Avon Ice Touring

The Avon Ice Touring is a Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 8 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 40,500 miles driven, and 1 tests with an average result of 39th.

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 69%
Wear 94%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 93%

The Ice Touring is ranked 24th of 96 Winter Touring tyres.

Tests Included

1

Best Result

39th

Worst Result

39th

Average Result

39th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2015 Tyre Tests

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Avon Ice Touring

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Avon Ice Touring. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Avon Ice Touring Reviews

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
I’ve had these tyres on my polo 6n2. The car hasn’t got the best handling, a lot of under steer and body roll but since I had these Avon ice tyres fitted the car straight away felt different to drive. Good grip and very good on wet surface also the tyres lasted for ages. I would give it 8 out of 10 would definitely recommend but if you want the best winter/all season tyres go for uniroyals rain sport 3 that have been developed by continental and Michelin they’re top tier
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2021
Given 81% while driving a Skoda Octavia (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Used on two different cars {both Octavias} minimal wear over three years. Changing from summers {bridgstone e300} the difference in grip is very noticeable. Slightly noiser on rough surfaces, but grip well.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2014
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 19.TDI Sport (165/70 R14) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
oh my god! what a fantastic tyre. i have had these fitted for 2 weeks now so cant report on wear rates or dry road grip but the huge dump of snow we had this morning has caused me one massive problem. everybody else is now in my way! had to overtake a land rover discovery that was going too slow!on my 30 mile commute there was nothing that posed even the slightest problem. i even tried a more hilly route in places to see what would stop me but no, i just sailed up.
i can not recommend this tyre more highly. fantastic.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2010
Have you driven on the Avon Ice Touring tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon Ice Touring? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Avon Ice Touring >

Latest Avon Ice Touring Reviews

Given 63% while driving a Mazda 323 F lantis (BA) 1.5 (185/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
Decent tyre for an old car.
Doesn't provide a great grip in the dry, but it's quite normal for a snow tyre. In the wet these were a massime improvement compared to my old MICHELIN Energy Savers, but definately not a racing tyre (I think the compound is too hard)

Anyway in the snow these tyres are fantastic. Really, they are magic: great traction in every condition. Last winter I was the only car moving in an icy parking lot, impressive.

However I have agree with the review of another user of the ZT5 model: the behavior on uneven roads is very strange. There are strange movements of the steering wheel and you have to be ready to correct them quickly.

good noise levels for a snow tyre
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2014
Given 90% while driving a Mitsubishi lancer (195/60 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 7,500 average miles
fitted on car since November 2013 and they still look like new at the end of January 2014 best snow tyres I have had shame its not snowed yet
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2014
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Good winter tyres. No surprises, predictable, grippy. They do not appear to have worn too badly. Will buy again.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2011
Given 96% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Excellent, Superb, awesome.
My sedate Passat estate handled like a 4x4 in the recent snow and ice,I am now able to tackle snow covered hills with ease. If you are contemplating a set of winter boots then do it, wether you buy these or another make, get a branded set of winter tyres and you won't believe the difference. Wet grip is also excellent.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on December 21, 2010
Given 100% while driving a Fiat Scudo combi van (215/60 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
For the first time I've bought winter tyres and thank god I did. Last year I had normal tyres on my Fiat Scudo van and the wheels just spun in very light snow. After having Avon Ice touring tyres fitted the van is moving freely through heavy now and no wheel spinning whatsoever. Totally worth the cost and mush safer, I'll be having them fitted every winter now
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2010