Avon ZT7

Replacing the ZT5 passenger car tyre, the all-new ZT7 has been developed to provide both a quieter and more economical driving experience whilst retaining sporty handling characteristics.

Avon’s noise damping ‘fins’, located in the tyre’s tread, are responsible for reducing airborne noise from contact with the road and make this Avon’s quietest tyre yet with a 69dB rating.

The ZT7 offers drivers improved fuel economy thanks to an optimised tread gauge which distributes load evenly, lowering the tyre’s rolling resistance. Improved tread wear is an added benefit, as the tyre has been designed with a more uniform footprint.

For enhanced traction, as well as improved wet braking, lateral grip and steering response, the ZT7 features a high definition silica compound with a finite element analysis designed tread pattern.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZT5.

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 64%
Wear 60%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 48%

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 66% over 70,126 miles driven.

The ZT7 is ranked 118th of 148 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Avon ZT7

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
165/60 R14 75T   E B 69 6.31kgs
165/60 R14 75H   E B 69 6.31kgs
185/60 R14 82H   C B 69 7.06kgs
155/65 R14 75T   E B 69 5.68kgs
165/65 R14 79T   E B 69 6.16kgs
175/65 R14 82H   E B 69 6.50kgs
175/65 R14 82T   E B 69 6.50kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL   C B 69 6.50kgs
185/65 R14 86T   C B 69 6.79kgs
185/65 R14 86H   C B 69 6.79kgs
165/70 R14 85T XL   C B 69 6.72kgs
165/70 R14 81T   C B 69 6.72kgs
175/70 R14 84T   E B 69 6.63kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL   C B 69 6.63kgs
185/70 R14 88H   C B 69 7.14kgs
185/70 R14 88T   C B 69 7.14kgs
165/60 R15 77H   E B 69 6.50kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C B 69 7.60kgs
185/60 R15 84H   C B 69 7.60kgs
195/60 R15 88H   C B 69 8.12kgs
165/65 R15 81T   E B 69 6.50kgs
175/65 R15 84T   C B 69 7.48kgs
175/65 R15 84H   C B 69 7.48kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C B 69 7.84kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C B 69 7.84kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C B 69 7.84kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   B B 69 8.13kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C B 69 8.13kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C B 69 8.13kgs

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Avon ZT7. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
165/70 R14 £60.47 - £74.35 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
175/65 R14 £53.99 - £81.52 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/60 R15 £66.49 - £90.06 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £59.82 - £81.52 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £58.50 - £78.38 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 16 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Avon ZT7 Reviews

Given 69% while driving a Audi A2 (185/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Good grip, great on corners but wear a bit. I just swap my wheels around to even the wear
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2023
Given 60% while driving a Skoda (185/60 R15) on mostly town for 23,000 average miles
Two tyres at 3 years old and use, with 23,000 miles, 4 mm of tread, they had cracks close-ish to the wheel bead on the inside of the wheel so not generally seen but deep enough for MoT failure. Very disappointing. I bought these as Avon used to be a British company and used to make good tyres (at reasonable prices) sadly no longer British nor good tyres in this experience. Another problem is another two of the same tyre were fitted two years later (just over a year, 10k-miles, ago) to make a set of four so crawling under the car with a torch may soon be required to check those. I will report on that set with another review after three years of their life, or at end of their life.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2023
Given 57% while driving a Volkswagen up! (165/70 R14) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
I'm quite a smooth driver, but on backroads I tend to enjoy carrying good speed through tight hairpins and bends. If that is you, then avoid these tyres as I found when leant on you will quickly find they are easily provoked into understeer. In fairness it is a very progressive behavior and also it's easily recovered from but it's definitely not suited to what makes a small and lightweight car fun to drive.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2023
Have you driven on the Avon ZT7 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZT7? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Avon ZT7 >

Latest Avon ZT7 Reviews

Given 67% while driving a Renault (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 18 average miles
We fit these to a small fleet of 3 vans covering around 30k miles a year. They are an excellent economy tyre, and seem to last fairly well at the hands of delivery drivers who could usually care less about the wear and tear on the vehicles.

I take one of these vans home, and commute 90 miles a day on them. They are impressively quiet for a budget tyre, very comfortable on the road thanks to the squidgy sidewalls. There are a couple of sharp slip roads I have to take on my drive, and I have taken them at normal motorway speeds (70mph) and they hold impressively well in the dry and damp... In the wet however I've noticed they aquaplane very easily, and don't give much confidence on fast, sharp bends.

Steering is kind of vague feeling, the soft sidewalls make them a little rolly poly, and they don't offer much feedback. It's a little hard to tell what the tyre is doing, and how it's holding the road, but the grip is confidence inspiring, and maintain their characteristics right down to the wear bands.

For a normal, daily driver tyre they are fantastic. Affordable, surprisingly grippy, comfortable and quiet and above average wear compared to other brands.

I wouldn't go for a spirited drive around twisty back lanes on them, but for a commuter / normal driving around town tyre, they tick all the boxes. We've been through a few sets on our fleet now, and can't see myself choosing anything else.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2024
Given 84% while driving a Peugeot 108 (165/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Overall I've been happy with these tyres. They've sat quite happily on a little Peugeot 108. I've bought 3 pairs rotating the rears to the front when fronts are worn - ~30k miles a set.

Handling, noise, wet, dry all have been totally fine, even under spirited driving. I've had little hairline cracks appear in the sidewall with 2mm remaining, but forgiveable as the this pair is 3 years old.

Considering these are often 1/2 the cost of Pirelli / Continental but are actually safe to drive unlike the Nakiomo Ditchfinders and other Chinese tat, I think they are a good value proposition.

Would I put these on a Civic Type R to do a lap on the Nuremberg ring, obviously not. But worth a consideration if you want a mid tier option for a std passenger car.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 54% while driving a Citroën berlingo (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 100 easy going miles
Not had the ZT7's long but already find them noisier than the Good Year vector's they replaced. The biggest gripe I have is that since putting them on I receive a static electric shock whenever I get out after a drive.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2023
Given 67% while driving a Kia Motors Rio (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
Unfortunately I wouldn't buy these tyres again. They have only been on the car (front) for a year and a half with 12000mls covered. Car just back from its MOT and both tyres have an advisory for perishing on the inside and outside sidewalls.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Citroën c2 (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 1,000 miles
Fine so far .nothing to complain. Good grip and feel from them . Grip in wet fine no understeer .great so far .ok in snow didn't get stuck
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2021
Given 51% while driving a MINI Cooper D (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Handling is fair wet and dry... but these tyres really become a lot worse when pushed, because of this I would be untrusting of them if I ever needed to steer sharply, they just don't stick to the road like they should (Tracking on my car was also fixed prior to these been put on, so I know that is not to blame). So these tyres would be ok for people who just potter about in their cars, but not for those who may drive with a heavier foot on the accelerator. I really was looking forward to trying these avons out as I have never bought them before, but I know these will definitely be the first and last time i buy avon tyres.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2020
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.2 (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 8 average miles
There is everything to like about this tyre. Yet another win from Avon. Feels very soft on side wall but wear is excellent, is quiet, grippy and after 8,500 miles on a front wheel drive car there is n9 visible wear. Avon is a very understated manufacturer and I’d compare their tyres to a longer lasting Pirelli. We have been very impressed, this vehicle is my mum’s Polo but we have other Avon’s on our BMW 5 series and Range Rover and are equally pleased. They represent astonishing value for money and are a very safe tyre.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2020
Given 56% while driving a Citroën xsara picasso (185/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 20,000 spirited miles
First time I tried Avon tyres, previously had Bridgestone all weather, A001, got 4 good years out of these. My car is very old so went for a cheaper tyre this time as not sure how long I can viably keep this car on the road. The car has outlasted the front tyres that is for sure. Excessive Outerwear on both front tyres, more so on the near side. The car was tracked when the track rod was replaced. I would be surprised if the outerwear is down to this, and it is more likely to my driving style around corners and roundabouts. I got 19 months out of the near side, and 24 out of the off side (now needs replacing). Replaced the near side with the same ZT7. 6 months later the outer tread is 4mm inner 6mm. although when brand new the outer tread is notably shallow. Just to note the rear tyres are doing well. I can't fault the tyres for their grip. The 6 month old tyre is going on the spare and both front tyres will be replaced, not with ZT7, I do think these tyres will be fine if you behave on corners and roundabouts.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2020