Achilles Desert Hawk XM/T

Dry Grip 73%
Wet Grip 45%
Road Feedback 59%
Handling 59%
Wear 59%
Comfort 66%
Buy again 59%
Ice Grip 80%

The Achilles Desert Hawk XMT is a All Terrain and Off Road All Season tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4

Show All

Tyre review data from 12 tyre reviews averaging 62% over 137,920 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2016 All Terrain and Off Road MT Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Although Achilles - a budget brand, the ability of these tyres on the roads is impressive, especially considering the price. Achilles is not very stable behavior on the roads, but firm sidewall eventually allowed them to enter the top three.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Achilles Desert Hawk XMT

Questions and Answers for the Achilles Desert Hawk XMT

2017-09-01 - What pressure do these run at? (265-75-R16) 10 ply laid E

The tyre pressure for the Achilles Desert Hawk XMT is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Achilles Desert Hawk XMT Reviews

Given 29% while driving a Nissan (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Brought a set of 20" Achilles xmt mud tyres they were down right dangerous on the road in the wet.The car would fish tail if I turned the steering wheel side to side

254 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2015   
Given 96% while driving a Ford F 150 (235/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
I've had these on my truck now for a year. They are great tyres! Very good traction in the mud, self cleaning works well. They ride smooth with little noise, good handling on wet or dry pavement. Show little signs of wear. I would purchase them again.
35 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2017   
Given 100% while driving a Toyota FJ Cruiser (305/70 R17) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
If you need a tire to take you anywhere your vehicle is capable of going, this is the tire that will get you there. I've driven thousands of miles on the open road across terrain from rough pot-holed city streets to mud, sand, gravel, snow and 12000 feet above sea level crossing the Rocky Mountains and exploring desolate regions of Southern Utah in winter, at times making my own road. I would have have trusted my life to these tires when help would either have taken days to reach me or not at all. I rarely run a set of mud terrain type tires more than a couple of years (averaging 15,000 miles/year) and when it's time for my next set I will be reordering these. I only wish the raised black letter outlines came in white so I wouldn't have to paint them myself.
27 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2016   
Have you driven on the Achilles Desert Hawk XMT tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Achilles Desert Hawk XMT? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Achilles Desert Hawk XMT >

Latest Achilles Desert Hawk XMT Reviews

Given 21% while driving a Holden Colorado Utility (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 17,400 average miles
Had these for 28,000km and I can only say they are offroad ONLY. On the blacktop they are very noisy and the grip is poor at best. After 28kkm they are at about 30% tread so that means only around 40kkm total life. They get noisier as they wear. Offroad they are good. Sand, mud & rock seem to be quite ok.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Isuzu (265/50 R20 Q) on mostly motorways for 500 spirited miles
I have just recently purchased an Isuzu D-Max 4 x 4 with these Dessert Hawks fitted, driving in the rain I had to make a sudden maneuver to avoid a collision and the entire back of the ute fish tailed, immediately I decided to replace them for road tyres. New Zealand is always wet
6 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2019   
Given 81% while driving a Toyota hilux (265/75 R15) on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
I’ve been running a set of these in 31/10.5/R15 for the last year and the only complaint I have is they are shocking on wet bitumen like the slightest turn of the wheel and you are sliding about. In saying themat tho after about 30 minutes of driving the tyres handle slightly better in the rain. I’ve been through bug holes without a problem. I’ve snatched mates up hills you can’t walk up on foot. The amount of grip these tyres have is unbelievable, you add that with the self cleaning and they are unstoppable. I’ll defin buy them again. I’ve done 25,000 ks on them and still have around 50% tired left on them. I would have more but let’s just say they wear a lot when spinning the wheels on bitumen.
4 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2018   
Given 33% while driving a Nissan Navara 3.0L V6 (265/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I had a set of xmts on my stx450 navara and they were deadly with he slightest hint of rain on the road, they lasted me 20,000km before they came off my Ute because they were getting worse and worse and knobs had started coming off after 15,000km
I puke never buy these again and I urge people for their own safety to steer clear
18 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2018   
Given 30% while driving a Toyota hilux (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
These tires literally fall apart when put into any situation that you would need mud tires. Fast gravel grip is ok.
25 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2018   
Given 96% while driving a Ford F 150 (235/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
I've had these on my truck now for a year. They are great tyres! Very good traction in the mud, self cleaning works well. They ride smooth with little noise, good handling on wet or dry pavement. Show little signs of wear. I would purchase them again.
35 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2017   
Given 100% while driving a Toyota FJ Cruiser (305/70 R17) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
If you need a tire to take you anywhere your vehicle is capable of going, this is the tire that will get you there. I've driven thousands of miles on the open road across terrain from rough pot-holed city streets to mud, sand, gravel, snow and 12000 feet above sea level crossing the Rocky Mountains and exploring desolate regions of Southern Utah in winter, at times making my own road. I would have have trusted my life to these tires when help would either have taken days to reach me or not at all. I rarely run a set of mud terrain type tires more than a couple of years (averaging 15,000 miles/year) and when it's time for my next set I will be reordering these. I only wish the raised black letter outlines came in white so I wouldn't have to paint them myself.
27 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2016   
Given 61% while driving a Jeep Wrangler 4.0 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Tires are a good value for the money. I have about 4000 miles on them, no sign of wear yet. Tires size 31-10.50 r 15, are on 97 Jeep Wrangler, no lift, fairly stock setup, 4cylinder 5 gear. For an aggressive mud tire, they are surprisingly quiet on highway, with reasonable handling manners at 50- 60 mph. As good as any Goodyears or BFGoodrich I've had in past.
Good grip in dirt / gravel, seem to clear ok in moderate mud. Looking forward to seeing how they run in snow soon; I live in northern New England.
20 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2016   
Given 81% while driving a Ford Ranger (265/70 R15) on mostly country roads for 45,000 average miles
I had these tyres on my fully loaded work vehicle. I do a lot of miles on the highway and when I get to the work site I do a lot of driving off road, mostly in mud.

These tyres handled very well in all conditions. Grip is fine in the dry, never had any problems.

Tyres were excellent on wet roads and really seem to disperse water - you can see jets of water being thrown out the side as it drives along. Never had any problems with traction in the wet.

They work very well off road. Driven slowly in mud they manage to grip the surface without breaking it. So forward traction is maintained and the wheels did not bog in or sink. When full of mud they cleaned themselves very quickly.

They are noisy on the highway.

I frequently drive over stakes and nails on work sites but had no problems with punctures.

The thing I liked most was the fantastic life of the tyres. I got over 45,000 miles (70,000km) out of them in some very hard conditions. When I replaced them they still had some good useable tread left.

Yes - I replaced them with another new set of Achilles X-MT. I have had a few brands and these have been the best so far. I even managed to sell my old set for a decent amount of money because they still weren't worn out!
11 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2016   

See all 11 customer reviews of the Achilles Desert Hawk XMT (newest first) >>