Kenda KOMET PLUS KR23

The Kenda KOMET PLUS KR23 is a Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 73%
Wet Grip 57%
Road Feedback 66%
Handling 61%
Wear 71%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 52%
Snow Grip 43%
Ice Grip 43%

Tyre review data from 22 tyre reviews averaging 61% over 355,810 miles driven.

The KOMET PLUS KR23 is ranked 46th of 55 All Season Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Kenda KOMET PLUS KR23
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Kenda KOMET PLUS KR23
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Kenda KOMET PLUS KR23. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Kenda KOMET PLUS KR23 Reviews

Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
I mostly used on highway and got it over 90,000km and still can use at least another 15,000km before I change to Toyo PROXES CF2. City drive is okay but on highway especially wet road condition can feel it float on water rather than cut through. The tire feel is hard and not comfort.
Overall if you are city drive and not a racer, don't see another wrong with it but if you can spend a bit more for a more comfortable and safety tire. Why not then..
144 - tyre reviewed on June 10, 2016   
Given 74% while driving a Dacia Duster 4x4 (215/65 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
I am a customer from India and recently I changed my tyres to Kenda Radial Komet KR23 on my Duster RXL [215/65/R16].
This is my first review after 1200 KMs drive. The drive includes combined road conditions with highways and village roads.
Dry Grip:- Tires have very high road grip and it impacts fuel efficiency as well. On my previous Apollo Apterra, Vehicle was well enough to give a FE of 20 KMPL on Diesel on highways. But now it doesn't give more than 18KMPL now. But It may change with reduced luggage and improved fuel quality.
Wet Grip:- On rainy days, I was comfortable at speeds 80 KMPH and on braking, vehicle responded very well. But didn't experience any emergency braking so far.
Noise and comfort:- The tires have surprisingly very low noise on any road condition. Provides excellent passenger comfort on potholes and humps. Steering response and cornering [ I never avoid a chance for cornering ] grips are awesome.
From my experience with 5 days driving, I like the tires except on the Fuel Efficiency. I would like to hear on the fuel efficiency, if anybody experienced the same.
My review is based on my experience with Apollo Apterra and I have taken in account the reduced pricing of Kenda Radial Komet KR23. Your vehicle may perform better with other brand tires. Apollo was excellent for road grip, comfort and cornering in the initial days and when it came to end of tire life [40K - 52K], the tires were really bad on passenger comfort,Braking and handling [with tread remaining]
22 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2017   
Given 41% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 2.3 Turbo SE (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
These tyres were fitted to a late model low kilometre SAAB I have just bought second hand. They are ordinary in the dry and terrible in the wet. Buying cheap poor quality tyres is false economy.
13 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2016   
Have you driven on the Kenda KOMET PLUS KR23 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kenda KOMET PLUS KR23? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kenda KOMET PLUS KR23 >

Latest Kenda KOMET PLUS KR23 Reviews

Given 53% while driving a Mitsubishi Mirage Hb Gls 2015 (165/65 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I purchased new tyres, Tuesday mechanic put 4 new tyres on my car, 5 days later driving to Bathurst I only got 26km out of town and left rear tyre went whoosh whoosh, I slowed down slowly from 100km/h and lost control of the car. Managed to pull over and stop. Tyre ripped badly. Was planning on heading to family tomorrow which is 4 hour drive not sure if I will make it before Christmas.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 19, 2020   
Given 54% while driving a Fiat Uno Hatchback (146) (155/70 R13 T) on mostly country roads for 25,000 average miles
Average in dry conditions, screeches in corners even at low speed. Absolutely no grip on wet roads, even applying the brakes slowly makes the front lock, I lost grip while going through a roundabout at 10km/h. If you try to push the car you start losing grip in the corners even in 40°C heat, and I am driving a 800kg 57hp city car, I wouldn't recommend these tires even to my worst enemy, awful experience, I recommend to avoid them for the novice drivers, these will get you in a crash. Only good thing about them is the wear and the price.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 32% while driving a Ford c max (225/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Fitted new in Sept 2019 to a 2009 ford cmax. Im now replacing them next week for a set of Michelin CrossClimate + 205/55R16 91H. Brought these Kenda as an all-weather tyre with apparent mud+snow rating. One line to sum these up: They are dangerous ditch finders. Going around roundabouts in the rain? = Expect to be going sideways with no grip to regain traction... hair-raising! Stopping normally from 40mph+? = Extend your stopping line by about 4/6 meters more to account for poor stopping ability. Good luck to those fitting these.. Shocking to say the least.
3 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2020   
Given 69% while driving a Daihatsu coure (155/70 R12 S) on mostly country roads for 70,000 average miles
i have been using komet plus kr23 Kenda Radial tyres on my Daihatsu Cuore since last 3 years.. i am satisfied with its performance , grip and looks.
the city roads are rough and tough but it stills manages to complete 3 to 3.5 years.
recommended for normal usage.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2019   
Given 51% while driving a Hyundai I10 (165/60 R14 H) on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
Four new tyres were needed at the wrong time, due to premature perishing of Kumho Solus KH17 after two years. Kenda Komets were reluctantly fitted and are abysmal. Grip is OK, but the amount of heat generated after a long run is worrying. Fuel economy has dipped by 4mpg at motorway speeds and, during hard cornering, it feels as though the tyres will come off their rims. This is despite inflating by 3psi over the recommended maximum. The tyres are marked M+S and do seem passable in the winter. The I10 has always performed decently in the snow. I'll switch to a decent brand soon. At 15,000 miles a year, the increase in economy will probably pay a decent chunk of tyres' cost.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2019   
Given 41% while driving a Kia Motors Rio 2 (195/55 R15) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
My mechanic put these on, because I forgot to remind him I prefer a mid range. They are the worst tyres I have ever had. My Kia 1.5 diesel puts down a lot of power in first, and these tyres cannot cope when pulling away unless you are going straight. At roundabouts and t junctions they are prone to spinning even in the dry, and it is impossible to avoid that from happening in the wet. Twice I have almost lost control on a roundabout. luckily at low speed. I would steer clear of these, they are unsafe.
9 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2018   
Given 83% while driving a Mitsubishi magna (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
Whilst I was a copper, I drove different vehicles on different tyres in situations that the average driver would never do (or at least never have a need to do). I began using Kendas on my own medium sized cars (magna, cressida, commodore, falcon) and found them to be much better than most. The grip, wear and ride are much better the avergae 'big brand' tyres. If any tyre is pushed harder than we did, then they shouldn't be driving. I don't know how well Kendas stand up on large cars (fairlane etc) as I never got a chance to fit some before trading my NC in. On both highway and city driving I like them. On the 'down' side, like Yokohamas they do wear a little quicker than most of the harder compound tyres but provide better grip and comfort. With any tyre, regular pressure checking will improve the performance and life of the tyre.
6 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2016   
Given 52% while driving a Kia Motors (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
The tires were problematics as construction. Intense problem of vibration. Poor was the improvement after several balancing, rolling etc. Furthermore it was impossible the speed over 140 km/h due to intense noise and vibration. Αll the 4 tires had internal damage. Τhe sales company did not accept refund. On the advice of my service partner, the tires replaced with premium brand tyres. I learned my lesson! Economy brand and budget brand tyres...never again!
11 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2015   
Given 73% while driving a Toyota Corolla Axio 1.5G (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
Low Budget Tyres but still great value for money. Grips well and provides good stability. Had used dunlop and lasted only 25,000 Km. Had used Michelin, lasted an impeccable 80,000Km. This Kenda also proves very durable.
9 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2015   
Given 43% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto 1.4 8v (175/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
I bought 2 of these tyres about 18 months ago because they were much cheaper than the oem Michelin's for my Fiat Grande Punto. They were fitted to the front of the car. My expectation of these tyres was not great given the price however, I was still very disappointed with them. In the dry they were OK although inferior to the original Michelin's, goodness me they were so noisy! In the wet I had to be very careful indeed as they made the handling of the car so unpredictable. Pulling away uphill in the wet with a fully laden car had to be done very carefully to avoid wheel spin, I could never pull away quickly on wet roads att all and I only have 80bhp! The level of grip under acceleration and during braking in wet conditions was terrible. Also when when corning on tight roundabouts in the wet my car tended under steer very easily indeed. I could not recommend this tyre for a Punto I would even go so far as to say that they were unsafe in wet conditions. I have taken them off the car now and fitted a premium tyre as I just didn't feel safe driving my Fiat in the wet.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2015   
Given 71% while driving a Honda Fit (Jazz) (195/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
Simply an avergae tyre, just for city and ocassional drive on highway. Good treadwear, average grip on wet and dry. They are noisy, a cheap option. Not a bad tyre, just an average one. Good tyre for city driving.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2014   
Given 56% while driving a Hyundai I10 (165/60 R14) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Seem to get very warm, very quickly on the motorway at average speeds. Also finding that they flex quite considerably when warm so pressure needs to be checked regularly. Bought in an emergency and considering changing.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2014