Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212

The Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 is a Extreme Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 13 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 79,524 miles driven.

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 61%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 80%
Wear 74%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 85%

The Ventus RS2 Z212 is ranked 14th of 33 Summer Extreme Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 Reviews

Given 64% while driving a SEAT Leon 2007 2.0 150 hp (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Great tyre for the price.awesome grip on dry roads, very noisy tyre. They wear out real quick, below average on wet road. One of the best tyres for dry but they are not good on wet roads. Good price, very responsive.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2014
Given 77% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 24 spirited miles
I'm back for the final review on the Z212, as they are nearing the end of their useful life.

Great, great tyres. Good for either spirited use on B-Roads and trackdays. Just watch the pressure and you'll have a blast with them. Their limit is found much easier than the standard semis one might use on track, but even on limit they are progressive and let you play a lot. I would prefer them to overheat a bit later though. Generally, they are more sensitive to overheating and external temperature than I would prefer. But again, the pressure is the key.

Braking is awesome. Same is the feedback you get.

I wouldn't recommend them just for commuting, their sidewall is stiff. Road noise isn't that bad though.

On wet conditions they are OK, although now that are worn aquaplaning can be an issue.

After 24,854.24 miles the front ones are worn out so, I substituted them with the back ones. Hopefully, they'll last a couple of months so I'll change all of them together.

Too bad I can't find them in this size any more.


Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2013
Given 71% while driving a SEAT ibiza 2.0 8v (MEXICO) (225/45 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
very good tires. i live in mexico, cuernavaca to be precise. overall temperature 30 degrees celcius. perfect tires for this weather. excelent dry grip. wet grip is average i could say that 40% less grip in the wet than in the dry. a little bit noisy. very hard sidewalls. in irregular asphalt are very unconfortable. they wear very fast, but i have to say that i drive very fast all the time on high speed roads maybe thats why i im finishing them un very fast. i love how they look.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2013
Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 >

Latest Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Nissan Primera (215/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Great tyre.

It has a great compromise between grip and wear. I prefer them over similar options like Toyo R1R (less duration and more intended to light cars, mine is 1350 kg).

In wet they are pretty bad, but nothing to do with almost dangerous tyres like Pilot Sport Cup or R888 (idd, you have to be careful just when it's actually raining).

Pretty stiff sidewall, much better feeling than my previous Goodyear Asy F1.

It takes some time to them to get the right temperature, but living here (Granada, Andalucía, Spain) is not a problem -at least in Spring, Summer and the beginning of the Autumn-.

One of the best value for money tyres I've ever tried. Only problem is they're hard to find in Europe (just Camskills afaik) and we still can't buy RS3s -if I don't buy those, I will repeat with RS2s-.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2011
Given 84% while driving a Suzuki (205/45 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I got these to use as a combined track/road tire in order to replace the TOYO T1-Rs (on the road, size 205/45-16 on my everyday 16x7 wheels) and TOYO R888s (on track, size 195/50-15 on 15x6.5 wheels), because I got bored of wheel changes plus I tend to seek the pleasure of cornering pretty often on mountainous roads.

After a Track Day with these and many good milleage on B-Roads I can definately say that they are really a bargain. They handle a bit worse than the R888 on the dry (either on track or on road) but they reach optimum temperature faster without overheating (unlike T1-R), although they can handle pretty good even if cold. Braking is equally strong with the R888 and what I really like is the progressiveness they provide. Also, they are quite quiet on the highway (much unlike the R888; a bit more noisy than the T1-R), but the stiff sidewalls remind you that this is a sporty tire on every bump on the road (much unlike the T1-R, pretty much like R888). Performance on the wet is astonishingly good, I expected much more hydroplanning, but they are not to be trusted at high speeds.

Till now they have aprox. 6000 miles under their belt and wear till now is minimal to my delight.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2011
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 84% while driving a Honda Integra DC2 (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
A brilliant summer tyre with outstanding levels of grip when up to temperature. The traction and subsequently, the braking performance is also excellent on summer days. The side walls are stiff enough to give you good feedback through the corners and great confidence.
They are however quite noisy and are not suitable for anybody who is concerned with such comfort factors.
In the wet they are safe but not particularly confidence inspiring, i believe this is due to the harder compound as they hold up ok in summer rain with good tread depth, but as the temperature drops i prefer to go with a softer rain tyre.
A good description would be as a high performance/track tyre for the road which gives a good idea of what they are designed for. However the price is far more reasonable than similar offerings such as the Yokohama AD08s.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2010
Given 77% while driving a Volkswagen Corrado VR6 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Fantastic tyres - still great even though the price has gone up 70% since I first got them.

Used as every day road tyres (although after last winter I am using Hankook Icebear W300s as a winter tyre Nov-Mar this winter).

Grip in the dry and warm is fantastic - I haven't used a R888 (or similar), but for road use I can't imagine they'd be much better, and they are miles better than the Falken 912 I used to use.

Grip in the cold and wet is their downfall - aquaplane easily compared to a normal road tyre, and slide easily if it gets chilly. Still not unsafe or anything like that, just something to bear in mind.

Seem to give good progression (bear in mind this a FWD road car, so can't comment on power oversteer for example). Also do not squeal!

Feedback is good, and the stiff sidewall helps turn in.

Comfort is OK - same as the ZIEX912 I used to have.

Tyre wear is more than acceptable - I commute 70 miles a day on them to give you an idea.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2010
Given 88% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo (225/50 R15 W) on track for 2,000 spirited miles
Used on a couple of trackdays.
Slightly less grip than R888s previously but not that much wear, 2mm maybe, where the R888s only lasted 2 days !
feedback's good & nice & progressive.
Recommended.
Not used in wet yet but have deep trad so should be ok.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2008
Given 89% while driving a Subaru Impreza (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
An excellent Fast road tyre especially in the dry, better than average in the wet.
Comparing the RS2 to previous tyres fitted to my car they are a much better option to the Bridgestone RE050 and Toyo Proxes T1S.
Provided better grip under all conditions on fast A roads and the Track.
A great value for money tyre that some may overlook at their cost.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2008
Given 93% while driving a Vauxhall Astra SRi (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Excellent fast road tire for enthusiastic driving, Very capable on track too, especially for the money. Lots more grip than your everydau road tire. Fantastic levels of grip in the dry, not often associated with a grippy dry tire.
Inexpensive considering their performance levels.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2007
Given 53% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo (225/45 R16 W) on track for 2,500 spirited miles
Ok, so I finally got a couple lapping days in with these tires.

1st Day. Bremerton Raceway (road course). 2 - second gear corners, the rest are 3th or 4th gear corners. 1.2 mile course with 1/2 mi front straight and series of turns made from cones on the return 2/3 mi. Heavy braking needed down front straight without too much time to cool (hard on brakes.) No elevation changes.

Weather conditions was mostly rainy with the afternoon drying up.

In the rain - Very little traction with an abrupt break away point. Had to really tip-toe through the corners. Braking wasn't too bad. Hydroplane was surprisingly fine (still hydroplaned on big puddles at 80) Needed to run much lower psi to get some traction back.

When the track started drying up, great dry grip, but as soon as I went over some wet areas, it was totally jekyl and hyde grip. Had to make sure most of the apex was complete and pointed in the right direction before hitting the wet.

In the dry - felt like good grip. But I had become so accustomed to driving in the wet, that it took a long time to acclamate to the dry grip. So tough to report.

2nd Track Day. Pacific Raceway (road course). 2.25mi course with lots of elevation changes and varying corners. Two back to back downhill heavy braking zones. 2 - 2nd gear corners and the rest are 3rd gear. 9 turns total.

Very grippy tires. Lacking communication. I had a hard time feeling the tires breaking away. But once it started breaking away, I had to catch immediately or it would run away. Some screeching when it was warming up. But once warm, too quiet. Couldn't tell what was going on.

With two people in the car, tires got greasing 1/2 way into the session. I had to slow my pace down to cool things off a bit because the tires were getting dangerously greasy. By myself, tires got greasy 2/3 into the session but never got into what I felt was dangerously greasy.

Conclusion.

These tires seem to be very grippy even when cold. They warm up very quickly and provide good performance. But once hot, they give little warning of breaking away and it is much harder to catch slides if you let it go too long. For road course, they don't seem to be able to sustain their performance as things get really hot.

I'd probably have no problems running them at Bremerton Raceway as it's tougher on brakes. And the "back side" is like a super fast auto-x track. But at Pacific Raceway, I would try something else.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on July 11, 2007
Given 84% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 NA (225/45 R16) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
I had these on my WRX also, they have more than enough grip, look good, cheap, and are quiet. there really is no better tire for those that want the ultimate street tire and auto-x on weekends. These have been successful in high competition auto-x street class, 'nuff said.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2007