Hankook Winter i cept evo2 Reviews - Page 2

Given 100% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
I often drive to the north end of Vancouver Island where the road conditions change from -4C to +8C in a matter of 250 km turning HEAVY rain (30 mm in a 12 hour period) to black ice and the nastiest ice near 0C and cold grippy snow at higher elevations (rarely). For this season I bought a set of Winter Icept Evo. Aside from driving an all-wheel drive Volvo the Hankook blew me away. Twice I drove at nearly 100 km through half or wholey flooded roads and the car didn't flinch. The rest of the time when the roads are bare and dry the Hankooks are quiet and smooth - every bit as good as my Michelin all-seasons. Would I buy Hankook again? Absolutely. As far as tread wear goes I haven't had them long enough to judge.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2017
Given 87% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2tdi (245/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Great tyre, specialy on full snow roads. Very quiet, comfortable, good handling. Very big fuel consumption, more than 1 liter per 100km than with summer tyres.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2017
Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI (255/55 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
Very good snow grip and surprisingly quiet.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2016
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2023? Click to find out!
Given 86% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 140 SLine (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
I drove with them trough the whole 2015/16 winter season, in Eastern Europe, under generally mild winter conditions. They are very comfortable all-rounders at a reasonable price. Secure grip and traction under icy and snowy conditions. Very good on wet and dry, and also very durable. I think i could easily make more than 30 000 miles in the winters.
Helpful 228 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2016
Given 76% while driving a Audi (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
I drove more than 5 000 km with these tires in mixed late autumn - winter continental climate. A little bit goofy (soft) on a dry road when the temperature is above 15 C. On wet - I feel stable in corners. I experienced a slight aquaplaning with my right tires driving straight through a heavy rain, but the speed was quite high (above 100 km/h) for the water level at the road edge. Good grip on snow and ice, even on slopes. Solid on snowy curvy roads. Very comfortable winter tyre.

My experience by now is with Semperit Speed-Grip 2. I changed the brand, because I wanted to buy tires who wear less and are with a similar price tag.
Although, it is hard to be precise, I am satisfied with the wear so far.

At the end, I think that Hankook Icept Evo2 are more overall winter tires. More compatible with the climate changes in the last years - wet, dry, wet snow. Semperit is a little bit more winter tyre - slightly better on ice and snow. Also good in wet and dry, but the wears above my point of acceptation.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2016
Given 96% while driving a Fiat Bravo (225/45 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Great on dry road, good on wet, excellent on snow and ice. Tried them on mountain roads and they performed very well. Short breaking, great traction and good handling. With asr (traction control)you can climb the mountain in winter conditions without putting snow chains on your wheels. Premium performance for less money. Recommended.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2016
Given 87% while driving a Citro├źn C4 (225/45 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
In the summer time i use a pair of Hankook s1 Evo2, tires that i'm very pleased with ! So for the winter time i took a look on the hankook website and found this model.

After 4500 km here are my thoughts:
-in snow they grip very well and you can easily control the car
-they help the car stop and you can feel the way the tire handles snow and ice
-on plain water, they grip, but i can't say that there the same as the ones that i use in the summer time (A class for the summer ones vs C class for the winter ones), but they give you security when you drive them
-silent tires and comfortable
-with the asymmetric profile that they have the hand melted snow very well

I will post a new review when i finish the season

tire dimensions: 225/45/ZR17 XL 91H
car: citroen c4 2.0 HDI 150hp
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2016
Given 93% while driving a Ford Mondeo estate (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
comfortable, great on dry, first snow in Croatia these days and tyres are great as in deep snow as well in town slush. Great passenger car tyre and great value for money.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2016
Given 59% while driving a BMW 320d (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Well, I see that this is the second review on here :-)

I'm running since Nov 15 a set of these tyres, on my 16" winter set of alloys, on my E90 320d. I chose this brand again, because I already use a set of 225/45/R17 Hankook Ventus S1 Evo2 with my summer set of alloys, and quite satisfied from those ones.

The tires struggle to handle the power of my car, making the DSC lights to come on and on every time I push the pedal, even on high speeds too!! That means no grip at all, even on dry roads.

On the corners, I drive like newbie, can say I trust these tyres a lot.

As for comfort, yes they are quite comfort, no extra noise in compare with my summer set of 17" ones.

I haven't tried them in snow yet, if they will disappoint me on that section too (imagine I can't drive up to the local ski centre, when it will snow here), I will sell them after the winter period ends (next March).

As for wear index, I do not know how they will end up, but I think they will not last more than 30.000 Km's.

To sum up, I can't say I'm happy so far....maybe it's because the tyre size I choose (16" instead of 17" on my summer alloys set) can't handle the power of my car (217HP + 450NM)!
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2015
Given 82% while driving a BMW 428i m sport coupe (235/40 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
First review on here :-)

Im running a square 19" vinter setup on my f32 coupe.

The tires handle really well with good entry feel in the corners. They are more comfortable than the stock run flat continental tires, and tire noise is the same. Haven't tried them in snow yet, but the progressiveness in the wet is very good, and the car is predictable. I do not know how they wear yet...

Im happy so far!
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2015