Suzuki Jimny Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Suzuki Jimny.

Do you Drive a Suzuki Jimny? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Jimny better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Cooper Discoverer AT3 4S (2) 90% 85% 75% 90% 95% 90%
Cooper Discoverer M S2 (2) 95% 95% 90% 95% 70% 80%
Event ML698 (8) 90% 89% 89% 88% 93% 78%
Goodyear Wrangler AT SA Plus (6) 95% 87% 85% 83% 80% 93%
Hankook DynaPro ATM RF10 (12) 94% 87% 80% 78% 93% 91%
Avon Ranger (13) 89% 90% 86% 78% 95% 78%
Yokohama G012 AT (4) 88% 85% 83% 83% 93% 68%
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85%
Barum Polaris3 4x4 (2) 80% 85% 75% 80% 90% 85%
Michelin Latitude Cross (44) 86% 85% 79% 76% 91% 80%
General Grabber GT (16) 89% 81% 78% 75% 87% 81%
Petlas Explero W671 (3) 80% 80% 80% 80% 100% 77%
Kumho Road Venture AT 825 (2) 85% 75% 60% 65% 85% 80%
Marshal Road Venture AT KL78 (2) 80% 70% 75% 70% 80% 85%
Yokohama Geolandar SUV (4) 83% 83% 80% 83% 77% 67%
Goodyear Wrangler AT SA (13) 88% 81% 90% 83% 86% 90%
Westlake SL369 (1) 80% 70% 70% 70% 70% 80%

Suzuki Jimny Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Cooper Discoverer AT3 4S given 93% (225-70-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Mounted these on my All New (2020) Jimny and it exceeded my expectations! Grip is excellent both in dry and wet conditions. Road noise is almost non existent (same if not better than the stock Dunlop Grantrek AT20) and there seems to be no negative impact on my fuel economy despite being wider and bigger (although I am a light footed driver). I get better handling on this especially when cornering primarily because it is much wider than the stock 195/80/r15 Dunlop's. I will surely buy these tires again in the future! I only clocked in about 2000 kms on this so it is still not showing any visible signs of wear.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-08 10:11:33
Writing about the Westlake SL369 given 73% (205-70-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6 average miles
This is my second set, fitted on on two cars - a Suzuki Jimny and an SX4. Here in Australia they are known as Goodride SL369. On the Jimny they replaced a set of supercheap oversize '4WD' tyres and the improvement in handling, ride and noise was marked. On the SX4 they replaced a set of quality Continental road-biased tyres that were wearing out and had a blow-out that ruined the tyre on the very stony 'Road to Nowhere' on Tasmania's West Coast. Compared to the Continental tyres, they are a bit noiser on the road and a bit 'squidgier' cornering, but neither to an extent that is a problem. Performance in the dry is good and is quite acceptable in the wet. Wear after 10,000 kms is light. The real attraction was the price, some half to two thirds of other A/T tyres for the Jimny in this size. The SX4 is 205 60 R16 and I recall the choice for an A/T tyre was more limited and much more expensive. I drive the Jimny tentatively and the SX4 hard. So, in conclusion, if you have a mix of bitumen, town and dirt roads (I have chains for the snow), these are highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-14 23:20:31
Writing about the Petlas Explero W671 given 58% (205-70-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
This tyres have indeed just average performance on packed snow and ice as the manufacture suggests. However they are terrible when it came to the sidewall stability and running at speed on highway. In just 50-60km wind and running with anything above 70km, the car bounces scary all over the road with a 70mm tall sidewall and that became critical when the temperature rises to 7-8 C degrees. The lateral stability is not that good either, when on tracks in packed snow a 4x4 goes side to side more than a street car does on good tyres. I do not recommend this, for just a few more you can get better.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-02 18:42:41
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Cross given 98% (205-70-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I put a full set of these on my Suzuki Jimny. On the black stuff quiet & smooth on a run can crash a bit at potholes but could also be the little truck. MPG has increase which is a bonus. Having run the pair on the back longer and have to say wear is minimal so am expecting good mileage all-round. Wet & grassy fields are no issue, the feed back is much better than the previous Barum winters and UHP generals, truck is really nice to drive with these boots on even for a Jimny.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-24 13:53:32
Writing about the General Grabber GT given 94% (205-70-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 miles
General GT has lasted well, nice with the side rib protection.
Handles all the UK weather well, no issue in the snow or wet, nice direct feel in the dry.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-03 09:16:04
Writing about the Yokohama G012 AT given 83% (205-70-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20 average miles
I have several hundred thousand miles of UK driving, with a lot of off road experience. I've used most of the all terrain tyres out there.( having worked in agriculture and for a major power utility ) I have used snow chains for extreme conditions in years gone by. ( nothing beats them once you get the darn things on ) We've just had another big freeze in the UK leaving very wet snow in the aftermath. I have needed to get my wife to the local hospital where she works. In the last few days these tyres have made it through every journey without resorting to the snow chains.That has included wading through fresh snow drifts two feet deep, ice, wet snow and slush.They appear to be wearing well after 20k miles, perform well on normal road driving and are good on mixed conditions and soil types off road. I was amazed at how much better they have been in the snow than my previous all terrains. I have literally been running rings round other 4x4,s, some on mud tyres, and seen many road tyre clad AWD's abandoned. All that without the chains. Definitely will buy again, especially as they are good for what we drive on normally, ie just good ol, wet uk roads.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-03 10:15:32
Writing about the Barum Polaris3 4x4 given 84% (205-70-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
As winter tyres work very well in the wet & slushy weather of the UK.
Left on the Jimny through the last 2 summers as tread down to half, not bad for 5 years use. Did change for summers first 3 years, Jimny isn't a sports vehicle but tyres do give a feeling of confidence through the years. Getting a bit noisy know @ 3 mm.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-21 14:14:30
Writing about the Avon Ranger given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-03 18:03:33
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler AT SA given 90% (205-70-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17000 average miles
I got the Wrangler AT/SA tyres on my Suzuki Jimny when I bought it second hand, and used the tyres for two years, about 30 000 km total, in all weather seasons (from snowy icy winters in the mountains, up to scorching hot mediterranean summers).
I used them in all seasons because Goodyear advertised them as "all season" tyres. And they were quite correct about that!

The tyres performed flawslessly. I used them on all kinds of terrain - from slick highway tarmac and old crispy country road tarmac, up to dusty gravel, hard gravel, rocky roads, grass, mud of all colours, deep snow, you name it.

The tyres performed exceptionally well except in serious mud, but even in the mud they did their best considering they are not extreme mud tyres.
They are very quiet (like a normal road tyre) and they have no problems when balancing, like some other all-terrain tyre models.

Another good thing - New tyres came with 10 mm thread depth!

P.S.: Goodyear recently released an improved model - Wrangler AT/SA+.
I emailed Goodyear asking what is the difference between the old AT/SA and the new AT/SA+ model. Their response was "They are the same tyres, but the new model has improved wet braking performance".
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-03 23:29:21
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler AT SA Plus given 91% (205-70-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17000 easy going miles
I got the previous model (Wrangler AT/SA) on my Suzuki Jimny when I bought it second hand, and used the tyres for two years, about 30 000 km total, in all weather seasons (from snowy icy winters in the mountains, up to scorching hot mediterranean summers).
I used them in all seasons because Goodyear advertised them as "all season" tyres. And they were quite correct about that!

The tyres performed flawslessly. I used them on all kinds of terrain - from slick highway tarmac and old crispy country road tarmac, up to dusty gravel, hard gravel, rocky roads, grass, mud of all colours, deep snow, you name it.

The tyres performed exceptionally well except in serious mud, but even in the mud they did their best considering they are not extreme mud tyres.
They are very quiet (like a normal road tyre) and they have no problems when balancing, like some other all-terrain tyre models.

In October 2015, I replaced them with the new model Wrangler AT/SA+. The new tyres came with 10 mm thread depth!
I emailed Goodyear asking what is the difference between the old AT/SA and the new AT/SA+ model. Their response was "They are the same tyres, but the new model has improved wet braking performance".

After driving about 5000 km with the new AT/SA+ tyres, I can attest to Goodyear's claim.

The new model has all the same characteristics as the old one! I don't know if the wet performance has improved or not, because even the old model was quite good in that regard for me!
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-03 21:32:43
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre