Volkswagen Golf R estate Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf R estate.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf R estate? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf R estate better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (134) 93% 88% 86% 87% 81% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (177) 89% 86% 82% 82% 80% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (51) 95% 82% 91% 92% 67% 74%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (312) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (43) 79% 86% 74% 73% 86% 84%
Linglong Sport Master (4) 78% 70% 75% 75% 70% 98%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (88) 91% 87% 82% 83% 53% 77%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO (40) 87% 89% 79% 79% 58% 80%
Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus (25) 84% 67% 75% 71% 62% 69%
Fulda Kristall Control HP2 (8) 85% 75% 78% 71% 69% 80%
Barum Polaris 5 (11) 70% 71% 66% 66% 68% 73%

Volkswagen Golf R estate Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Fulda Kristall Control HP2 given 78% (205-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
I bought these tyres as they were all my local tyre company had in stock - they have turned out to be extremely good, far better than my previous Nokian WR D4 tyres. They are amazingly quiet & seem to offer plenty of grip & low rolling resistance. They're also enjoyable to drive on a twisty road - I was always conscious of having much narrower & higher profile winter tyres before (summer size is 235/35/19, so quite a difference), but with these, it's easy to forget. They're even effective outwith the normal "window" for winter tyres (I drove over 600 miles in 2 days, with the temperature not dropping below 11c).

In short, although these are a "mid range" tyre (& one I wouldn't have bought if I hadn't needed them in a hurry), I wouldn't hesitate to use them again, they have surprised me with how good they are! I haven't experienced proper winter conditions yet (just a few heavy frosts), but impressive so far.
tyre reviewed on 2023-12-14 17:06:20
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 74% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
I don’t know how people are getting under 20,000km on sport contact 6 you must be flogging your cars everywhere. I run these on a 2019 golf R wagon and I’m getting minimum 35,000km if I really take it easy I’ll get 40-45 thousand Km. These are a great tyre they may not perform AS well as Michelin pilot sport or other high performance tyres but they have great durability.
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-18 05:38:08
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO given 60% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 average miles
I've been using these tyres for a couple of months. I like the ride and noise levels however the grip is significantly worse the the previous All Season tyres I had on the car. On the previous tyres I very rarely saw the traction control light and then only on swift starts from junctions. These tyres scrabble for grip from junctions and I have spun the wheels under acceleration at 20 to 30mph in a straight line on only slightly damp roads. I have only had to brake sharply once with these tyres which was on a damp road they easily lost traction so again not impressive. I certainly won't be buying again and will return to my previous choice.
tyre reviewed on 2023-02-15 09:06:38
Writing about the Linglong Sport Master given 97% (225-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 56000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-24 05:06:01
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 90% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
After purchasing my Golf R estate just over a year ago I have found the need to replace the tyres. The car was originally equipped with Pirelli P-Zeros. With P-Zero fitted the driving experience felt numb, the grip levels low and ride quality can only be described as poor. I initially believed this was due to the suspension and set out to upgrade the suspension for more spirited driving. I’m doing so this only exaggerated the limits of this tyre. After reading and watching reviews of the Michelin PS4S I decided to change the tyres. The tyres have completely transformed the car. Dry weather grip and feel is in a different league. It no longer feels like the sidewall is going to surrender when you start to get enthusiastic on some twisty stuff. The tyre is very progressive in transfer to losing traction and feels very stable under braking. The wet weather capabilities of this tyre are just as incredible, they provide so much confidence and grip. There has been a real Improvement in ride quality by fitting this tyre at both high and low speed. Even throwing more power at the tarmac has yet to effect the dynamics of how this tyre performs. Its hard to see how this tyre could be bettered for any enthusiast who enjoys a spirited drive but requires a good all round tyre. I couldn’t recommend enough.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-27 11:16:40
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 100% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
awesome tyre quiet but good steering feel!
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-20 17:32:11
Writing about the Barum Polaris 5 given 79% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
As an update to my initial impressions review from just over 12 months ago I can only say am more impressed with these tyres as time goes on. When pushing on in dry and wet conditions at freezing to well above that they grip excellently and as a result my driving style hasn't needed to be adjusted (which is why I choose to use the right tyres in the right season). Snow performance is excellent, but I never push on in those conditions so have been nowhere near the limit.

In summary, they're safe, predictable and you've got to push very hard to get them to break away in UK winter conditions. Let's me just focus on enjoying the driving. Glad I broke clear of the more expensive brands given my experience with them, and these - every bit as good.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-17 08:53:04
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 100% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Perfect tyre. I came from the PS4S which this feels very similar to just cheaper!
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-10 11:36:48
Writing about the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus given 43% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
These were fitted after trying some of Nankang's track tyres (NS-2R) on a different car which I thought were excellent. I thought it was only fair to give some if their UHP road tyres a go.

They've been on for a week and they're coming off already. Never before have I experienced a tyre that has changed the characteristics of a car so much (for the worse).

To start with they weigh a ton which was never going to be a good start. They make the car feel like I’ve fitted run flats. But the real change is in the precision and feedback from the steering which has just vanished. Turn in is vague. The accuracy around the straight ahead is woolly at best and as you increase steering angle they weight up hideously. All confidence in the front end has gone and I'm going round corners noticeably slower than I was on the Contis as I simply haven't got a clue/don't trust what's going on underneath me.

Add to that every tiny imperfection in the road is transmitted to the cabin making for a less comfortable and more fidgety ride. Some people will say that's feedback, but premium tyres somehow seem to give you what you need and filter out the rest. These just send absolutely everything to the steering wheel and your backside.

I haven’t even driven them in the rain. I can’t be bothered to wait for some. They’ve ruined a brilliant car and on that basis alone they're coming off.

Are they dangerous? I wouldn't go that far. If you have no interest in driving and only ever buy budget tyres then you're not going to notice their dynamic shortcomings. Nankang should also be applauded on their Road Hazard Lifetime Tyre Warranty where they'll replace the tyre on a sliding discount scale (excluding fitting and disposal) dependent on how much tread is left on your non-repairable tyre. However for anybody that possesses sensory receptors in their fingers and backside, these are going to fall a long way short.

I never expected the AS-2+ to stand up to the CSC6, but I didn't expect them to be this far off either.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-18 05:20:58
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 given 86% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
The tread is a little too soft to push hard in the dry and they complain a lot when pushing on dry round-a-bouts. But they have a lot of grip in the cold and wet! Standing water doesn't upset the balance - although this could be a result of 4motion doing its thing. I get a bit of 4-wheel drift on greasy (salted) bends if I'm pushing on, but they let you know what's happening at all times and breakaway is gradual, so no surprises. Great tyre, well suited for the relatively mild winter climate I live in.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-16 14:50:13
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Brilliant all round tyre, used on my 2018 Golf R with over 400bhp. I had R888's before and they beat these outright on dry grip but the noise was ridiculous, was to noisy for daily use. These are comfortable and very high grip in the wet and try. A perfect tyre for a daily driver.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-02 11:10:38
Writing about the Barum Polaris 5 given 74% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Living in north of the UK. Oddly asymmetrical for a winter tyre, but not to detriment of performance. Dry grip at extreme lacking compared to summer tyres, as expected, but decent performance in wet and icy weather. This is from 'spirited' driving in all conditions. Unable to comment on wear at this stage. Having used Dunlop Wintersport, Michelin Crossclimate, Vredenstein Wintrac Xtreme and Hankook IceBear in the past these rate well with all, currently - but early days!

Will update more once we've had decent snow but happy so far @ £70 a corner.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-29 10:42:01
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre