BMW E46 3 Series Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW E46 3 Series.

Do you Drive a BMW E46 3 Series? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a E46 3 Series better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Intertrac TC525 (2) 95% 90% 85% 85% 85% 85%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (151) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (44) 86% 89% 84% 78% 83% 88%
Kumho IZen KW23 (10) 83% 83% 78% 76% 86% 85%
Toyo R1R (28) 95% 81% 92% 90% 59% 70%
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Michelin Pilot Sport (41) 92% 82% 86% 81% 73% 75%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (226) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Marangoni Meteo HP (14) 79% 88% 74% 68% 72% 82%
Falken FK451 (10) 79% 77% 73% 71% 81% 79%
Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico (26) 87% 75% 79% 82% 73% 71%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Uniroyal RainSport (24) 79% 87% 70% 78% 72% 74%
Kormoran Runpro B2 (3) 80% 67% 77% 67% 87% 83%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Michelin Pilot Primacy (51) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71%
Yokohama S Drive (64) 82% 68% 75% 76% 71% 68%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (154) 83% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (208) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (152) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Dunlop SP2000 (14) 78% 70% 73% 62% 59% 62%
Nankang NS2 (208) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (59) 75% 65% 64% 61% 65% 62%
Sunny SN3970 (45) 71% 49% 55% 54% 64% 55%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (132) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Pirelli P6000 (172) 66% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (138) 71% 53% 54% 48% 55% 32%
Sunew YS618 (57) 61% 36% 47% 44% 52% 49%

BMW E46 3 Series Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Intertrac TC525 given 89% (235-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 easy going miles
30,000 miles on a set of rear tyres fitted to BMW X3 2.0d. Unbelievable durability
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-21 12:13:00
Writing about the Kormoran Runpro B2 given 31% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
bad wear and shockingly dangerous in the wet , they are fine in the dry nothing special but not bad but when it rains they are a deathtrap
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-02 22:50:52
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 80% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15 spirited miles
It is a very good tyre and it responds very well in every kind of driving style. It is quiet with plenty of grip and precise steering wheel. The overall driving performance of the car is upgrated, even the acceleration is improved.The wear rate is good in the roads of Greece where the friction factor is low. It is not a race tyre but I suppose it is designed for the roads and not for the race. I own a BMW and I enjoy the spirited style of the car. These tyres never disappointed me whenever I demanded all the potential either from the engine (143ps) or from the handling.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-27 18:44:58
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 2 given 91% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
I'd never heard of these, but my mechanic rated them and told me they were part on continental. I put a pair on the rear of a bmw 3 series touring that i used for genarally everything a bit grubby from fishing, dogs, tip runs and work as i'm a carpenter. I gave £120 for the pair fitted/balanced and Vat. I have just had the front pair replaced with exactly the same tyres and when my missus is up for new tyres these are whats going on, there just value for money, excellent grip and wear, so very safe a sturdy. Nice thread pattern for wet weather, only done about 2000 miles on the rear set but they look untouched and bear in mind these are on a rear wheel drive bmw carrying a bit of weight most days.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-12 11:29:42
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 given 80% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
Nice handling,very good in dry grip.In the wet condition is far better than my previous tyres (Nitto invo) low aquaplaning feedback.Low road noise when comparing in the range of sporty tyres. The tyres are quite stiff but not that bad...so far so good.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-03 16:58:29
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 46% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
Bought an E46 330i with these already fitted after years with a 323i / Dunlop combination. At first I thought they were runflats! Uncomfortable and LOTS of road noise, especially on the half worn rears. Grip okay in the dry to be fair, but very snappy and unco-operative in the wet. But damp roads are the worst, where grip is poor and feed back nil. Have NEVER seen the traction control light come on before on a straight damp motorway in a 3rd gear foot to the floor moment! Only saving grace is that the amount of wear after 5000 miles is negligible.

Bitten the bullet and replaced with Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2's. What a transformation. Progress is now calm, planted and I don't get an headache at speeds over 60mph. And roundabouts are no longer negotiated through the side window.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-04 10:17:10
Writing about the Marangoni Meteo HP given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 200 average miles
The star ratings dont cover how much I love these tyres. My BMW 325 ground to a halt in the slightest snow conditions on normal all round tyres last year. This year on the Meteo's I have not only driven through conditions I would have avoided last year, but have done so with total ease. I deliberately chose thinner tyres for the replacement 16 inch rims for the snow as I figured it would be an improvement over fat tyres like the 18 inch rims wear. I have seen other RWD cars this year struggling like I once did. While with the snowies on I have cruised over the same road with no trouble at all. I havent even needed to switch off the traction control. Snow and slush are no issue. even compacted snow and ice with snow on top hasnt fazed them. If I had to say anything, its that in the wet they were about equal to the sports tyres I normally have on. But in icy cold conditions, in snowm slush and ice, they are a 99.99 percent improvement over the normal tyres. Especially so as they let me not only drive forwards, but they do so with the car in a straight line, last year I was at 45 degrees for the most part and all movement was a struggle at best, and a complete failure at worst. Stopping in snow and ice is amazing compared to my summer rubber and happens so well that you feel like you have to work to make the ABS kick in. One thing that almost caught me out while getting carried away was the way 90 degree turns at too much speed went from under control to the front going wide. It was more my fault than the tyres though and is directly related to my seeing where the line was drawn. Once I understood where the grip went in a tight turn, I adapted and have no complaints from them. The marangonis were without doubt a perfect purchase in terms of being able to use the car whatever the weather conditions. Last year without them was a none starter as the car got stuck fast, this year the snow is only a speed deterrent and not a snow stops play issue. I drive between easy going and average for the most part, and even though I have covered less than 200 miles on them so far (the majority in the snow), I have to say that it has made for an amazing experience. I had never realised what a difference they actually make. Would I recommend them to friends? Yes, and I have done. Would I buy them again? another yes. The only real complaint? It took a while to be sure they were facing the right direction when fitted as they had no directional rotation arrow on the sidewall. Had us headscratching until we worked it out. Otherwise, as near perfect as can be and for the price, even better. One very happy buyer/road user
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-02 04:15:52
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 86% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I'm very happy with the amazing fit on my 318i e46 with Pirelli Pzero Rossos 245/35/18 on the rear and Barum Bravius 2s in the front 225/45/18s ,a good set on my Advanti Racing 18s ! Cheers :)))
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-20 10:47:44
Writing about the Sunew YS618 given 90% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Changed the front pair from worn nexen to these Sunew and am happy so far, bit noisier but I suppose thats what you have with new tread.
I'd say my driving is average, not boy-racer and not driving Miss Daisy either, its rained for the past couple of days and I've not lost grip yet, pushed them abit around corners and considering they are new they feel pretty good, so far. Paid just shy of ?100 fitted for the pair.
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-17 15:27:34
Writing about the Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico given 56% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
First month they weren't too bad, but after that they tracked to every line on the road, constantly fighting to make them go where I wanted too, had the car checked at least 5 times over 2 years, no issues with suspension or alignment, these tyres were horrid, and got swapped out before their time because I was sick of them. They never gripped consistently in the dry, and weren't any difference in the wet. Stopping distance not as good as the Conti Sport 2's.
tyre reviewed on 2010-09-24 02:29:31
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 37% (255-55-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
These tyres(new) were on the car when i bought it 18 months ago.The compound of them is rock hard,still have loads of there tread left after 15k.The trade off for this is that they're only ok in the dry but in the wet they want to let go very easily,have had a couple of scary experiences and wasn't even pushing them.Will be changing to a safer and softer compound tyre soon.
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-29 00:19:25
Writing about the Sunny SN3970 given 23% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
So so so so so dangerous on my BMW E46 330. the car feels like the back is out of control and swings like a pendilum in corners and creates oversteer even though they do not loosing grip. i have even had the common trailing arm bushes replaced on the back of the car as it is so bad and has made no difference so i borrowed my sisters rear wheels from her car - perfect! put my sunny 3970 back on - dangerous!

I am a senior technician working in a ford main dealer so these words are from experience and testing (without sounding big headded lol)

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do not buy for the rear of a BMW!!!! maybe ok on others but not these.
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-21 18:28:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre