Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf 7 GTD better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental SportContact 7 (52) 97% 93% 91% 92% 71% 76%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (237) 93% 90% 86% 88% 79% 81%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (51) 95% 82% 91% 92% 67% 74%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (90) 93% 88% 90% 92% 64% 74%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (313) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Falken Azenis FK510 (144) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
General Altimax Sport (32) 80% 79% 79% 78% 87% 80%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (175) 88% 84% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (90) 84% 78% 78% 77% 76% 80%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (67) 86% 81% 80% 80% 73% 73%
Nokian WeatherProof (31) 80% 84% 79% 79% 74% 87%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (159) 83% 69% 74% 74% 67% 61%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (74) 82% 85% 76% 73% 56% 72%
Davanti Protoura Sport (16) 74% 54% 68% 67% 70% 71%
Aptany RA301 (18) 74% 66% 68% 67% 50% 66%
Continental EcoContact 6 (100) 74% 58% 58% 61% 55% 69%
Accelera PHI (158) 68% 44% 53% 52% 66% 58%
RoadX RXMOTION U11 (30) 62% 37% 46% 40% 75% 53%
Nexen ArrowSpeed Performance UHP (1) 60% 30% 40% 10% 0% 30%

Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Davanti Protoura Sport given 86% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Great tyres, look really good on the wheels from a styling point of view. Really grippy in the dry, a bit less in the wet but I find that with all tyres. So far I've done a few thousand miles on them and can't notice any wear, still look new. Very impressed
tyre reviewed on 2023-08-03 03:52:06
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 70% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 easy going miles
after 2 seasons tire is awful on wet grip is horrible, much worse than my winter kleber HP3 tires. on dry road the ride is fine so far, but driving on wet is a night mare, as you are on ice
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-12 05:25:41
Writing about the Continental SportContact 7 given 100% (225-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I can only compare these to the Pirelli P Zero's that came off of the Golf, but what a world of difference! For the very reasonable price when compared to the long reigning champion of UUHP tyres, you just cant go wrong. In the same situations where I had wheel spin and slip with the Pirellis, this tyre does not give at all. I'm clearly not pushing it to the limit of its grip but i'm very happy and would recommend to anyone. For info, starting tread is 8mm. I may update this when i have done more miles in all conditions and update the wear rate also. Money cannot buy a better tyre at the minute, the reviews are right!
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-03 13:05:23
Writing about the RoadX RXMOTION U11 given NAN% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
Fitted on the back of my Golf GTD as I needed tires to pass mot, no problem with them whatsoever I have Avons on the front and they’re cracking and only been on a year before, I will be replacing them all with Bridgestone once they’re done as that’s the manufacturers choice for this car, but overall no issues with roadX
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-10 10:51:23
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 86% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 7000 average miles
These tyres give a really good dry grip handle like a dream hardly any road noise what ever the weather Wet grip is surprisingly good and they wear really well
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-01 03:11:38
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof given 72% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Bought the car with these Tyres on the vehicle and was a bit skeptical of them at first sight, driven over 12k miles (A/B Roads) before i had to change them (not sure how long they where on the car before purchase) Drives superbly in wet, can sit on motorway at high speeds and not even a slight tug on the wheel, was also pleasantly surprised by the good quality in the dry, grips around corners as well as any mid range summer tyre. My GTD Golf is remapped to 235bhp & 470nm of Torque. The tyres dont brake traction when fully accelerating in either wet or the dry. Maybe coming around some bends and applying full acceleration theres a bit of wheel spin/traction control but nothing unexpected. Coming to end of life and i have noticed the outside of the tyres are bald while good tred left in middle, maybe just incorrectly balanced or air pressure in them when fitted.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-02 02:31:49
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 81% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
The Bridgestone’s are more fun to drive on than the PS4, and a definitely a step up from the S001. I have done 1k on them, and they are very grippy tyres. Very precise on steering input. Dry braking is amazing. Wet grip is also very good. Not had any issues with aquaplaning. They give so much confidence in the corners. Only get better once the tyre has some heat in it, but perfectly fine when the tyre is cold. Can be a little noisy at motorway speeds, other than that fine. Massive rim protector compared to S001. Tyre Wear: I have done 1k and it gone from 6.8mm (New) to 6.4mm in 1k, so I am going to get about 10-12K out of them, which is not bad for a UUHP that comes with 6.8mm brand new. I only got 14k out of set of PS4 before which come with 7.5mm new. The Bridgestone’s are more fun to drive on than the PS4, and a definitely a step up from the Bridgestone S001.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-24 10:45:41
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 90% (225-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 spirited miles
Had crappy budget tyres on before. Made the switch to these because they were a good price. Car feels so much better now. Great grip around corners in wet and dry, car feels much more fun and safer to drive now
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-24 09:25:17
Writing about the Continental EcoContact 6 given 18% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 13 average miles
Do not buy these model of tyres , i have looked at them before fiting and they were so soft that you could not stand them , when you grab and maneuver one it feels like you can turn it inside out with little to no effort. Still ,thinking they are the best option for A fuel rated , i went ahead and purchased them . Less than 2 miles down the road and after 10 min of fitment /pasing mot , i nearly crashed on first bend , 20miles per hour in first left corner and car understeered so badly. Checked tyre presure and all fine , it feels extremely wobbling/lurching and will go back to find a diferent option as this is unsafe to use . I dont understand how such products are out on the market . I am professional driver but never in my life felt a car/van/truck so lagging when turn steering wheel . Dont know ab the promised fuel economy as i am returning the the Green Chili technology back to were it came from in less than 24h 10miles of driving
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-08 13:50:48
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 63% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4600 spirited miles
Very nice tyre but if on a high torque fed application they wear incredibly fast. Had them on mk7 gtd tuned and I will be going back to PS4 no question vfm is with the Michelin . I would like to try these on a Subaru or an evo for a proper analysis tbc when summer arrives but for the GTD or GTi stick with PS4
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-31 05:04:57
Writing about the General Altimax Sport given 86% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 24000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-02 17:56:58
Writing about the General Altimax Sport given 86% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 24000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-02 17:31:00
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre