Holden Commodore VE Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Holden Commodore VE.

Do you Drive a Holden Commodore VE? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Commodore VE better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 (35) 89% 80% 80% 79% 80% 87%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (122) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (207) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 59%
Nankang Noble Sport NS20 (27) 73% 60% 68% 60% 77% 71%
Hifly HF805 (49) 78% 63% 67% 67% 54% 67%
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (47) 66% 37% 54% 49% 64% 59%
Rotalla F105 (27) 65% 32% 46% 41% 58% 59%

Holden Commodore VE Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nankang Noble Sport NS20 given 80% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 45000 spirited miles
They were a good tyre suited the mixed driving that was done on them very well. Nothing too aggressive in their life as they were only on public roads. Right up until the replacement where sure footed in the dry, in the wet so long as you keep smooth loading they never missed a beat. Under two mm of tread in the wet they could with very little provocation let loose in the wet, too heavy footed through intersections etc.
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-04 13:06:26
Writing about the Hifly HF805 given 40% (275-30-20-W)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
Had them fitted to the rear of my Holden VE SV6. I live in Auckalnd, New Zealand. the rears wore out with in a year having them fitted (came fitted with vehicle when purchased). They're on a daily vehicle, driven to work and home 15-20min max driving, by the time I changed them. The majority of the tread was gone. Driving in the wet, felt like it was going to kick out on certain road surfaces, mainly the smoother roads it would slightly slide.
I've had budget tyres on my vehicles over the years, these would have to be the worse due to them wearing out very fast and being dangerous in wet conditions. If you're on a tight budget, purchase at your own risk.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-12 10:34:30
Writing about the Hifly HF805 given 69% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
I think they are a good all round tyres for the price, as you can see there are a lot more expensive tyres and you only get what you pay for so for the price of these tyes they are good value.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-07 13:34:13
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 77% (245-45-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 42000 easy going miles
First factory tires, lasted 42.000 miles or 68.000km and still in the legal limit in the middle of the tire and just on the limit on the outside got replaced with hankook noble 2 only because I got a good deal.

Potenza is very strong durable are reliable tire in that class, 220aud, no wow effect but good quality tire that wont let you down, dry or wet.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-13 14:56:29
Writing about the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 given 95% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60 spirited miles
EXCEPTIONAL TYRE THIS ONE, THRASHED THE CAR HARD THROUGH THE TWISTIES AND THE BOYS WOULDN'T LET GO. TURNED THE STABILITY OFF AND THEY STILL STUCK LIKE GLUE !
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-10 10:06:25
Writing about the Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 given 44% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
Don't even touch recommend by a tyre dealer, fine in the dry but wet is another story, try to contact max trek to let know what I thing but no number, very dangerous
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-18 20:55:32
Writing about the Rotalla F105 given 0% (245-30-22-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
Not for the best of cars these tires are rubbish
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-11 00:03:01
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 87% (245-45-18-V)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
I spent a lot of time doing homework to find the right tyres to replace the factory Bridgestone RE0500A tyres which I was very happy with. I do mostly city driving and got 55000 Ks plus from the the Bridgestones. My days of driving hard are over as you can probably tell from the milage I got from the old tyres, however I still wanted high quality tyres for mine and my family's safety. A few days after buying the new KU39 I had a trip to the country to play golf with my young son. The original tyres were still ok for a few more K's but the timing was right with the trip in mind. I decided to write a review here because of the benefit I gained from this site and all the great reviews.
The KU39s - in a word GREAT. The trip into the country consisted of new sections of highway plus a big stretch of winding bumpy and fast country road. The country road section speed limit was too fast for the poor road condition. The KU39 tyres performed so well I was greatful I made this choice on every bend. The tyres are very quiet which was an important factor for me. Overall they give excellent performance and value for the money. The tyres grip so well they now show my suspension up. When cornering in wet or dry and cornering with bumps in the middle you get such a confident feel and feedback. The salesman at the tyre company tried to sell me the cheaper KU19 tyre for some reason (I think they must be running them out ??) however I stuck to my homework and bought the 39s. Every time I look at the car now I am pleased I made that decision. I cant comment on the wear yet but at the price these are as good if not better than the factory Bridgestones and more than $150 cheaper per corner.
Thanks to all the people who have posted here, you helped me to make a decision that I am really happy with :-)
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-16 00:35:06
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre