BMW M140i Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW M140i.

Do you Drive a BMW M140i? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a M140i better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 (52) 96% 92% 91% 92% 79% 87%
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 (15) 92% 94% 91% 94% 92% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 5 (24) 93% 95% 80% 82% 93% 85%
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (24) 91% 90% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (212) 93% 91% 87% 89% 82% 81%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (142) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (70) 94% 88% 91% 92% 64% 75%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (287) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 79%
Michelin CrossClimate 2 (62) 87% 85% 75% 69% 82% 87%
Kormoran Kormoran UHP (23) 86% 71% 80% 77% 86% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect (8) 94% 70% 86% 89% 60% 74%
Accelera PHI R (19) 76% 49% 66% 68% 68% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (55) 75% 61% 66% 67% 73% 50%

BMW M140i Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 5 given 92% (245-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
Every M140i owner knows - due to the tyre size we haven't got a lot of options in regards to tyre choices. I originally opted for the Michelin Pilot Super Sports but these were shocking on all levels - which led me to take them off after two months. I then opted for a mixture of Goodyear F1 super sports on the front and Goodyear assymetric 6 on rear (heard rave reviews about both). They were both great having done 11k on them - the rears needed changing. This is when I changed to the Michelin PS5 - and WOW I am amazed at how good these are. They have transformed this car from sloppy handling having fear in corners to now having my foot on throttle. It is like a match made in heaven. Everything is better than the goodyears and pss i had before. I just wish I got them sooner - I was just skeptical after my trial with the pss
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-05 11:09:16
Writing about the Accelera PHI R given 46% (245-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
I got these tyres on my car when i picked it up form the dealership all had over 6mm tread so plan on using them till there toast. in the dry there ok nothing compared to Michelin or other premium brands but as a budget its ok, however in the wet they are shocking, slight mist of rain and the back end just slips out. in my honest opinion as tires are one of the biggest contributing factors for keeping you on the road and getting you form A - B safely i would highly recommend getting something like a Michelin or equivalent
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-28 16:38:10
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
Comparing with BMW OEM Michelin PSS* 225/40 & 245/35 18, both same size, on a M140 RWD: Feedback / Handling: Yes the PSS feels a bit sharper with more steering feedback. But thats the (only) aspect where the 10 year old PSS is still benchmark. Road noise: Noticable less noise on the Asym6 Comfort: Asym6 noticably more comfortable on road imperfections such as pot-holes, Asym6 makes these feel smoother Absolute Grip: feels very good with the Asym6, but havent really pushed the tyre so far (not used on track etc) Cold grip: feels to have much more grip as the PSS which was really poos below 15C Rain: not driven so much, but seems to be good
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-19 13:12:13
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT given 30% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
Have an m140i and purchased the run flat version of these. The comfort level of these tyres is atrocious and have had to subsequently buy another pair of the Michelin pilot sports which have been great. Stay away from these tyres if you have an mperformance car
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-15 13:34:52
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 80% (245-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11500 average miles
Dont want to bore you so here is my ratings based on 11500miles on PS4. [Tread currently sits at 3.5mm (avg across rear tyres only)] Dry 9 Wet 9 Road feedback 8 Handling 8 Wear 5 Comfort 8 30% of my driving was spirited on combination of roads. No track days. Like most tyres, they need warming up before you feel the quality. They're great, will buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-29 19:00:57
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Pro given 90% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 miles
Great winter tyres, needed a short period of bedding in but great in snow/ice plus good wet and dry performance, in a tyre that you can still drive relatively hard with if you want. This is my winter tyre so I accept that it's going to compromise performance for snow/ice grip so you have to decide whether you want to swap every year between summers and winters, if not I wouldn't run these all year round, they would wear out too quickly as they're seriously sticky for snow and ice. If you do need winters, look no further, for the price (they were almost the cheapest quality winter tyres @ £91 each) they're quite a bit less than the competition and performed so well on snow/ice I can't recommend enough. Bedding in period is around 50 miles or so where the wet grip was quite bad, I was starting to regret buying them, but after this they're great that's quite important to remember. Also they are quite a soft tyre with a soft sidewall so I've found I can't use all the power (340bhp in my m140i because the rear of the car sqirms around and is quite unnerving. It will roll left to right until you back off. Its not the speed that is the problem, they're V rated to 150 mph so no problem they're, it's just the power or torque flexing the sidewalls I guess. If you don't have a powerful car like the m140i you'd probably never notice it, I can still accelerate quite fast, just not full throttle. At a guess I'd say up to about 260bhp you probably won't notice it and certainly not a reason to avoid buying these tyres. If you're using winter tyres you have to expect some loss in total performance, and I paid nearly half what something like a Michelin Alpin is, and around £30 per tyre less than Bridgestone and Goodyear alternatives. I was genuinely shocked at how good they were in the snow/ice. The road was Kirkstone Pass, it snowed over night and we went over the pass to see the snow and test out the tyres. So many cars were getting stuck, turning around, and 1 even crashed and was waiting to get recovered. I watched for about 20 minutes while I decided if these snow tyres were actually good enough as I didn't want to crash my new (to me) m140i! Didnt need to worry at all, going down first I was doing lots of brake tests to make sure I wasn't just sliding on ice and it stopped very well, no slipping. Then coming back up the steep hill it didn't even slip, I then slowed right down and accelerated gently to see if I wasn't just on the edge of the grip or something, still no slip. I had to really give push the throttle to get any slip, I definitely couldn't have made it slip without going over the top on purpose with the throttle, so impressed. Using these from now on as Winter tyres on my m140i which has Michelin Super Sports fitted in the summer. One more thing specific to my car, it comes standard with 225 50 18 front and 245 35 18 rear (something like that), but for winter tyres it's perfectly safe to fit 225 40 18 92Y all round, it even says that tyre size on the sticker beside the drivers door, I was trying to figure this out for ages so for anyk e else wanted to know winter tyre sizes for an m140i on standard 18's it's 225 40 18 92Y all round. 88Y load rating isn't good enough so don't buy those (I also read that somewhere).
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-14 20:35:28
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 given 94% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-06 18:02:38
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
The best winter tyre I ever drove. Finally I can go for a drive in winter and enjoy the car and the road. You get a lot of feedback from the tyre. It's not so precise and stable like a 4s for example, but you can still drive hard and the tyre will not fall apart. And the wearing is even when you drive it hard really good. I was very supportive by that. Even with these really good dry performance, the tyre works very good in the snow also. I spend a lot of time in the mountains so it has to work for me also in the snow and the tyre delivers!!! An absolute amazing winter tyre!!
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-30 20:05:54
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate 2 given 82% (-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
In terms of driving pleasure, the Bridgestone Weather Control A005s were slightly better, as the balance was much less understeery. However, the Michelin CrossClimate 2 is much more confident on the road. The comfort is very high. The rolling noise is okay. By far the most outstanding features are the traction and the braking distance on dry asphalt. That almost goes in the direction of summer tires. Cornering properties in the wet and dry are comparable to the A005. So typical for a very good winter / all-season tire.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-22 00:27:46
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 74% (245-35-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 21000 spirited miles
Had these star rated Supersports on my used M140i bought at 12k, milage now sits at 21k. Dry grip. Good once warmed up, they grip the road well. However anything under say 15c you notice the grip level falling away. Wet. Not the best easy to spin the rears even in 4th gear traction will cut in. Feedback. They are progressive and do let you know what's going on in the dry, wet and cold not so much. Wear. Great milage, I expect the rear's to last 23K even with my somewhat heavy right foot, fronts 30k. By again? No I just don't think they are suited to UK climate. Will probably try PS4 next a little softer but with better wet performance.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-21 14:20:54
Writing about the Kormoran Kormoran UHP given 69% (245-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Fantastic value for money. Took a punt on these when I had two tyres punctured at once, as the tyres I wanted were on back order. Wet grip is not great, but no where near as bad as I had been led to believe. The rear of my car can break away under power anyway, and I was expecting these to be dicey in heavy rain, and they aren't - but just because they aren't dangerous in the wet doesn't mean they're particularly good either. in the wet you will need to watch corner exit speed in a RWD car and braking before a corner in a FWD car. And let's face it, driving hard in the rain is a bit silly anyway. Dry grip and handling are good for a premium tyre, let alone a budget. Very impressive grip, progressive understeer and decent feedback. The side wall of these tyres is fairly soft, which aids comfort but does mean you have to take a little flobbery-ness into account on turn in. Load them up with some smooth assertive steering and you'll do fine. Wear is average. My rears will need replacing in around 3000 miles, and they've been on for 7000. Comfort and noise are acceptable, although they can drone on some surfaces. Overall, I think these are the best bang for buck performance tyres I've driven on. Recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-17 20:23:08
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 84% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
Fun to drive tyre. Less understeer compared to Michelin Pilot Supersport. But they wear really fast.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-25 16:48:58
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre