Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf 7 GTD better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (27) 97% 90% 95% 97% 75% 78%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (36) 95% 90% 92% 93% 73% 78%
Falken Azenis FK510 (115) 90% 89% 82% 83% 74% 79%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (231) 91% 89% 83% 85% 75% 79%
General Altimax Sport (29) 80% 80% 80% 78% 87% 80%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (74) 85% 79% 79% 81% 76% 81%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (167) 89% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (35) 91% 82% 81% 79% 76% 71%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (126) 85% 73% 77% 76% 69% 64%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (58) 82% 85% 79% 74% 62% 73%
Aptany RA301 (16) 75% 70% 70% 69% 53% 68%
Continental EcoContact 6 (31) 76% 70% 56% 60% 48% 73%
Accelera PHI (148) 69% 45% 54% 53% 67% 59%
Nexen ArrowSpeed Performance UHP (1) 60% 30% 40% 10% 0% 30%

Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 81% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
The Bridgestone’s are more fun to drive on than the PS4, and a definitely a step up from the S001. I have done 1k on them, and they are very grippy tyres. Very precise on steering input. Dry braking is amazing. Wet grip is also very good. Not had any issues with aquaplaning. They give so much confidence in the corners. Only get better once the tyre has some heat in it, but perfectly fine when the tyre is cold. Can be a little noisy at motorway speeds, other than that fine. Massive rim protector compared to S001. Tyre Wear: I have done 1k and it gone from 6.8mm (New) to 6.4mm in 1k, so I am going to get about 10-12K out of them, which is not bad for a UUHP that comes with 6.8mm brand new. I only got 14k out of set of PS4 before which come with 7.5mm new. The Bridgestone’s are more fun to drive on than the PS4, and a definitely a step up from the Bridgestone S001.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-24 16:45:41
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 90% (225-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 spirited miles
Had crappy budget tyres on before. Made the switch to these because they were a good price. Car feels so much better now. Great grip around corners in wet and dry, car feels much more fun and safer to drive now
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-24 15:25:17
Writing about the Continental EcoContact 6 given 18% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 13 average miles
Do not buy these model of tyres , i have looked at them before fiting and they were so soft that you could not stand them , when you grab and maneuver one it feels like you can turn it inside out with little to no effort. Still ,thinking they are the best option for A fuel rated , i went ahead and purchased them . Less than 2 miles down the road and after 10 min of fitment /pasing mot , i nearly crashed on first bend , 20miles per hour in first left corner and car understeered so badly. Checked tyre presure and all fine , it feels extremely wobbling/lurching and will go back to find a diferent option as this is unsafe to use . I dont understand how such products are out on the market . I am professional driver but never in my life felt a car/van/truck so lagging when turn steering wheel . Dont know ab the promised fuel economy as i am returning the the Green Chili technology back to were it came from in less than 24h 10miles of driving
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-08 19:50:48
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 63% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4600 spirited miles
Very nice tyre but if on a high torque fed application they wear incredibly fast. Had them on mk7 gtd tuned and I will be going back to PS4 no question vfm is with the Michelin . I would like to try these on a Subaru or an evo for a proper analysis tbc when summer arrives but for the GTD or GTi stick with PS4
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-31 12:04:57
Writing about the General Altimax Sport given 86% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 24000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-03 00:56:58
Writing about the General Altimax Sport given 86% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 24000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-03 00:31:00
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 97% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 average miles
Only use them for couple of days but first impression is grate, Falcon tyres are on the front and new Michelins primacy 4 at the back, why I didn't put falcons at the back i don't know they are super and cost lots less then Michelins. Falcons azenis are very quiet and super confortable, very good grip on wet car corners very well, when changed my old tyres I felt a big difference straight away They look nice as well Michelins primacy look horrible compared to this one's
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-09 17:22:39
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 32000 average miles
good tire for the price one of the best budget tires i had on my mk7
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-12 05:29:23
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 93% (225-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-09 09:34:58
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 given 51% (205-55-16-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9000 average miles
Tyres fitted in emergency just before a long Scandinavian road (read rough road & track) trip. They were ok to begin with for grip all round but have progressively dropped off. They're nearly worn out now and I won't buy again simply because they've only done 9000 miles and are down to the legal limit. They haven't lasted long enough to be tested in snow but have been fine on rough and cold, wet roads. Maybe better suited to a lower powered car.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-20 20:47:45
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 63% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Fitted as original equipment on my 17 plate Golf Mk7 GTD. I'm not a boy racer so the grip in both wet and dry is more than adequate for my purposes. I do like to accelerate though, and this is beginning to show as relatively high wear on the fronts, but probably no more than any other tyre exhibit. The big disappointment however is the road noise on anything other than the smoothest of surfaces - to be frank, it's often b****y awful and can turn what should have been a pleasant drive into an ordeal. Unless you are deaf, do not buy these tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-10 13:39:36
Writing about the Aptany RA301 given 21% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7000 spirited miles
Absolutely rubbish tyre bought my used car and the seller put 4 of these tyres on I assume he had the cheapest tyre they did which was these. Very noisey tyre very poor grip in rain just masses of understeer. Fronts haven't lasted 7000 miles and they are now 2mm. Would steer clear of these tyres. Dont understand people who buy cheap tyres not worth it when a 10k car is in a ditch because you saved 100 quid on tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-04 09:55:19
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre