Sunny SN3970

The Sunny SN3970 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 71%
Wet Grip 49%
Road Feedback 55%
Handling 54%
Wear 64%
Comfort 55%
Buy again 46%

Tyre review data from 45 tyre reviews averaging 56% over 502,725 miles driven.

The SN3970 is ranked 147th of 199 Summer Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 33rd of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Sunny SN3970
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Sunny SN3970. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Sunny SN3970 Reviews

Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150) (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 2,000 easy going miles
I have brought a Vectra 1.9 CDTi 16v from a dealer and I found it had 4 new tyres fitted “Sunny 3970” I have had cheap tyres before on cars and found that they are fine so long as you don’t drive past 80% of the cars capability. Well, after reading the reviews from the first few comments I nearly panicked and started looking at spending £600+ the next day. I am so pleased I decided to live them for a few weeks to see if all the negativity was right, well I am pleased to say it wasn’t and I have driven them on the motorway “they are quiet and comfortable” in the dry they stick like glue – in the wet! Well yes drive above 70-80% of car and they will give way. I would have no issue buying another set and seeing that the price is 60% cheaper, BRING THEM ON
26 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2011   
Given 70% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (265/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Very Skeptical about putting "budgets" on a £15k car.

Father-in-law is a mechanic and persuaded me to buy these as he had used them before and, I didn't rate the Michelin's i had on previously (absolutely shocking in the wet, but brilliant in the dry).

Having just had a baby i wanted something safe but wouldn't cost the best part of £1000 to put on all 4 corners, so expressed interest in mid-ranges i.e Nexen/ Barum etc. Having had the Sunny SN3970 just fitted i thought i would "test" them out in a rather spirited drive... By god do they grip! They have a slightly softer sidewall than most premium tyres but they cost up to 4x as much as these

Most of my journeys consist of 3/4 motorway 1/4 road use. In the wet they are grippy but can let go if jumping on the accelerator too quickly, but they are no worse than Michelin Pilot Sport's. In the dry they are on par with Continental's. The road noise is nothing compared to Michelin Cross Climates, they are pretty quiet to say how cheap they are.

Plenty of tread left on still, would estimate around 25,000 in total miles but could be more with how they're wearing. Sometime it makes you wonder what the difference really is between £70 and £200...

I have put down the scores as they are now, some of the figure may get better over time and others may get worse, but would definitely consider buying these again.
17 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2017   
Given 66% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK350 Coupe (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Reading previous reviews, i think these tyres depend on what car you drive. I put them on my car as both my previous back tyres succumbed to bad punctures and couldnt be repaired. So i thought pay a third of the cost. I have found them to be quite reasonable, great in dry conditions and good feel, not too bad in the wet. I have only got 10,000 miles out of them and they have got progressively noiser with wear. Debating wether to get another pair or pay double for the new uniroyal rainsports that i have on the front!!!!
10 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2016   
Have you driven on the Sunny SN3970 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Sunny SN3970? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Sunny SN3970 >

Latest Sunny SN3970 Reviews

Given 59% while driving a Toyota 2006 Avalon (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I drive '96 Toyota Curren, Basicly a Celica body with a Corolla drivetrain that replaced the Corolla Levin between generations for a couple of years. The Sunny 3970 tyres came fitted when I bought it, they were good all round tyres for a less than stellarly powerful but decently handling coupe, I drove mostly on hill and mountain roads and they managed .7G sideways grip in they dry but I never pushed them in the wet since the roads aren't the best. Comfort was pretty good for a 45 profile tyre, they are softer than Toyo Proxes in the same 45 profile I had fitted to another car, so a softer sidewall giving less jolt to the ride. They were over half worn when I bought the car in 2016 and lasted another 7500 Km of spirited driving before one front was down to the belt on the inside and both fronts were down to the depth indicators across the tread. (DOT manufacturing dates show they were made 2012 & 2013) They're good tyres for a mildly hot hatch or a basic sports car like a Prelude or Celica, But I wouldn't recommend fitting them to something more serious like a Boxster. I would have bought the same again but they weren't available in my town, I replaced them with Falken ZE914EC instead.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2021   
Given 43% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 easy going miles
I couldn't afford any better tyres for my Mondeo and yes I read and took with a pinch of salt the "ditchfinder" comments. However the noise levels after a little while became almost unbearable to the extent I decided I might have to go out and get a job to buy a better tyre. No. I am not on the dole but am retired. Then the other day an un-maintained bit of road with a catseye sticking 5cms above the surface ripped a hole in the outside wall of the offside front tyre. Yesterday I got another "puncture". On taking the rear wheel off it became apparent that the inner rear wall was stripped to the steel all round and in two places there was only the inner webbing visible. These are tyres one should be very careful of. On the subject of inflatable things this experience has definitely put the wind up me I can tell you!
I have discovered that tyres now have a decibel rating as well as fuel economy and braking efficiency. Just remember though that 3 decibels is the difference between virtually intolerable and fairly quiet.
4 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2016   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 74% while driving a Toyota supra turbo (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
These were fitted new on the rear of a set of alloys i bought for my mk3 toyota supra. I was going to replace them before fitting to the car as its highly modified, with 365bhp and 420lb/ft of torque, but decided to give them a try. They performed very well with lots of grip in the dry, only a fool would try hard in the wet with 365hp i dont care what tyres were fitted. With that much torque it dosnt take much to make the rear step out of line, but i had to use quite a bit of right foot to make them break traction, i was impressed. I also maxed the car at 175mph ( private road of course ) without a hint of vibration. Noise was not a problem because the car is so loud anyway. When i priced them i couldnt believe how cheap they were, so paying three times as much for premium tyres proves to me your paying a lot for the name when budget tyres like these will perform at 80% of the premium ones. I wouldnt say all budget tyres are as good as these, but in this case the people who rubbish these dont know what there talking about, or are brand snobs. If your on a budget, Go and buy them, you wont be disappointed.
5 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2015   
Given 53% while driving a Mercedes Benz E270 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I had some sunny 18" on the back wheels when I bought the car. Had to mot the car 2 months later. Mot tester found that the inner sidewalls were TORN/SHREDDED on both wheels ALL THE WAY ROUND. They still had 7mm of tread left. I feel like I've had a lucky escape. I will not recommend these tyres or buy them again.
6 - tyre reviewed on August 18, 2015   
Given 32% while driving a Audi S3 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
bought a car with four of these on first time it rained was like driving on a skid pan avoid at all cost binned them with over seven mm on that's how bad they are
2 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2015   
Given 31% while driving a Vauxhall (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
BY FAR THE WORST TYRES I HAVE EVER HAD FITTED ON A CAR IN OVER 22yrs OF DRIVING!!! These should never be allowed on cars for normal road use. The road noise is deafening! Total waste of money, stay away from them and NEVER fit them to your car!
1 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2015   
Given 54% while driving a Ford Focus 2.0 S TDCi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Bought two of these for my Focus. Had to move them from front to rear as road noise was loud, very loud. Still noisy on rear but not as bad as before. They handle fine in the dry, not so well in the wet. If you drive normally in the wet they are fine, but if you are a "spirited" driver or like quiet tyres, I would avoid.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 19, 2015   
Given 14% while driving a BMW 330d M Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Worst tyres I have ever bought, Have a BMW 330D M sport and the tyre walls on these sunnys are very weak, once they get warm, go round a corner and the alloy ends up scraping the road. apprantly wet road grip is 'B'. I really don't think so. Going back to my Bridgstones, thought I would give this a try and never again. If you want to crash your car, feel free to buy these tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2015   
Given 53% while driving a Audi A6 2.5 TDI Quattro (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
Sunny SN 3970 looks good BUT in wet........bad grip! Also the life of the tyre is poor. In dry conditions and easy going drivestyle it's a good tyre. Cheap price.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2015   
Given 26% while driving a Toyota (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
These were fitted to the car when I bought it. Never EVER get a 'Sunny' tyre. These are lethal. I've swapped them for something that doesn't to try kill me and my family every time there's a hint of rain.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2015   
Given 44% while driving a Peugeot 407Hdi (215/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 11,000 spirited miles
Diabolical. Rubber cracked between the treads after covering 11k in 10 months.

They've become so noisy I had my mechanic check for wheel bearing failure.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2014   
Given 38% while driving a BMW 328ci (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
i was looking for a tyre to give me very poor wet road grip(fitted only to rear) for to have some cheap fun with. i read the reviews this tyre and thought "they sound shit, i'll try them". i expected them to be pants and they are. driving normally and legally they aren't a problem what so ever. totally fine for the normal average driver. i fitted them to the rear of my bmw hoping for some fun as i normally have michelin super sports on which are amazing. taking corners 70mph+ these tyres wobble and make it feel like your driving on a oil slick, not a nice feel and above 130mph they are rather scary. In the dry when you want them to loose grip they are unpredictable, road noise isn't a issue for me but they were 'droney' (if thats a word) when above 80mph. they do however smoke very well. on the whole these are cheap tyres. if you pay peanuts thats what you get. if you want something and expect them to be great then get a proper tyre
0 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2014