Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf MK7 GTI better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 (33) 96% 93% 90% 93% 89% 90%
Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 (11) 94% 87% 87% 89% 86% 88%
Michelin Pilot Sport 5 (15) 93% 94% 78% 81% 93% 89%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (109) 93% 89% 86% 89% 85% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (198) 93% 91% 87% 89% 83% 81%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (101) 88% 88% 83% 73% 89% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (289) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (273) 90% 88% 81% 85% 74% 79%
Falken Azenis FK510 (129) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Sumitomo HTR Z III (11) 86% 80% 84% 76% 80% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 (15) 91% 92% 75% 87% 80% 79%
Maxxis Victra Sport 5 (18) 88% 83% 79% 86% 66% 79%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (44) 84% 89% 80% 77% 70% 80%
Falken Azenis RT660 (2) 100% 60% 90% 95% 65% 35%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (138) 84% 72% 77% 76% 68% 63%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Continental ControlContact Sport SRS Plus (5) 80% 70% 68% 56% 75% 56%
RoadX RXMOTION U11 (10) 72% 44% 55% 48% 83% 75%
Novex Super Speed A2 (1) 70% 30% 50% 50% 70% 50%

Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Maxxis Victra Sport 5 given 54% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 25000 easy going miles
Tires had dry tears in the sides after one year already. I tried to reach Maxxis but no response at all.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-20 15:04:35
Writing about the Sumitomo HTR Z III given 73% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19200 average miles
These tyre's worked really well on my Golf mk7 GTI in summer weather conditions. I've used both Good Year Efficient Grip and Falken tyres at the front wheels and I felt them a bit less stable at higher speeds and especially very grippy such that when you brake hard the vehicle used to swerve/float at high speeds, this was not experienced with the Sumitomo. Excellent tyre for handling, this is my second pair at the front. The only downfall is that on hard acceleration there is a lot of spinning as compared to the other brands and the tyre's don't last long.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-27 09:18:26
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 5 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
I do a lot of miles in my Golf GTI and these are wearing very well, 25,000 miles already and still seems like a good amount of tread left. I did rotate front to rear at 15k. Very comfortable too.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-02 22:05:11
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 94% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Really like the PS4S. For backroad spirited driving, they've been absolutely fantastic. I don't find them noisy, and wear on them has been quite reasonable. I used them for a day of open lapping at one point too, and they did really well on track. Last year, I decided to try the Firestone Indy 500 (aka Bridgestone Potenza RE003) because they're significantly cheaper, but they sucked in comparison and I swapped back to PS4S within a couple of weeks.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-10 16:52:47
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 given 98% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I moved from the Asymmetric 5 to the new Asymmetric 6 a few weeks back, and while I don't know about wear, everything else seems better. The handling is improved and noise in the car lower.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-03 08:15:09
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 80% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Found PS4s to be an overall good tyre but they can be quite dull on road feedback wich I absolutely hate. Compered with PSS which will stick the performance GTI like glue on dry (although not so great in weat), PS4s will lose greap when pushed at limit when cornering.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-16 21:01:35
Writing about the Falken Azenis RT660 given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 3 spirited miles
For 2021 I needed new tires for autocross and with the RE71R no longer available, my shopping list was pretty short; the RT660 or the Yokahama A052. Both tires have had reports of not being happy on front-wheel drive, camber limited cars like my GTI. Between the two tires my autocross contacts recommended the RT660, and I decided to gamble on them. After all my experience being on the RE71R, I was a bit nervous. The RT660s did not disappoint. Positives - Good feedback though I miss the on -center feel and stiff sidewalls of the RE71R - Grip! I was pushing through a large sweeper at full throttle. I expected to lose grip and possibly spin, only to be pleasantly surprised. Negatives - Not much given my narrow expectations. - Accelerated wear. I will not get two seasons of autocross out of these like I did the RE71Rs After about 100 runs I have zero signs of tire chunking or delamination. I am extremely careful about my tire pressures, which in my case are generally 44 front and 39-40 rear. Tire wear is high, so I will not get two seasons of use out of these tires. I did have them flipped on the wheels and I rotated front/rear, but autocross is hard on tires. I will buy the RT660s again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-28 11:19:19
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 given 61% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
While driving was good and quiet (no stange noises, no whine on higher speeds), after 4 months of using the tires there are pieces of the thread missing. This unfortunately happened to other people as well which can be read on the German board "motor-talk" including pictures. So I unfortunately have to judge these tires as not long lasting. The thread blocks became wobbly and pieces have broken off. The dealer acknowledges the problem. While the thread is still very big, my tires reached end of life in 4 months.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-08 21:35:53
Writing about the Continental ControlContact Sport SRS Plus given 66% (-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 30000 average miles
These things lasted quite a while, dry grip and handling was pretty good but wouldn't necessarily trust them as a reliable A/S tire in inclement weather. Had a sketchy moment in a patch of ice towards the end of its life when there wasn't much tread, so not necessarily the tires' fault. Overall pretty decent option if you're on a budget, especially if you're not too concerned about performance. Road noise is very minimal, and they're pretty comfortable too.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-20 01:11:10
Writing about the RoadX RXMOTION U11 given 63% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-21 14:47:06
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 given 77% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Before I start my car is modified which might lead you to have a different experience, current mods at the time of the review are listed below. I came across the Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4's while looking for replacement tires for my 2019 GTI. The previous owner and I had gone through the OEM Bridgestone Potenza RE97AS in about 15k miles. I felt a huge difference immediately with how the car responded and held the corners. It no longer felt like the front tires were going to fold under and off the wheel under hard cornering, quick lane changes were no longer a dicy decision. These tires changed everything, Ive had the tires for about 5k miles and couldn't be happier. The grip in the dry feels limitless and I'm no longer burning up the brakes under repeated hard braking. I cannot comment on tire wear yet, so far so good but I'll have to see how they hold up. Snow performance, could be better. driving in heavy snow It feels like the tire fills with snow and hold onto it, after a few miles snow grip is no better than the OEM Bridgestone's. As far as ice grip goes, its fairly average and I can't complain. Overall I highly recommend these tires, they have amazing dry grip and in heavy rain and light snow I've had zero problems. On the highway there not intrusive with road noise, road feel isn't great but its not worse than the OEM tires (the GTI in general has poor road feel). If your looking for a performance oriented all season tire these are the ones to get. Current modifications: EQT Stage 1 tune BC Racing BR series coilers H&R Rear Sway Bar
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-16 18:36:42
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 100% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Really great tyre, good comfort and steering, really happy with it on my Golf
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-14 13:40:21
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre