Aptany RA301

The Aptany RA301 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 74%
Wet Grip 66%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 67%
Wear 50%
Comfort 66%
Buy again 57%

Tyre review data from 18 tyre reviews averaging 64% over 135,685 miles driven.

The RA301 is ranked 126th of 201 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2016 Test World Performance Tyre Test - 13th of 13 tyres

  • Positive - Low noise level, low rolling resistance
  • Negative - Long braking distances and poor handling on dry and wet roads
View Full Test >>

2016 Tyre Tests

  • 13th: 2016 Test World Performance Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    195/45 R16 84V XL          
    205/45 R16 87W XL   C B 70  
    225/50 R16 92V   C B 70  
    205/40 R17 84W XL   C B 70  
    205/45 R17 88W XL   C B 70  
    215/45 R17 91W XL   C B 70  
    225/45 R17 94W XL   C B 70  
    235/45 R17 97W XL   C B 71  
    245/45 R17 95W   C B 71  
    205/50 R17 93W XL   C B 70  
    215/50 R17 95W XL   C B 70  
    215/55 R17 98W XL   C B 70  
    225/55 R17 101W XL   C B 70  
    215/40 R18 85W   C B 70  
    225/40 R18 92W XL   C B 70  
    245/40 R18 97W XL   C B 71  
    235/45 R18 98W XL   C B 71  
    245/45 R18 100W XL   C B 71  
    275/30 R19 96W XL   C B 72  
    225/35 R19 88W XL   C B 70  
    245/35 R19 93W XL   C B 71  
    245/40 R19 98W XL   C B 71  
    255/40 R19 100W XL   C B 72  
    245/45 R19 102W XL   C B 71  
    255/50 R19 107W XL   C B 72  
    275/30 R20 97W XL   C B 72  
    225/35 R20 93W XL          
    245/35 R20 95W XL   C B 71  
    275/40 R20 106W XL   C B 72  

    Questions and Answers for the Aptany RA301

    2018-04-05 - APTANY MACRO 275/40/20 IS THE TIRE DIRECTIONAL? WHY DOES IT SAY OUTSIDE AND INSIDE ON THE TIRE, PLEASE ADVISE

    If it says outside and inside then it is an asymmetric tyre. The tyre pattern would also confirm this.


    2018-11-15 - what should the tread depth be on a new aptany 205/55R/16 91H RW211 winter tire

    I don't know the exact figure, but it should be somewhere between 7 and 9mm


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    205/40 R17 £62.06 - £62.06 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/50 R17 £64.16 - £64.16 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 7 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Aptany RA301 Reviews

    Given 80% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (245/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Great budget tyre, low noise, average wear, look good.
    Helpful 363 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2016
    Given 21% while driving a Nissan Juke (215/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
    Do not buy these tyres.
    Absolute rubbish, only lasted 20000km
    And never felt so scared driving in the wet, absolutely no grip and no stirring feeling. Spend a bit more for your safety .
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2023
    Given 89% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Got these fitted on my fiesta Zyrtec s and am very surprised at the level of grip in the wet and winter conditions.. actually better grip than my Pirelli and dunlops previously.. I will definitely get these tyres fitted again 👍🏼
    Helpful 115 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2017
    Have you driven on the Aptany RA301 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Aptany RA301? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Aptany RA301 >

    Latest Aptany RA301 Reviews

    Given 64% while driving a Porsche Cayenne Turbo (275/45 R20) on mostly town for 4,000 easy going miles
    With only 7k km the front driver tire is kind of vibrating, could notice last time went to balance the Wheels. Im gonna try the 5 year warranty but Lost a Lot of confidence on them. Maybe because my car is Very heavy on the front: v8 4.5 twin turbo
    Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2022
    BMW (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
    Had them on the front of my 5 series BMW for two years. Cant understand the guy who says he has got under 2000 miles from them! Must be driving like a lunatic. Mine have been excellent, even in snow! Rear wheel drive of course, but the beemer isn't a lightweight. Good cornering grip, good in the rain and quiet. Have to change unfortunately, due to a screw in the tread, near a sidewall, otherwise I think they are good for thousands of miles yet. More than 4.5mm of tread left. Can't find any locally so will try another brand. Pity.
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2021
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 39% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 2.2 TID Vector Estate (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 1,579 average miles
    Had these tyres fitted at the end of September prior to an MOT. As is typical these days, money was tight so went down the budget tyre route. Well, today, mid December, I've moved them from the front to the back, to try and squeeze a few more miles out of them, and they are done. After 1,579 miles, they're on the wear markers. Dry and wet grip was adequate, but the wear rate is definitely not. Budget tyres... ...they're only cheap on the day. I will not be buying them again, nor any of their cheap Chinese brethren.
    Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2020
    Given 79% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    Just purchased my second set of the aptany RA301 235/45/17 97W for a Honda Accord Estate.I have these still fitted on a 2013 mondeo.For the price point these are excellent tyres.Dry grip is fine but its in the wet where these excell...they are incredable.Never once lost grip with these including wet...the way they cut through water even at motorway speeds is remarkable.The construction is good and i feel totally connected to the road at all times. There is one draw back though and thats tyre wear! Im no test pilot and they have covered 20k now with maybe 4/5k until they done.They are summer tyres so compound is soft.A few other things to factor in though...a premium brand tyre may get double the mileage if your lucky but they will cost at least 2-3X.Also after a few thousand miles your likely to have picked up a puncture or few...after 4 years and 25k miles i would want a fresh set of boots no matter what brand i had bought. Fuel rating C and most important for me rated B in the wet means you have a very safe tyre when you need it most.Pretty quiet on the open road as well. To sum up there cant be a better tyre out there than this for the money..£240 fitted with valves and balancing.My honda currently has equivalent ZV7 by avon....not a bad tyre by any means but they are no where close to the aptany in the wet and why im changing. Highly recommend and wont break the bank giving these a try.
    Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2020
    Given 86% while driving a Kia Motors Forte (215/45 R17) on mostly town for 3,106 easy going miles
    I'll be honest about buying these. The car they went on is a 2011 Kia Forte SX, that is driven mostly by my wife, to and from work on weekdays. I drive it on weekends when we run around town for groceries and such. given that it's on a 9 year old daily driven car, that is driven pretty conservatively, I didn't want to spend a lot on tires. I'm not willing to spend a boat load of money on a car that may expire in the near future. The last set of budget tires, with similar tread wear rating of ~300 lasted 2 summers. So if we get the same out of these, I'll be happy. Some would argue that spending more money on tires that would last, say 4 summers, would be a better choice. But, I like a value, and many times, budget doesn't allow spending that much on rubber at any given time. These were purchased in late March 2020, and mounted in mid April. Oil change was just done on July 7 2020, as well as a tire rotation. Wear has been even, and assuming that depth at new was 8mm, after 5000kms, they are down to just under 7mm. So, not bad at all for a 340 treadwear tire. When they were first mounted, both y wife and I noticed they were a bit noisier than the ones they replaced. On par with our winters. I also noticed they were a bit twitchy, as if the car needed an alignment. They track well now, and are very quiet on new pavement. It hasn't rained in a while, so I can't quite comment on how they perform in the rain. That being said, I adjust my driving for the conditions, so I'm sure they'll be ok. Would I buy them again? If it's for the Kia, then yes. But, I've got my eyes on Rotalla next time.
    Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2020
    Given 44% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (235/35 R18) on for 8,000 miles
    These are the fastest wearing tyres I have ever bought. My last set lasted 30,000 miles, these are shot ofter 8,000
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on July 4, 2020
    Given 37% while driving a Volkswagen Caddy (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,500 easy going miles
    The worst tyres I’ve come across put them on in February an the fronts are gone already
    Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2020
    Given 60% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,500 average miles
    Cheap tyres do the job for a year about 9000milies
    On a mk2 ford focus 2.0i
    Work well just bad wear rate
    Will not buy again.
    Ok on the back of car.

    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2019
    Given 21% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 7,000 spirited miles
    Absolutely rubbish tyre bought my used car and the seller put 4 of these tyres on I assume he had the cheapest tyre they did which was these. Very noisey tyre very poor grip in rain just masses of understeer. Fronts haven't lasted 7000 miles and they are now 2mm. Would steer clear of these tyres. Dont understand people who buy cheap tyres not worth it when a 10k car is in a ditch because you saved 100 quid on tyres.
    Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2019
    Given 91% while driving a Porsche Cayenne Turbo (275/45 R20 V) on mostly town for 1,000 easy going miles
    Good for the money, quiet and look nice
    Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2019
    Given 77% while driving a Chevrolet Equinox (235/55 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
    I have them on a 2011 Equinox and only for a year so limited info. Like the low road noise and the performance on the highway. The SUV AWD has never been a good mileage vehicle and there is no change with these tires
    Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2019
    Given 87% while driving a Lexus ES350 (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    Wet traction is amazing, very smooth and quiet on the hwy. Z rated , car drives a lot better than the previous brand name tire that I removed with lots of tread left because of the poor wet traction. My mechanic laughed at the tires being a off brand, then he was shocked that 2 tires balanced without needing any weights . For the money these tires are fantastic.
    Helpful 69 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2018