Avon ZT5

The Avon ZT5 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 29 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 342,422 miles driven, and 2 tests with an average result of 29th.

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 65%
Wear 73%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 60%

The ZT5 is ranked 78th of 232 Summer Touring tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Avon ZT7.

Tests Included

2

Best Result

13th

Worst Result

45th

Average Result

29th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 ADAC 175/65 R14 Summer Tyre Test
13th of 16 tyres
  • Weak on dry and wet roads, slightly higher fuel consumption and wear
View Full Test >>

2015 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Avon ZT5

Questions and Answers for the Avon ZT5

2016-05-15 - Hi I run a Opel Manta Stage Rally Car we are Tarmac spec for Stage demo runs. I have 15" rims. BUT we have been asked to do Navigational event North Wales we have had to go back to 14" Ronal wheels to run as 80's period. Being only Grp A spec the car is narrow body so we have to run 60 series tyre. I have opted to buy 4 Avon ZT5 . THE QUESTION IS HOW WILL THESE TYRES COPE WITH SMOOTH TARMAC / MUD/ GRAVEL / RIVER CROSSING. (FORD). WHAT COMPOUND ARE THEY IE: super soft/ soft/medium /hard ? I'm not to worried about noise were on intercom

The Avon ZT5's are likely to struggle with any serious speed on a rough surface - they're a soft structured low rolling resistance road tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Avon ZT5 Reviews

Given 70% while driving a Fiat doblo (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 easy going miles
The tyre walls perished and cracked to such an extent that all were scrap at 14 months old and 8k miles even though the date stamp showed they were manufactured in the year of fitting (2014) and they were in UK (i.e. negligible sun damage). Never again.
Helpful 80 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2016
Given 84% while driving a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Purchased these tyres twice for a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v. Not the quickest of cars by any stretch, but driven hard almost all the time. Tyres lasted 20000 miles both times they were fitted and a good price also.

Never noticed any issues with heavy breaking, but the tyres would easily slide on a wet road given half a chance, especially when accelerating off of a roundabout.

Quiet and comfortable enough, no issues there.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2019
Given 86% while driving a Daihatsu Sirion (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 34,000 average miles
I have been well pleased with Avon ZT5 tyres. They have lasted a lot longer than the original tyres fitted to the car. At 34000 miles they are still giving good grip, are above the legal limit & shall only be replacing them to be assured of passing MOT. Shall replace with Avon XT5.

For a general family car these are great value tyres.

For folks saying they break away in the wet, could I respectfully suggest that your driving style is not suited to a family car.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on June 3, 2018
Have you driven on the Avon ZT5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZT5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Avon ZT5 >

Latest Avon ZT5 Reviews

Mitsubishi Colt (175/65 R14) on mostly town for 2,000 easy going miles
I tend not to drive in such a fashion as to put a tyre under any great load, and wet braking at speed is probably not something I have had to do for decades. Perhaps keeping ones distance and considering the road conditions means a driver can avoid such perils. However I accept that emergencies do happen due to the poor driving of others.
I had two Avon ZT5 tyres fitted a few months ago. They replaced two Nexen tyres which didn't last very long on the front.
Given my sedate driving I assumed the Nexen would last, but sadly they showed considerable wear after only 8000 miles.
The Avons seem quieter although not by much. They are also a very handsome tyre, which won't concern some but will interest others. They are yet to show any signs of wear. They seem grippy enough in all conditions for normal driving.
I have a pair of Continentals on the back, factory fitted. Loads of wear left, but cracking badly after 6 years. When I replace them I will buy some more Avons.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2018
Given 84% while driving a Citroën xsara picasso (185/65 R15 N) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
Fitted to my wife's MPV so far these tyres have been no problems at all. Compared to the previous tyres they have a much lower wear rate and improved handling. They provide good grip in both wet and dry conditions and excellent wear rate. For a family vehicle, they are a good choice. Will definitely buy again.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2018
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 91% while driving a (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Replaced my previous tyres which were Runway Enduro (and rubbish even though they were only half worn) with the ZT5's. What a diference! The feel through the steering is a revelation, the comfort, road noise and fuel economy are all much better. They grip well in dry or wet conditions and all for under £50 a corner fitted. Obviously they are not fitted to a sports car so not tested to extreme levels but overall very impressed. I would definitely recommend.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2017
Given 31% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Got to be the worst griping tyre there has ever been made , in the wet they are absolutely lethal you cannot go round roundabout any more than 15mph , tight bends put your toe down and it just slips all over , still wheel spins in 3rd gear in the wet , considering its a vw golf which is a good handling car but it is probably the worst handling with these on never had no problems with my verdisteins , comforts ok and fairly cheap but I would never buy them again they are not safe !!
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2016
Given 64% while driving a Citroën C2 VTS (175/60 R14) on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
Got some ZT5's on the front of my Citroen c2 and although they seem great in dry weather and very little road noise they just don't perform as well in wet and gravel, I pull away from a junction near where I live and almost always wheel spin as there is some gravel. once when it was wet on the same junction they just wouldn't find any grip. At first I thought I had broken something on the car as it juddered and wouldn't move for a split second and then realised the tyres were slipping on the slight wet gravel. Compared to some grip 300's (cheap) I have on some alloys that were on the car previously the avons seems to be a lot less capable in the wet and I just don't feel so safe with them on.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2016
Given 77% while driving a Volkswagen fox (185/60 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Very Mid-range tyre. Will grip effectively in all conditions, but they are fairly noisy (especially on motorway). Last approx 20K on front and 30K on back
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2016
Given 75% while driving a Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi (190/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
Replaced Front tyres on my VW Sharan 1996 with 195/65 R15 XL 95H load tyres. I was looking for a set with the 95 Load rating vs the 91 rating. Overall the tyres seem good, only replaced the fronts to start around 3 month ago, wear seems ok, done around 3000 miles. The ride is a bit nicer than when on the 91 tyres but saying that the noise is slightly more, not sure if that normal or not. Mainly I was attracted to these by the price and Avon being a know brand. I am considering replacing the rears now and will probably opt for the same one.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2015
Given 60% while driving a Daewoo Matiz (155/65 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
Better grip than Barum Brilliantis and Khumo KH17, but quite a bit noisier than both. Average wear.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2015
Given 100% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (165/70 R14 T) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
i have put the tyres on my car on my car and i love them amazing grip and i have pushed them to the limit racing my mate on a closed track on them and grip was top marks and drove home in the wet never lost grip ones i recommend them
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on February 27, 2015
Given 46% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14 T) on mostly motorways for 15,000 easy going miles
After 24000 km I changed them due to wearness. I was feeling unsafe especially on wet road. The front tyres in order to look properly should be inflated with 45 psi. Avoid them!
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2014
Given 90% while driving a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
First set of tyres I've ever had to buy, and for my Fiat Punto, they are a nice cheap set of tyres that offer good grip and wear levels. I previously had 3 makes of tyre on the car, so going to one set across the car made a big difference.
Would buy again when I need to get some more.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2014
Given 53% while driving a Volkswagen Caddy (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Have avon zt 5 tyres fitted to my vw caddy van they are very good in dry conditions , but in the wet are very poor ,no grip at low speeds on roundabouts , and some corners.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2013