% while driving a Peugeot (185/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
Perfect for my driving style and my car. I been using Continental Eco Contact 3 for the last 8 years without any problems.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2013
Given 60% while driving a Daewoo Lanos (175/70 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
on my car now for 3 years, may say its a good tyre for my 1.4 lanos, front tyres tread is half way so i changed front to back at the sevice station in Athens Greece and wow !!!! ... all 4 tyres on the tread had peelings and missing tread, went to dealer and tolled him my problem, he wasn't surprised at all, told him i have a 4 year warranty he just laughed ... CONTINENTALS ARE NOT FOR ME ...!!!!
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2013