Continental Cross Contact UHP

The Continental Cross Contact UHP is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre review data from 34 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 815,387 miles driven, and 3 tests with an average result of 1st.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 74%
Wear 53%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 63%

First On MarketMay 2003
Wheel Size16 - 23"
Width235 - 305mm
Profile30 - 65
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)71 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Cross Contact UHP is ranked 11th of 23 Summer Touring tyres.

Tests Included

3

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

1st

Average Result

1st

Latest Tyre Test Results

2016 Off Road Summer SUV Tyre Test
1st of 6 tyres
  • Short braking distances and good handling on wet surfaces, low rolling resistance
  • Tendency to understeer on dry surfaces, high price
  • Highly recommended
View Full Test >>
2013 Auto Bild SUV / 4X4 Tyre Test
1st of 9 tyres
  • Short stopping distances on wet and dry roads, strong off road
  • Increased running noise, average ride comfort and average curved aquaplaning
View Full Test >>
2010 Auto Zeitung 4x4 Tyre Test
1st of 8 tyres
  • The Continental Cross-ContactUHP scores well in all the key tests to win overall
View Full Test >>

2016 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

2010 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
17 inch
235/65 R 17 108 V XLDA72
18 inch
235/60 R 18 107 W XLDB72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental Cross Contact UHP >>

Questions and Answers for the Continental Cross Contact UHP

2017-10-16 - What is the performance like in wet snow

Unfortunately we've never seen the Continental Cross Contact UHP be tested for snow performance. You can expect it to be a little bit better than a normal summer tyre, but not as good as an all season or winter tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
245/45 R20 £214.32 - £242.74 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/50 R19 £154.39 - £202.99 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/50 R20 £215.28 - £235.61 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/55 R18 £133.63 - £189.46 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/50 R20 £250.06 - £277.99 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 24 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental Cross Contact UHP Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Kia Motors (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 easy going miles
I have had these tyres (two sets) on my sportage since new and manage to get about 25000 miles per set out of them which i consider pretty good. All high centre of gravity vehicles will scrub the tread off the rear tyres quite quickly if you corner hard and tyres do not last as long as they do on cars. The continentals perform well in the snow (softer rubber?) and have done well off road providing you accept that they are not true off road tyres. Off road tyres are awful on tarmac! The tyres are fairly quiet on motorways and I have had no problems in the wet. Just about to fit another two!
Helpful 97 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2015
Jeep Grand Cherokee (265/50 R20) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
They came as factory equipped tyres.
Poor performing tyre. Wore very fast, i got around 20000 miles from the set.
Dry in the grip and wet ok. Rigid tyre over bumps.
Around corners they are loosing grip and squeeking (the 18 inch Nokians for Winter don't).
Never buy again.
Helpful 53 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2018
Given 69% while driving a Volkswagen Amarok permanent 4x4 (255/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Fronts don't last long 8000 miles if that but very grippy rear last twice as long 2015 amarok
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2021
Have you driven on the Continental Cross Contact UHP tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental Cross Contact UHP? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental Cross Contact UHP >

Latest Continental Cross Contact UHP Reviews

Jeep Grand Cherokee (265/50 R20) on mostly country roads for 30,000 average miles
Very bad in off road End of life at 30,000 KM
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 13, 2021
Given 57% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Evoque (245/45 R20) on mostly town for 36,000 average miles
I got these tyres with my car from my dealer in 2016. I live in Bahrain (Mostly sunny/summer weather). It gets as hot as 45 degrees Celsius. The tyres has excellent dry grip when I initially started using the car. Wet grip was fairly OK. Breaking distance was excellent in the beginning.

However my main concern is how easily the tyres were worn out. I drove 58,000 km (36,000 miles) in 3 years.

The grip has become extremely poor and breaking distance got worse. I ended up in an accident because the car wouldn’t stop (even though I pushed the breaks on time). The car drifted/swayed in long curved roads multiple times (it was a sunny day and i was driving 60-70 km/hr on a dry asphalt surface)

Conclusion: Early on i was very impressed with the grip, comfort, handling and breaking distance. However, they wear out very fast and driving becomes dangerous in these tyres if not changed.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2019
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 94% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
I have used these tyres on my ML 320 for the past two years - I have managed to get about 25k out of them during this time. Having also used Pirelli’s, the UHP’s are by far a better wearing tyre. At around £160 per tyre, cost and wear is obviously a primary concern.The driving has been mostly around towns is Wales, so quite hilly, but we’ve done some seriously long haul runs too. I can’t praise these tyres enough.

As far as performance is concerned, I have no quibbles, wet , dry,snow, they perform very well.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2017
Given 84% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 2 (255/50 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles

I live in France. I run a late Landrover Discovery 2 TD5 amongst other vehicles. I have been using Continental Cross Contact UHP 255 50 R19 tyres for some years. I must admit that these tyres have proved excellent in most if not all weathers. I believe they are summer tyres but on the French west coast we rarely see any ice or snow. Prior to these I ran Goodyear F1 tyres of the same size and they were also excellent and eve better the the Continental tyres in the wet. I have to admit at this point I used to race cars so I know where the limits are and the differences between understeer and oversteer and how to cope with them.
Helpful 53 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2017
Given 54% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Evoque (245/45 R20 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Much much noisier than the factory fitted tyres and transmitted road bumps solidly into the cab. Seem to be wearing poorly too, and now fixing 3rd slow leak. Not buy again.
Helpful 44 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2015
Given 52% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Evoque (245/45 R20) on mostly town for 17,800 average miles
Fronts gone before 18000 miles, rears holding out just fine about twice the tread left compared to the fronts. Noisy tyre and hard riding . Not impressed, not replacing the fronts with these again.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2015
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan Sport 2.0 TDI 140hp (235/50 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 40 average miles
Very happy all round tyres, that do all conditions very well. Over 40k miles from a complete set of 4, which were rotated to balance the wear. Originally had a set of Goodyear performance tyres beforehand, which were excellent in the dry, very good in the wet, but dangerous in mud, snow and on grass - due to their diagonal treads. So, now about to buy another set of the Conti Cross Contacts UHPs.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2015
Given 53% while driving a Mitsubishi Outlander (225/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Regular wheel rotation to try and balance out the excessive wear, but need to change them after 25000km (15000m).. Very poor wear performance from this tyre, also found them noisy and pretty useless on anything other than dry tarmac. Glad to be rid of them.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2015
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Amarok permanent 4x4 (225/45 R19 H) on mostly country roads for 63,000 spirited miles
63000 miles on my Amarok before they needed changing

motorway and A roads
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2015
Given 51% while driving a Mitsubishi Outlander (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 8,000 easy going miles
I agree with the reviews of the Conti's, appalling wear, our car is a late 2012 outlander and has only just covered 8500 miles but the outer edge of the front tyres are gone completely...as others we are gentle with the driving and cornering.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2014
Ford Kuga (235/45 R19) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
Much better than the previous bridgestone, noticable change in the fuel consumption, no problems in the snow and wet in aberdeenshire. 15000 miles so far with even wear after rotation. I will be using these again with out a doubt
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2014
Given 76% while driving a Land Rover Discovery Series 2 TD5 (255/50 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 120,000 average miles
Pretty good but not as good as the Goodyear F1 4x4 tyre. These are fairly decent for high speed 4x4 tyres but I have less confidence in cornering at speed in the wet. At the price I paid, well below published prices they represent good value considering their minimal wear rate which is probably due to being a slightly harder compound.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2013