Hankook Winter i cept evo2

Snow, ice, frost, heavy rain or wet leaves often produce dangerous road conditions in winter. Hankook Winter i*cept evo² and i*cept evo² SUV profiles therefore meet these challenges with improved tread compounds and optimised design functions.Among other things, a highly dispersible nano-silica compound is used, which prevents hardening of the tyre at low temperatures and thus ensures better grip on wintry and wet roads through greater elasticity of the tyre contact area. With a further optimisation of the tyre profile, the contact area of the tyre has been enlarged further, which likewise has a positive effect on grip in snow and rain and moreover ensures improved aquaplaning performance.

This tyre has been replaced by the Hankook Winter i cept evo3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 83%
Wear 84%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 83%
Snow Grip 77%
Ice Grip 73%

Tyre review data from 22 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 92,610 miles driven.

The Winter i cept evo2 is ranked 26th of 39 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 19 Inch Performance Winter Tyre Test - 5th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - A well balanced winter tyre with safe wet and dry handling, short wet braking distances.
  • Negative - Slightly long dry braking, high rolling resistance, average comfort.
View Full Test >>

2017 AMS Performance 18 inch Winter Tyre Test - 8th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Acceptable braking on snow, stable behavior and precise reactions to steering movements on dry surfaces
  • Negative - Low lateral stability and poor handling on the snow, long braking distance on wet roads
  • Overall - Recommended with restrictions
View Full Test >>

2017 Sport Auto Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Strong in the snow, good dry handling
  • Negative - Average wet performance, long braking distances in the dry and wet
  • Overall - Conditionally recommended
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Hankook Winter i cept evo2

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Winter i cept evo2

2017-11-16 - Is the tyre tread directional? All four tyres are marked "inside" but all the tread is the same direction.Two of the tyres have the tread in one direction and two in the other,is this normal?

This is normal, the Hankook Winter i cept evo2 is an asymmetric tyre and can rotate in either direction.


2017-11-28 - These are fine for 20" AudiQ7 (2008) ?

As long as you purchase the Hankook Winter i cept evo2 in the correct size and load rating they will be suitable for your SUV


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Winter i cept evo2 Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 23 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Hankook Winter i cept evo2 Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 140 SLine (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
I drove with them trough the whole 2015/16 winter season, in Eastern Europe, under generally mild winter conditions. They are very comfortable all-rounders at a reasonable price. Secure grip and traction under icy and snowy conditions. Very good on wet and dry, and also very durable. I think i could easily make more than 30 000 miles in the winters.
212 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2016   
Given 64% while driving a Mercedes Benz Mercedes c230 kompressor T mod, W203 (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Bought 4 tires used as a emergency solution with approximately 7mm left, after 15 000 km in snow and ice in Norway and now they have to be changed for next season.
I will buy them again.
26 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2017   
Lexus (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
This is a review based on every day suburban driving in and around a UK town.
Ok my summer tyres are premium and I say this to illustrate that I will buy the right tyre base on my views not on budget, status or the label.
I swap my tyres every winter and summer. In the winter the roads are wet more than they are dry and between December and Feb early 6am starts means temps from -5 to 5 degrees. In cold temps they great on both wet and dry. I drive normally. I don't throw the car around or accelerate hard off the start. I do drive A roads and motorways and have no issues. The worst thing I notice is that at 12 degrees, driving at 70 MPH the car does bounce around a lot.

I have driven over and around an empty car park covered with frozen snow and this was not a problem. Driving cautiously over a 10 meter layer of sheet ice was no problem either.

Yes I am confident that if you drive sensibly, realise that stopping distances double in rain and are 10 x further in snow and you respect the road then you should be fine. I will also say that after 2 seasons the wear is down to 6mm which is not bad for a car that weighs 2 tonnes.
20 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2017   
Have you driven on the Hankook Winter i cept evo2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Winter i cept evo2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Winter i cept evo2 >

Latest Hankook Winter i cept evo2 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Audi A4 TDi Quattro Sport (245/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I drove this tires for 2 seasons. Good feedback, average fuel consumption. Very good with snow and wet performance. Dry braking at the limits is average. For the money is very good tire.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2020   
Given 80% while driving a Lexus GS450h (265/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
Good handling and braking on dry surfaces, also good on wet, but obly average on wet slightly icy roads, it breaks traction when driving more agressive on curvy mountain roads when wet and under 0°C. But they are manageble when the traction ends. On snow the traction is poor, especially on a RWD car struggled to leave a parking lot after a snow blizzard and about 30cm of snow. Would not recomend if you will encounter often snow roads! For city driving under normal conditions they are good, especially for the cheaper price. They are very stable at highway speeds, and you feel confident at high speed. I did not drove long enought to say something about the wear yet.
3 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2020   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 58% while driving a Opel Astra K 1.6 CDTI (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
When you read the advertising material for this tyre, you really expect a winter tyre with a sporty edge.

I was disappointed.

The dry grip runs out early, but is well flagged and quite progressive.

The wet grip is lacking and Hankooks own "little brother" tyre has far better wet grip. (Also evident in the EU labels)

To anyone wanting a sporty tyre, try something else. To those who like this tyre, try the i cept RS2 next time- It's better in all ways.
13 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Mazda 2 SP (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
On my Mazda 3 MPS, around 315hp, those tyres perform really good when the temperature is below 6-7 degrees celsius. As the temperature went up, they do not give me the confidence of a summer tyre.
Overall, strictly for winter this tyre is great. Performed really well on 10cm snow + ice underneath on an 10 degrees incline(I was amazed by that as my car has a high amount of torque).
If you buy them to use as "all season" do not mind.
As I used them for only for winter they performed as expected.
10 - tyre reviewed on April 11, 2019   
Given 97% while driving a BMW 520D M Sport Touring (255/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
I bought a second hand BMW 520D automatic 185ps and wanted to put a nice set of 20" wheels...but didn't want to swap it for the standerd wheels in winter...I didn't want to change the great looks in winter...So I started reading and searching the internet for a performance wintertyre I could use summer AND winter. I was aware that a lot of wintertyres are horrible noise makers...so I searched for a profile that I know that would be silent. After my search...I bumped into these Hankook W320 tyres...and finally bought them and fitted them on my nice new AXE EX30 wheels. These tyres needs a bit running in for about 500 km...but once that passed...WAWWW !!! Hankook did here an excellent job with these new W320 wintertyres. I have them now for exact one year and drove 30.000 km with them. The wear is excellent and now changed them front to rear...still plenty of mm's left. These tyres are also very quiet and almost as good as summertyres. Also the handling in summer is really very good even when it's very hot...and in winter-wet conditions excellent. Heavy snow we didn't have last year but in those winter condition I also felt very secure with my RWD car. I know for one thing...I recommand these tyres VERY MUCH...do not hesitate...and are in my opinion as good (or better) than some all season tyres that are being sold...for much higher price...What is also a very good point on these Hankook...very good in pricing, even for big tyres like my 255/35R20.
So in case you didn't get it....BUY THEM !!!
17 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2018   
Given 67% while driving a Fiat Abarth Punto Evo (205/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Very good traction on the snow
Standard performance in wet condition
In my opinion poor performance on dry road, expecially with sprinted driving stile: I found the tyre shoulder very weak and the dynamic balance of my car severely changed (in comparison with summer tyres)
15 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2017   
Given 77% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 600 average miles
I'be bought these tires not so long ago. Seems to be pretty good ratio price/quality. As poor quality tires from China cost almost the same, this looks like a deal. Tires are good on dry roads. Noise is average. It did not experience much snow yet, however, I expect it to be OK. To sum up - for this kind of money (in my country it was about 40 eur), I cannot expect better tire. Budget buster.
13 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2017   
Given 100% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
I often drive to the north end of Vancouver Island where the road conditions change from -4C to +8C in a matter of 250 km turning HEAVY rain (30 mm in a 12 hour period) to black ice and the nastiest ice near 0C and cold grippy snow at higher elevations (rarely). For this season I bought a set of Winter Icept Evo. Aside from driving an all-wheel drive Volvo the Hankook blew me away. Twice I drove at nearly 100 km through half or wholey flooded roads and the car didn't flinch. The rest of the time when the roads are bare and dry the Hankooks are quiet and smooth - every bit as good as my Michelin all-seasons. Would I buy Hankook again? Absolutely. As far as tread wear goes I haven't had them long enough to judge.
9 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2017   
Given 87% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2tdi (245/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Great tyre, specialy on full snow roads. Very quiet, comfortable, good handling. Very big fuel consumption, more than 1 liter per 100km than with summer tyres.
17 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2017   
Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI (255/55 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
Very good snow grip and surprisingly quiet.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2016   
Given 76% while driving a Audi (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
I drove more than 5 000 km with these tires in mixed late autumn - winter continental climate. A little bit goofy (soft) on a dry road when the temperature is above 15 C. On wet - I feel stable in corners. I experienced a slight aquaplaning with my right tires driving straight through a heavy rain, but the speed was quite high (above 100 km/h) for the water level at the road edge. Good grip on snow and ice, even on slopes. Solid on snowy curvy roads. Very comfortable winter tyre.

My experience by now is with Semperit Speed-Grip 2. I changed the brand, because I wanted to buy tires who wear less and are with a similar price tag.
Although, it is hard to be precise, I am satisfied with the wear so far.

At the end, I think that Hankook Icept Evo2 are more overall winter tires. More compatible with the climate changes in the last years - wet, dry, wet snow. Semperit is a little bit more winter tyre - slightly better on ice and snow. Also good in wet and dry, but the wears above my point of acceptation.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2016   
Given 96% while driving a Fiat Bravo (225/45 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Great on dry road, good on wet, excellent on snow and ice. Tried them on mountain roads and they performed very well. Short breaking, great traction and good handling. With asr (traction control)you can climb the mountain in winter conditions without putting snow chains on your wheels. Premium performance for less money. Recommended.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2016