Falken FK453

The Falken FK453 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Falken FK452 and this tyre has been replaced by the Falken Azenis FK510.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 61%
Handling 58%
Wear 59%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 58%

Tyre review data from 29 tyre reviews averaging 64% over 244,200 miles driven.

The FK453 is ranked 65th of 70 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2016 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 6th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Good braking performance on wet and dry roads, quick reaction to steering and good handling in the dry, low noise
  • Negative - Average wet performance, high rolling resistance
View Full Test >>

2015 Auto Express Tyre Test - 8th of 11 tyres

  • Overall - A test debut for Falken with the FK453, and sadly eighth place. The tyre struggled in wet and dry braking, was second to last in wet cornering, had a high rolling resistance and could only manage eighth in straight aquaplaning. Fourth in dry handling was its saving grace, only 1% slower than the Continental.
View Full Test >>

2015 Australian Motor 235/35 R19 Tyre Test - 6th of 8 tyres

View Full Test >>

2016 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2016 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test (235/40 R18)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2015 Australian Motor 235/35 R19 Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 8th: 2015 Auto Express Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 9th: 2015 AZ 225/40 R18 Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 2014 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2014 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 37th: 2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 10th: 2013 Sport Auto Max Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 13th: 2013 European Summer Sports Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2012 Tyre Tests

  • 25th: 2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test (225/45 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    215/45 R17 91Y   F B   9.00kgs

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Falken FK453. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Falken FK453 Reviews

    Given 60% while driving a BMW 330i M SPORT SALOON (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Cornering in the wet and dry was good. If the road was wet the wheels would spin quite easily when taking off from a stand still. Comfort I don't really know about, nothing really feels comfortable with msport suspension. Wear was pretty bad, rears are basically bald after 10000miles, 1500miles of that was on road trips with spirited driving and the other 8500miles was on straight roads driving normally doing 60mph. The fronts still have at least half their tread left so might keep them on the front, but will probably go with something else on the rears as they cost about $450 per tyre.
    Helpful 62 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2016
    Given 64% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (275/35 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
    Having changed all 4 of my Run-Flat tyres only 18 months (and 12000 miles) ago, I was today shocked to hear I only had 1mm left on the rear tyres. All of my driving has been long motor drives across Europe. My last tyres (Michelins) lasted 38000 miles, hence the reason I'm so shocked. The front tyres still have 5mm.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2017
    Given 80% while driving a Toyota supra turbo (275/40 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
    Past 20years i have been through a wide range of tyres on my turbo cars but it's the first time i have been impressed with a budget street tyre.
    On my mildly modified supra (400hp) they perform much better than i expected.
    Biggest suprise is how much grip they had in the wet. The grip in the wet is nearly as good as in the dry (straight line acceleration). And for a wide tyres they aren't unsettled by big puddles of water on the freeway. Everything else i've had in a 275 width would aquaplane badly.
    Highly recommended and will buy again.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2017
    Have you driven on the Falken FK453 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Falken FK453? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Falken FK453 >

    Latest Falken FK453 Reviews

    Given 58% while driving a Mercedes Benz S400 W222 (245/40 R20) on mostly motorways for 25,000 spirited miles
    The Falken Azensis F453 offers better than expected dry performance and grip for a big luxury saloon. The tyre manages dry grip well enough, to hold the large luxury saloon on to the line in corners through low - mid speed city and high speed motorways cat and mouse chases. But, braking on the dry is a bit worrying, on numerous occassion the ABS had to intervene really aggressively. Braking grip on offer makes me feel that the brakes are too strong for the wheels. Wet performance is not the tyres strength, especially in tropical monsoon rain, with many water puddles. The tyre does not inspire confidence, conversely i fear of aquaplaning so much that i give up the chase against a honda city. >.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2022
    Given 40% while driving a Volvo S60 R AWD (235/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 12,000 easy going miles
    12 000 miles (20 000km) on the set. VolvoT6 AWD. Not an aggressive driver. Long distance driving. Was given a long story by the Falken Rep but all added up to nothing. Been a Falken supporter on 3 of my Volvo's but after using this "Flagship" tyre I am leaving the brand
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2019
    Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
    Given 31% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/45 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 12,500 spirited miles
    Very bad experience with this tyres. Really not fit for spirited drivers. Very bad during cornering, even in straight line driving can feel car not stable. Used only for 20k km mileage. Like a night mare having this tyres. Replaced it with continental. Never ever will consider falken tyres anymore.
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2019
    Given 79% while driving a BMW Z4 3.0 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Great value for money, decent life expectancy considering the driving style.
    There are better tyres out there but I found those to be fun and predictable.
    Grip is not my priority as I like a lively car.
    I had preferred the FK452, but those are OK replacements...
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2017
    Given 74% while driving a Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16 (255/35 R18 W) on mostly town for 0 average miles
    Only done 2000 miles, I'm really happy with them on my Mercedes E350 Coupe.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2017
    Given 97% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (255/40 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    Very good tyres, with excellent dry & wet grip, even when pushed hard, These are now down to the legal limit and are still holding the road, Wear has been at a very good rate and I would defo buy again.
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2016
    Given 62% while driving a BMW E60 M5 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
    Good looking budget tyre and value for money if you don't need the 'nth degree of performance . Only travelled >2000 kms so far so no wear to report and no track work to test limits but satisfactory for all road use. Only downside so far is noise/comfort levels which are both below average, but again value for money.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2015
    Given 74% while driving a Honda (245/45 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
    I bought these for my Honda C-RV, grip is surprisingly good with road noise at a minimal, and compared to my last tyres, the ride is smoother. So first impression for the first couple of hundred miles is a good one.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2015
    Given 70% while driving a Subaru Legacy (215/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 28,000 spirited miles
    Wrote on these tyres when I got them first and they were not the greatest. BUT.
    I put on 215/45/17 91y XL, and the tyres that came with the car were 215/45/17 87w, so the Falkens were the wrong tyre for my car, having said that I put them on my car at 89900km and replaced them at 135000km and still had 3mm left on all 4 of them,
    The ride was hard, steering was twitchy, could feel ridges and lumps on the road, as I said, I picked the wrong tyre, (91 xl) but the road holding was great and wear I can't complain about, over 45000km, longer than the Bridgstones that are recommended usually 30000km,
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2015
    Given 23% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Without doubt the worst tyre i have ever purchased for any car. I have had tyres for half the cost and perform better than these in every single way, road feedback is non existent no grip what so ever in the wet can move off without them struggling to grip, have tried a number of different tyre pressures and no difference. can not wait for them to be done which will more than likely be sooner rather than later with the amount they struggle to grip.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2015
    Given 100% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (255/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    These tyres have gone on the rear off the car.
    I loved the 452, the 453 are even better, with great feedback, no noise, amazing grip in the dry & wet. Even tried to push it to the limit and they still gripped the road and wanted more. Feel very confident with these tyres in dry & wet. would defo buy again.

    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2014
    Given 77% while driving a Ford Mondeo ST220 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    Just completed 20000 miles on a set of these and for the price you will find these at most tyreshops they are pretty good value. In the year I've had these the only criticism I would have with these would be the following-

    1 - They are quite noisy, on UK roads and motorways the road noise is as loud as the rest of the car

    2 - They seem to have quite hard sidewalls as I could feel every little bump in the road, even joins between sections of roads result in a noticeable thud when passing over them

    3 - When worn they become very skittish at high speed on uneven road surfaces (country B-roads etc), you will need to keep a hold on the wheel when on the straights as they tramline a fair bit

    I wore my fronts down to the limit (or maybe just past it as they resembled slicks!) and in the wet I still found it fairly hard to break them free, and they didn't seems to aquaplane often.

    If you don't want to break the bank then there isn't much else in this price range that will be any better and to get 20000 miles out of them I felt was pretty good value for money.

    Overall, this is the 2nd set of Falkens I've had (prev 452's) and have never had any major problems with them, would definitely buy them again if money is tight.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2014