Nexen Winguard Sport

The Nexen Winguard Sport is a Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Nexen WinGuard Sport 2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 65%
Wear 85%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 85%
Snow Grip 90%
Ice Grip 50%

Tyre review data from 21 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 132,205 miles driven.

The Winguard Sport is ranked 38th of 88 Winter Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2015 Winter Tyre Market Overview - 31st of 51 tyres

View Full Test >>

2014 50 Winter Tyre Braking Overview - 20th of 48 tyres

View Full Test >>

2011 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test - 10th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Good price to performance ratio, low rolling resistance
  • Negative - Low traction and long stopping distances in snow, poor handling and long braking on wet roads
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nexen Winguard Sport
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Nexen Winguard Sport. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Winguard Sport Prices

Size Price Range  
205/40 R17 £71.39 - £74.20 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £86.39 - £89.80 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £76.99 - £80.10 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 19 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nexen Winguard Sport Reviews

Given 91% while driving a BMW 535xd (225/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 11,000 average miles
Fited these tires to my friends care a bmw e60 535xd ... no problems till now this is the second winter
296 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2016   
Given 59% while driving a Fiat Stilo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
tramlines and loses traction on degrees 4-13 C. Third winter and its worst than before, little bit of wear.
44 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2016   
Given 64% while driving a BMW 330d M Sport (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Poor grip in wet conditions. On snow tyre respond better. Dry grip average. Quite comfortable ride, not very noisy.
32 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2016   
Have you driven on the Nexen Winguard Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nexen Winguard Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nexen Winguard Sport >

Latest Nexen Winguard Sport Reviews

Tesla (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,500 average miles
very good tire, in normal driving. If you drive hard in winter on cold dry road may be the best option. perfect value for money.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Honda Prelude 2.2vtec (205/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Winter 2017/2018 was my first experience with Nexen and in any case with Korean tires, so despite relatively good reviews there was certain skepticism about performance, especially in view of mixed test results (target was to find tires which are good on snow and ice like Scandinavian type tires, but also good on dry and wet like tires of continental Europe type, and not expensive). Returning home after tires were mounted I was chocked how they were silent - the best ever I have tried. Noise drop was as I would installed a noise insulation. Confort was also on the top, but partly it could be ensured by a little oversizing: 205/60 instead of 205/55.

Winter performance was fully satisfactory. In snow and on ice they were subjectively similar to Bridgestone Blizzak Revo GZ and Michelin X-Ice (I): good grip and braking in snow, but on pure ice they were all relatively weak, especially at temperatures slightly below 0C. All provide better handling than braking, so it's necessary to be careful though as with any tires. On dry and wet pavements Nexen looked far better than both with braking - at emergency braking they didn't slide first meters that was always slightly frightening me. Course-keeping ability on dry pavement may be a little bit worse than that with Michelin (quite similar to Bridgestone), but I could feel it just at speed over 120-130 km/h. Wear after 10K km looks typical. Thus, in overall they are really decent winter tires. Nexen, bravo !

And how to trust all these tire tests ?! Today, in view of my own experience, I may say that there was only one test with Nexen Winguard Sport that looks objective and it was performed in Korea.
16 - tyre reviewed on April 11, 2018   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 100% while driving a Opel astra j 1.6 turbo (225/60 R16) on track for 20,000 average miles
Super tyres for this price. Good quality!
14 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2017   
Ford (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 205 spirited miles
Tiers are ok for the price, well my toughts are you cant get everything without the price...well the tires suits 50E each perfectly. Good grip on weat, 80% would i say from 160 ps mondeo short geard. No noise at all, very little road rezistence, feedback is very nice..what i like about them is low rezistence very nice and smooth accel, sporty feedback
18 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2016   
Given 84% while driving a Ford Fiesta Zetec S (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Bought these tyres as my first set of winter tyres. WOW what a difference winter tyres make in cooler weather; anything below about 8 degrees Celsius these seemed to perform better than all the good big brand summer tyres I have owned in the past. I have been running them since november and it is now march and due to living in Scotland I will leave them on until april.

I was a bit apprehensive about buying the Nexen as they were so cheap however I had read a lot of good reviews and I completely agree. These are fantastic tyres for the money, they offer:
increased dry and wet grip on cooler days, traction on snow and ice (I tested them on a snow covered car park and I had to really work hard to get my car to skid!!!!) so they do work!, unless you have snow tyres with spikes don't expect better grip on ice, they are quiet on all surfaces and provide good progression and great feedback. Will 100% buy again.
27 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2016   
Given 83% while driving a Ford Mustang (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Really good tyres. In wet and dry I deel very confident with my mustang rwd.
Previous tyres were dunlop wintersport 3D and I would certainly go for these Nexens. Very happy user.
13 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2016   
Given 90% while driving a Audi (235/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Used on my Audi A6 after being stuck in the snow everywhere I went one year with Summer tyres. Absolutely fantastic in the snow. Ploughed through deep areas of snow, slush and ice on un-gritted roads without problem. Totally transformed the car in winter weather. Excellent grip in the wet and dry as well. I ended up using the tyres all year round with a 'spirited' driving style. I wouldn't expect them to perform as well as Dunlop/Vredestein on a dry summer's day but they are more than capable as an all-round tyre for typical British weather.
6 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2016   
Given 77% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I use this tires on the front wheels only, on the back I have a pair of Hankook Winter ICept Evo W310 Xl, which I used previous winter on the front.

I'm not sure if my evaluation would be correct, given the fact that I don't have all 4 wheels with the same tires (2&2) but I can certainly compare depending on front wheels grip and I can say that the nexens understirs on semi-dry, on ice are awful, on snow they do fine (got out from pretty hard situations with them) on dry they don't wear that bad grip is semi-good - a lot of tire noise when accelerating.

I think they are ok for a low budget but next time I'll go for a premium brand. Safety has no price.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2016   
Given 56% while driving a Toyota (205/55 R16 V) on track for 14,000 easy going miles
Recommended very good in dry, wet, and silent
1 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2015   
Given 78% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector Sport TiD 150 Saloon (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Good price at £62.00 each, plus fitting. Very good in the wet and current cold, icy morning drives. Can't complain for the money but preferred the previous Kleber Quadraxxer tyres but they are £110.00 each. Overall provides confident driving in normal driving style, but not a sports tyre by any means.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2015   
Given 81% while driving a Ford Fiesta Zetec S (205/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
These tyres were a bargain price, and one of the few available below the £100 mark per tyre for my wheel size. I spent a lot of time researching them as was nervous about buying an important piece of kit for driving on snowy roads at such a lower price point than the rest.

I live in the French ski resort of Courchevel so snowy roads are a regular occurrence.

Overall I have been impressed by the tyres, I have been able to maintain 30 to 40 mph speeds on roads with 2 cm of compacted snow with out any skidding or loss in breaking performance.(tested on an empty straight road) They have held up pretty well in the corners too, although as always with driving on snow everything needs to be planned and done in slow motion.

Would I recommend these tyres? In a word yes they are a good all round compromise. My biggest piece of advice for any one driving in the snow a lot is choose your car well.

The little 1 litre eco boost engine and turbo in my car make it very hard to get any low range torque but as soon as the turbo comes in you do get a lot of wheel spin.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2015   
Given 80% while driving a Audi (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Fitted to my 2012 A3 2.0 tsi s line. Transforms the car into almost 4 x4 capability. Without these tyres the 2 wheel drive A3 is an embarrassment at the slightest sniff of slush or snow. For the money i cannot complement them enough. Fit them in Nov remove them in March for last 3 yeArs with no appreciable wear at 4000 miles
0 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2014