Dunlop SP2000

The Dunlop SP2000 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 78%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 62%
Wear 59%
Comfort 62%
Buy again 53%

Tyre review data from 14 tyre reviews averaging 65% over 334,532 miles driven.

The SP2000 is ranked 96th of 130 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Dunlop SP2000
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Dunlop SP2000
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Dunlop SP2000. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Dunlop SP2000 Reviews

Given 34% while driving a Peugeot 307 (205/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
I wouldn't buy these again particularly due to high road noise and the lack of wet grip. Wear is not great either given they are used very lightly.

Have tried at various tyre pressures and the noise at low speeds is very intrusive regardless. At higher speeds, it only gets worse.

Avoid if possible!
3 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2012   
Given 84% while driving a BMW 320d touring (225/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Great tire in the dry and i was quite impressed with it in the wet as well. Fronts have been on for 10,000 miles and are starting to get quite low, rears lasted 8,000miles but this is on a bmw thats gets a hell of a thrashing. Pretty easy to go sideways when tread gets low but otherwise very impressive tires. Great down country roads, stopping distance is remarkable and they never lock up, cornering is very impressive at even at triple figure speeds (i dont live in the uk and only drive fast when i can see the road ahead is clear)
1 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2014   
Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 19.TDI Sport (195/50 R15) on mostly town for 0 average miles
It is the saddest news i have heard. Sp 2000 is one of the best tyres i have ever put on my car. That is the best tyres you have ever made. please bring back the tyre.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 28, 2019   
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP2000 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP2000? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP2000 >

Latest Dunlop SP2000 Reviews

Given 66% while driving a Toyota Celica GTi (205/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Been waiting for these to wear down as they just last so long!
Found a nail in the drivers front and was almost happy with the decision to change all of them!
Nowhere near the performance of other top brand tyres I have used, and I would compare performance of that of a good budget.
Not bad in the dry, giving predictable and consistent break away limits, but straight line high speed stability is below average. Wet performance is ok on the straight, but likes to understeer even at the lowest speeds in the twisties.
I would also say they are quite niosy too.

Doing this review after changing to Continental sport contact2's and the difference is outstanding!
0 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2013   
Given 59% while driving a Skoda Fabia vRS (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
After only running these tyres on the front of my Fabia vRS for less than 1000 miles I can honestly say that I won't be disappointed if they don't last long. The droning road noise is annoying especially on dual carriage ways and motorways with a smooth surface. I had Nexen’s fitted before which would seem a better buy in hindsight.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2013   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 81% while driving a Toyota Altis (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 60,000 average miles
I was previously running on Toyo C1S (recommended for comfort and quiet) and despite of some negative comments, I've decided to give it a try since it's much more cheaper than the Japan made tyres.

Even with an expensive tyres like Toyo, my car was still previous slipping whenever it runs through puddle of water or during wet season.

I am extremely surprised that the SP2000 was really good cutting through water and rarely hydroplane during high speed (above 100km/hour) and no jitter to the steering.

Probably Toyota has better sound insulation and I don't notice extra road noise that's unbearable.

The grip really does feel sportier comparing to softer compound tyres on Toyo and it gives more confident when taking bents on dry and wet terrain.

I have not come to conclude the wear and tear/lifespan of the tyres yet but hopefully with proper maintenance it can last for probably 2 years or so.. which if it is, then it'll be a bang for buck and worth getting again..

The only setback is the looks of it, as it looks a little round on the side profile which seems slightly odd.. but as long as it does it's job, vanity is irrelevant..
0 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2012   
Given 40% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (215/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Put these on my Focus after the GY Eagle NCT5's wore out. They're ok, no more than that. With the NCT5's I never realised the car had traction control, with the Dunlop's, the TC is on a lot, on wet and dry roads. They never actually let go, but understeer is noticeable. they feel like what they are, a cheaper replacement for the Eagles. I wo.t be buying these again.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2012   
Given 57% while driving a SEAT Cordoba Sport 2.0 (205/45 R16 W) on mostly town for 72,000 average miles
I went trough 2 sets of this tire the first one lasted only 24,000 miles due to poor maintenance on my part (the inside wear out) and the second set lasted 48,000 miles with a normal wear but in the end some bubbles/bulges started to appear. The biggest complain is the wet grip which make the ABS and the traction control work a lot. I replace them with the Cooper Zeon 2XS and they have much better grip in the rain
0 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2012   
Given 86% while driving a Toyota Yaris (185/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 22 average miles
I bought my brand new Toyota Yaris fitted with Dunlop's SP Sport 2030 (I guess it's virtually the same model as 2000/2050). I was very pleased with the grip on both dry and wet roads, quite pleasant sound at all speeds. I was a little disappointed with the wear - although still enough depth in channels, rubber was quite rotten (TREAD WEAR number is 360). I was looking to by new set of these tires for my car, but dealer told me they're not made anymore. So I went for Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response and I'm very pleased with them so far (I'll write my review in that section when I'll have my opinion on them).
0 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2011   
Given 89% while driving a BMW E46 3 Series (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 119,000 average miles
I replaced my car with dunlop sp2000 at 101,000 miles and the car is not at 119,000. I have not changed my tyres yet and they still have about 3mm tread.
Grip is good in wet and dry and I feel that the ride is very comfortable and smooth. Some people suggest alot of road noise, i disagree. I would definitely buy agin.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2010   
Given 59% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.9 Tdi (205/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
After buying the car with these fitted, I have driven around a 1000 miles, although these tyres are grippy I feel when I have pushed them the feedback becomes vague.
If pushed hard the front will understeer forcing you to back off but this could also be due to large engine up front.
The back has let go on a roundabout but only slightly and could be keep under control.
The road noise is slightly above avarage conpared to the P6000 I had on my previous car a focus 1.8 although these tyres were 195/60/15 which means a softer ride and a smaller profile
0 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2010   
Given 59% while driving a SEAT ibiza 1.4 (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
Although these have good grip in dry and wet conditions,thay are quite noisey ? mayby the car.I am disappointed at the rate of wear ,on the blocks at the front and not much more on the rears.I think that Dunlop's have a softer compound,because i have found that the 4x4's i drive at work also have a faster wear rate than other brands.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2008   
Given 66% while driving a Toyota Yaris (185/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 13,500 average miles
Gives great grip in all weather types (haven't tried snow!) Disappointed that the tyres need replacing after only 13500 miles.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2007   
Given 51% while driving a Toyota Corolla (205/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Theses are pretty decent in the wet and dry but they seem to be wearing quite quickly which is surprising as I thought they were a longer life sports tyre.

Won't buy again, there's better in the class.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2007