Fulda SportControl 2

Fulda again offers high quality German technology at a wallet-friendly price without compromising on performance. The SportControl 2 aims to provide enhanced performance on wet and dry roads.

This tyre replaced the Fulda SportControl.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 77%
Wear 79%
Comfort 93%
Buy again 80%

Tyre review data from 21 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 164,700 miles driven.

The SportControl 2 is ranked 17th of 139 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Summer Tyre Market Overview - 11th of 44 tyres

View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild Sports Cars UHP Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Safe driving characteristics in the wet and dry, good aquaplaning resistance, short dry braking, low rolling resistance, good comfort.
  • Negative - Long wet braking, limited dry cornering grip.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 22 tyres

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning resistance, short braking distances in the dry and wet, good price to performance ratio.
  • Negative - Very slow steering, average wear.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 8th: 2022 AutoBild Sports Cars UHP Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R18)
  • 10th: 2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 11th: 2022 Summer Tyre Market Overview (215/55 R17)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2020 ACE Mid Range Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 9th: 2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 12th: 2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2019 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 11th: 2019 Auto Bild Sports Car Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 12th: 2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout (225/45 R17)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 9th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Fulda SportControl 2

    Questions and Answers for the Fulda SportControl 2

    2021-06-09 - Dear experts, I discovered that the design of Fulda SportControl 2 tire is exactly identical to Dunlop Sport! Fulda and Dunlop brands belongs to Goodyear corporation but is really strange how it’s possible one design to be used on different brands tires? I understand that they have all copyrights to all their designs brands, but my opinion is that design as a unique signature of any product shouldn’t be copied! Another strange thing is that tire model Fulda SportControl 2 is fully transparently presented on official site with all commercial and technical specifications (pictures, tests reviews, key benefits) with many independent reviews, videos, test…, but model Dunlop Sport can’t be found nowhere on internet neither on Dunlop’s official site! the model appears to be hidden from the public! Do you have explanation? What is your opinion? Thank you

    Which Dunlop Sport tyre do you mean? The latest generation of Dunlop Sports tyres is the SportMaxx RT2, which is a different pattern from the Sportcontrol 2. It is likely the case that the Dunlop moulds have been passed down to Fulda, but the compound is different so it's a different tyre.


    2022-05-15 - hi, are the fulda sport control2 run flats if so which fulda tyres are none run flats Regards Neil.

    We are not aware of any runflat sizes of the Fulda SportControl 2.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    225/40 R18 £76.59 - £118.70 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £66.49 - £162.20 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/45 R17 £75.99 - £119.80 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/40 R18 £112.69 - £150.10 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/45 R18 £125.99 - £171.20 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/35 R18 £112.89 - £161.10 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 39 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Fulda SportControl 2 Reviews

    Given 86% while driving a Ford Mondeo (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Great tyre. Have been use it for 5 days so far. Very comfortable, and no noise at all! Nothing...Handling is astonished! Dry grip is preety good, dont know nothing about wet grip, didnt have a chance to test it yet. First time i bought Fulda in my life and im really satisfied, for now...
    Helpful 241 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2017
    Given 60% while driving a Audi A4 3.0 litre TDI S Line Quattro (235/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    I use these tires for 10000 km now. On dry they have average grip, but if at curve you drive with more speed they lose grip very rapid and the control is hard. Bad tire.
    Helpful 128 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2017
    Given 94% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 easy going miles
    I have no problem recommending these tires compared to my last Bridgestones
    50% quieter than my old tires, steering I found lighter and ride is smooth
    All round a better ride/drive since I put these tires on.
    Helpful 64 - tyre reviewed on April 27, 2018
    Have you driven on the Fulda SportControl 2 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Fulda SportControl 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Fulda SportControl 2 >

    Latest Fulda SportControl 2 Reviews

    Given 77% while driving a Citroën DS4 (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    Honestly bought these tires last year and I must say I am very impressed by the wet handling. Here it rains very often and most of the time there are quite big puddles in the middle of the highway. Not once did I feel any uncertainty in the steering. Overall pretty impressed with the Tyre performance so far. Unfortunately have no overview of the wear yet, but hoping it’ll be above average
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2022
    Given 93% while driving a Mercedes Benz CL500 (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
    I drive different cars every day and am an automotive expert. These tires are very good. I have the opportunity to compare them in the same conditions with other similar ones and I say that the tires are great. They are much more stable after 50% wear compared to many other premium brands.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 80% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (245/45 R18) on mostly town for 22,000 easy going miles
    Great tyre for a midsize or upper class sedan or similar - great grip both in the dry and in the wet, copes well with aquaplaning and is very comfortable. Smooth ride and very quiet and nice handling at the same time. Great balance between grip and comfort. All 4 tyres balanced very well - under 15 grams on any of the wheels. Three drawbacks: 1) New tyre thread was under 7 mm deep - to my mind, very little for a normal road going tyre. 2) Wear. Partly this is due to mentioned above. Tyres lasted for about 35000 kms of normal use. 3) With thread deepness under 5 mm the look of the tyre is very generic - 4 grooves and nothing else. The tyre still performed well. At around 3 mm wet performance decreased significantly.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2022
    Given 91% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 48,000 average miles
    Really good feeling both in wet and dry conditions. Lasted 48000km
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2021
    Given 39% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,500 average miles
    The Tyre feels comfortable at low inner city speeds. That is its only quality. Noise levels are on the high side at speeds above 60kph. Dry grip is average and becomes low as speeds increase. It is outright scary at speeds above 150 kph when even in slight corners the car feels unstable at speed and steering is vague. Even the relative comfort disappears at higher autobahn speeds. This behavior also applies to wet conditions. In comparison, to my previous tires this tyre has disappointed in every aspect. If your car is relatively powerful/heavy and you intend to use it for long stretches on the highway I would avoid it. Its comfort at low speed might be enticing for people who intend this tyre for motoring in cities only.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2021
    Given 80% while driving a Volvo S80 T4 (235/35 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    Bought 2nd hand for my ASA TEC GT4 wheels in 235/35/19. Fitted on my 2001 Volvo S80 2.4T with about 230BHP. They impressed me very much, and to be honest I didn't expect much from the tyre. But they are a good all round tyre and at the same being friendly for the wallet because 19 inch tyres don't come cheap (if you want some quality). I don't ask the maximum from tyres, but they are confidence inspiring (in the wet & dry). Im from the Netherlands, the summers are getting a bit hotter, but there is still a lot of rain throughout the year. I will be replacing them soon as they have about 2mm left, but I enjoyed them a lot.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2021
    Given 93% while driving a Kia Motors XCEED, 1.4 T GDI, MT, 2020 (215/55 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
    I have replaced Michelin energy saver +, with Fulda SportControl 2. Fulda are much better tyres. For me they have a very precise balance of handling, grip and comfort.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2020
    Given 73% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa D (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
    I did a fair bit of research into choosing these tyres. They have performed really well on the road apart from wear. Had them approx 8-9000 miles on the fronts. Down to 3mm already. My daughter does drive it quite quickly, but had over 11000 miles from the Goodyears. I shall replace them toward the end of the year.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2020
    Given 76% while driving a BMW 120d M sport (245/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
    This tyre performs far better than some of the negative reviews suggests. Just don't mistake it for an UHP tyre. It is very comfortable and extremely quiet with large reserves of grip in both wet and dry conditions. Many tyres are relatively quiet on smooth surfaces, but this tyre makes NO noise on good surfaces. Impressive for a 245 section tyre. Rough surfaces will cause noise, but that goes for any tyre. Even so, it is never intrusive. If you are considering a touring tyre, you should shortlist Fulda Sport Control 2. If you have lots of motorway miles, you should put it high on that list. Not least for the smooth ride, low noise level and 4 wide drainage channels that allow it to deal surprisingly well with standing water. Now, if you crave steering feel...you will, like me, be left wanting. There is plenty of grip, it's just not a talkative tyre...like most touring tyres it masks bumps nicely, as it should...but that same characteristic means it also slurs your steering input and masks feedback. I have not spent the low miles I put on this tyre pootling about, I have pushed it to test it thoroughly. There really is plenty of grip, the tyre just doesn't let you know. Frustrating for any petrol-head. Even so, I would strongly recommend it over most other touring tyres. The safety reserve in grip and the low noise levels are above average. The low rolling resistance is welcome bonus.
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on May 3, 2020
    Mercedes Benz (245/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
    I have driven them for 7000km on E55 AMG in Summer mostly fast on dry curvy Autobahn. Very good handling ( Not to light, precise). Very good grip when warmed up. Top comfort and quiet. Wear was normal. Changed them because they become to old for me. In comparison to my new Hankook s1 evo3 they where much better from the comfort. The evo3 is extemely hard even at normal tirepressure and gives to light Steuerung feel. Perhaps i change Back to Fulda.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2020
    Given 93% while driving a BMW 320D (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Excellent tyre with excellent handling and comfort. The quality of these tyres are incredible, and they are made in Germany!!! My last tyres were Bridgestones, and they were rough and loud. I was thinking about Continentals, but they are made in Romania! No thanks!
    Anyways these Fulda Tyres are the best kept secret! They deserve to be in the Premium Section of tyres.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2019
    Given 100% while driving a BMW 520d Tourer (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    a+++
    Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2018