Volkswagen Polo 19.TDI Sport Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Polo 19.TDI Sport.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Polo 19.TDI Sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Polo 19.TDI Sport better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental WinterContact TS830 (30) 90% 95% 90% 84% 85% 91%
Michelin Energy X2 Plus (6) 88% 87% 72% 88% 86% 88%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (48) 89% 92% 83% 86% 83% 86%
Avon Ice Touring (8) 85% 84% 70% 69% 94% 80%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (43) 79% 86% 74% 73% 86% 84%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (182) 88% 84% 79% 76% 62% 83%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Federal 595RSR (51) 86% 66% 76% 80% 72% 57%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (198) 84% 77% 75% 73% 62% 73%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (124) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Nexen CP641 (33) 75% 59% 62% 67% 76% 70%
Dunlop SP2000 (14) 78% 70% 73% 62% 59% 62%
Primewell PZ900 (59) 72% 58% 54% 57% 57% 50%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%

Volkswagen Polo 19.TDI Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 860 given 94% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
I had these fitted in November 2021 but never had a chance to test in real Wintry conditions. They were refitted in Nov to my Polo and this week Sun 11 Dec 2022 we had our first snow in SE UK. I went out in the car the following day and here are my thoughts: Slushy roads - good grip and will get you out of problems but be careful - no hard breaking or accelerating as they will slip but still give traction Ice - good grip but again be careful with breaking / accelerating Pristine snow - wow, excellent - hill starts, downhill and general grip is fantastic. Overall feel very safe with these tyres on.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-16 09:02:06
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 given 81% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 31000 spirited miles
I have had a set of these on my car since November 2017. Living in the southeast of England we have not had much snow since then and I have no real experience of performance in that kind of weather. However, they have been excellent tyres generally in warm and cold weather and I have done 31,000 miles on them - changing over once from back to front. These are the best wearing tyres I have ever had.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-18 03:22:22
Writing about the Michelin Energy X2 Plus given 85% (185-60-15-T)
Driving on mostly town for 300 spirited miles
I have a Polo sedan that came with special developed Goodyears DPV1. They had AWESOME braking and very decent feedback, but were noisy, very prone to loose contact with the ground when traveling at high speeds over road imperfections and the steering response was veeery slow. This Michelin tires are awesome +Soft construction yet quick steering response +High lateral grip and very good braking in dry +Good acceleration and very decent braking in wet +VERY good at displacing very deep water (No hydroplaning) +Very comfortable +They absorbe road imperfections like nothing else, they don't loose traction over bumps - The feedback is very poor. You don't feel the imperfections but you also don't feel the tire braking traction until you already lost it. - On wet (Particularly over not asphalt roads) the lateral grip reduces a lot (As expected) but since the feedback is poor, you suddenly loose traction. Not to a dangerous level and not at low speeds. But to drive fast in the wet they surely demand an experienced driver and quick reaction. Overall the tires are very good, I qualified them high on handling because of the awesome steering response, traction and lateral grip despite it's lack of feedback. They are really hard to hydroplane on and so far I like them. If I found problems with them or they wear out too fast I'll report, so if this is my last sentence take this as definitive.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-29 16:04:34
Writing about the Dunlop SP2000 given 91% (195-50-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
It is the saddest news i have heard. Sp 2000 is one of the best tyres i have ever put on my car. That is the best tyres you have ever made. please bring back the tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-28 05:52:29
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 83% (195-55-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Mounted yesterday, before this having Yokohama c-drive. From yesterday drived 400km. With Dunlop car is more stable, less noise, and so soft. I think that I made a good step. Only problem from what I am little aware is wear problem. Great tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-01 08:07:44
Writing about the Nexen CP641 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 easy going miles
Bought these tyres to repalce Firesone which were down to the limit. Fitted on front better feel than the out going tyres even before they were down to the limit. Swopped them to the back as recomended . Yet again fine. Good tyre good price
Would definatly buy agian
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-19 11:54:15
Writing about the Yokohama Parada Spec 2 given 92% (195-50-15-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Very good in the dry you can make them squeal but they stay planted in the wet very dodgy very easy to just break away
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-18 06:54:27
Writing about the Federal 595RSR given 61% (205-60-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Nice tyre but tyre makes 'n noise when about 7MM is still left.
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-02 08:04:50
Writing about the Primewell PZ900 given 39% (205-45-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10 spirited miles
Had a pair fitted to the front, Very Poor wear life Just under 10,000 miles untill they needed to be replaced. Dry grip ok, Wet there very Poor.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-25 15:05:17
Writing about the Event WL905 given 43% (195-45-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10 spirited miles
Front Tyres had a very poor wear life, With un even wear. Rears Lasted nearly 30,000 miles so quite good. Dry Grip is Ok when pushing on, In the wet as people have mentioned There leathel. Deffo will not be purchasing another set!


tyre reviewed on 2012-04-25 14:59:43
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS830 given 84% (195-50-15-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
I got these tyres fitted to my Polo 1.9TDi at the beginning of Dec 2010. I have to say that they were brilliant in the snow. Starting and stopping on compacted snow and ice was excellent. I felt very safe in the car and could even go where 4x4 drivers thought they had the edge. Going uphill was a cinch even from a standing start. I was sad to see the snow go as I just loved to drive in it with these fitted to my car.
Would thoroughly recommend that people use these tyres in true wintry conditions.
One *slight* issue I found was that occasionally they would not give an even response when accelerating / decelerating on uneven road surfaces in ordinary non-snowy dry / wet conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-14 05:17:39
Writing about the Avon Ice Touring given 84% (165-70-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
oh my god! what a fantastic tyre. i have had these fitted for 2 weeks now so cant report on wear rates or dry road grip but the huge dump of snow we had this morning has caused me one massive problem. everybody else is now in my way! had to overtake a land rover discovery that was going too slow!on my 30 mile commute there was nothing that posed even the slightest problem. i even tried a more hilly route in places to see what would stop me but no, i just sailed up.
i can not recommend this tyre more highly. fantastic.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-18 10:18:19
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre