Jeep XJ Cherokee Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Jeep XJ Cherokee.

Do you Drive a Jeep XJ Cherokee? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a XJ Cherokee better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Maxxis Buckshot MT754 (2) 95% 95% 90% 90% 95% 100%
Kumho Road Venture MT KL71 (7) 86% 84% 82% 59% 93% 77%
Continental ContiCrossContact Winter (4) 83% 80% 75% 78% 65% 73%
Toyo Open Country All Terrain (12) 82% 80% 76% 79% 81% 80%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (48) 78% 63% 74% 72% 75% 70%
Habilead Practicalmax AT RS23 (2) 70% 60% 50% 70% 70% 85%

Jeep XJ Cherokee Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Habilead Practicalmax AT RS23 given 63% (215-75-15-S)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 miles
le point faible de ces pneumatiques est la stabilité en courbe : il dérive énormément en entrée de virage comme si le train arrière avait du jeux puis il se cale et la voiture fini par tourner ! il motrice très bien, mème sur la terre. il n'y a pas de différence de comportement entre le sec et le mouillé : il dérive beaucoup mais ne décroche pas complètement. je ne l'ai pas testé sur la neige et la glace . je pense que c'est un pneumatique qui est bon en conditions difficiles et piégeuses mais qui manque de rigueur à haute vitesse . the weak point of these tires is the stability in curves: it drifts a lot when entering a bend as if the rear axle had play then it stalls and the car ends up turning! he drives very well, even on land. there is no difference in behavior between dry and wet: it drifts a lot but does not stall completely. I have not tested it on snow and ice. I think it's a tire that is good in difficult and tricky conditions but lacks rigor at high speed.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-15 10:23:41
Writing about the Maxxis Buckshot MT754 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 26000 average miles
I ve had MTs/ATs for decades and many makes both cheap and big brands. These are the best mts I've ever had. They have good road manners and the sloppy mud performance is excellent.I sold the car with 26000 on the BMs and I guess they would have done another 5000+. Its a pity they upped the price and worst they don't seem to be available anymore in the uk.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-11 20:10:06
Writing about the Toyo Open Country All Terrain given 90% (225-75-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres about two years ago after reading so many good reviews about them and I haven't been disappointed. I found them to be unstoppable in the snow, allowing me to easily pull stuck cars up hills in my old Jeep Cherokee which was also full of passengers. They are comfortable and quiet in normal road and motorway conditions. The Jeep is quite powerful with no traction control so can be a handful on corners in 2 wheel drive, but I've never felt out of control with the Toyos fitted.
They cover both bases a lot better than you would expect I think they are great value.
After 15000 miles, mine have a long life ahead of them yet and I would definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-10 21:35:49
Writing about the Continental ContiCrossContact Winter given 31% (225-70-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 152 easy going miles
The WORST TIRES I EVER BOUGHT IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!
Expensive and promising a lot, in fact they:
Increased the consummation in 15%.
Quite dangerous with aquaplaning.
A total disaster in mud, they force me to use 4x4 Low in a way where I passed at 4x2 with the old Michelin.
They are ready to change after 30.000 Km.
From BMW, Peugeot, Citroen, Alfa Romeo, Land Rover, UMM, Sport Classic Cars and many others I have always chose between Michelin, Bridgestone and BFGoodrich.
Never doing less than 60 to 70.000 Kms with each set.
(exception for Porsche and Spider naturally "eating" the back wheels)
The Cherokee came with Wrangler. I changed them after 500 Km. Another set of "pieces of rubber" sliding in wet road and a joke in Off-Road.
Now I am thinking about the General Grabber AT (not the older AT2, not bad at all), after drive a Gran Cherokee 4.0 equipped with the Grabber AT2.
Hesitating between these and Michelin or Bridgestone (always a wise Choice).
After 30 years driving and more than 5 million kilometers in all kind of conditions from Africa to Norway and many years between Portugal and Spain, I still feel stupid for spent a fortune in these Continental german tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-27 23:27:20
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 100% (235-70-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 easy going miles
Sorry, but these are great tyres. Specifically produced for Landrover Evoque. The comments above are not worthy as this guy has clearly commented on a different pattern! The verde is not yet available in 235/70R16.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-06 07:55:31
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 54% (235-70-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 easy going miles
My Jeep came with Goodyear Wrangler tyres, but when they needed replacing, I couldn't source them locally. I was advised that Pirelli Scorpions were as good. They're not. On-road grip is generally poor even in the dry. In the wet especially on roundabouts, they're positively dangerous; even with very cautious driving, I've 'lost' the rear-end countless times. I wouldn't buy them again under any circumstances.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-05 13:25:32
Writing about the Kumho Road Venture MT KL71 given 73% (--15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3 average miles
Surprisingly good on-road grip for a mud tyre, both wet and dry. Not massively noisy either, though obviously not as quiet as an AT or road tyre would be. Also seem to wear pretty well.

Obviously the above is not their main purpose and they are pretty effective off-road in sand, gravel and mud.

I drove these on a TJ Wrangler for a while and didn't hesitate to order a set for my XJ when I wanted mud tyres for it (30 x 9.5 x 15 fitment)
tyre reviewed on 2010-01-05 22:22:49
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre