Sumitomo H/TR Z III

The Sumitomo HTR Z III is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 76%
Wear 88%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 79%

Tyre review data from 10 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 85,178 miles driven.

The H/TR Z III is ranked 18th of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Sumitomo HTR Z III

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Sumitomo HTR Z III

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Sumitomo HTR Z III. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Sumitomo HTR Z III Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX STI (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
These are a solid wet weather tyre with excellent wear properties over standard OEM (Bridgestone Re040) tyres. They are a little skidish during hard cornering on dry services and lack a fair amount of dry grip. I'm a little gun shy after unpredicted drift into a bend. I will opt for a more grippy tyre to enjoy more spirited driving. As a daily drive its a good value tyre though, particularly for your grandmothers car.
Helpful 55 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2014
Given 60% while driving a BMW 335i (225/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I bought this 1month ago and for some reason at first i put these in rear of my car (which should be 255.30.19) and amazingly it was the best tire i ve ever had in my rear axel , it was the best grip i v ever had , and then i found the michelin pss and put these in there right place in front axel , and now these are very bad in cornering and braking , use these tires just in rear of your car
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2017
Ford (245/40 R17) on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
I was recommended 245/40/17s by ian diffan and they were incompatible with the traction control as the diameter was incorrect but sumitomo did come to the party and replaced with 245/45/17s that cured the problem but proved not only to be no where near as good for grip or traction as the pirelli's they replaced but look terrible to the point of replacing them within a week to my loss
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2016
Have you driven on the Sumitomo HTR Z III tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Sumitomo HTR Z III? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Sumitomo HTR Z III >

Latest Sumitomo HTR Z III Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW 320 TDI (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
perfect grip. Very good on wet roads
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2020
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (225/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
best tyre I ever bought
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2020
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 87% while driving a MINI Cooper S (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18 spirited miles
Running theses on my 2002 MINI S. These tires are perfect for spirited driving and fantastic in heavy rain. I like them so well I’m on my 8th set on this car! I get about 23-28,000 miles on a set. Ran Pirelli (run flats) Kumho, and Coopers. Sumitomo’s are by far my favorite. BTW....277,000 miles on my MINI
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on July 22, 2019
Given 89% while driving a Ford Fiesta Zetec S (195/50 R15 R) on mostly motorways for 13,000 easy going miles
These tyres are good for price
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2018
Given 66% while driving a Kia Motors Forte Koup (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 50 average miles
they are what they are, a summer tire maybe one of the best in that matter and on wet surface they work very good but the real problem is their side grip on wet surface , you can brake and be sure that they will stop the car in rain on a straight line but if you are not experienced enough their side skiing can make a disaster, trust me many times i felt their side instability not in corners! No, they dont need corners to ski even the change in asphalt materials can make you lose control, As a mechanical engineer I ONLY recommend them if you live in a dry place.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2018
Given 96% while driving a Nissan GT R (265/35 R18) on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
Excellent dry and wet grip, very predictable tyre. Would certainly buy again.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2016
Given 63% while driving a Mercedes Benz C32 AMG (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Reasonable grip in the dry for the price, quite and comfortable. Diabolical in the wet. Traction control cannot keep these things on the road. I'd fit these to an awd or low powered rwd but 350hp+ at the rear is shows these tires limitations very quickly.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2014