General Grabber UHP

The General Grabber UHP is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 76%
Wear 86%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 85%

Tyre review data from 19 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 607,810 miles driven.

The Grabber UHP is ranked 17th of 187 Summer High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the General Grabber UHP
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the General Grabber UHP
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the General Grabber UHP . Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Grabber UHP Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 General Grabber UHP Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Defender (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
Driving Land Rover Defender. 26,000 mile Towing 2 ton trailer and 34,000 mile on M roads, A & b roads total of 60,000 miles,renewing in another 2k mile rear tyres would get about 5k more but will replace the 4.Will I be replacing with General Grabbers you bet, It's a no brainer!
23 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2013   
Given 83% while driving a Nissan Navara 2.5tdi (255/60 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Brilliant tyre. I have a Navara truck which I have owned for 10 years. I am now on my 3rd set of these. As an all-round tyre they are great. I am not a green-laner, but when I do go off road these tyres grip well. In the snow (very deep snow a few years ago) they perform well. No need for a summer/winter set or an on-road/off-road set. These will do just fine. They last well too.
7 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2016   
Given 99% while driving a Suzuki Jimny (205/70 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
Suit the Jimny very well. Found to be nice and quiet, much better than the previous bridgestones. Good in the dry & wet, coped well in the snow and slush, seems to have improved the fuel use & wear has been excellent, still look good. When the fronts are due will use again.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2013   
Have you driven on the General Grabber UHP tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the General Grabber UHP ? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your General Grabber UHP >

Latest General Grabber UHP Reviews

Given 59% while driving a Volkswagen Touareg (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 25,000 spirited miles
The Grabber UHP has been replaced by the Grabber GT.
The UHP was very good in its day [it is now an old tyre] both on and off road with a minimum of 5mm of tread.
Then it gets noisy.
There are much better tyres out there now {October 2013] such as the Michelin Latitude Cross - a far superior, proper, 4x4 tyre that is quieter, more comfortable, grips better in all conditions on and off road, and, on wear to date, will do 40K compared to the 25K of the UHP.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2013   
Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Bought these to replace the stock "Goodyear Wrangler HP Allweathers". Those tyres weren't bad getting me through a very bad winter 2009/1010 but I decided to buy the grabbers after reading online reviews.

Subjectively the Grabbers seem to offer a little more feedback at the wheel,though they have a softer ride (maybe softer sidewalls).
In the dry the Grabbers were definitely superior with more feel as well as seemingly shorter braking distances, thus lending themselves to more spirited driving.
In the wet there hasn't even been a shimmy from the car. Which was supremely confidence inspiring.

Unfortunately apart from some frost/ice (which they performed admirably) I haven't had the snow to test the Generals and give a proper opinion. Which I guess makes it perfect for Ireland which snow/proper winters seems fairly rare.

Given the fact that they were cheaper than the original equipment Wrangler HP and have proven to be subjectively better with reasonable wear whe the time comes I'll buy another set of four.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2012   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 94% while driving a Suzuki Jimny (205/70 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Improved fuel efficiency over the previous Brigdestone's.
Dosn't tramline, nice and quiet on motoways and dual carriage ways genuinely feels solid on the wettest of roads, spirited driving on b roads provides a solid reassurance.
After 6 months still look like new.
Looking to fit to wife's Suzuki when tyre's are required.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2012   
Given 90% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (235/60 R18 V) on mostly town for 28,000 average miles
I am on my second set (replacing all 4 each time) and highly recommend these. On a Hyundai Sante Fe 2.2 Diesel, I am getting about 28k miles on non motorway driving. Dry grip is amazing and pretty good in the wet. Had no problems in the snow either.
OEM factory tyres were Hankooks (cant remember the model), these had poor mileage and only got 17K when all were needing replacing, so with the General Grabbers I have been very please with the wear rate and excellent performance. Have recommended these to other SUV owners. Got a non repairable puncture on O/S rear (large screw on tyre edge) and so decided to replace all 4 tyres with 2.3mm tread still remaining.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2012   
Given 90% while driving a Kia Motors Sportage (225/40 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I got a full set of these for the Kia after wearing through a budget brand pretty swiftly, as, despite the car, and it's poxy 135 bhp, I do like a spirited drive. Price wise, I paid around the lower range of mid range, one of the cheaper proper branded tyre anyway.
The grip compared to the budget tyre is just phenomenal. With the increase in grip, there is far less wheel spin from the inner wheel on acceleration out of corners, and as such, much less wear. I was very happy with my purchase, and then came the rain.....
What a revelation. In the past, corners in the wet had to be treated like you were carrying Faberge Eggs in the back, not now, gives far more confidence and road holding into the curves.
Wear after 10k miles is pretty good, rears (front wheel drive only most of the time, but occasional 4X4) are still pretty much perfect, and fronts are lasting well too.
Would certainly buy again, and am going to get a set for my other cars too!
0 - tyre reviewed on June 16, 2012   
Given 91% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 10 easy going miles
Bought a set of these tyres to replace the original "summer" tyres fitted to my wife's Freelander. They offer far better performance on mud or snow than the original tyres with no obvious penalty in either fuel consumption or road noise. A set of 4 cost £150 less than the originals would have done and after a year's use, I would guess they will last at least the 27,000 miles the original tyres lasted. Highly recommended.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2012   
Given 73% while driving a Land Rover Defender (235/85 R16 Q) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
General Grabber TR OK on the road and on tracks / grass. Not so good in mud especially when compared with the competition AT tyres from BF or Conti.

THey were OE on my Land Rover Defender - but the difference off road partiularly in mud and snow of the Conti AT tyre is amazing.

Land Rover now fit Conti Cross Contacts as OE - not surprising
0 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2011   
Given 93% while driving a Porsche Caayenne 3.2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Had these on my Porsche Cayenne 3.2 just thought I would try them out on the basis that if they lasted half the time of the previous Bridgetones I would still be in pocket as they were near on half the cost, plus in then buying another set I wouldn't be running on half worn bridgestones.

To great joy the tyres I found, although to be a little softer in the side walls, superb. The grip in all weathers was brilliant and certainly excelled in the snow and mud.I even went out in the snow to deliberately get stuck, no joy there it just ploughed through (by complete contrast to the previous year).

Overall the tyres were up to 18K miles with plenty of tread left certainy enough to deal with this coming winter, my previous Bridgestones lasted 12K and needed replacing.

For my application & needs a great tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2011   
Given 74% while driving a Volvo XC90 D5 (163bhp) (235/60 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Just had to replace the rears after 25,000 miles, the fronts have perhaps another 5,000 remaining. I also have noticed that with about 2 - 2.5mm of tread left the tread blocks appear to be degrading severely at the edges.

Decent grip in both dry & wet, ok in snow but not great, nothing special in slippery conditions.

Moving on to a set of Vredestein Quatrac 3 SUV
0 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2011   
Given 87% while driving a Toyota Hilux mk6 3.0 (265/70 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I researched summer tyres for the pick up for some time, priority being wet grip. Surpisingly good, wet grip excellent, seem to be wearing very slowly but the icing on the cake is the ride quality and silence. The truck could be a rough ride and noisy, no more.
So far no downsides, i use winters anyway so won;t find out if they are any good.
Recommended.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2010   
Given 86% while driving a Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP (235/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
They are finally down to the wear indicators after 19,000 miles on the front of my XC90, and I have been happy with wear, noise, grip, etc.
However, being less than 2 years old I am concerned at the rubber tread blocks perishing - you can get the end of a finger nail under the corner of some blocks.
My tyre dealer has said there's not much he can do as they are so worn (although I'm not trying to claim for a new set given the use they have had).
Just wondered if anyone else had reported such perishing or if you had encountered it?
Car has not been raced or rallied, off roaded significantly, no excessive cornering/maneuvering, etc.
Tyres fitted March 1999, manufacture date is August 2008
Thanks
0 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2010   
Given 80% while driving a Land Rover Defender (235/85 R16) on mostly country roads for 25,000 spirited miles
I drive a Land Rover Defender. Prior to getting my most recent I always though the General Grabber TR looked good but would be a joke offroad.

When I bought my last rover it had them on and I instantly changed my mind. They do look good but they are fantastic road tyres, they transform this chunky clunky vehicle into a nice motorway car, noise is lower than any defender tyre, but the really surprising thing is these things are really good offroad.

They can handle any gradient of rock or gravel (an have had them on the gradient limit on wet rock, just as well if not better than the BF Goodrich Mud Terrain / and better than the Goodrich All Terrain TA), but forget it in mud - they are not a mud tyre. I've not had them in snow yet, but all ive heard from people I know running them.

Beacuse I have the cash im going to buy some beefy winter tyres for the hell of it, but if you drive a Defender, you should be running with the Grabber TR tyre in the summer it is great and a full 5 mpg better than a mud tyre on the road - that is important in a Landrover!

If you are a farmer or one of those idiots who drive in mud pits for the sake of it, get something else.

Oh yeah and the wear is phenomenal. Mine are half worn at 25,000 miles. My dad took a set off a rover which did 60/40 Road/offroad which had done 55,000 miles!!! Amazing, but be warned, at this limit, although the tread is still good i've seen the wires coming through the inner walls - check them!

Will buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2010