General GRABBER A/T2

The General GRABBER AT2 is a All Terrain and Off Road All Season tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre review data from 8 tyre reviews averaging 65% over 594,050 miles driven.

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 50%
Road Feedback 54%
Handling 66%
Wear 86%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 58%
Snow Grip 70%
Ice Grip 50%

First On MarketMay 2017
Wheel Size16 - 16"
Width265 - 285mm
Profile75 - 75
Rolling ResistanceD - D
Wet GripB - B
Noise (dB)75 - 75
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The GRABBER A/T2 is ranked 53rd of 67 All Season All Terrain and Off Road tyres.

This tyre replaced the General Grabber AT and this tyre has been replaced by the General Grabber AT3.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the General GRABBER AT2

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
LT 265/75 R 16 121/118 RDB75
LT 285/75 R 16 121/118 RDB75
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the General GRABBER AT2 >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the General GRABBER AT2. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 General GRABBER AT2 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Nissan Terrano II (255/70 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
These AT2s were already on the car when I bought it and I don't know how old they are. I've done over 42 thousand miles / 68 thousand km since then. The fronts are down to the limit now but the rears aren't there yet. No punctures or obvious damage either, and I've hit a couple or potholes hard enough to move the steering wheel off-centre. My driving is a mix of urban and main roads, unsurfaced tracks / site work, long motorway journeys and sometimes towing a 2½ ton load. I couldn't be more pleased with the wear and robustness off them, and the noise and dry grip are fine. They're not so good on a wet road and they can catch you out if you're not paying attention, but once you've got used to them it's not a problem as long as you keep your brain in gear. I'd buy them again if they still made them, so I'm about to get a set of AT3s instead.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Ford F 150 (/70 R18) on mostly country roads for 50 spirited miles
I have bought 3 sets of General's Grabber AT2 -and have been extremely satisfied with every purchase. I've had them on 2 F-150 4×4 trucks and a full size Bronco and they've never let me down. Coming from owning BFG TA all-terrain tires in the past, the AT2/ATX is every bit as good, but last longer and cost much less and are still made in the USA! Excellent dry and wet traction give you supreme confidence in driving in good and adverse weather conditions. But Snow and even ice traction is where I really noticed how wonderful they really are for not being a dedicated winter tire! I almost never put my Bronco in 4wd; in fact, my uncle didn't believe me and I tossed him the keys and he took it to check on the gas wells during a very cold and snowy day going into the back country of Western Pennsylvania on gas line trails that were up to 2' snow drifts -and he made it all in hilly terrain without using 4wd!! He was amazed because he used a Jeep Grand Cherokee normally and always had to put it in 4wd to get to the well heads. Now, my Bronco did have a locking rear differentiate, but still most impressive. He said he would've never believed it until he saw it for himself! I won't own anything else but these Generals when a vehicle calls for all terrain tires.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2022
Given 51% while driving a Fiat Ducato (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
Due to the very bad wet grip I won't buy this tire again
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2022
Have you driven on the General GRABBER AT2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the General GRABBER AT2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your General GRABBER AT2 >

Latest General GRABBER AT2 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Land Rover Defender (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
Had these tyres on my Land Rover Defender* from new, never had any issues, have driven all over Europe and Morocco in them My current set have been on 10 (yes 10) years and have loads of life yet to give, some discoloration when driven in the summer and now have a tendency to harden when not used for a few weeks, this deformation softens up within 1-2 miles of road driving, I have found these tyres to be very acceptable and will be getting another set when possible, **it should be noted I've had these on all Landrovers with a 16inch rim,
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2021
Given 64% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
Both of these tyres have lasted a good 40k+ miles so far, but they both went out of shape ages ago. I now have to change them with 5.5mm of tread left.
They are very noisy because of the shape, but were fairly quiet when new.
I won't buy again as I don't trust them to not go out of shape again, and I've been told that you won't get a refund/replacement as the manufacturer will argue the toss or delay responding until you give up!
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2019
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 87% while driving a Hyundai Terracan (255/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 420,000 average miles
Travelled 66000k's, pulled a van for 30000k's, roughly 85% highway and the balance dirt.They still have a few thousand k's left. Reasonably quiet and comfortable ride with good braking in all conditions. Will definately replace with same brand because of good preformance and reasonably god price.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2018
Given 50% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I have these tyres fitted to a Nissan Qashqai 4x4. They are used all year round for a combination of country and city driving.

In the dry they feel better than the Continentals which were originally fitted to the car, though they have a definite best working temperature range of around 5 - 15 degrees C. Above 15 degrees they begin to feel very soft and overheat which can be seen from the discoloration in the sidewalls.

In the wet, these things are just dangerous.....they provide next to no wet grip, leaving the vehicle under-steering even at reduced speeds. Disappointing as i previously had a set fitted to a VW Touareg which were brilliant, perhaps the smaller tyre size does not suit them.

Mud/Snow - again disappointing, still great offroad and in muddy fields though not as infallible as they felt on the Touareg. In the snow, they offer good grip for driving forward. You wont get stuck, but you also wont get round a corner...

They now have around 15000 miles on them from a combination of summer and winter driving and show very little sign of tread wear which is a plus.

I wont be buying again.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2017
Given 43% while driving a Land Rover Defender (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 49,000 average miles
A long wearing tyre is the best i could say about this otherwise poor grip in the dry and hardly any grip in the wet tyre. In snow or worse still on hard packed snow or ice theses tyres have almost no grip. They are also at 235/85/16 very bouncy, give no feedback, handle badly as the dampers cant control these large profile tyres on poor road surfaces, even pot holes on a bend. I would avoid any General Grabber tyres now and go for the tyre that has the best performance for its size going by the tyre label (Europe). Forums with various opinions are useless as they are not usually based on any scientific or tested results but just opinions by drivers.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2016