Mercedes Benz c 220 cdi Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mercedes Benz c 220 cdi.

Do you Drive a Mercedes Benz c 220 cdi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a c 220 cdi better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (96) 93% 89% 87% 89% 85% 85%
Nokian WR D3 (42) 91% 88% 88% 87% 85% 87%
Michelin Primacy Alpin (5) 84% 96% 80% 84% 80% 88%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (243) 91% 89% 82% 85% 75% 79%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Falken EUROALL SEASON AS200 (22) 79% 88% 80% 80% 81% 83%
Avon ZZ5 (92) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (76) 87% 85% 80% 81% 75% 79%
Pirelli CINTURATO P1 (25) 84% 77% 77% 73% 82% 86%
Tigar Winter 1 (9) 75% 76% 80% 73% 83% 83%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (187) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (70) 85% 78% 76% 79% 68% 74%
Yokohama C Drive2 (31) 79% 73% 70% 69% 71% 81%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Kumho Solus KH15 (24) 76% 69% 71% 60% 75% 80%
Debica Navigator 2 (4) 73% 53% 70% 63% 68% 70%
Goodride SP06 (23) 82% 71% 67% 66% 73% 68%
Nokian All Weather Plus (4) 83% 80% 70% 60% 90% 55%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (50) 84% 73% 73% 75% 63% 63%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (121) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 66%
Landsail DH2 (14) 70% 58% 64% 54% 61% 65%
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (45) 66% 53% 52% 54% 62% 41%
Fullway HP 108 (8) 68% 46% 46% 44% 62% 46%
Durun A One (17) 61% 38% 51% 43% 50% 46%

Mercedes Benz c 220 cdi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Landsail DH2 given 54% (225-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Trusted our mechanic to put some half decent tyres on our car with the service. And they are half decent. Ok for handing and grip. RWD vehicle and no problem like others in the rain. However, they've lasted 11000 miles and are unevenly worn on both front and back. Insides on the back has worn prematurely, outside on the front. Just paid extra for tracking check and it's absolutely fine. Guy checking the alignment suggested a number of things, one of which was the tyres. Definitely wouldn't buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-07 14:30:35
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 79% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
The best and most outstanding thing of ps4s is wet braking, if not pushed too hard, it feels as if the road is dry. My car is just a 2018-20 c-class diesel with 400NM of torque but weights around 1,600kg(kinda heavy), ps4s is not troubled at all in acceleration (ofc my 4 cylinders cant do a thing to it haha) (lil bit slip on first gear when the tires aren't freshly new) and the highlight is that I can go full brake on wet surface without the feeling that the car is unstoppable, it really surprises me on first impression.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-21 17:36:22
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 100% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-06 12:22:45
Writing about the Durun A One given NAN% (225-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Verry nasty in rain.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-23 11:12:16
Writing about the Tigar Winter 1 given 94% (225-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-07 22:23:24
Writing about the Goodride SP06 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 290 average miles
i have had michelin goodyear F1 tyres, they wore out very very quickly too expensive also. never again.
i have had continental sport contact 5 they wore out very very quickly also, again way too expenisve.

i now have these tyres and you know what, i get a better ride quality and better repsponse. I don,t know about you guys, but modern day cars suspention seems far far far too hard or jerky on the ride. I don,t know what car builders have done to suspention but they have made a right pigs ear of it.

anway these cheaper tryes are doing just as good, grip very well and in the wet also no problems there at all. And you know what folks i have put these on sport 220 cdi mercedes and you know what im chuffed to bits. There a good good solid tyre, so for me i won,t be spending silly money on tyres in the future im done with that. Those expensive tyres are not worth all that money no way not at all.

so now im going and experimenting with nice looking tyres but a cheaper brand and im glad i did. There just as good and lasting great and doing a good stand up quality job on handling and wear and tear.

no problems here.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-31 14:07:14
Writing about the Nokian WR D3 given 84% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-26 14:09:00
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 given 70% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 400 spirited miles
Ive had cars fitted previously fitted with OEM continentals, Nankangs, Events and Falkens.
Events were terrible in all aspects, nankangs werent much better.
I had Falkens FK459 EcoRun on my last car cars which I thought were pretty good for the price payed.

My current car originally wore MO rated Continental SportContact 5 tires when new.
I thought they were as good as a tire could get but they wore down pretty quickly I thought
Since then I moved to Michelin PS3s then PS4s.

Recently had to buy new rears(255/3518). (the fronts are 225/40/18).

After seeing as Ford, Audi, Mercedes and Mini had all chose Hankooks for there OEM spec tires in 2016/2017, I replaced my rear michelins with some Hankook Ventus Evo2 K117 tires despite some other reviews mentioning there poor wear rate.

I quickly realised that they are not as rigid in the sidewalls as the PS4 Mitchelins are but the compensation for this is better ride quality, I also think the Hankooks have less noise being generated whilst cruising.
Grip in the wet is better than I expected, Ive found these Hankooks to be more progressive than the Michelins with the back tires seemingly coping better handling the power between the two back wheels whilst the ground is wet.

Over the next 4 months until my winter tires will put back on its give me time to see if longterm there any good before the summer fronts need replacing.

Even though theres only 400miles in one or twice Ive had some spin from the back wheels but only when pulling away sharply on wet roads, the tires may need a few more hundred miles before a true character can be found for the tires.

Im anticipating that wear may be poor due to other reviews with the tires.
Its still early days yet.

The rim protection ridge could,be improved though.

tyre reviewed on 2017-09-05 00:30:33
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P1 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 18000 average miles
Ive always used Michelins, but I am not disappointed with the life span of these tyres.
We have easy roads here in Australia and I normally drive long hours. Tyres were not that noisy, wet grip was not so perfect just because my car was doing 400Nm with 125kwh. But I would recommend this to average drivers who need no drifting like myself.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-17 04:12:30
Writing about the Debica Navigator 2 given 43% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly town for 25000 spirited miles
I had no other tires on this car (Mercedes C 200 CDI), so can not compare. But I'm disappointed for their lifetime: under 20,000 miles.
When the tires were new, I drove well enough, but thoughtful on roads with 1-2 inches of snow. But this winter, through the city with a 1-inch layer of snow, I had no grip.
Moreover, a tire flank was deflected by less than 15,000 miles, but let's say it's bad luck.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-07 14:17:21
Writing about the Fullway HP 108 given 31% (205-55-16-R)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Total crap - how to make a quality car lethal - slightest damp and mildest bend and you are fighting the traction control system.

I'm binning them after less than 5000 miles - not worth the rise in insurance premium
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-26 13:20:28
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 67% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8 average miles
C Class Coupe 220 CDI with 225/40/18 on the front and 255/35/18 on the rear. After 76,000 miles on several sets of the Continentals fitted as standard I fancied a change. Eventually decided to try the ZZ5s and had them fitted front and back at the same time.

Initial impressions on driving with the ZZ5s were that there was a lot more feel and feedback through the front wheels in comparison to the Continentals. Cornering is improved. Whereas the Continentals seemed to cause the car to flop into the apex of a bend, on the ZZ5s the car seems to hold a better line through a corner. My perception is that I could drive the car faster through a given corner in comparison the Continentals.

In comparison to my recollection of the Continentals, the ZZ5s seem very prone to 'tram lining', particularly on the concrete sections of the M25 motorway. The ZZ5s are also noisy on these same concrete sections but quiet on the Tarmac sections. The biggest downside to the ZZ5s is a jitteriness or sense of instability in a straight line at speed of the rear tyres. I don't know if the side walls of the ZZ5s are stiffer or softer than the Continentals, but it is quite unnerving when the back end of the car seems to want to point the front end in a different direction at 70 or 80mph. It certainly keeps me alert on the motorway. Interestingly, I don't get the same jitteriness at 50mph on an A or B road with a worse surface.

Fuel economy with the ZZ5s is about the same as the Continentals. They have the same rating so no surprises there.

In terms of purchase cost, the four ZZ5s were fitted for £330, which was quite a saving over prices quoted for the big brands at the time. However, I'm not sure that I would buy them them again for the C Class Coupe - that rear end jitteriness is a significant issue that detracts from the overall experience of driving on these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-21 13:00:56
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre