Accelera PHI 2

The Accelera PHI 2 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Accelera PHI.

Dry Grip 71%
Wet Grip 49%
Road Feedback 54%
Handling 52%
Wear 65%
Comfort 62%
Buy again 54%

Tyre review data from 12 tyre reviews averaging 58% over 61,700 miles driven.

The PHI 2 is ranked 153rd of 201 Summer High Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Accelera PHI 2

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
275/35 R18 99Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
275/30 R19 96Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
275/35 R19 96Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
285/35 R19 103Y   E C 72 13.00kgs
275/40 R19 105Y   E C 72 13.00kgs
275/25 R20 91Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
275/30 R20 97Y   E C 72  
285/30 R20 99Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
275/35 R20 102Y   E C 72 13.00kgs
295/25 R21 97Y   E C 72 13.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Accelera PHI 2

2019-11-20 - Hi are the accelera PHI 2 any good as performance tires and what would be a good tire to do occasional mountain runs/ aggressive driveing with a BMW E93

Unfortunately I've no direct experience with the Accelera PHI2


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
275/35 R19 £98.41 - £98.41 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R20 £110.17 - £110.17 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/40 R18 £91.62 - £98.02 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/40 R19 £91.21 - £91.21 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
285/30 R19 £101.58 - £101.58 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 14 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Accelera PHI 2 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a BMW 520d Sport (275/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Emergency purchase due to a faulty Dunlop Sport Maxx delaminating and deflating

With one remaining Maxx and the Accelera expected it to drive like a drunken 3 legged dog but little difference

Maxx not great in cold and wet for grip anyway compared to say Hankook s1 evo2 (excellent traction but wear little faster).
Helpful 96 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2018
Given 27% while driving a BMW 530D Xdrive Msport (275/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I've driven alot of high powered rwd cars, yet now I'm driving a sensible 4wd diesel I've never been killed so much in my entire life, the person who put these on a car should be put away for attempted murder !! In the wet I've never experienced anything like it, no warning, the car will let go so you better be awake. Lots of tread left but I value my own life so will be changing these asap
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on August 14, 2023
Given 53% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (255/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 1,000 easy going miles
Inherited these tyres when buying the used car and changed them as soon as possible afterwards. In warmer, dry conditions they were fine, but when the roads were slightly wet in the colder weather, they were dangerous. Accelerating slightly too hard on a motorway slip road or pulling out of a junction in the rain was causing the back end to slide around, even below 30mph. I had to be incredibly careful and it didn't inspire much confidence. In a front wheel or all wheel drive car I imagine it wouldn't be such a big deal, but I wouldn't recommend fitting these to any RWD or anything with a bit of power.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2021
Have you driven on the Accelera PHI 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Accelera PHI 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Accelera PHI 2 >

Latest Accelera PHI 2 Reviews

Given 28% while driving a BMW X3 2.0d Sport (275/40 R19) on mostly country roads for 200 easy going miles
Absolutely LETHAL! Do not fit these to any car that you care about. Do not fit them to any vehicle of any sort, unless you want the driver to die. Do not even bother to stock them if you are a dealer. These are truly one of the worst tyres I have ever had the misfortune to be forced to drive on. Fitted to the car before we purchased it, previous owner thought they were being clever by fitting Grim Reaper rubber on the cheap to the back axle. Dont. Just dont! These are bad in the dry. They are UNBELIEVABLY TERRIBLE in the wet! Almost no notification before it breaks traction, very little feedback to the driver, noisy, poor ride comfort/quality. No redeeming features apart from the fact they are black and hold air. I am used to high powered cars and these were on a puny 180bhp X3 that we got for my other half as a family wagon for our little-un. After one drive in the wet, I parked the car and refused to give my other half the keys until we'd booked the car in for a replacement pair of tyres. We fitted Hankook Ventus S1 Evo3 as a replacement and even when TRYING to upset the handling, the Hankooks refuse to let-go. The worst that I can force the Hankooks into, is a gentle and progressive slide.. and thats when I'm TRYING to be an idiot with them! Honestly, these Acceleras are about £90 each for 275/40/19..... for £150 you can get a truly fantastic tyre. Your life depends on tyres and brakes. Dont cheap-out on either of them! You deserve better than this tyre. I will not even be selling these tyres on - I will be puting a disc-cutter through the entire tyre and it will become scrap. These tyres are dangerous and should not be permitted to be sold in the UK. Genuinely as bad as a Wanli or a LingLong or a HappyGallop or Landsail tyre.... and that's a big insult!
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2022
Given 70% while driving a Mercedes Benz SL350 (285/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Came with a SL350 with 317 bhp and rear wheel drive, bought in July 2021. So I have been through all four seasons of the UK and not really had any concerns. I was a little worried about the winter with these tyres having read the reviews here. I have had lot of mid-high power cars and always bought premium tyres. Unfortunately something is not right on car, likely it is just the 4 wheel alignment which has caused excessive inner wear on the rears. Resulting in an MOT failure and urgent purchase of two tyres to pass the MOT. I saw no point in paying for premium tyres until the set up of the car/alignment is corrected. So I bought two more of these Accelera. Apart from the wear on the extreme inner of the tyres the rest of the tread across all four is still very good and looks set to last more than another year with ease. What can I say, £90 vs £200-£300 a corner. My last two cars were £350 a corner. I can honestly say that the premium tyres are NOT £200 better at all. Within the local Porsche club I have a reputation for being one of the fastest drivers, competing even against GT3s, GT2s, Turbo and Turbo S 911s. Do I think these tyres are as bad as some people say here. Not at all. Do I drive the SL350 like I do the 911 on the track, no not at all. I've had a couple of moments of lost traction on these tyres, but nothing that was not immediately corrected by the car and nothing that has ever given me cause for concern. I have had far worse experiences with premium tyres on the 911 at £350 a corner than the Accelera have ever caused. Definitely worth the money. Are conti sport contacts/bridgestone potenza S1 worth so much more. I do not think so. Are the premium tyres better, yes undoubtedly, but not worth three times the price.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 80% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (275/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Now done 20k on rear - still surprisingly up there with the top brands that have been on - for normal/spirited driving
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2021
Given 23% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 220 (285/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Absolutely shocking tyres. No grip and lethal on anything but straight ahead. These tyres should not be on sale they are that bad. Mercedes CLS.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2021
Given 20% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (275/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Bought in an emergency and they tyre was the only one available and we’re only fitted to the back axles. Drove the tyres on various country roads and motorways in both wet and dry condition. The Back end would constantly drift. I had the car on several occasions drift out. I recall one occasion when entering a chicane at constant speed, the back end drifted unexpectedly. I’d say these tyres are dangerous in terms of road feel.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2020
Given 84% while driving a BMW 520d Sport (275/40 R18 W) on for 15,000 miles
Been running 2 on the rear for 12 months. For £85 fitted (tyres on the drive) these are excellent. Im fussy about best possible wet grip, 275 too wide for a RWD car relatively light on the rear end = shows up poor tyres very quickly. These are equal to tyres I have paid over twice the price for in normal spirited use. Would buy again without hesitation
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2020
Given 80% while driving a Volkswagen Transporter (275/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
These were already fitted on our 2018 T6 VW Transporter camper
Usually only go for premium brands on our vehicles but pleasantly suprised by these and will definitely consider buying them again
Especially at around £70 each for size 275-35-20 XL 102Y
Recommended
Helpful 49 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2019
Given 90% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (275/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Expected to be rubbish but grip same as conti3 sportmax not quite as good as hankook but hankook they wear very quick
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2019
BMW E46 M3 (275/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Absolutely lethal in the wet. Some idiot fitted these to my M3 when I bought it. Warning people do not fit these to a car with anything above average power they nearly killed me on a few occasions. Couldn’t wait to get them off for a premium brand.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2018