Suzuki Jimny Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Suzuki Jimny.

Do you Drive a Suzuki Jimny? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Jimny better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Cooper Discoverer M S2 (2) 95% 95% 90% 95% 70% 80%
Goodyear Wrangler AT SA Plus (6) 95% 87% 85% 83% 80% 93%
Event ML698 (9) 91% 90% 90% 89% 94% 80%
Hankook DynaPro ATM RF10 (12) 94% 87% 80% 78% 93% 91%
Avon Ranger (14) 88% 89% 85% 77% 94% 79%
Yokohama G012 AT (4) 88% 85% 83% 83% 93% 68%
Cooper Discoverer AT3 4S (5) 86% 86% 70% 80% 90% 84%
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85%
Barum Polaris3 4x4 (2) 80% 85% 75% 80% 90% 85%
General Grabber GT (17) 89% 81% 79% 75% 88% 81%
Michelin Latitude Cross (50) 85% 84% 78% 76% 90% 80%
Bridgestone Dueler AT 001 (7) 80% 81% 77% 77% 80% 74%
Petlas Explero W671 (4) 80% 73% 78% 80% 80% 75%
Marshal Road Venture AT KL78 (2) 80% 70% 75% 70% 80% 85%
Kumho Road Venture AT 825 (2) 85% 75% 60% 65% 85% 80%
Yokohama Geolandar SUV (5) 83% 83% 80% 83% 77% 67%
Goodyear Wrangler AT SA (13) 88% 81% 90% 83% 86% 90%
Westlake SL369 (1) 80% 70% 70% 70% 70% 80%
BFGoodrich AT KO2 (5) 80% 64% 60% 34% 72% 72%
Insa Turbo Special Track (4) 63% 53% 73% 55% 70% 45%
Nexen Roadian AT 4x4 (1) 30% 30% 30% 30% 90% 10%

Suzuki Jimny Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Dueler AT 001 given 17% (215-75-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Fitted these tyres on a new Suzuki Jimmy as I needed an all terrain an all season tyre due to living in the hills in the countryside. Initial observation was that the sidewalls have no strength and although the Jimmy is a very light vehicle the tyres had to be overinflated by 3 to 4 psi to stop the vehicle from bouncing. Once the tyres were inflated more the vehicle handling was back to normal but this has a detrimental affect on grip and presumably wear too as this also does not appear particularly good with tyres down 4mm in 10k miles. I could not recommend these tyres, they seem to be significantly flawed.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-22 17:43:30
Writing about the Nexen Roadian AT 4x4 given 33% (215-70-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Worst tyres i have put on a 4wd ever (2010 suzuki jimny with 7 inch steels wheels), had approx 20+ other sets of various brands, mostly coopers(great but none in my size) . Almost no wet road grip, poor dry road, hard as nails and feel like made with concrete sidewalls and tread. Done 3000kms, and showing almost zero wear, most factory moulding dimples have still not worn off, front or rear. Even have them now down to 20psi in steps from original 32, trying to improve ride, with no luck. Even tried rebalanced as well, but did not require any changes to weights. Also seem to get badly out of balance sitting on my rock drive in frosts, and only return to usual less horrible ride after they have warmed up for 20+kms. And never try corning hard on wet roads, or you will very quickly find how little grip they have, nasty nasty junk. Replacing with toyo open country AT ii next week.
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-27 09:28:13
Writing about the BFGoodrich AT KO2 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 easy going miles
Am a little shocked no-one has reviewed these yet on a Jimny. These tyres came with approx 5000kms use on my 2nd hand JB74W - since done nearly 15000 kms on them - first impressions was how good their road holding & quietness was (in comparison to my Sami with Rhoden LT tyres which have a far more aggressive tread). Have played in mud, rocks & sand - running them at 32psi - & have only once felt the need to air down when the sand got me bogged on a big sand hill without my portable air compressor. I claim little knowledge re tyres but these ones have made 4wding soooooo much more enjoyable & im looking forward to challenging them more as my confidence grows
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-03 09:59:50
Writing about the Insa Turbo Special Track given 52% (205-70-15-)
Driving on track for 10000 average miles
It's important to remember why these tyres have been purchased, they excel off road on muddy terrain. They have been fitted to our Suzuki Jimny for 4 years covering 10'000 miles in that time. As yo would expect they are nosy on road and don't perform very well but they are not meant to be good on asphalt. They are however very good off road, not bad in the snow once it has compacted a little but not good in fresh power or once fully compacted. In summery they are good at what they are designed to do.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-23 18:24:01
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer AT3 4S given 93% (225-70-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Mounted these on my All New (2020) Jimny and it exceeded my expectations! Grip is excellent both in dry and wet conditions. Road noise is almost non existent (same if not better than the stock Dunlop Grantrek AT20) and there seems to be no negative impact on my fuel economy despite being wider and bigger (although I am a light footed driver). I get better handling on this especially when cornering primarily because it is much wider than the stock 195/80/r15 Dunlop's. I will surely buy these tires again in the future! I only clocked in about 2000 kms on this so it is still not showing any visible signs of wear.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-08 10:11:33
Writing about the Westlake SL369 given 73% (205-70-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6 average miles
This is my second set, fitted on on two cars - a Suzuki Jimny and an SX4. Here in Australia they are known as Goodride SL369. On the Jimny they replaced a set of supercheap oversize '4WD' tyres and the improvement in handling, ride and noise was marked. On the SX4 they replaced a set of quality Continental road-biased tyres that were wearing out and had a blow-out that ruined the tyre on the very stony 'Road to Nowhere' on Tasmania's West Coast. Compared to the Continental tyres, they are a bit noiser on the road and a bit 'squidgier' cornering, but neither to an extent that is a problem. Performance in the dry is good and is quite acceptable in the wet. Wear after 10,000 kms is light. The real attraction was the price, some half to two thirds of other A/T tyres for the Jimny in this size. The SX4 is 205 60 R16 and I recall the choice for an A/T tyre was more limited and much more expensive. I drive the Jimny tentatively and the SX4 hard. So, in conclusion, if you have a mix of bitumen, town and dirt roads (I have chains for the snow), these are highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-14 23:20:31
Writing about the Petlas Explero W671 given 58% (205-70-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
This tyres have indeed just average performance on packed snow and ice as the manufacture suggests. However they are terrible when it came to the sidewall stability and running at speed on highway. In just 50-60km wind and running with anything above 70km, the car bounces scary all over the road with a 70mm tall sidewall and that became critical when the temperature rises to 7-8 C degrees. The lateral stability is not that good either, when on tracks in packed snow a 4x4 goes side to side more than a street car does on good tyres. I do not recommend this, for just a few more you can get better.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-02 18:42:41
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Cross given 98% (205-70-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I put a full set of these on my Suzuki Jimny. On the black stuff quiet & smooth on a run can crash a bit at potholes but could also be the little truck. MPG has increase which is a bonus. Having run the pair on the back longer and have to say wear is minimal so am expecting good mileage all-round. Wet & grassy fields are no issue, the feed back is much better than the previous Barum winters and UHP generals, truck is really nice to drive with these boots on even for a Jimny.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-24 13:53:32
Writing about the General Grabber GT given 94% (205-70-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 miles
General GT has lasted well, nice with the side rib protection.
Handles all the UK weather well, no issue in the snow or wet, nice direct feel in the dry.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-03 09:16:04
Writing about the Yokohama G012 AT given 83% (205-70-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20 average miles
I have several hundred thousand miles of UK driving, with a lot of off road experience. I've used most of the all terrain tyres out there.( having worked in agriculture and for a major power utility ) I have used snow chains for extreme conditions in years gone by. ( nothing beats them once you get the darn things on ) We've just had another big freeze in the UK leaving very wet snow in the aftermath. I have needed to get my wife to the local hospital where she works. In the last few days these tyres have made it through every journey without resorting to the snow chains.That has included wading through fresh snow drifts two feet deep, ice, wet snow and slush.They appear to be wearing well after 20k miles, perform well on normal road driving and are good on mixed conditions and soil types off road. I was amazed at how much better they have been in the snow than my previous all terrains. I have literally been running rings round other 4x4,s, some on mud tyres, and seen many road tyre clad AWD's abandoned. All that without the chains. Definitely will buy again, especially as they are good for what we drive on normally, ie just good ol, wet uk roads.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-03 10:15:32
Writing about the Barum Polaris3 4x4 given 84% (205-70-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
As winter tyres work very well in the wet & slushy weather of the UK.
Left on the Jimny through the last 2 summers as tread down to half, not bad for 5 years use. Did change for summers first 3 years, Jimny isn't a sports vehicle but tyres do give a feeling of confidence through the years. Getting a bit noisy know @ 3 mm.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-21 14:14:30
Writing about the Avon Ranger given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-03 19:03:33
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre