Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf MK7 GTI better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (119) 94% 93% 88% 91% 88% 84%
Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 (5) 96% 94% 66% 93% 97% 88%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (82) 88% 89% 84% 76% 92% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (208) 92% 90% 84% 86% 76% 80%
Falken Azenis FK510 (106) 90% 89% 83% 83% 75% 79%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (280) 90% 88% 84% 84% 73% 83%
Sumitomo HTR Z III (10) 87% 80% 84% 76% 88% 88%
Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 (3) 90% 80% 90% 87% 83% 77%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (122) 85% 73% 78% 76% 69% 65%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Novex Super Speed A2 (1) 70% 30% 50% 50% 70% 50%

Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 given 77% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Before I start my car is modified which might lead you to have a different experience, current mods at the time of the review are listed below. I came across the Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4's while looking for replacement tires for my 2019 GTI. The previous owner and I had gone through the OEM Bridgestone Potenza RE97AS in about 15k miles. I felt a huge difference immediately with how the car responded and held the corners. It no longer felt like the front tires were going to fold under and off the wheel under hard cornering, quick lane changes were no longer a dicy decision. These tires changed everything, Ive had the tires for about 5k miles and couldn't be happier. The grip in the dry feels limitless and I'm no longer burning up the brakes under repeated hard braking. I cannot comment on tire wear yet, so far so good but I'll have to see how they hold up. Snow performance, could be better. driving in heavy snow It feels like the tire fills with snow and hold onto it, after a few miles snow grip is no better than the OEM Bridgestone's. As far as ice grip goes, its fairly average and I can't complain. Overall I highly recommend these tires, they have amazing dry grip and in heavy rain and light snow I've had zero problems. On the highway there not intrusive with road noise, road feel isn't great but its not worse than the OEM tires (the GTI in general has poor road feel). If your looking for a performance oriented all season tire these are the ones to get. Current modifications: EQT Stage 1 tune BC Racing BR series coilers H&R Rear Sway Bar
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-16 18:36:42
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 100% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Really great tyre, good comfort and steering, really happy with it on my Golf
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-14 13:40:21
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 given 90% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-15 15:12:49
Writing about the Sumitomo HTR Z III given 100% (225-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
best tyre I ever bought
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-21 07:12:56
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 94% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Replaced with Michelin Pilot sport 3, and the Goodyear are perfect, got them on my golf 7 gti. Perfect fit, and not too expensive!
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-14 07:18:48
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 90% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
Got them on my stage 1 mk7 golf GTI all corners. Not as good as mpss in the dry but still very good. A lot better in the wet than the mpss. Would take these over the mpps for UK roads. Also cost £350 for all 4 tyres fitted at Kwik Fit.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-31 21:23:49
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 93% (205-65-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 9000 average miles
Good all year tyre
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-15 21:58:14
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 given 56% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 average miles
I had these on a Golf Mk7 GTI performance Pack.I was running 230bhp to the front wheels so traction would always be an issue but these tyres were not great at all. They lasted me 25,000 miles over 4 years and my driving style varies, however they are not good in corners, not good off the lights and not good in the wet. Wouldn't recommend these. Buying some Michelin Pilot Super Sports instead as they have been highly regarded on my car.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-22 12:07:23
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 98% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
Only done 150 miles but half of those have been on twisty roads in 14 degree temperatures, in spirited fashion. First impressions are very very good!

They replace bridgestone potenza s001 which were good, but these feel mùch more comfortable and smoother at low speeds. They're also more responsive and understeer is less apparent. Braking feels better as does acceleration, with them feeling more planted. I run pressures at 36psi all round.

I expected a slight difference as the bridgestone had 2.5mm tread but this feels a different car.

No wet miles yet but to be fair, tyres made of grease proof paper would rival the old rubber! The tyres also look better on the rims, looking lower in profile than the bridgestone.

Finally, I feel more confident getting the throttle on earlier out of corners already. No doubt more fun to be had.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-29 23:00:11
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 91% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
Excellent alternative to the premium brands. You will not notice the difference !
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-01 20:57:15
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 71% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4600 average miles
Dry grip is pretty good when the temperatures are in the double figures (Celsius) but really do drop considerably in crisp UK autumn and winter weather. This isn't completely unexpected but if you're not running winter tyres then is a big factor. Wet grip pretty good but the tyre does not let go so progressively in the wet. The biggest factor for me is the wear rate. Having done 4500 miles my fronts are 55% worn and the rears 45% worn (swap them around every 2500 miles). I drive fairly conservatively and the first 800 miles were running in so no harsh acceleration or deceleration. At least 1500 miles are motorway miles cruising at 100kph.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-15 17:19:59
Writing about the Novex Super Speed A2 given 47% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 18000 average miles
Tires came fitter with the car from the car dealer. Already at that time, I mentioned to the dealer I was quite skeptical with the tire brand, as I had never heard about them and I wanted some "proper" tires. I was able to drive around 30.000 kms with these tires driving with caution, and although they had a reasonable grip in the dry, they are simply TERRIBLE in the wet.... Driving in a country/area where it rains a lot, it's really a NO GO for these tires! No proper grip in the wet, car kept "sliding" when going through a round about if you drove a tad bit faster than the usual "Sunday driver"! Tires always felt quite stiff, quite hard and never felt really confident about them. The only positive thing was the wear rate (after 30.000 kms there was still a lot of tread left) Definitely it's a tire that I will never buy again, therefore I can not really recommend them to anyone, as there are much better alternatives in the market
PS: I have just fitted this week a complete new set of 4 Continental Premium Contact 6 and the first impressions are amazing!
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-01 09:20:26
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre