Michelin Pilot Alpin 4

The Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Alpin PA3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Alpin 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 96%
Road Feedback 94%
Handling 96%
Wear 93%
Comfort 93%
Buy again 98%
Snow Grip 96%
Ice Grip 95%

Tyre review data from 23 tyre reviews averaging 95% over 269,724 miles driven.

The Pilot Alpin 4 is ranked 1st of 41 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 19 Inch Performance Winter Tyre Test - 6th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Stable safe handling on wet and dry roads, precise steering, good feedback, short snow braking.
  • Negative - Understeer in the snow, average comfort, expensive.
View Full Test >>

2017 AMS Performance 18 inch Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Reliable grip on snow, balanced behavior on wet surfaces, very well balanced on dry surfaces
  • Negative - Relatively long braking distances on wet surfaces, weak resistance to transverse aquaplaning
  • Overall - Recommended
View Full Test >>

2017 Sport Auto Winter Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good results in the wet, good handling in the dry
  • Negative - Relatively weak resistance to aquaplaning, long dry braking distances
  • Overall - Recommended
View Full Test >>

2019 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2019 19 Inch Performance Winter Tyre Test (255/35 R19)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2017 Sport Auto Winter Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 4th: 2017 AMS Performance 18 inch Winter Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2016 AutoBild Winter UHP Tyre Test (245/40 R18)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2015 Sport Auto 19 Inch Winter Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 4th: 2015 Auto Bild Performance Winter Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 2014 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2014 AutoBild 235/35 R19 Winter Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2013 Winter Tyre Buying Guide (225/45 R17)
  • 2012 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2012 Auto Bild Sports Winter Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 3rd: 2012 Sport Auto Winter Sports Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 2011 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2011 AMS Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    245/45 R17 99V XL   E C 70 10.31kgs
    235/50 R17 100V XL   C C 70 10.75kgs
    225/55 R17 97H * E B 70 13.90kgs
    235/55 R17 103H XL   E C 70 11.21kgs
    245/55 R17 102V   E C 70 12.06kgs
    255/35 R18 94V XL   E C 71 11.92kgs
    255/35 R18 94V XL * E C 71 11.71kgs
    265/35 R18 97V XL   E C 71 11.92kgs
    265/35 R18 97V XL N0 E C 71 11.92kgs
    225/40 R18 92V XL MO E C 70 10.18kgs
    225/40 R18 92W XL   E C 70 9.96kgs
    225/40 R18 92V XL N0 E C 70 10.07kgs
    225/40 R18 92V XL   E C 70 9.90kgs
    235/40 R18 95V XL   E C 70 9.95kgs
    235/40 R18 95V XL * E C 70 10.15kgs
    235/40 R18 95W XL   E C 70 9.96kgs
    235/40 R18 95V XL MO E C 70 10.06kgs
    245/40 R18 97V XL   E C 70 10.96kgs
    245/40 R18 97W XL   E C 70 10.95kgs
    245/40 R18 97V XL MO E C 70 10.88kgs
    255/40 R18 99V XL   E C 71 12.20kgs
    265/40 R18 101V XL   C C 71 12.20kgs
    215/45 R18 93V XL   E C 70 9.82kgs
    215/45 R18 93V XL MO E C 70 9.72kgs
    225/45 R18 95V XL   E C 70 9.70kgs
    225/45 R18 95V XL MO E C 70 9.70kgs
    235/45 R18 98V XL   E C 70 10.35kgs
    245/45 R18 100V XL *MOE E C 70 13.70kgs
    245/45 R18 100V XL AO E C 70 11.30kgs
    245/45 R18 100V XL * MO C C 70 11.41kgs
    245/45 R18 100V XL   E C 70 10.65kgs
    255/45 R18 103V XL   E C 71 12.29kgs
    225/50 R18 95H   E C 70 13.30kgs
    225/50 R18 99V XL   E C 70 10.59kgs
    235/50 R18 101V XL   E C 70 11.68kgs
    235/50 R18 101H XL   E C 70 11.68kgs
    245/50 R18 100H * E B 70 15.20kgs
    245/50 R18 104V XL MO C C 70 12.82kgs
    245/50 R18 104V XL   C C 70 12.45kgs
    225/55 R18 102V XL   C C 70 11.53kgs
    235/55 R18 104V XL   C C 70 12.24kgs
    285/30 R19 98W XL   E C 75 12.56kgs
    295/30 R19 100W XL   C C 75 12.79kgs
    225/35 R19 88W XL   E C 70 9.61kgs
    235/35 R19 91V XL * E C 70 10.07kgs
    235/35 R19 91W XL   E C 70 10.03kgs
    235/35 R19 91W XL * E C 70 10.03kgs
    245/35 R19 93W XL   E C 70 12.23kgs
    255/35 R19 96V XL   C C 71 12.23kgs
    255/35 R19 96V XL * C C 71 10.78kgs
    255/35 R19 96V XL MO C C 71 10.76kgs
    265/35 R19 98W XL   C C 71 11.34kgs
    275/35 R19 100W XL   C C 71 12.63kgs
    285/35 R19 103V XL   E C 75 13.92kgs
    295/35 R19 104V XL   C C 74 13.50kgs
    295/35 R19 104V XL MO E C 74 14.00kgs
    225/40 R19 93W XL   E C 70 10.17kgs
    235/40 R19 92V N0 E C 70 11.32kgs
    235/40 R19 96W XL   E C 70 11.26kgs
    245/40 R19 98V XL   E C 70 11.79kgs
    255/40 R19 100V XL   E C 71 11.89kgs
    265/40 R19 98V N0 E C 71 12.32kgs
    265/40 R19 102W XL   C C 71 12.21kgs
    265/40 R19 102V XL MO C C 71 12.38kgs
    275/40 R19 105W XL   E C 71 13.41kgs
    285/40 R19 103V N1 C C 74 14.20kgs
    285/40 R19 107W XL   C C 74 14.55kgs
    295/40 R19 108V XL N0 C E 73 14.80kgs
    235/45 R19 99V XL AO E C 70 11.80kgs
    235/45 R19 99V XL   E C 70 11.77kgs
    235/45 R19 99V XL MO E C 70 11.65kgs
    245/45 R19 102W XL   E C 70 11.82kgs
    255/45 R19 104V XL MO C C 71 13.25kgs
    255/45 R19 104W XL   C C 71 13.58kgs
    255/45 R19 100V N1 C C 71 13.10kgs
    265/45 R19 105V XL N0 C E 71 13.60kgs
    335/25 R20 103W XL   E C 73 15.06kgs
    265/30 R20 94W XL   E C 71 11.15kgs
    275/30 R20 97W XL   E C 71 12.18kgs
    275/30 R20 97V XL N0 E C 71 12.21kgs
    285/30 R20 99W XL   E C 75 12.23kgs
    295/30 R20 101W XL   C C 74 13.81kgs
    295/30 R20 101V XL N1 C E 73 14.04kgs
    305/30 R20 103W XL   C C 74 14.40kgs
    235/35 R20 92V XL N0 E C 70 10.44kgs
    235/35 R20 92W XL   E C 70 10.44kgs
    245/35 R20 95W XL   E C 70 13.86kgs
    245/35 R20 91V N1 E E 70 11.60kgs
    265/35 R20 99W XL   E C 71 12.31kgs
    275/35 R20 102W XL   E C 71 12.30kgs
    285/35 R20 104W XL   C C 74 13.65kgs
    285/35 R20 104V XL MO C C 74 13.80kgs
    285/35 R20 104V XL N0 C C 74 13.60kgs
    295/35 R20 105W XL   C C 75 13.76kgs
    315/35 R20 110V XL N0 C E 73 15.41kgs
    255/40 R20 101V XL MO E C 71 12.90kgs
    255/40 R20 101V XL N0 E C 71 12.80kgs
    255/40 R20 101W XL   E C 71 13.04kgs
    265/40 R20 104W XL   E C 71 13.51kgs
    275/40 R20 106V XL N0 C E 73 13.80kgs
    235/45 R20 100W XL   C C 70 12.51kgs
    265/30 R21 96W XL   C C 71 11.50kgs
    285/30 R21 100W XL   C C 75 12.91kgs
    295/30 R21 102W XL   C C 75 13.62kgs
    255/35 R21 98W XL   C C 71 11.39kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4

    2016-11-20 - I have Michelin pilot Alpin PA4s on my car but I'm unsure if they are mounted correctly. The Outside is correctly on the outside with the curved part of the tread pattern always on the inside of the tyre. However because the rotation is different on one side of the car than the other because the wheels are mounted the opposite way round the curved part of the tread faces the opposite way too. Is this just how this asymmetric tread pattern works? Seems strange that the rotational direction should allow the curves splines to be facing what looks like the wrong way on one side of the car. I guess only way to solve would be if two different tread patterns were made for left and right side of the car. But mine are all the same. Would welcome any views?

    This is normal, and while it might seem counter productive it apparently has no notiable impact in performance. The Uniroyal Rainsport 3 and Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta are more extreme examples of this.


    2017-10-23 - This is probably a lame question, but are these tyres Run Flat? Some Tyre stores list then in the Run Flat section and Michelin themselves say nothing about such feature. I would like to put a set of these on a BMW X3, where there is no spare wheel.

    There are both runflat and non-runflat versions of the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4. Michelin name their runflat technology ZP, for zero pressure.


    2018-09-10 - I am currently looking at winter tyres for my Nissan Juke Nismo RS of which the fitment of tyre I need would be 225/45R18 Y 95. I was wondering if you have any suggestions as to what tyre I should be looking at in this fitment as I would have preferred the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 as I love my Michelin Pilot Sport 4's which I currently have and would have thought the Pilot Alpin 4's would have been the ideal winter equivalent to my current tyre, but from the research I have done I cannot find the Alpin 4's in this size nor can I even find a Michelin winter tyre in this size (I do know about the Michelin CrossClimate+ and they do make it in my fitment but I am looking for a pure winter tyre and not an all-season tyre). To cut a long story short I am looking for a premium brand of winter tyre and although my preference would have been a tyre from Michelin I am open to other suggestions as I really do want a decent winter tyre that is the next best class leading alternative.

    If the Michelin isn't available in your size then there is only one answer, the Continental WinterContact TS850P, which is available in 225/45 R18.


    2019-09-06 - Im currently looking at purchasing new winter tyres for my Mercedes E63 wagon. 285/30 r19 There isnt much choice imo, especially winter tyres. Im Currently running Pirelli slottozero II but fancied the alpin4 or conti 830P but wasnt sure which model was newer and any reason why newer model tyres arent being launched in some sizes for powerful vehicles, i also wondered if dropping a size would be ok(more choice 275/35 r19) Or would it mess about with the traction control? Thanks

    I believe the Michelin is newer, though the Conti has won more tests. Regarding changing sizes, officially I can't recommend anything due to the amount of variables involved, but it might be worth checking an owners forum.


    2019-09-27 - I’m considering winter tyres this year in the UK. Ideally, I wanted an all season tyre but the Michelin Cross Climate+ are not available in 225/40 R19. Therefore, I am thinking about the PA4’s. Some US tests suggest they are fine under temperatures of 15C and make a great all season tyre. That’s a different climate/location though. Or are they really that good in the dry? I want an all season solution. Thanks

    From the testing I've seen, the Continental WinterContact TS 860 S might make the better all season, winter tyre option as it's more dry optimised.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    235/55 R18 £173.89 - £271.50 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/40 R18 £217.29 - £224.70 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 53 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 Reviews

    Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen Passat CC (235/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    This is the third winter that I am using these tires, I have done around 12.000 km so far and the tread still looks as new. On the dry in everyday driving they feel almost as summer tire. Wet grip is amazing, snow grip also. On highway speeds they shine the most.
    Only objection would be increased noise in comparison to my previous Alpin 4, but still rather comfortable.
    Helpful 76 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2014
    Given 97% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (225/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Drove them with modded 2010 Focus TDCI 2.0 with 180PS on ST spec suspension and tyre size. this winter season 14/16 for the first time.
    Really impressed with them. The car is driven hard. In emergency stops or fast accelaretions the car is like sticked to the ground with glue. And this includes the cold, wet, dirty slippery winter roads situations. The grip never ends. They give you so much confidence. Also you can feel the limits and the level of grip in any sotuation and any time or weather conditions.
    Also they are super quiet and comofrtable.
    Used to drive Focus Mk1 with Michelin Alpin A4 for 5 years. They are also brilliant in every way. OF course the PA4 is high performance winter tyre and it shows it. I want to try the A5 for my mk1 winter 15/16.
    Will buy again for sure!
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2015
    Given 91% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
    I run Michelin Pilot Alpin PA4 all year round, getting a full year out of them, that’s about 30k open road miles. They give great confidence which why they have been my tyre of choice for about 4 years. I put new on in December ready for my trip to the Alps and then they stay on all year round (UK). The tyre and Bimmer electronics combo makes driving in slippery conditions a breeze (and fun), even when others are struggling.

    Despite being RWD (I prefer it) I’ve never got struck. I also carry chains but have never fitted them other than to prove they will fit. In the mountains on compulsory chains or winters, winters every time! Unfortunately, those with chains inevitably get in the way.

    I’m aware they “soft”, so I don’t abuse them apart from the necessary blast when entering a dual carriageway from a minor road. Most of my miles are morning and evening,not mid day sun. I tried Yokos, half the price, half the mileage and no confidence so the Michelin’s cost no more per mile plus they are nice to drive and grip better.
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2019
    Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 >

    Latest Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 Reviews

    Given 88% while driving a BMW X3 2.0d Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
    Fantastic winter tire for everyday use. I have the ZP / run flat version, while using Pirelli P7 run flat for summer. I considered several times not changing the tires back from winter to summer just because how good Michelins are: comfortable, good road feedback, good braking distance, decent road noise (actually can't hear them much ..). Make sure you do a proper tire alignment to avoid unequal tire wear. During 5 years of use, equal wear for all tires, without caring too much about rotating them. Used them between -20 and +10 (occasionally +20) and performed beautifully. Thread also looks very nice. About 5-6mm left after 20k km. Never had issues with snow or ice.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2022
    Given 96% while driving a BMW (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
    The best tires I have ever tried. They feel like my Pilot Sport 4S. I love how the handle, they feel so sporty. The handling on snow is like if there is no snow. On ice, the car feels planted, and on dry is where they shine. I love them. I used to have Continental ts830 RFT and honestly I changed them after 1 winter because i felt that they were dangerous. I am glad I picked the Michelin PA4 and not the Michelin X-Ice.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2022
    Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
    Given 100% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
    Bmw 520d (190hp) 2013 year. It's perfect tyre !!!!!
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2021
    Given 92% while driving a Skoda (225/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 23,424 easy going miles
    I drive these tyres since 2014 on my Skoda Octavia Combi vRS TDI M6 FWD 184PS/380NM MY2014. Now they are rolling their 7th season / 37697 km / 23424 mi, still have 5 mm profile and I plan to drive them during the next winter till 2022. My verdict: a very reliable tyre on all weather conditions - great balance of good grip on dry, wet, snow and ice, comfortable and somehow quiet for a winter tyre (just a bit louder at 40/80/160km/h). Sporty handling on dry and cold weather, below 10-15*C, if above 15*C slippery). Not slippery on wet and cold/warm (in contrast to my old summer tyres Bridgestone Potenza S001 (same size, Y speed index). Very reliable on snow (and maybe ice). I am keen on sporty night driving through the snowy mountains... I actually got in the car and just drive some hundred kilometers just to "slide" on the snowy roads. Those tires are really confident if it comes to active driving on snow. ESP off, side-sliding in the corners, the car keeps its directional stable behaviour... No seesaw pattern at all (I rotate my tyres every season)! Because this is a outdated model I plan to replace this set of tires either with Continental Winter Contact TS 860 S or its successor - the TS 870 in its performance/sport asymmetrical version. The Michlines (Pilot Alpin 5 or the upcoming 6) are out because of their symmetrical pattern.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2021
    Given 98% while driving a BMW 525D (245/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
    Best winter tyre on the World !!!
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2021
    Given 92% while driving a BMW 428i m sport coupe (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    These were the most expensive and even the most beautiful (thread/sidewall) winter/all season tires I have found for my car. The comfort is superb from the begin to years after. They are also very quiet no matter the road you drive on. Road feedback couldn't be any better that I wish I had that combination of comfort/stability in a track tire. These are marked for speed up to 240 km/h, but don't even think about taking them anywhere over 190 km/h because the deep thread cannot cope with such speeds and starts to shake and wander on the road and probably rapidly wear out. Speaking of thread wear characteristics, it wears somewhat more in the middle exactly where it has less material which could be because I had them mostly lightly overfilled. Driving with these tires on lower specified tire pressure is great when going on bad roads or daily it where you need less responsive ride, but put another 0.2 bar (or equivalent) per tire for a higher specified pressure and it turns the car into a precise sports machine. Would buy them again...
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2021
    Given 89% while driving a Audi A3 (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 4,500 average miles
    It's a top level winter tyre except the above average noise level. It's because of the thread pattern.
    Michelin Alpin A4 tyres which I had before are quiter than these and a bit better when climbing uphill (They had V shaped pattern).
    Very good in the dry and wet, good in snow and ice.
    If you do not have a sporty car with lots of power and stiff suspension I think these tyres are too much for you, and expensive. I recommend cheaper (not sporty) versions such as Alpin A5.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on May 3, 2019
    Given 100% while driving a Audi A4 TDi Quattro Sport (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    This is the third winter these tyres are back on the car. Tread depth is still 6mm. Just as comfortable as the michelin ps4 taken off but when the roads get greasy and wet these will keep you safe. Last winter drove the car from leeds to Norwich and back in the worst snow and no drama or fuss, that's how good these tyres are. Superb and will buy another set when these are worn out.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2018
    Given 99% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (235/55 R18 H) on mostly town for 4,000 spirited miles
    I got to tell you that I am amazed by this tyres performance. I bought immediately after car purchasing equipped with all season Dunlop Grandtrek ST30 which by the way, do not use it even somebody give its for free, but this will be another topic. PA4 is quite expensive,as it should be a high performence tyre but overall worth the money. I drove 4000km on icey roads, wet and what I've liked the most on -10 degree dry surface and I had no wear what so ever, no significal noise and great grip in 10cm of snow. Brake on wet and dry is also great . I will say this tyres are great for FWD and AWD and higly recommend for Central East European weather.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2018
    Given 89% while driving a BMW 525i (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    I purchased these tyres in December 2017 for my BMW525i Tourer as this is the car we use to transport my two little kids. Within weeks of delivery the snow started to fall & I was eager to test them. Overall far exceeded my expectations. I climbed hills no problem at all for a rear wheel drive car leaving other cars in my wake. We then had the beat from the east in March 18 & I did feel extremely smug as these tyres handled & performed flawlessly. I cannot stress how important the safety aspect of these tyres when driving I. Winter conditions. I reverted to summer tyres in April 18- little or no where after 3000 miles or so. All in all highly recommend
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2018
    Given 93% while driving a BMW bmw (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
    1st impression was a little strange as I was not used to winter tyres to begin with and could feel the movement of the tyre surface on the road where the rubber was moving (not losing traction) a little. I soon got used to it and it settled down very quickly. I used them in dry, wet (full blown surface water standing) to 2ft of snow with iced surfaces. The tyres got a full work out in all conditions over the winter and I have to say performed really well in all conditions. Got stuck once in snow but this was due to the chassis settling down on the ice more than the tyres losing traction i.e. got beached. I didn't experience aquaplaning once even though the water was about 1-2 inches deep. Overall the tyres worked really well and having just taken them off today, the wear is about 2mm after 2,500 miles, including lighting up the back tyres on the M4 often enough. I have driven cars with other winter tyre brands and they didn't create near the confidence level the Michelin Alpine PA4's did. Would definitely buy again considering the car is powerful and needs all the help it can get in the ice and snow, they will be going on this winter again, definitely...
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on May 3, 2018
    Given 94% while driving a Peugeot 307 (195/65 R15 T) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
    Great tires!!! - low wear, grip is phenomenal on dry, wet and snow. During 4 years driving on these tires I manage to make 30000 km so far, and the grip is still fine because there is still 5 mm of tread. Michelin proved to me that tire performance does not deteriorate over time. Although they are expressive, Michelin tires are great value for money.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2017