Goodride SP06

The Goodride SP06 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 71%
Road Feedback 67%
Handling 66%
Wear 73%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 68%

Tyre review data from 23 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 260,640 miles driven.

The SP06 is ranked 70th of 201 Summer Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Goodride SP06
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodride SP06
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodride SP06. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Goodride SP06 Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Daihatsu Move (155/50 R13) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Completely excellent tyres, makes the car very grippy and fun to throw into the corners. The feedback provided is excellent whilst still being very comfortable.

They are a touch on the loud side, but that is a very minor concern for something that for all other purposes are most certainly brilliant tyres.

This customer will most certainly be returning to buy them when the time comes once more.
91 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2014   
Given 39% while driving a Suzuki Swift 1.3l 2007 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 200 average miles
All I can say is CHEAP, CRAPPY, a bad decision to buy. Having full access to a tire shop with modern equipment, we couldnt get any of these to properly balance as all four had exceptionally high runout in the up and down and side to side directions. Mounting them on the rims in multiple positions did not correct, while on most brands it will fix. The car shook like crazy at 60mph and up and wasnt stabile. We replaced them with Nankang CX668s and a world of difference.
29 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2016   
Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz c 220 cdi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 290 average miles
i have had michelin goodyear F1 tyres, they wore out very very quickly too expensive also. never again.
i have had continental sport contact 5 they wore out very very quickly also, again way too expenisve.

i now have these tyres and you know what, i get a better ride quality and better repsponse. I don,t know about you guys, but modern day cars suspention seems far far far too hard or jerky on the ride. I don,t know what car builders have done to suspention but they have made a right pigs ear of it.

anway these cheaper tryes are doing just as good, grip very well and in the wet also no problems there at all. And you know what folks i have put these on sport 220 cdi mercedes and you know what im chuffed to bits. There a good good solid tyre, so for me i won,t be spending silly money on tyres in the future im done with that. Those expensive tyres are not worth all that money no way not at all.

so now im going and experimenting with nice looking tyres but a cheaper brand and im glad i did. There just as good and lasting great and doing a good stand up quality job on handling and wear and tear.

no problems here.
22 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2017   
Have you driven on the Goodride SP06 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodride SP06? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodride SP06 >

Latest Goodride SP06 Reviews

Peugeot 208 1.2VTi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 55,000 easy going miles
Worst tyres ever bought, car skids on straight even at low speeds, crap choice, needs to always control the steering wheel...
18 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2020   
Given 62% while driving a Ford Focus C Max (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 23,000 average miles
The Goodride tyres were the cheapest in local shops and the summer tyres that came with my car were just barely roadworthy so I ended up getting these. For the first summer they were fine, although on the loud side and heavy to roll (not as heavy as friction tyres on bare tarmac though) they rolled smoothly. They have a fairly good grip IMO, in soaking wet weather on the motorway I was able to brake from 100 to 30 rather rapidly (the line in front suddenly slowed down and I followed suit) and there was no single kick from the ABS, no weaving, nothing peculiar that way.

On the second spring on those tyres, some vibration started occurring at about 120 km/h and it was resolved by rebalancing, although it returned a bit towards the fall.

Now on the third spring, vibration starts a wee bit above 100 km/h and is apparently not remarkably altered by rebalancing. The tyres are visibly lumpy and bumpy, unevenly worn and louder than before, also they tend to weave a bit. I have had the car checked for play in the joints, rack ends, support arms, and bearings. None was found and the rims are also reasonably straight.

So maybe if you have an near-end-of-life car and you need to get tires to drive for one summer or two, or to sell it off, these might not be too expensive, and will probably do fine. They just don't seem to be the most durable tyres available. After 23k miles there is half of the original tread left and the wear is uneven. So they won't be my first choice for the next tyre set.

I've had a car that came with used Nokia tyres, and I had that for four years. Never needed to rebalance, just changed two tyres on the last summer because they were worn - they lasted roughly 40k miles in my use, not sure how long the previous owner had them.
9 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2018   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 94% while driving a Suzuki ignis 1.3GL 2003 (165/70 R14) on mostly town for 13,000 average miles
I have these on the front of my 2003 Suzuki 1.3 ignis and iv had the car for a little over three years now. I bought it second hand from a dealer and the tyres were on it when I got it, if it was not for the problem of the tracking being out, favouring the left which has worn the outside edge on the near side and the inside edge on the off side of both my front tyres, the rest of the tyre is in very good condition still. These are summer tyres they do very well in the wet and to my surprise very well in the snow too [as long as you don't need to reverse], I think they have lasted very well. I only need to get two front tyres, but will change the back too, for the same as the front as the two back tyres don't even match each other never mind not matching the front., lol. I will be buying the same brand Goodride for my beloved ignis only this time I will be getting the All Weather tyres. They are a good price and very worth the bit extra for the all weather.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2017   
Given 87% while driving a Ford Ford Focus Mk2 1.8 TDCi 2006 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
Bought these tyres in 2012 and they were on the car for 3 years, during which time I covered 40,000 miles of mixed (urban/city/motorway) driving. I'm not a boy-racer so never pushed these to the ultimate cornering limit or wheelspun away from the lights, but always found them surefooted and never lacking in grip or feel.
Traction was always excellent, and so was wet grip & braking. I never skidded or triggered the ABS. Steering feel was very good.
Wear was excellent - I covered 40k miles before it was time to replace them - although you never know if this is your own driving style.
The only criticism is high road noise - especially so on poor surfaces.
I was so pleased with these that I purchased the same tyre again when it was time for new rubber.
10 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2016   
Given 46% while driving a Toyota Yaris (185/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 30,000 average miles
They last, they're pretty comfortable and quiet. Performance in the dry is about average, and in the wet pretty poor - wheelspins in the wet easily, and doesn't grip well. In fact, it's not very safe in the wet at all.
Does not inspire confidence with lack of feedback too, although the Yaris steering is significantly to blame for that too. But the new Bridgestone Ecopia EP150s we put on do give some feedback, and perform much better overall, especially in the wet. Definitely not buying these cheapo Goodrides again - more often than not, you get what you pay for.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2015   
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0 140 TDI Sport Estate (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
I was drawn to these tyres by the unlimited mileage accidental damage warranty. For what is branded as a budget tyre, this knocks the socks off premium tyres! Quiet on motorways, great grip when throwing it around country lanes!

I bought these tyres for my wife’s Golf after the success of these on a high speed, high miler reps car.
11 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2014   
Given 75% while driving a Ford crown vic p71 interceptor (225/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
I got these by error...no way would I have purchased these knowingly...i have tried to find problem with them..I drive hard and fast...like a cop would..seems to be ok. The tires hold in a curve at 90 ..wont easily spin in the rain..not bad for 350$ with tax and road hazzard.its not like im not driving a $ 2200 old police car..they arent a bad choice for the price..just dont tell anyone.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2013   
Given 74% while driving a Peugeot 206 cc (195/55 R15 V) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
Bought a pair to replace my front tyres, superb value for daily use. Grip is good for both dry and wet condition, road noise is alright as long as your are nor driving above 80mph.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2013   
Given 40% while driving a Subaru Legacy (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 8,000 average miles
Have them on a 2007 Subaru Legacy. The noise level
is incredible! Between 80kph and 100kph, you'd think
you are taking off!! Would NEVER recommend. Stay away.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2013   
Given 87% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 2.4 JTD mjet (205/55 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I have the West Lake branded SP06.

These are not a brands you let on that you are using on a motors forum as tyres are a fashion/bragging item. They will most likely be labelled ditch finders like Ling Long, Hero or Wanli.

Truth is most people do not research anything other than the premium brands. There are rubbish tyres on the market coming out of Asia. Goodride/West Lake are far better, they have award winning research and development facilities which are state of the art and used by other manufacturers. They also have some of the most modern manufacturing plants.

They do not disappoint on the car and wear nicely and evenly. My car is a high mileage work horse and these go hand in hand with it.

There are so many budget brands, Goodride/Westlake, Barum Bravurais 2, Nankangs are probably the best and if we could have a decent road test of budgets and mid-rang I reckon they would rate amoung the highest.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2013   
Given 10% while driving a Honda Accord (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
worst tire i've ever had. they are so loud my radio doesn't drown out the noise
1 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2012   
Given 81% while driving a Toyota (165/70 R13) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I bought the M+S (all-season) Westlake version. Driven 15k miles on it, still got 5mm left of thread! I make long weekend drives in the mountains, gravel roads so it's never treated like a lady. Wear is very good, having it on a small sub compact car helps too I guess. Almost as good grip in the wet, of course will still hydroplane if you plow through a shallow flood at 100+ kph, any tire will, trust me!

Less progressive in wet tarmac(asphalt) on the lightly loaded axle. This means you might expect oversteer in fwd vehicles when turning too fast, understeer on dry. Progressive in gravel, both dry and wet(mud), tested in twisty gravel mountain roads. Warning: progressive can be a relative term. I have rally driving experience, what is progressive and good handling quality to me, might mean big trouble to others. I've seen the danger especially when I'm just training, don't push it!

Best tyres I've had for my use, surprisingly good grip in the mud. I've been in very sticky off road situations on my 2wd sub compact, and always got out without external help!! Remember if driving the popular front wheel drives, to get out of sticky situation, back out of it! Surprisingly durable too. Driving over freshly graded gravel roads, never got a puncture. I fully inspect my tyres every month and remove tiny rocks stuck in it. Just tiny cuts on the thread and none on the sidewalls. I'm definitely buying these tyres again if I can be assured that quality is consistent!!
1 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2012