BMW 520d Tourer Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW 520d Tourer.

Do you Drive a BMW 520d Tourer? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 520d Tourer better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Apollo Aspire XP Winter (3) 87% 97% 80% 80% 100% 97%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (398) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (159) 89% 87% 82% 82% 81% 88%
Fulda SportControl 2 (17) 83% 84% 83% 75% 79% 93%
Neuton NT8000 (33) 90% 73% 80% 75% 81% 81%
Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 (21) 85% 83% 72% 76% 85% 83%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (35) 91% 82% 81% 79% 76% 71%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (70) 92% 88% 86% 83% 53% 78%
Goodyear Eagle LS2 (8) 71% 83% 68% 67% 84% 89%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Michelin Primacy HP (197) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (120) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (90) 75% 61% 68% 61% 77% 69%
Sunny SN3800 (63) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28%

BMW 520d Tourer Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 93% (245-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 spirited miles
Very good tire, driven lots on German autobahn. High speed noise neglectable compared to normal highway speed. Handling and feedback excellent. Low noise and high comfort.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-09 23:00:53
Writing about the Apollo Aspire XP Winter given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-27 19:06:20
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle LS2 given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Wanted to find some all season runflats - these were the only ones I could find in my size. Got tired of changing wheels and my 19s on any kind of tyre were annoyingly noisy at motorway speed. These have been very good so far - though mild winters mean they've yet to be tested in snow and ice.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-29 12:57:52
Writing about the Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 given 92% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
These tyres have not scored that good in the tests I have read but I read various recommendations from owners, especially regarding driving dynamics. I was in urgent need for new winter tyres (nail in one of the old) so the recommendations together with a good price made me take a chance. And man I am glad I did! For me these tyres has been great. Not the best grip on hard acceleration or breaking, they are quite soft, but hey - these are winter tyres. We have not had a hard winter this year (I live in Sweden) but during the weeks of snow and ice, the grip has been surprisingly good. Good handling over all and really, really silent. Fantastic in wet, I do many hours on high speed highways every week and have felt really secure even in heavy rain and high speed. So all in all, I can truly recommend these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-26 19:16:26
Writing about the Fulda SportControl 2 given 100% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
a+++
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-20 21:26:31
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 48% (245-40-18-)
Driving on for 0 miles
Just avoid these! Impossible to get in balance. Tyres are not "round". Didn't even know that it would be possible for tyres that are not even the cheapest on the market and has had decent reviews in test. I feel really fooled and am really disapppointed. Save your money and buy something better!
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-01 15:00:39
Writing about the Sunny SN3800 given 26% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
Appalling.The worse tyres I have ever experienced, I would go aso far as to say they were dangerous. The car dances all over the place on the motorway, requires constant directional correction. They drift when crossing the white lines and the traction control cuts in on even moderate bends.
I have had them for 500 miles and they are going in the bin. Shocking.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-04 12:31:26
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 65% (245-40-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 932 average miles
I have used these tires for 1500 km (932 miles?), and I gives it the highest score except in one - Comfort. As more warm the tire becomes, as more noisy it is. Over approx 135 km/h it seems much noisy when the tire-surface become warm. First I thought it were me and my "head" :-) but I talked til Conti, which confirmed what I hear inside the car. I'm not sure I will buy the tire again, but the problem is, that there is nog tire in 2045-40-19 from the Premium Contact 6 which I would have bought. I bought the Sport Contact 6 instead.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-27 13:32:35
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 99% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
It is the perfect tyre for a BMW 5 series. I no longer have wheel spin, control and handling are superb. Much better than the original Continental Premium Contact 2 that are the default tyres for a 5 series. Tyres are relatively quiet and fuel usage has improved. So if you want a sporty tyre but you don't want to sacrifice comfort this is your choice.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-31 15:03:05
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 60% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Bmw 520d I bought the tyres to the back. Never burn the tyres. After 6 months both tyres used to the limit. Paid 300 pounds for it and is gone after 6 months. Creazy. Good tyres but not for long :-(
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-14 17:13:43
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 87% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Replaced run flats on BMW E61520d to reduce wheel noise. These non-runflat tyres are very good, great grip and wear. Just expensive
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-23 06:28:39
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 59% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 spirited miles
BMW 320d Touring 190BHP. 225/45/17 All round great tyre. Most suitable for the the average driver as it looks after you in the wet and dry and is very progressive. If you want to push it, you'll notice the soft sidewalls which are more curved on the outside of the tyre, I presume to counteract sidewall movement on turn in. However they still feel a bit woolly. Tyre wear was a shock 9k on NSR 11k OSR. I assume that its roundabouts and right hand bends on country lanes. That cost the 2k. Wife drives it 50/50 with me. I try look after tyre life and look for maximum cornering speeds. The car averages between us about 42mpg. its been 4 wheel aligned, wears all 4 tyres evenly has polybushes and is lowered slightly. So the wear is surprisingly bad when they are pushed. Maybe i should look for a tyre that is more responsive wears better but isnt progressive and forgiving and doesnt grip as well (longer life)?? For the road...? dont think so. You cant have it all at the same time and these tyres deliver a lot in each area but the cost is tyre life.
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-26 17:56:41
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre