Bridgestone Turanza T001

The Bridgestone Turanza T001 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 105 tyre reviews averaging 67% over 1,446,853 miles driven, and 32 tests with an average result of 8th.

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 67%
Wear 63%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 49%

First On MarketSeptember 2011
Wheel Size15 - 19"
Width185 - 245mm
Profile40 - 65
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - D
Noise (dB)67 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Turanza T001 is ranked 114th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 and this tyre has been replaced by the Bridgestone Turanza T001 Evo.

Tests Included

32

Best Result

3rd

Worst Result

15th

Average Result

8th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 Gute Fahrt Summer Tyre Test
3rd of 12 tyres
  • Very balanced and easy to handle at the limit of grip. Precise steering, good wet grip, good wet and dry braking.
  • Average rolling resistance.
  • Very Good.
View Full Test >>
2017 AZ Summer Tyre Test
7th of 10 tyres
  • Low rolling resistance, high level of comfort, good results on a dry road
  • Poor handling and braking performance on wet surfaces
View Full Test >>

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
185/65 R15 88 HCB70
185/65 R15 88 HBA69
185/65 R15 88 HCB70
195/65 R15 91 HDB71
185/65 R15 88 HCB70
195/65 R15 91 HBB71
195/65 R15 91 HCC70
195/65R15 91 HCB68
195/65 R15 95 T XLCB71
16 inch
205/60 R16 92 VBA70
215/60 R16 99 H XLBB71
215/60 R16 95 VCC68
205/55 R16 91 WCC70
215/60 R16 95 VBB69
205/55 R16 91 VCD67
205/55 R16 91 VCD67
215/60R16 95 VCC68
205/55 R16 91 QAB69
205/55 R16 91 QAB69
215/60 R16 99 V XLBA71
215/60 R16 95 VBB69
215/60 R16 99 V XLBA71
205/60 R16 92 HBA69
205/60 R16 92 VBA70
205/55 R16 91 VCB71
205/55R16 91 VBB69
205/60 R16 92 VBB71
205/55 R16 91 VDB71
215/60 R16 95 VDB71
215/60 R16 95 WDB71
205/55 R16 91 WDB71
205/55 R16 91 VDB71
205/60R16 92 VCB71
17 inch
225/45 R17 91 WDB69
225/45R17 91 YCB67
225/50 R17 94 WCB70
215/55 R17 94 VBB71
225/50 R17 94 WCB70
225/45 R17 91 WDA69
215/55 R17 94 VBB71
215/45R17 91 Y XLCB71
215/45 R17 91 W XLCA70
225/45 R17 91 VBA71
225/45 R17 91 WCB70
205/50 R17 89 VCC68
225/45 R17 91 WCB69
205/50 R17 89 VCC68
225/60 R17 99 HCD71
225/45 R17 91 WDB71
225/45 R17 91 VDB71
225/45 R17 94 W XLCB70
225/45 R17 91 VBA71
225/45 R17 91 WDA69
225/45 R17 91 VCB71
225/45 R17 91 VCB71
225/50 R17 94 VBB71
215/55 R17 94 VCB71
225/45 R17 91 VBA71
215/55 R17 94 WCB71
215/55 R17 94 VBB71
225/45 R17 91 VBC70
225/45 R17 91 WDB70
225/45 R17 91 WDC70
225/45 R17 91 WDC70
205/50 R17 93 H XLBB70
225/45 R17 91 WDB69
225/45 R17 91 WCB70
225/45 R17 91 WCB70
18 inch
225/40 R18 92 Y XLBB70
225/40 R18 92 Y XLBB70
225/40 R18 92 W XLDB71
225/40 R18 92 W XLDB71
225/40 R18 92 W XLDB70
225/40 R18 92 W XLDB70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Bridgestone Turanza T001 >>

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Turanza T001

2016-11-24 - Is Turanza T001 a run flat tyre. Also is it All Season or a summer tyre. I am finding conflicting informations on the internet. Regards Yasmin

The T001 is a summer tyre available in runflat sizes. If runflat is important to you, we suggest looking at the Bridgestone DriveGuard.


2016-10-16 - Can you suggest a more comfy and quiet tyre? 225/45/17 or would 225/50/17 be better, an increase of only 3% on circumference. Regards Mike.

Changing the tyre size will have minimal effect, and you would have to notify your insurance company. Switching to an ultra comfortable tyre such as the Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance will have a much larger effect on overall ride quality.


2017-10-16 - What is the difference between the Turanza T001 and the Turanza T001 MO apart from MO indicates the tyre is approved by Mercedes I cant find any difference yet the MO version is cheaper than the standard T001. Can the MO version be fitted to Toyota Verso?

Without speaking directly to Bridgestone, I'm afraid it's impossible to know what changes were made for Mercedes OE approval. Mercedes generally ask for improvements in comfort over OE tyres.


2020-01-08 - I have a BMW X1 67 plate. It has Bridgestone T001 Ityres fitted. It also has DOT ZGUP R2T 47/17 T01WD2 TD01 I. Please could you tell me if these are run flat tyres?


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £90.80 - £90.80 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £83.99 - £126.96 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £89.01 - £128.09 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R19 £199.99 - £199.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 26 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Bridgestone Turanza T001 Reviews

Given 33% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (225/45 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,600 average miles
Deathtrap. That's an apt word for these tyres. They came as stock with a new Mazda 6 Tourer. It beggars belief that they would decide to put these useless pieces of rubber on their cars. Wheel spin when setting off and loss of traction on bends even at moderate speeds. In the wet they are simply appalling and it is like driving on an ice rink. If we get any snow or ice, I may have to leave the car at home. The worst tyres I have ever had.
Helpful 330 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2016
Given 73% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giuiletta (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No sport tyre.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2023
Given 64% while driving a Opel Zafira Tourer (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
I had these tyres as OM at my Opel Zafira Tourer. They lasted (only) 20 000 miles, while my driving style is really easy going. So I´m not very satisfied with durability of these tyres. Dry grip and feedback was good (could be better though). Tyres were quite noisy and did not absorb much of bumby roads (in compare with my winter tyres and now new allseason tyres I fitted recently). Over all, I was expecting that such a tyre brand as Bridgestone is, could had made way better tyre than this one.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2023
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Turanza T001 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Turanza T001? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Turanza T001 >

Latest Bridgestone Turanza T001 Reviews

Given 10% while driving a Mazda CX 3 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 23,000 easy going miles
Just one thought. I have driven less than 25K, fitted brand new in my Mazda CX3, and these tyres need to be replaced already. What rubbish. Don't buy them.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2023
Given 82% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK4 GTTDI 150 (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
These came with a set of 2nd hand wheels in the summer of 2022. 2 were very worn but 2 had plenty of life left. During summer grip, feel etc was excellent regardless of weather conditions but once the weather started to cool down to around 10 degrees C or less the rears would slide out at relatively low speeds if the roads were wet, they were still excellent all round in the dry. I suspect these tyres need heat to grip and as the car is FWD the rears never get up to a working temperature, the fronts however gripped better than the Uniroyal Rainsport 3's and Runway tyres I had on before which I didn't think were too bad considering the car is remapped to around 200 bhp. I struggle to get any wheelspin once into 2nd gear with the Turanza's in the wet unless I really try. The rears were down to less than 3mm to be fair but I swapped them out for the Uniroyals and the back is stable again, I'll keep the others on the front for now and see how they go when temps drop to freezing. I'm possibly going to do a trackday soon so will test them a bit harder then. I had to give wet grip overall a 6 due to poor performance in the cold and wet on the rear but on the front I would give them a 9 so far. The tyres are a bit noisy so I think so they get marked down a bit there. Slides have been easy to catch, the ESP has no troubles so as good as anything else I've used in nearly 30 years of driving for feedback and progression so far. Will probably do another review in winter and after trackday. I'd buy these again but only as a front tyre option, Hankook Ventus Prime 3's so far have been the best all rounder I've used for that axle and they are a bit better on the front too as the Bridgestones did have a hint of aquaplane a couple of times where I don't remember experiencing that with the Hankooks.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 74% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 65,000 easy going miles
Did more than 65000 km with them at four years. Quite stale tyre. Good wear resistance. Not so good on wet surface but never had aquaplaning
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2022
Given 73% while driving a SEAT Leon 2.0 TFSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Good tyre but not as nearly as the next model. Bit noisy.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2022
Given 64% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.0 TSI 115 (215/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I am just going to sum up how I felt about the tyre. It was mounted on a Seat Ibiza 1.0 115HP Manual by factory. Verdict: The tyre is okay - you can see it was built for high mileage and therefore the wear is really great. However, this comes at a lower grip in both wet and dry. The dry grip is not good - it is made from quite hard rubber which even gets harder over time. That's why it slides like hell and has a clear understeer balance in dry conditions. Wet however is even worse - Aquaplaning is quite okay but the grip is quite bad. This is when you will notice that your car also has ABS. (not even at full brake power) Don't get me wrong - the tyre does everything quite well - if you are just an average driver it will be a good choice for you. But the wet grip and braking performance really makes it a bad choice for spirited drivers - you can clearly see the differences between a sports tyre and a touring/economy tyre like this.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2022
Given 54% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
Terrible grip when starting off when road is wet. Wear rate is OK. I have travelled 32,000km and they still have 2mm of useable tread left. No complaints about road noise.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2022
Given 80% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Bought a set of Turanza T001-s in the beginning of 2021 as a replacement for badly and unevenly worn-out OEM tyres (Continental EcoContact) on a 6 year old VW Passat. The ones I got were made in Russia which at first, got me a little bit sceptical but driving the whole summer and autumn, I don't have any negative feedback. Tires do their job very well. Were quite normally priced at 312 euros. Yet to determine wear rate on them.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2021
Given 59% while driving a SEAT Mii (185/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
These were fitted from new on seat Mii fr line. When new they are Ok for grip in dry and poor in the wet. Wear rate is high on such a small and light car which is only driven modestly and us never pushed. More of a concern is they started to crack within the tread pattern after only around 10 months from production. I think forr the money they are a poor quality tyre and I wouldn't buy again as they just don't measure up to the other tyres I have used in the past. My other car has Goodyear eagle vector 4 season tyres which are better in every way than the Bridgestone and I would highly recommend those without hesitation.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021
Given 66% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
I never had problems on performance but the wear is way to high. Only 30.000 km. Never had such a low durability on Michelin Pilot Sport 3 / Vredestein Sportac 5 / Pirelli PZero / Uniroyal(don't remember the model) / Goodyear (don't remember the model) If you don't care about your money and environement maybe I could recommend them.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2021
Given 46% while driving a Suzuki Vitara 2015> (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 16 spirited miles
Poor lasting tyre - wears comparatively quickly. I got less than 24,000 km (15,000 miles) out of them. Wouldn't buy again, and am wary of Bridgestone tyres in general. Poor quality for a supposed premium tyre manufacturer. Had Hankook Ventus Prime on same car previously - they lasted around 45,000km - they are recommended.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2021
Given 54% while driving a (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
Very soft tyres. Gets punctured lots of time on Indian roads . It is only good for highways
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2021
Given 46% while driving a Volkswagen e Golf (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
Tyres seem really soft rubber if you push them with your finger, compared to other tyres. I have only driven less than 6000 miles and already I have had two punctures. Either I’m really unlucky or it must be something about the softness of these tyres making them more prone to punctures.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2021