Marangoni Mythos

The Marangoni Mythos is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 69%
Wet Grip 55%
Road Feedback 58%
Handling 60%
Wear 62%
Comfort 58%
Buy again 55%

Tyre review data from 29 tyre reviews averaging 59% over 244,637 miles driven.

The Mythos is ranked 141st of 190 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2013 Auto Bild Performance Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Good safety reserves with aquaplaning, short braking distances on dry roads, quiet noise level
  • Negative - Slight understeering driving behavior, increased rolling resistance
View Full Test >>

2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test - 16th of 45 tyres

View Full Test >>

2013 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2013 Auto Bild Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/35 R18)
  • 2012 Tyre Tests

  • 16th: 2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test (225/45 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Marangoni Mythos

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Marangoni Mythos. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Marangoni Mythos Reviews

    Given 43% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Hi, i recently bought and Audi TT with a full set of what look like new Mythos tyres. the first time it rained i happens to go into a corner that i have driver round for about 10 years in various cars (MX5, BMW 325, Mini cooper S) i went totally out of shape!! not what i expected from my Audi Quattro, will be buying a new set of "Bridgestone's" at the end of the month. They're not good in the wet!!!
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2018
    Given 28% while driving a Honda Jazz (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    very dangerous in wet conditions!! They make a lot of noise! Poor performance in mud
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2021
    Given 39% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    If it's warm and dry these tyres seem ok, however in the wet they are down right dangerous. Even in a modestly powered car, in third gear acceleration can cause the driven wheels to totally lose contact. In the wet my traction control is permanently cutting in.

    I would not recommend these tyres despite the acceptable dry performance as they are too much of an issue in the wet. I will be dumping them part worn when I swap back to my winter tyres in a few months.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2014
    Have you driven on the Marangoni Mythos tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Marangoni Mythos? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Marangoni Mythos >

    Latest Marangoni Mythos Reviews

    Given 49% while driving a Mercedes Benz (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
    Very poor grip in the wet back end slides out on sharpish bends
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2015
    Given 87% while driving a Audi A4 (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
    These really are a very good tyres. Grip on the dry surface is perfect for my experience compared to other brands. Also grip on the wet surface is not bad and I am impressed. I would definitely buy another set of these tyres at any time when required to do so and I will highly recommend to anyone.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2014
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 49% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 8,000 spirited miles
    These tyres are rubbish,had to replace them due to going out of shape and making an awful noise and they are not even half worn.Have learnt a valuable lesson here,never by cheap tyres they are exactly that!
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2014
    Given 37% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TSI 210hp (235/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
    Driven on a 2010 2.0TSI 210bhp Scirocco GT, all four wheel fitted with Mythos'. Front tyres have lasted 8000 miles, I may get another 1000 miles from them but it'll be tight, rear tyres will last 10000. Offers average to good levels of grip in the dry, my nerves go before the car in most occasions. They allow the car to grip in the dry with a small progressive tendency to under steer giving a feeling of confidence. In the wet the story is totally different- cannot put the power down at all spinning the wheels in first and second under normal driving conditions and in third when accelerating hard. Under steer is much much worst in wet conditions and I have no confidence to approach a corner carrying any momentum. Would not buy again. Tyres came fitted by approved VW garage when buying second hand (3 years old with very low miles). Disappointing that the VW garage fits such a poor tyre to a performance car.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2014
    Given 30% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (235/45 R18) on mostly town for 8,000 easy going miles
    These really are a very poor tyre. Grip in the dry is (just) ok for normal running around town, although the tram-lining is becoming worse as the tyres wear. But as soon as the road becomes damp they become dangerous. It is almost impossible to pull out of a junction without spinning the wheels, even with very low revs and a feather touch on the throttle. Wet cornering and braking inspires no confidence, with a feeling almost like driving on ice. Would definitely not recommend and I'll be changing them very soon, even though they are only half worn - I value my life too much to continue taking this unacceptable risk.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2013
    Given 10% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 140 SLine (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Thought they were good value, how wrong !!
    Will change them very soon, thinking Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 !
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2013
    Given 24% while driving a Jaguar XK8 (245/55 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
    Worst and most dangerous tyres I have ever fitted, and one ruptured it's casing on a very small pothole. In one word? Rubbish
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2013
    Audi A4 3.0 litre TDI S Line Quattro (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
    Probably the worst tyres I have ever fitted to my car. Poor in terms of wear and handling in the wet was uncertain. Tyres come with a good warranty and are fairly cheap. Wont be buying again.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2013
    Given 43% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra V6 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
    I bought a full set of these tyres for my Vectra 2.6V6 and suffice to say they were good at first but have only lasted 4 months and are worn out. Ive only been driving locally roughly 3000 miles and dont drive to extremes. I,m very disappointed with the quality of these tyres. I,m now looking at an all season tyre as they have a better lifespan.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2013
    Given 77% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (235/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 8,000 easy going miles
    Decent tyres, very good value for money and including a puncture warranty. Can't go wrong at less than £100 fitted for a 235 40 18 tyre. Decent grip wet and dry and lasting quite well.. Possibly go for the Barum Bravuris 2 next for comparison, but these are a little more expensive at £110 fitted and don't have a puncture warranty.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2013
    Given 81% while driving a Honda Accord iVtec Type S saloon (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
    Medium range price for premium quality/performance/wear. Never achieved 18000 miles from a set of four tyres on any car before so very pleased with this mileage on a full set of Marangoni Mythos over 20 months. Just renewed 4 of these with fronts just at the wear blocks an rears down to 2.5mm, having rotated front to rear at 12000 miles. I debated spending more for other premium brands but the clincher was the lifetime free puncture repair, valve and balance, plus damage replacement guarantee........ this kind of confidence speaks volumes and I have to say is backed up now by my own experience of nearly two years driving on a full set. I`ve had premium tyres go out of shape so to my mind the guarantee just demonstrates the quality. Am not a nutty driver caring to comment on driving at the limit.... race driving is for race tracks but I`m also not a Sunday driver and like to get where I'm going without wasting time...... these tyres have been fine under `enjoyable spirited`driving... hope this is helpful.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2013
    Given 81% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 CDI (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 38,000 spirited miles
    110,000 miles of motoring in this car and I highly recommend the Marangonis. After finding the original Michelin Primacy HP's dissapointing in terms of grip, I went through, 2 sets of Bridgestone Potenza's and 6 sets of Goodyear Eagle F1's on my 280hp E Class Merc. I am an enthusiastic driver and enjoyed the grip from them. The car has a lot of torque and with the power only going through the back wheels and me enjoying the car, the last 2 rear sets of Goodyear's lasted 6k and 8k respectively. After hitting harder times I fitted the Marangoni's purely because I couldn't afford the Goodyear tyres. However, after 4 sets of 4 I am very impressed. The grip, accuracy and feedback is as good if not slightly better than than the Goodyears IN THE DRY and they wear around 40% better than the Goodyears(about 12k from the rears when driving like I stole it and then 26k for slightly less enthusiastic driving).

    The only thing is that the wet grip is probably 20% less than the Goodyear's but I am not suggesting for one second it is anything other than good (but there isn't a tyre that can touch the Goodyears in the wet). As for snow... forget it, like all the rest, they are a performance summer tyre so you shouldn't expect it.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2013