Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 Reviews - Page 2

Given 64% while driving a SEAT LEON 1.8TSI (225/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Although on 17” felt pretty good and secure, on smaller 16” felt weigh, dull and slightly unresponsive. It seems for smaller sizes it’s more of a comfort tyre than feedback oriented.
19 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2020   
Given 82% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (205/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 500 easy going miles
Replacing the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance after 50.000km with these brand new Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125. A little bit more comfort compared to GY. Overall seem to be a good tyre. Only downsize visible at this point is the fuel consumption. According to EU label this tyre is marked with an 'A' (for size 205/55 R16 94H XL) for fuel efficiency compared to GY marked with a 'B', however on my daily commute I managed a better fuel consumption with the GY tyres. I don't now the reason but probably this is due to the tyre weight: 8.6 kg for Hankook vs 7.7 for GY.
6 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2020   
Given 57% while driving a SEAT Arona (205/55 R17 V) on mostly town for 12,000 average miles
These tyres were factory fitted on my Seat Arona 1.0 DSG. Biggest issue was the wear rate - had to replace front tyres at 12,000 miles which was very disappointing. The car wasn’t driven particularly hard. Handling and grip were fine. I won’t buy again because of the poor wear rate. Have replaced with Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance, so hoping for better wear out of these.
10 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2020   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 74% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R15) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
All around good tire. Had them for two summer seasons on Ford Fiesta. On wet, depending on asphalt surface it can struggle for grip at take off, slippage occurs...
70 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2019   
Given 76% while driving a Volvo 240 estate (195/65 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 10,000 easy going miles
I have reviewed this tyre (HVP3) before in comparison to the ContiPremiumContact 5 (CPC5) which I have on the other axle. I swapped them around a few times and kept notes (click on make and model car for my other reviews as this one is only on wear).

The 240 estate with an understressed 111 bhh engine isn't going to wear rubber in a hurry. I already wrote that the HVP3 isn't the best tyre when it comes to treadlife, but now I found something peculiar.
The HVP3 wears noticeably quicker on the rear axle than on the front. This would seem logical for a RWD car, but the CPC5 shows almost no difference between the two axles.

If this difference between front and rear wear remains the same throughout the life of the HVP3, it would actually be a worse tyre than the aleady infamous CPC5 (when it comes to treadlife, that is).

Even though this is a great tyre grip and comfort wise, mile munchers may be better off with another tyre.
8 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen T Roc (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
Have get these tires with my new TROC, it was fitted on VW factory, well, it is comfortable, very quiet, strong, was waiting a little bit more from wet drip, but it is not sport car or hot hatch, so grip is enough in all the disciplines! Can recommend for sure!
20 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Ford Fusion 1.4 TDci (195/60 R15) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
I use these on an old Ford Fusion diesel (every day) that had Firestones and Continentals. The car has a harder ride and these tyre a absolutely perfect for it. They flex, and give a softer but controlled ride, but with a grip that's much better than anything I've had before. Basically I love these tyres. It's a noisy car so I really don't know about their road noise.
5 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Skoda Octavia (195/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 12,800 average miles
These tyres have excellent dry and wet grip. I've driven them on all types of road and in all conditions except for snow and ice. They are very comfortable to drive on and give a stable and sure response when driving in all conditions. I've had them on the car for 18 months while driving in the city mainly, and occasionally on longer drives on various roads from Motorway to B grade roads. They have always handled well. My only concern is that I have only driven 12800 miles in them and they are already worn down below 1.5mm. I'm very surprised with that. I think I will only manage to get 2 years out of these tyres and possibly between 15-16k miles.
4 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2019   
Given 85% while driving a Toyota Yaris Mk2 1.33 (1NR FE) (185/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Finally worn down the old Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance and got a set of these on Jonathan's recommendation. Pretty cheap too - Managed to get them for £55 each from F1 Autocentres online, including fitting, new valves, old tyres disposed of etc. when the prices were fluctuating every day. Bargain! Esp. for these rims! Alas they've gone back up, stabilizing in the low 60's at time of writing so I lucked out there!

Initial differences - The road noise is slightly but noticeably better; It's still pretty loud on certain surfaces but not as obnoxiously loud as the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance were, esp. on concrete slab sections of motorway where the EfficientGrips would leave me with tinnitus because they were so f'ing noisy! Again shows that the official tyre noise rating is useless as the EfficientGrip Performance is rated at 67dB vs the VentusPrime's 71dB so it shouldn't be quieter!!

Grip is noticeably better over the EfficientGrip Performance, at least in the dry - I've yet to trigger the ABS under heavy braking, and it gives confidence that when I want the car to stop, it actually will stop! This was a constant issue with the Goodyears - Under anything other than a perfectly dry flat smooth road, would often suddenly run out of grip when braking hard, triggering the ABS and costing me 50% of forward braking force making the car feel like it was suddenly lurching forward!

Also, there is a fairly steep right turn I often need to take at junction that has poor visibility and is onto a fast road so I want to clear the junction and get up to speed quickly - I find this is a good test of a tyre's grip as it has to contend with sudden high acceleration force and still deliver lateral grip; In my crappy FWD Yaris it's quite a good torture test of a tyre's grip.
The EfficientGrip Performance would almost always wheelspin if I just floored it, losing me forward acceleration and forcing me to back off until I'd straightened the wheel, leaving my rear hanging out longer than I'd like.
The VentusPrime3 has been much better - Several times now I've been through that junction and accelerated at full power into the turn and so far I've never spun the wheels up at all, it just hauled off like I expect them to. Feels much safer and gives me more confidence than the Goodyears did!

They do seem to ride a bit harder than the Goodyears, although this is at the higher PSI I tend to run my tyres at - At stock recommended PSI they absorb speed bump impacts and drains etc. as well as most tyres. The difference in shock absorption between low and high PSI is more noticeable with these than the Goodyears. Might be a factor of sidewall stiffness?

Very happy with them so far - Hankook have made a very good tyre here; My only concern is how long they will last, and how much the performance will degrade over its lifetime - Last time I had tyres with such good initial impressions was with the Continental Premium Contact 5 - I gave them high marks across the board initially, but quickly discovered the horrific wear rate. I think they lasted half as long as tyres normally lasted on that car and that totally negated the relatively low cost (for a Conti!) of it.
(Supposedly they have fixed this in newer version of the CPC5 but the price has gone up by over £30 since then too!)

Hopefully that won't be the case with the Ventus Prime 3 - We shall see when I've put some real miles on them and they've been through all 4 seasons!
10 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2019   
Given 96% while driving a BMW 116i (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 8,500 average miles
Fitted these to my BMW 116i last summer to go with a pair of hardly used but old Kumho Ecsta KU31's that were my previous favourite tyre. Intitially I fitted the Prime 3's up front so as to wear the older tyres first on the rear.
Even with the car kicking the rear out a bit grip and feedback was always superb on the front, once in damp conditions the rear got away and I had to counter steer and brake to avoid hitting the bollard at the exit of the roundabout I was playing on. No problem!!
Grip and aquaplaning resistance was always great in the wet too and even in cold weather when winter came around it was still up there.
Over winter I switched the Prime's to the rear as the Kumho's were getting well loose even with full traction and ESP on with just the standard 115bhp. The front was noticeably less grippy with the Kumho's but still pretty good, the rear however was transformed allowing slightly wreckless driving again as long as the electronics were left on.
This summer I couldn't be arsed to swap the tyres back around, after roughly 8500 miles the Prime 3's are down to 6mm of tread which is not much wear and the engine has had a remap so is slightly more powerful. Kicking the back out is not quite as easy as with the Kumho's on the rear partly because the front will try to understeer a bit now but the car does handle better with the Primes on the rear if you just want to go fast in the corners.
I've just bought a E46 330d coupe for summer so this will be my winter car now, when I need tyres for the 330 I'll be buying more Ventus Prime 3's at least for the front.
3 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2019   
Honda (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
Very good tyre. It's much cheaper than other premium brands but still gives good performance. Very good on dry roads. On wet they can be compared with my previous set of tyres which were Rainsports 3. Hankooks are quiet and have a good wear. I've done 3k miles and they seems to be still like new.
6 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2019   
Given 74% while driving a Volvo 240 estate (195/65 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 3,000 easy going miles
Now that I have done about 3000 miles on the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 (HVP3), it's time to rereview them.

They are currently at the rear of a Volvo 240 Estate, while the ContiPremiumContact 5 (CPC5) are still at the front. In the mean time, the suspension has been upgraded making it a little stiffer and better handling than a factory original car, so now it demands a little more from the tyres in corners.

In my initial review I was positive about dry performance, and that hasn't changed. In corners taken at speed, the HVP3 matches the CPC5. After 3000 miles I can say that the same goes for wet driving. The HVP3 is a good tyre.

The main reason I switched from CPC5 to HVP3 was high wear of the former. In tests the hvp3 performed better. But on my car, the HVP3 has lost enough tread in those 3000 miles that I doubt it's going to have a much longer treadlife than the CPC5.
They lost 0.6 mm at the rear (driven) wheels while the CPC5s lost 0.4 mm at the front.

If wear remains linear throughout the tread life, I'll be looking for replacements in less than 25,000 miles.
I'm still planning on having HVP3s on all four corners to get a better picture, but that will have to wait a while as the CPC5's still have some life left in them.

To be revisited when I do a front/rear swap.
6 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2019